## MINUTES OF THE HOUSE PUBLIC UTILITIES, ENERGY, AND TECHNOLOGY STANDING COMMITTEE

Monday, February 13, 2017 • 2:00 p.m. • 450 State Capitol

Members Present:Rep. A. Cory MaloyRep. Stephen G. Handy, ChairRep. Keven J. Stratton

Rep. Merrill F. Nelson, Vice Chair

Rep. Carl R. Albrecht
Rep. Patrice M. Arent
Rep. Keith Grover

Rep. Walt Brooks

Rep. Scott H. Chew Staff Present:

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson Mr. Adam J. Sweet, Policy Analyst Rep. Lynn N. Hemingway Ms. Wendy Hill, Committee Secretary

Note: A list of others present, a copy of related materials, and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at le.utah.gov.

Vice Chair Nelson called the meeting to order at 2:01 p.m.

**MOTION:** Rep. Handy moved to approve the minutes. The motion passed with a vote of 7-0-4.

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. S. Chew

Rep. P. Arent

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. W. Brooks Rep. K. Grover Rep. S. Handy Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. L. Hemingway

Rep. A. Maloy

Rep. M. Nelson

## 1. H.B. 293 Mountainous Planning District Amendments (Schultz, M.)

Rep. Mike Schultz explained the bill with the assistance of Mr. Patrick Reimherr, Salt Lake County.

Mr. Jeff Silvestrini, Mayor, Millcreek City, spoke in favor of the bill.

Ms. Nancy Carlson-Gotts, Association of Community Councils, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Mr. Wayne Crawford, Cardiff Canyon Owners Association, spoke in opposition to the bill

House Public Utilities, Energy, and Technology Standing Committee February 13, 2017 Page 2

Mr. Robert Cameron, citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Ms. Debra Maher, citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Mr. Brian Allen, Cottonwood Heights City, spoke in favor of the bill.

Ms. Nicole Martin, Deputy Mayor, Sandy City, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Wilf Sommerkorn, Regional Planning and Transportation, Salt Lake County, answered questions from the committee.

Mr. David Robinson, citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Ms. Marie Taylor, citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Mr. Norm Henderson, citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. Handy moved to replace H.B. 293 with 1st Substitute H.B. 293. The motion passed with a vote of 9-0-2.

Rep. P. Arent

Rep. K. Grover

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Rep. C. Albrecht

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. S. Chew

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. L. Hemingway

Rep. A. Maloy

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. K. Stratton

House Public Utilities, Energy, and Technology Standing Committee February 13, 2017

Page 3

**MOTION:** Rep. Hemingway moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 293 out favorably. The

motion passed with a vote of 8-1-2.

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. K. Stratton Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks Rep. K. Grover

Rep. S. Chew

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. L. Hemingway

Rep. A. Maloy

Rep. M. Nelson

## 2. H.B. 297 Renewable Energy Amendments (Handy, S.)

Rep. Handy explained the bill with the assistance of Mr. Nick Goodman, Cyrq Energy Inc.

Ms. Michele Beck, Utah Office of Consumer Services, spoke to the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. Hemingway moved to replace H.B. 297 with 1st Substitute H.B. 297. The motion passed with a vote of 9-0-2.

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Rep. C. Albrecht
Rep. W. Brooks
Rep. K. Grover

Rep. S. Chew

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. L. Hemingway

Rep. A. Maloy

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. K. Stratton

**MOTION:** Rep. Hemingway moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 297 out favorably. The

motion passed with a vote of 10-0-1.

House Public Utilities, Energy, and Technology Standing Committee
February 13, 2017
Page 4

Yeas: Nays: Abs: Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. K. Grover Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks Rep. S. Chew Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Handy Rep. L. Hemingway Rep. A. Maloy Rep. M. Nelson Rep. K. Stratton **MOTION:** Rep. Christofferson moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 10-0-1. Yeas: Nays: Abs: Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. K. Grover Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks Rep. S. Chew Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Handy Rep. L. Hemingway Rep. A. Maloy Rep. M. Nelson Rep. K. Stratton Vice Chair Nelson adjourned the meeting to order at 3:31 p.m.

Rep. Stephen G. Handy, Chair