MINUTES OF THE SENATE GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS AND POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS STANDING COMMITTEE

Friday, February 10, 2017 • 3:00 pm • 415 State Capitol

Members Present:Sen. Peter C. KnudsonSen. Don L. Ipson, ChairSen. Daniel W. Thatcher

Sen. J. Stuart Adams

Sen. Margaret Dayton Staff Present:

Sen. Luz Escamilla Ms. Megan L. Bolin, Policy Analyst Sen. David P. Hinkins Ms. Paula Morgan, Committee Secretary

Sen. Jani Iwamoto

Note: A list of others present, a copy of related materials, and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at le.utah.gov.

Chair Ipson called the meeting to order at 3:17 p.m.

1. H.B. 193 Revisor's Technical Corrections to Utah Code (Wilson, B.)

Rep. Brad R. Wilson explained the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Hinkins moved to pass H.B. 193 out favorably. The motion passed with a

vote of 5-0-3.

Voting in the affirmative were:

Ipson D, Escamilla L, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P

Absent or not voting were:

Adams J S, Dayton M, Thatcher D

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Sen. L. Escamilla
Sen. J. Adams
Sen. D. Hinkins
Sen. D. Ipson
Sen. D. Thatcher

Sen. J. Iwamoto Sen. P. Knudson

MOTION: Sen. Hinkins moved to place H.B. 193 on the Consent Calendar. The motion

passed with a vote of 5-0-3. Voting in the affirmative were:

Ipson D, Escamilla L, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P

Absent or not voting were:

Adams J S, Dayton M, Thatcher D

Page 2

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Sen. L. Escamilla
Sen. J. Adams
Sen. D. Hinkins
Sen. D. Ipson
Sen. D. Thatcher

Sen. J. Iwamoto Sen. P. Knudson

2. H.B. 218 Poll Location Amendments (Hall, C.)

Rep. Hall explained the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Hinkins moved to pass H.B. 218 out favorably. The motion passed with a

vote of 5-0-3.

Voting in the affirmative were:

Ipson D, Escamilla L, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P

Absent or not voting were:

Adams J S, Dayton M, Thatcher D

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Sen. L. Escamilla
Sen. J. Adams
Sen. D. Hinkins
Sen. M. Dayton
Sen. D. Ipson
Sen. D. Thatcher

Sen. J. Iwamoto Sen. P. Knudson

MOTION: Sen. Hinkins moved to place H.B. 218 on the Consent Calendar. The motion

passed with a vote of 5-0-3. Voting in the affirmative were:

Ipson D, Escamilla L, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P

Absent or not voting were:

Adams J S, Dayton M, Thatcher D

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Page 3

Sen. L. Escamilla
Sen. J. Adams
Sen. D. Hinkins
Sen. D. Ipson
Sen. D. Thatcher

Sen. J. Iwamoto Sen. P. Knudson

3. S.B. 133 Procurement Process Amendments (Mayne, K.)

Sen. Mayne explained the bill.

Joey Gilbert, Vice President, Associated General Contractors, spoke to the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Hinkins moved to replace S.B. 133 with 1st Substitute S.B. 133. The motion

passed with a vote of 5-0-3. Voting in the affirmative were:

Ipson D, Escamilla L, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P

Absent or not voting were:

Adams J S, Dayton M, Thatcher D

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Sen. L. Escamilla
Sen. J. Adams
Sen. D. Hinkins
Sen. D. Ipson
Sen. D. Thatcher

Sen. J. Iwamoto Sen. P. Knudson

Joey Gilbert spoke to the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Hinkins moved to pass 1st Substitute S.B. 133 out favorably. The motion

passed with a vote of 6-0-2. Voting in the affirmative were:

Ipson D, Escamilla L, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P, Thatcher D

Absent or not voting were: Adams J S, Dayton M

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Page 4

Sen. L. Escamilla

Sen. J. Adams

Sen. D. Hinkins

Sen. M. Dayton

Sen. D. Ipson

Sen. J. Iwamoto

Sen. P. Knudson

Sen. D. Thatcher

4. 3rd Sub. H.B. 11 State Boards and Commissions Amendments (Thurston, N.)

Rep. Thurston explained the bill.

Mike Mower, Deputy Chief of Staff, Governor's Office, spoke in favor of the bill.

Ashley Soltysiak, Policy Director, Heal Utah, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Josh Craft, Utah Clean Energy, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Andrea Himoff, Citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Steve Erickson, Consultant, Crossroads Urban Center, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Fred Gruendell, Citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Ian Peisner, Citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Andrea Palmer, Citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Dayton moved to pass 3rd Substitute H.B. 11 out favorably. The motion

passed with a vote of 5-3-0. Voting in the affirmative were:

Ipson D, Adams J S, Dayton M, Hinkins D, Thatcher D

Voting in the negative were:

Escamilla L, Iwamoto J, Knudson P

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Page 5

Sen. J. Adams
Sen. L. Escamilla
Sen. M. Dayton
Sen. D. Hinkins
Sen. P. Knudson

Sen. D. Ipson Sen. D. Thatcher

5. S.B. 176 Public Transit Authority Collective Bargaining Amendments (Weiler, T.)

Sen. Weiler explained the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Thatcher moved to amend S.B. 176 with Amendment #1. The motion failed with a vote of 0-5-3.

Voting in the negative were:

Ipson D, Adams J S, Dayton M, Iwamoto J, Knudson P

Absent or not voting were:

Escamilla L, Hinkins D, Thatcher D

1. Page 1, Line 15:

```
15 \rightarrow \{ \frac{-\text{excludes}}{\text{in}} \quad \text{in the definition of } \quad \text{"professional employees" and "supervisors"}
```

2. Page 2, Line 53:

```
53 (5) (a) { Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b), "employed" means an individual
```

3. Page 2, Lines 55 through 56:

55 (b) "Employee" { —does not include an independent contracto}; includes

a professional employee { —;

56 or } and a supervisor.

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Sen. J. Adams
Sen. L. Escamilla
Sen. M. Dayton
Sen. D. Hinkins
Sen. D. Thatcher

Sen. J. Iwamoto Sen. P. Knudson

Jerry Benson, President and CEO of Utah Transit Authority, spoke in favor of the bill.

Jaymie Blakesley, General Counsel, Utah Transit Authority, spoke to the bill.

Mr. Blakesley, responded to questions.

Joseph Hatch, Attorney, Utah AFLCIO, spoke in favor of the bill.

Kathleen Kaufman, Citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Russell Monahan, Attorney, Teamsters 222, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Jaymie Blakesley, General Counsel, UTA spoke to the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Dayton moved to pass S.B. 176 out favorably.

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

SUBSTITUTE MOTION: Sen. Adams moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 6-2-0.

Voting in the affirmative were:

Ipson D, Adams J S, Dayton M, Hinkins D, Knudson P, Thatcher D

Voting in the negative were: Escamilla L, Iwamoto J

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Sen. J. Adams Sen. L. Escamilla Sen. M. Dayton Sen. J. Iwamoto

Sen. D. Hinkins Sen. D. Ipson

Sen. P. Knudson

Sen. D. Thatcher

Chair Ipson adjourned the meeting at 4:58 PM.