Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environmental Quality

Appropriations Subcommittee


The committee chairs have scheduled the following meeting:


                                    DATE:      Thursday, February 11, 2016

                                    TIME:       8:00 a.m.

                                    PLACE:    Room 210, Senate Building




Sen. David P. Hinkins, Chair

Rep. Mike K. McKell, Chair

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson, House Vice Chair


                  Sen. Jim Dabakis                                             Rep. Scott H. Chew

                  Sen. Margaret Dayton                                      Rep. Susan Duckworth

                  Sen. Scott K. Jenkins                                       Rep. Brian M. Greene

                  Sen. Peter C. Knudson                                     Rep. Stephen G. Handy

                  Sen. Ralph Okerlund                                       Rep. Timothy D. Hawkes

                  Sen. Kevin T. Van Tassell                               Rep. Lynn N. Hemingway

                                                                                          Rep. Ken Ivory

                                                                                          Rep. Michael E. Noel

                                                                                          Rep. Lee B. Perry

                                                                                          Rep. Marc K. Roberts


Staff:         Ivan D. Djambov, Fiscal Analyst                     Brian Wikle, Fiscal Analyst

                                                                                          Linda Service, Secretary



Please be aware that the public portions of this meeting will be broadcast live over the Internet. Also, be aware that an audio recording of the public portions of this meeting, along with any materials presented or distributed in the public portions of this meeting, will be posted on the Legislature’s website. Witnesses with questions or concerns should contact staff.


In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, persons needing auxiliary communicative aids and services for this meeting should call the Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel at 801-538-1032 or use Relay Utah (toll free in-state 7-1-1 or Spanish-language 888-346-3162), giving them at least 48 hours notice or the best notice practicable. Every effort will be made to accommodate requests for aids and services for effective communication during the annual General Session. However, please note that given the unpredictable and fast-paced nature of the legislative process, it is essential that you notify us of an accommodation request as soon as possible. Failure to do so in some circumstances may result in the Utah Legislature’s inability to accommodate the request.



Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environmental Quality

Appropriations Subcommittee

February 11, 2016



1.      8:00 a.m.      Approval of Minutes


2.      8:05 a.m.      School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration


3.      8:15 a.m.      Requests for Appropriation:

a.               Air Quality Research – Uintah Basin (Rep. Redd)

b.              Bike Utah Clean Air Kids (Sen. Weiler)

c.                Sage Grouse Ongoing Contract (Sen. Van Tassel)

d.               Wolves Contract Extension (Rep. Noel)

e.                Utah State University Soybean Growth Study (Sen. Knudson)

f.                Rural Utah Alliance (Rep. Westwood)

g.               State Sensitive Species Botanist (Rep. Ivory)

4.      9:00 a.m.      Final Voting

5.      10:45 a.m.    Other Business