Room 415, Utah State Capitol

February 11, 2014


Members Present:    Sen. Scott K. Jenkins, Chair

                                    Sen. Allen M. Christensen

                                    Sen. Jim Dabakis

                                    Sen. Peter C. Knudson

                                    Sen. Ralph Okerlund

                                    Sen. Evan J. Vickers


Members Absent:     Sen. David P. Hinkins


Staff Present:            Brian Allred, Policy Analyst

                                    Karen C. Allred, Committee Secretary


NOTE: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.


Acting Chair Knudson called the meeting to order at 4:04 p.m.


MOTION: Sen. Okerlund moved to approve the minutes of the February 6 and February 7, 2014 meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Sens. Christensen and Jenkins absent for the vote.


S.B. 164          Environmental Protection Amendments (Sen. G. Davis)


Sen. Jenkins assumed the Chair.


Sen. Davis explained the bill to the committee.


Spoke to the bill:        Amanda Smith, Executive Director, Utah Department of Environmental Quality


Spoke for the bill:       Ingrid Griffee, Citizen

                                    Matt Pacenza, Policy Director, HEAL Utah

                                    Carl Ingwell, Clean Air Alliance

                                    Alicia Connell, Citizen

                                    Cherise Udell, Utah Moms for Clean Air


Spoke against the bill:            Chris Kimball, Citizen

                                                Redge Johnson, Citizen 


MOTION: Sen. Dabakis moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed with Sen. Christensen and Sen. Jenkins voting in opposition and Sen. Vickers absent for the vote.


S.J.R. 14        Joint Resolution on the Protection of the Greater Canyonlands Region (J. Dabakis)


Sen. Dabakis explained to the committee that he was withdrawing the bill.


MOTION:     Sen. Knudson moved to return S.J.R. 14 to Rules. The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Vickers absent for the vote.


MOTION:     Sen. Christensen moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Vickers absent for the vote.


Chair Jenkins adjourned the meeting at 4:32 p.m.





Sen. Scott K. Jenkins, Chair