Building, Utah State Capitol Complex

March 3, 2015


Members Present:     Sen. Todd Weiler, Chair

                                    Sen. Curtis S. Bramble

                                    Sen. Gene Davis

                                    Sen. Margaret Dayton

                                    Sen. Karen Mayne

                                    Sen. Daniel W. Thatcher


Staff Present:             Mr. Ben Christensen, Policy Analyst

                                    Ms. Lorna Wells, Committee Secretary


NOTE:  A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.


Chair Weiler called the meeting to order at 7:10 a.m.


MOTION:  Sen. Mayne moved to approve the minutes of February 25, 2015.  The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Dayton and Sen. Thatcher absent for the vote.


2nd Substitute H.B. 77           Postretirement Employment Task Force (Rep. Cunningham)


Rep. Cunningham explained the bill to the committee.  He distributed a handout entitled “Retirement Unfunded Liability”


Spoke for the bill:       Mr. Gil Rodriguez, Chief, Murray City Fire Department

                                    Mr. Tom Ross, Chief, Bountiful City Police Department

                                    Ms. Tami Pyfer, Education Advisor, Governor’s Office

                                    Mr. David Spatafore, Utah Chiefs of Police Association

                                    Mr. Kory Holdaway, Utah Public Employees Association


Spoke to the bill:         Mr. Dee Larsen, Legal Counsel, Utah Retirement Systems


Chair Weiler read an e-mail from Dr. Patti Harrington, Executive Director, Utah School

Superintendents Association in favor of the bill.


MOTION:  Sen. Bramble moved to pass the bill out favorably.  The motion passed unanimously.


Sen. Weiler relinquished the Chair to Sen. Dayton


S.B. 243       Department of Workforce Services Participation Amendments (Sen. Weiler)


Sen. Weiler explained the bill to the committee.


Spoke to the bill:         Ms. Kathy Bounous, Legal Counsel, Department of Workforce Services


MOTION:   Sen. Weiler moved to replace S.B. 243 with 1st Sub. S.B. 243.  The motion passed unanimously.


MOTION:  Sen. Weiler moved to pass the bill out favorably.  The motion passed unanimously.



MOTION:   Sen. Weiler moved to adjourn.  The motion passed unanimously.


Acting Chair Dayton adjourned the meeting at 7:50 a.m.





Sen. Todd Weiler, Chair