H.B. 143
PROHIBITION ON TATTOOING OF MINORS

HOUSE COMMITTEE AMENDMENTS AMENDMENT 1 FEBRUARY 10,2015 12:35PM

Representative LaVar Christensen proposes the following amendments:

1. Pagel, Line 12:

12 > prohibits the tattooing of persons younger than 18 years of age _, except under specified

circumstances, and with written parental consent, for minors 16 years of age and older ;
> provides an exception for minors for medical procedures; and

2. Page I, Line 14:
14 performed on a person younger than 18 years of age _if the required consent is not provided or there is not
a medical exception .

3. Page 2, Line 45:

45 (3) (a) A person is guilty of unlawful tattooing of a minor if the person performs or offers

4. Page 2, Lines 47 through 48:

ton] _, except as
provided under Subsections (3)(b) or (¢) .
(b) Subsection (3)(a) does not apply to medical tattoos performed:
(i) for the purpose of reconstructive surgery or for medical procedures; and
(ii) at the direction of a physician licensed under Title 58, Chapter 67, Utah Medical Practice Act, or
Title 58, Chapter 68, Utah Osteopathic Medical Practice Act.
(c¢) Subsection (3)(a) does not apply to tattoos that are performed on a minor who is 16 years of age or
older if the minor's parents, the minor's parents or parent with joint or sole legal custody. or the
minor's legal guardian:
(i) give written consent for the tattoo by signing a document that:
(A) states the legal name of the minor;
(B) states that the person has legal authority to give consent;
(C) states that by signing the document the person gives consent for the tattoo to be performed on the
(D) is notarized; and
(E) has been provided to the person who is to perform the tattoo on the minor; and
(ii) a parent or legal guardian who signed the document giving consent, or who had authority to give the

consent under this Subsection (3), is present when the tattoo is performed on the minor.
48 {1} (5 Apersonisnot guilty of _an offense under Subsection (2) {er{3)} ,ifthe
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person:

5. Page 3, Lines 52 through 55:

52 that the minor is 18 years of age or older before the person performs the body piercing {-or

53 tattooing)
54 {5} (6) (a) A person who violates Subsection (2) or (3) is guilty of a class B misdemeanor.
55 (b) The owner or operator of a business  {-inwhiech-} where a violation of Subsection (2) or (3)

6. Page 3, Lines 57 through 60:

57 {£t6>} (7) _(a) A personupon whom {amaetor}  aperson _performs a tattoo in violation

of Subsection (3)
58  has acivil cause of action  {-under-Subsection(6)}tb)} _againstthe {=aetor}  person performing the

tattoo _and against the owner or
59  operator of the business  {Hm-which-} where the _tattoo was performed {—viotation-of

Subsection €3y} _ {iscommitted} .
60 (b) The person _on whom the tattoo is performed in violation of {-under-} _Subsection
{6¥tay} (3) _may bring the civil cause of action within three

7. Page 3, Lines 65 through 66:
65  Subsection {£5¥} (6) (b).

66 (d) The civil cause of action under _this Subsection {6y} {far} (7) _may notbe waived
or in any
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