MINUTES OF THE HOUSE REVENUE AND TAXATION STANDING COMMITTEE

Thursday, March 2, 2017 • 8:00 am • 445 State Capitol

Members Present:Rep. Tim QuinnRep. Steve Eliason, ChairRep. Jon E. Stanard

Rep. Douglas V. Sagers, Vice Chair

Rep. Joel K. Briscoe
Rep. Gage Froerer

Members Absent:
Rep. Brad R. Wilson

Rep. Brian M. Greene
Rep. Ken Ivory

Staff Present:

Rep. Brian S. King Mr. Leif G. Elder, Policy Analyst

Rep. Karianne Lisonbee Ms. Linda Service, Committee Secretary

Rep. Jefferson Moss

Note: A list of others present, a copy of related materials, and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at le.utah.gov.

Chair Eliason called the meeting to order at 8:12 a.m.

MOTION: Rep. Moss moved to approve the minutes of the February 27, 2017 meeting. The motion passed with a vote of 9-0-3.

Yeas:	Nays:	Abs:
-------	-------	------

Rep. J. Briscoe
Rep. S. Eliason
Rep. G. Froerer
Rep. G. Froerer
Rep. B. Wilson

Rep. B. Greene

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. B. King

Rep. K. Lisonbee

Rep. J. Moss

Rep. T. Quinn

Rep. Moss assumed the chair.

1. H.C.R. 25 Concurrent Resolution Regarding a National Crisis Hotline (Eliason, S.)

Rep. Eliason explained the bill assisted by Sen. Thatcher.

MOTION: Rep. King moved to pass H.C.R. 25 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 10-0-2.

House Revenue and Taxation Standing Committee March 2, 2017

Page 2

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Rep. J. Briscoe
Rep. S. Eliason
Rep. B. Wilson

Rep. G. Froerer

Rep. B. Greene

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. B. King

Rep. K. Lisonbee

Rep. J. Moss

Rep. T. Quinn

Rep. J. Stanard

MOTION: Rep. Eliason moved to place H.C.R. 25 on the Consent Calendar. The motion failed with a vote of 0-1-11.

Yeas:	Nays:	Abs:
	Rep. K. Ivory	Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. S. Eliason Rep. G. Froerer Rep. B. Greene Rep. B. King Rep. K. Lisonbee Rep. J. Moss Rep. T. Quinn Rep. D. Sagers Rep. J. Stanard Rep. B. Wilson

Rep. Eliason resumed the chair.

2. H.B. 388 Department of Public Safety Fee Amendments (Hutchings, E.)

Rep. Hutchings explained the bill assisted by Mr. Joseph Brown, Finance Director, Department of Public Safety, and Mr. Chris Caras, Director, Driver License Division, Department of Public Safety.

MOTION: Rep. Quinn moved to amend H.B. 388 with Amendment #1.

House Revenue and Taxation Standing Committee March 2, 2017 Page 3

1. Page 7, Lines 198 through 200:

(b) A processing fee for the right of access service, including obtaining a copy of the

199 individual's criminal history report under Subsection (9)(a) is $\{-\frac{\$}{\$}$ **\$20** This fee remains in effect

200 until changed by the commissioner through the process under Section 63J-1-504.

The motion passed with a vote of 10-0-2.

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Rep. K. Lisonbee Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. S. Eliason Rep. B. Wilson

Rep. G. Froerer

Rep. B. Greene

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. B. King

Rep. J. Moss

Rep. T. Quinn

Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. J. Stanard

MOTION: Rep. Sagers moved to pass H.B. 388 out favorably.

The motion passed with a vote of 10-0-2.

Yeas: Nays: Abs:

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. K. Lisonbee Rep. S. Eliason Rep. B. Wilson

Rep. G. Froerer

Rep. B. Greene

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. B. King

Rep. J. Moss

Rep. T. Quinn

Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. J. Stanard

House Revenue and Taxation Standing Committee March 2, 2017

Page 4

MOTION: Rep. Ivory moved to reconsider H.C.R. 25.

The motion passed with a vote of 10-0-2.

Rep. D. Sagers Rep. J. Stanard

Yeas:

Rep. J. Briscoe
Rep. S. Eliason
Rep. G. Froerer
Rep. B. Greene
Rep. K. Ivory
Rep. B. King
Rep. J. Moss
Rep. T. Quinn

MOTION: Rep. Ivory moved to place H.C.R. 25 on the Consent Calendar. The motion passed with a vote of 10-0-2.

Yeas:

Rep. J. Briscoe
Rep. S. Eliason
Rep. G. Froerer
Rep. B. Greene
Rep. K. Ivory
Rep. B. King
Rep. J. Moss
Rep. J. Moss
Rep. T. Quinn
Rep. D. Sagers
Rep. J. Stanard

3. 2nd Sub. S.B. 157 Changes to Property Tax (Bramble, C.)

Sen. Bramble explained the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Sagers moved to pass 2nd Substitute S.B. 157 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 6-2-4.

House Revenue and Taxation Standing Committee March 2, 2017 Page 5

Yeas:	Nays:	Abs:
Rep. S. Eliason Rep. B. Greene Rep. J. Moss Rep. T. Quinn Rep. D. Sagers Rep. J. Stanard	Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. B. King	Rep. G. Froerer Rep. K. Ivory Rep. K. Lisonbee Rep. B. Wilson

MOTION: Rep. Quinn moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 8-0-4.

r in restriction in the second			
Yeas:	Nays:	Abs:	
Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. S. Eliason Rep. B. Greene Rep. B. King Rep. J. Moss Rep. T. Quinn Rep. D. Sagers Rep. J. Stanard		Rep. G. Froerer Rep. K. Ivory Rep. K. Lisonbee Rep. B. Wilson	

Chair Eliason adjourned the meeting at 9:59 a.m.

D G DI G

Rep. Steve Eliason, Chair