S.B. 159

FORCIBLE ENTRY AND DETAINER

SENATE COMMITTEE AMENDMENTS

AMENDMENT 3

February 13, 2018 3:03 PM

Senator Margaret Dayton proposes the following amendments:

This amendment replaces Amendment 1, adopted by the Senate Judiciary, Law Enforcement, and Criminal Justice Standing Committee on February 12, 2018.

- Page 2, Lines 40 through 43: 40 (b) {-subject to Subsection (3), } by sending a copy through registered [or] mail, certified 41 mail, or an equivalent means, addressed to the tenant at the tenant's residence or, if the tenant is 42 a commercial tenant, by sending a copy through registered or certified mail addressed to the 43 commercial tenant's], leased property, or usual place of business; 2. Page 2, Lines 57 through 58: 57 {-(3) Service by mail under Subsection (1)(b) is complete three calendar days after mailing. **58** Page 3, Lines 73 through 83: 73 (b) A summons requiring a response within three business days under this section may 74 be used with a complaint, counterclaim, third-party claim, or similar claim. **75** (c) The time frames provided in this section may not be expanded by including **76** multiple causes of action in a complaint beyond unlawful detainer. (b) A claim for unlawful detainer brought by counterclaim shall be served to any opposing party in accordance with Utah Rules of Civil Procedure, and any response required shall be due within the timelines stated under Subsection (3)(a) 77 { (4) (a) The court may authorize service by publication [or], mail, or email for cause **78** shown. [(5)] (b) Service by publication is complete one week after publication. **79** [(6)] (c) Service by mail is complete three calendar days after mailing. 80 **81** (d) Service by email is complete upon sending. 82 (7) (5) The summons shall be changed in form to conform to the time of service as ordered, and shall be served as in other cases. 83 (4) The court may authorize alternative service pursuant to the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure.
- 4. Page 4, Line 109:

evidentiary hearing <u>upon</u> { the plaintiff's } request within 10 days after the day on which the

5. Page 9, Lines 250 through 258:

- 250 (a) The tenant may be served with a declaration of abandonment that includes at least a
- 251 <u>contact address for the owner</u> <u>, contains a brief factual basis supporting the owner's reasonable belief</u>

 <u>that the presumption of abandonment under Subsection (1) has been met,</u> and states the date and time of service and includes the following
- language, or language that is substantially similar: "It is believed that these premises are
- 253 <u>abandoned and the owner is seeking to regain possession of the premises. If a tenant in legal</u>
- 254 possession of the premises has not abandoned the premises, the tenant must dispute
- 255 abandonment in writing within 24 hours of service of this declaration of abandonment by
- providing a copy to the owner at the contact address included with this declaration of
- 257 <u>abandonment. If written notice is not served on the owner within 24 hours, the owner may</u>
- 258 <u>retake possession of the premises."</u> <u>The 24-hour period stated in this Subsection (2)(a) does not include a Saturday, a Sunday, or a holiday during which the Utah state courts are closed.</u>

6. Page 9, Lines 261 through 264:

- 261 (c) If the tenant fails to dispute the declaration of abandonment in writing by serving
- notice to the owner within 24 hours of being served a declaration of abandonment, excluding a Saturday, a Sunday, or a holiday during which the Utah state courts are closed, the
- declaration of abandonment serves as prima facia evidence that the tenant has vacated and
- 264 <u>abandoned the premises.</u>