MINUTES OF THE SENATE GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS AND POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS STANDING COMMITTEE

Tuesday, February 14, 2017 • 8:00 am • 415 State Capitol

Members Present:

Sen. Don L. Ipson, Chair Members Absent:
Sen. Margaret Dayton Sen. J. Stuart Adams

Sen. Luz Escamilla

Sen. David P. Hinkins Staff Present:

Sen. Jani Iwamoto Ms. Megan L. Bolin, Policy Analyst Sen. Peter C. Knudson Ms. Paula Morgan, Committee Secretary

Sen. Daniel W. Thatcher

Note: A list of others present, a copy of related materials, and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at le.utah.gov.

Chair Ipson called the meeting to order at 8:10 a.m.

MOTION: Sen. Hinkins moved to approve the minutes for the February 3 and 7 meetings.

The motion passed with a vote of 5-0-3.

Voting in the affirmative were:

Ipson D, Dayton M, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P

Absent or not voting were:

Adams J S, Escamilla L, Thatcher D

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Sen. M. Dayton Sen. J. Adams
Sen. D. Hinkins Sen. L. Escamilla
Sen. D. Ipson Sen. D. Thatcher

Sen. J. Iwamoto Sen. P. Knudson

1. S.B. 195 Government Transparency Revisions (Henderson, D.)

Sen. Henderson explained the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Knudson moved to pass S.B. 195 out favorably. The motion passed with a

vote of 5-0-3.

Voting in the affirmative were:

Ipson D, Dayton M, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P

Absent or not voting were:

Adams J S, Escamilla L, Thatcher D

Senate Government Operations and Political Subdivisions Standing Committee February 14, 2017

Page 2

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Sen. M. Dayton Sen. J. Adams
Sen. D. Hinkins Sen. L. Escamilla
Sen. D. Ipson Sen. D. Thatcher

Sen. J. Iwamoto Sen. P. Knudson

MOTION: Sen. Hinkins moved to place S.B. 195 on the Consent Calendar. The motion

passed with a vote of 5-0-3. Voting in the affirmative were:

Ipson D, Dayton M, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P

Absent or not voting were:

Adams J S, Escamilla L, Thatcher D

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Sen. M. Dayton Sen. J. Adams
Sen. D. Hinkins Sen. L. Escamilla
Sen. D. Ipson Sen. D. Thatcher

Sen. J. Iwamoto Sen. P. Knudson

2. H.J.R. 3 Joint Resolution Calling for a Convention to Amend the Constitution of the United States (*Nelson*, *M.*)

MOTION: Sen. Hinkins moved to replace H.J.R. 3 with 1st Substitute H.J.R. 3. The motion

passed with a vote of 5-0-3. Voting in the affirmative were:

Ipson D, Escamilla L, Hinkins D, Iwamoto J, Knudson P

Absent or not voting were:

Adams J S, Dayton M, Thatcher D

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Sen. L. Escamilla
Sen. J. Adams
Sen. D. Hinkins
Sen. M. Dayton
Sen. D. Ipson
Sen. D. Thatcher

Sen. J. Iwamoto Sen. P. Knudson Senate Government Operations and Political Subdivisions Standing Committee February 14, 2017
Page 3

Rep. Nelson explained the bill with the assistance of Sen. Vickers.

Nathan Brown, citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Donald Cutshaw, citizen, spoke in favor of the bill.

Scott Bradley, citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Mitchell Oldroyd, District Captain, Convention of States, spoke in favor of the bill.

Gayle Ruzicka, Eagle Forum, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Joshua Willis, citizen, spoke in favor of the bill.

Sharon Anderson, citizen, Campaign for Liberty, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Jan Cogmaister, citizen, spoke in favor of the bill.

Vince Newmeyer, citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Michael Barth, citizen, spoke in favor of the bill.

Joyce Kinmont, citzen spoke in opposition to the bill.

Karen Nance, District Captain, Convention of States, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Thatcher moved to pass 1st Substitute H.J.R. 3 out favorably. The motion

passed with a vote of 4-3-1.

Voting in the affirmative were:

Ipson D, Hinkins D, Knudson P, Thatcher D

Voting in the negative were:

Dayton M, Escamilla L, Iwamoto J

Absent or not voting was:

Adams J S

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Senate Government Operations and Political Subdivisions Standing Committee February 14, 2017

Page 4

Sen. D. Hinkins Sen. M. Dayton Sen. J. Adams

Sen. D. Ipson Sen. L. Escamilla Sen. P. Knudson Sen. J. Iwamoto

Sen. D. Thatcher

MOTION: Sen. Thatcher moved to adjourn.

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Sen. M. Dayton Sen. J. Adams

Sen. L. Escamilla

Sen. D. Hinkins

Sen. D. Ipson

Sen. J. Iwamoto

Sen. P. Knudson

Sen. D. Thatcher

Meeting adjourned at 9:28 a.m.