215 Senate Building, Utah State Capitol Complex

                                                                 March 2, 2016


Members Present:     Sen. David P. Hinkins, Chair

                                    Sen. Karen Mayne

                                    Sen. Kevin T. Van Tassell


Members Absent:      Sen. Alvin B. Jackson

                                    Sen. J. Stuart Adams

                                    Sen. Wayne A. Harper


Staff Present:             Mr. Alex Janak, Policy Analyst

                                    Mr. Chandler Young, Committee Secretary


NOTE:  A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.


Sen. Hinkins assumed the committee chair and called the meeting to order at 9:33 a.m.


S.B.   0236      Utah Communications Authority Governance Amendments (K. Van Tassell)


Sen. Van Tassell explained the bill to the committee.


MOTION:   Sen. Van Tassel moved to adopt the following 2nd amendment:

I.                    Page 4, Lines 105 through 110:         

                               105        (5) (a)  The governor shall, in accordance with Subsection (5)(b), appoint the chair of

                               106 the board with the consent of the Senate.  The chair shall serve a   {three-year}    two year   term.

                               107        (b) (i)  The governor shall make the initial selection of a chair from  { the}   one of the

                               108 members described in Subsection (2).  After the initial selection of a chair, the governor shall

                               109 alternate the selection of the chair between a local member described in Subsection (2)(a) and a

                               110 state member described in Subsection (2)(b).


The motion passed unanimously.


Spoke for the bill:       Ms. Kira Slawson, Utah Rural Telecom Association


Spoke against the bill:             Mr. Tom Ross, Bountiful City Police Chief  

                                                Mr. Gary Crane, Layton City & League of Cities and Towns

                                                Ms. Tina Mathien, Weber area 911 dispatch center


MOTION:  Sen. Van Tassell moved to pass the amended bill out favorably.  The motion passed with Sen. Mayne voting in opposition.


MOTION:   Sen. Van Tassell moved to adjourn.  The motion passed unanimously.


Acting Committee Chair Hinkins adjourned the meeting at 9:55 a.m.





Sen. David Hinkins, Chair