215 Senate Building, Utah State Capitol Complex

February 24, 2014

Members Present: Sen. Margaret Dayton

Sen. Wayne A. Harper

Sen. Karen Mayne

Members Excused: Sen. Kevin T. Van Tassell, Chair

Sen. J. Stuart Adams

Staff Present: Mr. Art Hunsaker, Policy Analyst

Ms. Karen Allred, Committee Secretary

NOTE: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Sen. Dayton assumed the Committee Chair and called the meeting to order at 4:30 p.m..

MOTION: Sen. Harper moved to approve the minutes of the February 21, 2014 meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

S.B. 48 Emergency Telephone Service Law Amendments (W. Harper)

MOTION: Sen. Harper moved to adopt 1st Sub. S.B. 48. The motion passed unanimously.

Sen. Harper explained the bill to the committee.

Spoke against the bill: Barbara Crouch, Manager, Utah Poison Control Center

Janet Brooks, Child Advocacy Manager, Safe Kids Utah, Primary Children’s Medical Center

Jan Buttrey, Chair, Poison Control Center Advisory Commission

Mollie Cummins, Associate Professor, U of U College of Nursing

A handout was distributed.

MOTION: Sen. Harper moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION: Sen. Harper moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously.

Acting Committee Chair Dayton adjourned the meeting at 4:54 p.m.


Acting Committee Chair, Margaret Dayton