
S.B.  250

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE POLICY AMENDMENTS

SENATE   FLOOR   AMENDMENTS AMENDMENT   3          MARCH 7, 2016   8:35 AM

Senator Jerry W. Stevenson proposes the following amendments:

1. Page 1, Lines 16 through 19:

16 < addresses licensing fees;

17  < amends operational provisions for retail licensees and for an off-premise beer{

18 retailer; }

19 < amends the operational requirements for transferees; 

2. Page 2, Lines 37 through 39:

37 32B-6-803, as enacted by Laws of Utah 2011, Chapter 334

38  32B-7-202, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2011, Chapter 307 { }

39 32B-8a-202, as enacted by Laws of Utah 2011, Chapter 334 and further amended by 

3. Page 11, Line 335 through Page 14, Line 405:

335  Section 8.  Section 32B-7-202 is amended to read:{

336 32B-7-202.   General operational requirements for off-premise beer retailer.

337 (1) (a)  An off-premise beer retailer or staff of the off-premise beer retailer shall comply

338 with this section.

339 (b)  Failure to comply with this section may result in a suspension or revocation of a

340 local license.

341 (2) (a) (i)  An off-premise beer retailer may not purchase, acquire, possess for the

342 purpose of resale, or sell beer, except beer that the off-premise beer retailer lawfully purchases

343 from:

344 (A)  a beer wholesaler licensee; or

345 (B)  a small brewer that manufactures the beer.

346 (ii)  A violation of Subsection (2)(a) is a class A misdemeanor.

347 (b) (i)  If an off-premise beer retailer purchases beer under this Subsection (2) from a

348 beer wholesaler licensee, the off-premise beer retailer shall purchase beer only from a beer

349 wholesaler licensee who is designated by the manufacturer to sell beer in the geographical area

350 in which the off-premise beer retailer is located, unless an alternate wholesaler is authorized by

351 the department to sell to the off-premise beer retailer as provided in Section 32B-13-301.

352 (ii)  A violation of Subsection (2)(b) is a class B misdemeanor.

353 (3)  An off-premise beer retailer may not possess, sell, offer for sale, or furnish beer in a

354 container larger than two liters.

Page 1 of 3
sb0250.sfap.03.wpd  LRGC  powen  powen  M 03/07/16 8:02a



355 (4)  A minor may not sell beer on the licensed premises of an off-premise beer retailer

356 unless:

357 (a)  the sale is done under the supervision of a person 21 years of age or older who is on

358 the licensed premises; and

359 (b)  the minor is at least 16 years of age.

360 (5) (a)  Subject to the other provisions of this Subsection (5), an off-premise beer

361 retailer shall:

362 (i)  display beer sold by the off-premise beer retailer in an area that is visibly separate

363 and distinct from the area where nonalcoholic beverages are displayed; and

364 (ii)  display a sign in the area described in Subsection (5)(a)(i) that:

365 (A)  is prominent;

366 (B)  is easily readable by a consumer;

367 (C)  meets the requirements for format established by the commission by rule; and

368 (D)  reads in print that is no smaller than .5 inches, bold type, "These beverages contain

369 alcohol.  Please read the label carefully."

370 (b)  Notwithstanding Subsection (5)(a), a nonalcoholic beer may be displayed with beer

371 if the nonalcoholic beer is labeled, packaged, or advertised as a nonalcoholic beer.

372 (c)  The requirements of this Subsection (5) apply to beer notwithstanding that it is

373 labeled, packaged, or advertised as:

374 (i)  a malt cooler; or

375 (ii)  a beverage that may provide energy.

376 (d)  The commission shall define by rule what constitutes an "area that is visibly

377 separate and distinct from the area where a nonalcoholic beverage is displayed."

378 (e)  A violation of this Subsection (5) is an infraction.

379 (6) (a)  Staff of an off-premise beer retailer who directly supervises the sale of beer or

380 who sells beer to a patron for consumption off the premises of the off-premise beer retailer

381 shall wear a unique identification badge:

382 (i)  on the front of the staff's clothing;

383 (ii)  visible above the waist;

384 (iii)  bearing the staff's:

385 (A)  first or last name;

386 (B)  initials; or

387 (C)  unique identification in letters or numbers; and

388 (iv)  with the number or letters on the unique identification badge being sufficiently

389 large to be clearly visible and identifiable while engaging in or directly supervising the retail

390 sale of beer.

391 (b)  An off-premise beer retailer shall make and maintain a record of each current staff's

392 unique identification badge assigned by the off-premise beer retailer that includes the staff's:

393 (i)  full name;

394 (ii)  address; and
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395 (iii) (A)  driver license number; or

396 (B)  similar identification number.

397 (c)  An off-premise beer retailer shall make available a record required to be made or

398 maintained under this Subsection (6) for immediate inspection by:

399 (i)  a peace officer; or

400 (ii)  a representative of the local authority that issues the off-premise beer retailer

401 license.

402 (d)  A local authority may impose a fine of up to $250 against an off-premise beer

403 retailer that does not comply or require its staff to comply with this Subsection (6).

404 (7)  An off-premise beer retailer may not sell, offer for sale, or furnish a beer through a

405 window or door to a location off the licensed premises or to a vehicular traffic area.  }

Renumber remaining sections accordingly
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