1st Sub. S.B. 141 JUDICIARY AMENDMENTS

SENATE COMMITTEE AMENDMENTS

Senator Lyle W. Hillyard proposes the following amendments:

1. Page 2, Line 36:

36 {30-3-11.4, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2014, Chapter 347 }

2. Page 4, Line 91 through Page 6, Line 154:

91 { Section 3. Section 30-3-11.4 is amended to read: 92 30-3-11.4. Mandatory orientation course for divorcing parties -- Purpose --**Curriculum -- Exceptions.** 93 94 (1) There is established a mandatory divorce orientation course for all parties with 95 minor children who file a petition for temporary separation or for a divorce. A couple with no minor children are not required, but may choose to attend the course. The purpose of the 96 97 course shall be to educate parties about the divorce process and reasonable alternatives. **98** (2) A petitioner shall attend a divorce orientation course no more than 60 days after filing a petition for divorce. **99** (3) With the exception of temporary restraining orders pursuant to Rule 65, Utah Rules 100 of Civil Procedures, a party may file, but the court may not hear, temporary orders until the 101 party seeking temporary orders has completed the divorce orientation course. 102

- 103 (4) The respondent shall attend the divorce orientation course no more than 30 days
- 104 after being served with a petition for divorce.
- 105 (5) The clerk of the court shall provide notice to a petitioner of the requirement for the
- 106 course, and information regarding the course shall be included with the petition or motion,
- 107 when served on the respondent.
- 108 (6) The divorce orientation course shall be neutral, unbiased, at least one hour in
 109 duration, and include:
- 110 (a) options available as alternatives to divorce;

111 (b) resources available from courts and administrative agencies for resolving custody

- 112 and support issues without filing for divorce;
- 113 (c) resources available to improve or strengthen the marriage;
- 114 (d) a discussion of the positive and negative consequences of divorce;
- 115 (e) a discussion of the process of divorce;
- 116 (f) options available for proceeding with a divorce, including:
- 117 (i) mediation;
- 118 (ii) collaborative law; and

- 119 (iii) litigation; and
- 120 (g) a discussion of post-divorce resources.
- 121 (7) The course may be provided in conjunction with the mandatory course for
- 122 divorcing parents required by Section 30-3-11.3.
- 123 (8) The Administrative Office of the Courts shall administer the course pursuant to
- 124 Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah Procurement Code, through private or public contracts.
- 125 (9) The course may be through live instruction, video instruction, or through an online
 126 provider.
- 127 (10) Each participant shall pay the costs of the course, which may not exceed \$30, to
- 128 the independent contractor providing the course at the time and place of the course. A
- 129 petitioner who attends a live instruction course within 30 days [of] <u>before</u> filing may not be
- 130 charged more than \$15 for the course. A respondent who attends a live instruction course
- 131 within 30 days of being served with a petition for divorce may not be charged more than \$15
- 132 for the course.
- (a) A fee of \$5 shall be collected, as part of the course fee paid by each participant, and
 deposited in the Children's Legal Defense Account described in Section 51-9-408.
- 135 (b) A participant who is unable to pay the costs of the course may attend without
- 136 payment and request an Affidavit of Impecuniosity from the provider to be filed with the
- 137 petition or motion. The provider shall be reimbursed for its costs by the Administrative Office
- 138 of the Courts. A petitioner who is later determined not to meet the qualifications for
- 139 impecuniosity may be ordered to pay the costs of the course.
- 140 (11) Appropriations from the General Fund to the Administrative Office of the Courts
- 141 for the divorce orientation course shall be used to pay the costs of an indigent petitioner who is
- 142 determined to be impecunious as provided in Subsection (10)(b).
- 143 (12) The Online Court Assistance Program shall include instructions with the forms for
 144 divorce which inform the petitioner of the requirement of this section.
- 145 (13) Both parties shall attend a divorce orientation course before a divorce decree may
 146 be entered, unless waived by the court. A certificate of completion constitutes evidence to the
- 147 court of course completion by the parties.
- 148 (14) It shall be an affirmative defense in all divorce actions that the divorce orientation
- requirement was not complied with, and the action may not continue until a party has
 complied.
- 151 (15) The Administrative Office of the Courts shall adopt a program to evaluate the
- 152 effectiveness of the mandatory educational course. Progress reports shall be provided if
- 153 requested by the Judiciary Interim Committee.}
- 154 Section $\{-4\}$ <u>3</u>. Section 77-20-1 is amended to read:
- 3. Page 8, Line 212:
 - 212 Section $\{5\}$ <u>4</u>. Section 77-22-2.5 is amended to read:

- *Page 11, Line 311:*311 Section {-6} <u>5</u>. Section 78A-2-301 is amended to read:
- 5. Page 16, Line 482:

482 Section $\{\neg -\}$ <u>6</u>. Section **78A-2-601** is amended to read:

- 6. Page 17, Line 499:
 499 Section {-8} <u>7</u>. Section 78A-7-118 is amended to read:
- 7. Page 18, Line 541:

541 Section $\{-9\}$ <u>8</u>. Section 78A-7-202 is amended to read:

8. Page 20, Line 598:

598 Section {-10-} <u>9</u>. Section 78B-1-122 is amended to read: