Public Education Appropriations Subcommittee


The committee chairs have scheduled the following meeting:


                                    DATE:      Thursday, February 11, 2016

                                    TIME:       8:00 a.m.

                                    PLACE:    Room 445, State Capitol Building




Sen. Howard A. Stephenson, Chair

Rep. Steve Eliason, Chair

Rep. Michael S. Kennedy, House Vice Chair


                  Sen. J. Stuart Adams                                        Rep. Joel K. Briscoe

                  Sen. Lyle W. Hillyard                                      Rep. LaVar Christensen

                  Sen. Jani Iwamoto                                           Rep. Bruce Cutler

                  Sen. Wayne L. Niederhauser                           Rep. Rebecca P. Edwards

                  Sen. Daniel W. Thatcher                                  Rep. Justin L. Fawson

                  Sen. Stephen H. Urquhart                                Rep. Francis D. Gibson

                                                                                          Rep. Bradley G. Last

                                                                                          Rep. David E. Lifferth

                                                                                          Rep. Marie H. Poulson

                                                                                          Rep. Kraig Powell

                                                                                          Rep. Norm Thurston


Staff:         Ben Leishman, Fiscal Analyst                          Jill Curry, Fiscal Analyst

                                                                                          Lori Brinkerhoff, Secretary



Please be aware that the public portions of this meeting will be broadcast live over the Internet. Also, be aware that an audio recording of the public portions of this meeting, along with any materials presented or distributed in the public portions of this meeting, will be posted on the Legislature’s website. Witnesses with questions or concerns should contact staff.


In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, persons needing auxiliary communicative aids and services for this meeting should call the Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel at 801-538-1032 or use Relay Utah (toll free in-state 7-1-1 or Spanish-language 888-346-3162), giving them at least 48 hours notice or the best notice practicable. Every effort will be made to accommodate requests for aids and services for effective communication during the annual General Session. However, please note that given the unpredictable and fast-paced nature of the legislative process, it is essential that you notify us of an accommodation request as soon as possible. Failure to do so in some circumstances may result in the Utah Legislature’s inability to accommodate the request.






Public Education Appropriations Subcommittee

Thursday, February 11, 2016, 8:00 a.m.



1.      8:00 a.m.      Call to Order

2.      8:05 a.m.      Dixie State University – Computer Crime Institute Cyber Bullying

3.      8:15 a.m.      Final FY 2016 & FY 2017 Budget Discussion & Questions

a.       Minimum School Program

b.      School Building Program

c.       Statewide Education Agencies

4.      9:00 a.m.      Intent Language

5.      9:30 a.m.      Budget Motions

6.      9:45 a.m.      Prioritization of Budget Recommendations

7.      10:50 a.m.    Adjourn