{deleted text} shows text that was in SB0011 but was deleted in SB0011S01.

Inserted text shows text that was not in SB0011 but was inserted into SB0011S01.

DISCLAIMER: This document is provided to assist you in your comparison of the two bills. Sometimes this automated comparison will NOT be completely accurate. Therefore, you need to read the actual bills. This automatically generated document could contain inaccuracies caused by: limitations of the compare program; bad input data; or other causes.

Senator Margaret Dayton proposes the following substitute bill:

### WATER DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION AMENDMENTS

2017 GENERAL SESSION STATE OF UTAH

**Chief Sponsor: Margaret Dayton** 

House	Sponsor:		

### **LONG TITLE**

### **{Committee Note:**

The Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environment Interim Committee recommended this bill.

### General Description:

This bill <u>renames and modifies</u> the membership of the <u>{State} Legislative</u> Water Development Commission.

### **Highlighted Provisions:**

This bill:

- renames the State Water Development Commission to the Legislative Water

  Development Commission;
- modifies the membership of the \{State\}\)\(\textit{Legislative}\) Water Development
   Commission; and

makes technical changes.

### Money Appropriated in this Bill:

None

## **Other Special Clauses:**

None

### **Utah Code Sections Affected:**

AMENDS:

**73-27-102**, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2016, Chapter 309

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the state of Utah:

Section 1. Section 73-27-102 is amended to read:

### 73-27-102. {Stat}Legislative Water Development Commission created.

- (1) The [State] Legislative Water Development Commission is created to determine the state's role in the protection, conservation, and development of the state's water resources.
  - (2) The commission membership shall include:
- (a) five members of the Senate, appointed by the president of the Senate, no more than four of whom may be from the same political party;
- (b) eight members of the House of Representatives, appointed by the speaker of the House of Representatives, no more than six of whom may be from the same political party; and
  - [(c) the state treasurer, who shall be a nonvoting member; and]
  - [(d){](c)} the following]
- (c) nonvoting members, appointed by the [governor:] legislative management committee, upon recommendation by the cochairs of the commission described in Subsection (5).
- [(i) two representatives of the Office of the Governor, including one representative from the Governor's Office of Management and Budget;]

```
[(ii){] (i)} a representative of the Green River District;]
```

[(iii){| (ii)} a representative of the Upper Colorado River District;]

[(iv){| (iii)} a representative of the Lower Colorado River District;]

[(v){] (iv)} a representative of the Lower Sevier River District;]

[(vi){](v)} a representative of the Upper Sevier River District;]

```
[(vii){] (vi)} a representative of the Provo River District;]
[(viii){] (vii)} a representative of the Salt Lake District;]
[(ix){] (viii)} a representative of the Weber River District;]
(x)\{(ix)\} a representative of the Bear River District;
(xi) the executive director of the Department of Natural Resources;
(xii) the executive director of the Department of Environmental Quality;
(xiii) the commissioner of agriculture and food:
(xiv) a member of the Board of Water Resources;
[(xv)] a representative of an organized environmental group;
[(xvi){] (xi)} a representative of agricultural production; and]
(xvii) a representative with experience in finance and economics.
```

- (xii) a representative of the governor's cabinet or the Office of the Governor.
- (3) (a) Except as required by Subsection (3)(b), the members appointed by the [governor] legislative management committee under Subsection (2)[(d)](c) shall be appointed or reappointed to a four-year term.
- (b) The [governor] legislative management committee shall, at the time of appointment or reappointment, adjust the length of terms to ensure that the terms of [board] commission members are staggered so that approximately half of the nonvoting members of the commission are appointed every two years.
- (c) When a vacancy occurs in the membership for any reason, the [governor] legislative management committee, in consultation with the cochairs of the commission, shall appoint a replacement for the unexpired term.
- (4) The president of the Senate and the speaker of the House of Representatives shall, to the extent possible, appoint members under Subsections (2)(a) and (b) that represent both rural and urban areas of the state.
- (5) (a) The president of the Senate shall designate a member of the Senate appointed under Subsection (2)(a) as a cochair of the commission.
- (b) The speaker of the House of Representatives shall designate a member of the House of Representatives appointed under Subsection (2)(b) as a cochair of the commission.
- (6) Attendance by at least 50% of one legislative house and more than 50% of the other legislative house constitutes a quorum.

(7) (a) Compensation and expenses of a member of the commission who is a legislator

are governed by Section 36-2-2 and Legislative Joint Rules, Title 5, Legislative Compensation

and Expenses.

(b) Commission members who are employees of the state shall receive no additional

compensation.

(c) Other commission members shall receive no compensation or expenses for their

service on the commission.

(8) The Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel shall provide staff support

to the commission.

{

**Legislative Review Note** 

Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel}

- 4 -