	PUBLIC SAFETY FEE REVISIONS
	2018 GENERAL SESSION
	STATE OF UTAH
L	ONG TITLE
G	eneral Description:
	This bill changes fee amounts for services provided by the Department of Public Safety.
Hi	ighlighted Provisions:
	This bill:
	 increases certain fees for services provided by the Driver License Division;
	 increases certain fees for services provided by the Criminal Investigation and
	Technical Services Division; and
	increases fees for background checks when purchasing a firearm.
M	oney Appropriated in this Bill:
	None
O ₁	ther Special Clauses:
	None
Ut	tah Code Sections Affected:
Αl	MENDS:
	53-3-105 , as last amended by Laws of Utah 2014, Chapters 225, 252, and 343
	53-3-205 , as last amended by Laws of Utah 2016, Chapter 175
	53-5-706 , as last amended by Laws of Utah 2017, Chapter 286
	53-5-707, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2017, Chapter 286
	53-5-707.5 , as enacted by Laws of Utah 2017, Chapter 286
	53-9-111, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2014, Chapter 378
	53-10-108 , as last amended by Laws of Utah 2015, Chapters 255 and 389
	53-11-115 , as last amended by Laws of Utah 2015, Chapter 170
	76-10-526 , as last amended by Laws of Utah 2014, Chapter 226

Section 1. Section **53-3-105** is amended to read:

32	53-3-105. Fees for licenses, renewals, extensions, reinstatements, rescheduling,
33	and identification cards.
34	The following fees apply under this chapter:
35	(1) An original class D license application under Section 53-3-205 is [\$25] \$32.
36	(2) An original provisional license application for a class D license under Section
37	53-3-205 is [\$30] <u>\$39</u> .
38	(3) An original application for a motorcycle endorsement under Section 53-3-205 is
39	[\$9.50] <u>\$11</u> .
40	(4) An original application for a taxicab endorsement under Section 53-3-205 is [\$7]
41	<u>\$9</u> .
42	(5) A learner permit application under Section 53-3-210.5 is [\$15] \$19.
43	(6) A renewal of a class D license under Section 53-3-214 is [\$25] \$32 unless
44	Subsection (10) applies.
45	(7) A renewal of a provisional license application for a class D license under Section
46	53-3-214 is [\$25] <u>\$32</u> .
47	(8) A renewal of a motorcycle endorsement under Section 53-3-214 is [\$9.50] \$11.
48	(9) A renewal of a taxicab endorsement under Section 53-3-214 is $[\$7]$ $\$9$.
49	(10) A renewal of a class D license for a person 65 and older under Section 53-3-214 is
50	[\$13] <u>\$17</u> .
51	(11) An extension of a class D license under Section 53-3-214 is [\$20] \$26 unless
52	Subsection (15) applies.
53	(12) An extension of a provisional license application for a class D license under
54	Section 53-3-214 is [\$20] \$26.
55	(13) An extension of a motorcycle endorsement under Section 53-3-214 is [\$9.50] \$11
56	(14) An extension of a taxicab endorsement under Section 53-3-214 is $[\$7]$ $\$9$.
57	(15) An extension of a class D license for a person 65 and older under Section
58	53-3-214 is [\$11] <u>\$14</u> .
59	(16) An original or renewal application for a commercial class A, B, or C license or an
60	original or renewal of a provisional commercial class A or B license under Part 4, Uniform
61	Commercial Driver License Act, is[:] <u>\$52.</u>
62	[(a) \$40 for the knowledge test; and]

- 63 [(b) \$60 for the skills test.]
- 64 (17) A commercial class A, B, or C license skills test is \$78.
- 65 [(17)] (18) Each original CDL endorsement for passengers, hazardous material, double 66 or triple trailers, or tankers is [\$7] \$9.
- 67 [(18)] (19) An original CDL endorsement for a school bus under Part 4, Uniform
- 68 Commercial Driver License Act, is [\$7] \$9.
- 69 [(19)] (20) A renewal of a CDL endorsement under Part 4, Uniform Commercial
- 70 Driver License Act, is [\$7] \\$\\$9.
- 71 [(20)] (21) (a) A retake of a CDL knowledge test provided for in Section 53-3-205 is
- 72 [\$20] <u>\$26</u>.
- 73 (b) A retake of a CDL skills test provided for in Section 53-3-205 is [\$40] \$52.
- 74 $\left[\frac{(21)}{(22)}\right]$ A retake of a CDL endorsement test provided for in Section 53-3-205 is
- 75 [\$7] <u>\$9</u>.
- 76 [(22)] (23) A duplicate class A, B, C, or D license certificate under Section 53-3-215 is
- 77 [\$18] <u>\$23</u>.
- 78 $\left[\frac{(23)}{(24)}\right]$ (24) (a) A license reinstatement application under Section 53-3-205 is $\left[\frac{\$30}{3}\right]$ \$40.
- 79 (b) A license reinstatement application under Section 53-3-205 for an alcohol, drug, or
- combination of alcohol and any drug-related offense is [\$35] \$45 in addition to the fee under
- 81 Subsection [(23)] (24)(a).
- 82 [(24)] (25) (a) An administrative fee for license reinstatement after an alcohol, drug, or
- combination of alcohol and any drug-related offense under Section 41-6a-520, 53-3-223, or
- 84 53-3-231 or an alcohol, drug, or combination of alcohol and any drug-related offense under
- 85 Part 4, Uniform Commercial Driver License Act, is [\$230] \$255.
- 86 (b) This administrative fee is in addition to the fees under Subsection (23).
- 87 [(25)] (26) (a) An administrative fee for providing the driving record of a driver under
- 88 Section 53-3-104 or 53-3-420 is [\$\frac{\$6}{2}\$] \$\frac{\$8}{2}\$.
- 89 (b) The division may not charge for a report furnished under Section 53-3-104 to a
- 90 municipal, county, state, or federal agency.
- 91 [(26)] (27) A rescheduling fee under Section 53-3-205 or 53-3-407 is \$25.
- 92 [(27)] (28) (a) Except as provided under Subsections (27)(b) and (c), an identification
- 93 card application under Section 53-3-808 is [\$18] \$23.

94	(b) An identification card application under Section 53-3-808 for a person with a
95	disability, as defined in 42 U.S.C. Sec. 12102, is [\$13] \$17.
96	(c) A fee may not be charged for an identification card application if the person
97	applying:
98	(i) has not been issued a Utah driver license;
99	(ii) is indigent; and
100	(iii) is at least 18 years of age.
101	[(28)] (29) An extension of a regular identification card under Subsection 53-3-807(5)
102	for a person with a disability, as defined in 42 U.S.C. Sec. 12102, is [\$13] \$17.
103	[(29)] (30) An extension of a regular identification card under Subsection 53-3-807(6)
104	is [\$18] <u>\$23</u> .
105	[(30)] (31) In addition to any license application fees collected under this chapter, the
106	division shall impose on individuals submitting fingerprints in accordance with Section
107	53-3-205.5 the fees that the Bureau of Criminal Identification is authorized to collect for the
108	services the Bureau of Criminal Identification provides under Section 53-3-205.5.
109	[(31)] (32) An original mobility vehicle permit application under Section 41-6a-1118 is
110	[\$25] <u>\$30</u> .
111	[(32)] (33) A renewal of a mobility vehicle permit under Section 41-6a-1118 is $[$25]$
112	<u>\$30</u> .
113	[(33)] (34) A duplicate mobility vehicle permit under Section 41-6a-1118 is $[$10]$ $$12$.
114	Section 2. Section 53-3-205 is amended to read:
115	53-3-205. Application for license or endorsement Fee required Tests
116	Expiration dates of licenses and endorsements Information required Previous
117	licenses surrendered Driving record transferred from other states Reinstatement
118	Fee required License agreement.
119	(1) An application for any original license, provisional license, or endorsement shall
120	be:
121	(a) made upon a form furnished by the division; and
122	(b) accompanied by a nonrefundable fee set under Section 53-3-105.
123	(2) An application and fee for an original provisional class D license or an original
124	class D license entitle the applicant to:

125	(a) not more than three attempts to pass both the knowledge and the skills tests for a
126	class D license within six months of the date of the application;
127	(b) a learner permit if needed pending completion of the application and testing
128	process; and
129	(c) an original class D license and license certificate after all tests are passed and
130	requirements are completed.
131	(3) An application and fee for a motorcycle or taxicab endorsement entitle the
132	applicant to:
133	(a) not more than three attempts to pass both the knowledge and skills tests within six
134	months of the date of the application;
135	(b) a motorcycle learner permit after the motorcycle knowledge test is passed; and
136	(c) a motorcycle or taxicab endorsement when all tests are passed.
137	(4) An application [and fees] for a commercial class A, B, or C license [entitle] entitles
138	the applicant to:
139	(a) not more than two attempts to pass a knowledge test [and not more than two
140	attempts to pass a skills test within six months of the date of the application] when
141	accompanied by the fee provided in Subsection 53-3-105(16);
142	(b) not more than two attempts to pass a skills test when accompanied by a fee in
143	Subsection 53-3-105(16)(a) within six months of the date of application;
144	[(b)] (c) both a commercial driver instruction permit and a temporary license permit for
145	the license class held before the applicant submits the application if needed after the knowledge
146	test is passed; and
147	[(c)] (d) an original commercial class A, B, or C license and license certificate when all
148	applicable tests are passed.
149	(5) An application and fee for a CDL endorsement entitle the applicant to:
150	(a) not more than two attempts to pass a knowledge test and not more than two
151	attempts to pass a skills test within six months of the date of the application; and
152	(b) a CDL endorsement when all tests are passed.
153	(6) (a) If a CDL applicant does not pass a knowledge test, skills test, or an endorsement
154	test within the number of attempts provided in Subsection (4) or (5), each test may be taken
155	two additional times within the six months for the fee provided in Section 53-3-105.

156 (b) (i) Beginning July 1, 2015, an out-of-state resident who holds a valid CDIP issued 157 by a state or jurisdiction that is compliant with 49 C.F.R. Part 383 may take a skills test 158 administered by the division if the out-of-state resident pays the fee provided in Subsection 159 $53-3-105[\frac{(20)(b)}{(16)(a)}]$ 160 (ii) The division shall: 161 (A) electronically transmit skills test results for an out-of-state resident to the licensing 162 agency in the state or jurisdiction in which the person has obtained a valid CDIP; and 163 (B) provide the out-of-state resident with documentary evidence upon successful 164 completion of the skills test. 165 (7) (a) Except as provided under Subsections (7)(f), (g), and (h), an original license 166 expires on the birth date of the applicant in the fifth year following the year the license 167 certificate was issued. 168 (b) Except as provided under Subsections (7)(f), (g), and (h), a renewal or an extension 169 to a license expires on the birth date of the licensee in the fifth year following the expiration 170 date of the license certificate renewed or extended. 171 (c) Except as provided under Subsections (7)(f) and (g), a duplicate license expires on 172 the same date as the last license certificate issued. 173 (d) An endorsement to a license expires on the same date as the license certificate 174 regardless of the date the endorsement was granted. 175 (e) (i) A regular license certificate and any endorsement to the regular license 176 certificate held by a person described in Subsection (7)(e)(ii), which expires during the time 177 period the person is stationed outside of the state, is valid until 90 days after the person's orders 178 have been terminated, the person has been discharged, or the person's assignment has been 179 changed or terminated, unless: 180 (A) the license is suspended, disqualified, denied, or has been cancelled or revoked by 181 the division: or 182 (B) the licensee updates the information or photograph on the license certificate. 183 (ii) The provisions in Subsection (7)(e)(i) apply to a person: 184 (A) ordered to active duty and stationed outside of Utah in any of the armed forces of

(B) who is an immediate family member or dependent of a person described in

the United States;

185

187 Subsection (7)(e)(ii)(A) and is residing outside of Utah; 188 (C) who is a civilian employee of the United States State Department or United States 189 Department of Defense and is stationed outside of the United States; or 190 (D) who is an immediate family member or dependent of a person described in 191 Subsection (7)(e)(ii)(C) and is residing outside of the United States. 192 (f) (i) Except as provided in Subsection (7)(f)(ii), a limited-term license certificate or a 193 renewal to a limited-term license certificate expires: 194 (A) on the expiration date of the period of time of the individual's authorized stay in 195 the United States or on the date provided under this Subsection (7), whichever is sooner; or 196 (B) on the date of issuance in the first year following the year that the limited-term 197 license certificate was issued if there is no definite end to the individual's period of authorized 198 stay. 199 (ii) A limited-term license certificate or a renewal to a limited-term license certificate 200 issued to an approved asylee or a refugee expires on the birth date of the applicant in the fourth 201 year following the year that the limited-term license certificate was issued. 202 (g) A driving privilege card issued or renewed under Section 53-3-207 expires on the 203 birth date of the applicant in the first year following the year that the driving privilege card was 204 issued or renewed. 205 (h) An original license or a renewal to an original license expires on the birth date of 206 the applicant in the first year following the year that the license was issued if the applicant is 207 required to register as a sex offender in accordance with Title 77, Chapter 41, Sex and Kidnap 208 Offender Registry. 209 (8) (a) In addition to the information required by Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative 210 Procedures Act, for requests for agency action, each applicant shall: 211 (i) provide: 212 (A) the applicant's full legal name; 213 (B) the applicant's birth date; 214 (C) the applicant's gender; 215 (D) (I) documentary evidence of the applicant's valid Social Security number; 216 (II) written proof that the applicant is ineligible to receive a Social Security number;

(III) the applicant's temporary identification number (ITIN) issued by the Internal

218	Revenue Service for a person who:
219	(Aa) does not qualify for a Social Security number; and
220	(Bb) is applying for a driving privilege card; or
221	(IV) other documentary evidence approved by the division;
222	(E) the applicant's Utah residence address as documented by a form or forms
223	acceptable under rules made by the division under Section 53-3-104, unless the application is
224	for a temporary CDL issued under Subsection 53-3-407(2)(b); and
225	(F) fingerprints and a photograph in accordance with Section 53-3-205.5 if the person
226	is applying for a driving privilege card;
227	(ii) provide evidence of the applicant's lawful presence in the United States by
228	providing documentary evidence:
229	(A) that a person is:
230	(I) a United States citizen;
231	(II) a United States national; or
232	(III) a legal permanent resident alien; or
233	(B) of the applicant's:
234	(I) unexpired immigrant or nonimmigrant visa status for admission into the United
235	States;
236	(II) pending or approved application for asylum in the United States;
237	(III) admission into the United States as a refugee;
238	(IV) pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United
239	States;
240	(V) approved deferred action status;
241	(VI) pending application for adjustment of status to legal permanent resident or
242	conditional resident; or
243	(VII) conditional permanent resident alien status;
244	(iii) provide a description of the applicant;
245	(iv) state whether the applicant has previously been licensed to drive a motor vehicle
246	and, if so, when and by what state or country;
247	(v) state whether the applicant has ever had any license suspended, cancelled, revoked
248	disqualified, or denied in the last 10 years, or whether the applicant has ever had any license

249	application refused, and if so, the date of and reason for the suspension, cancellation,
250	revocation, disqualification, denial, or refusal;
251	(vi) state whether the applicant intends to make an anatomical gift under Title 26,
252	Chapter 28, Revised Uniform Anatomical Gift Act, in compliance with Subsection (15);
253	(vii) state whether the applicant is required to register as a sex offender in accordance
254	with Title 77, Chapter 41, Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry;
255	(viii) state whether the applicant is a veteran of the United States military, provide
256	verification that the applicant was granted an honorable or general discharge from the United
257	States Armed Forces, and state whether the applicant does or does not authorize sharing the
258	information with the state Department of Veterans' and Military Affairs;
259	(ix) provide all other information the division requires; and
260	(x) sign the application which signature may include an electronic signature as defined
261	in Section 46-4-102.
262	(b) Each applicant shall have a Utah residence address, unless the application is for a
263	temporary CDL issued under Subsection 53-3-407(2)(b).
264	(c) Each applicant shall provide evidence of lawful presence in the United States in
265	accordance with Subsection (8)(a)(ii), unless the application is for a driving privilege card.
266	(d) The division shall maintain on its computerized records an applicant's:
267	(i) (A) Social Security number;
268	(B) temporary identification number (ITIN); or
269	(C) other number assigned by the division if Subsection (8)(a)(i)(D)(IV) applies; and
270	(ii) indication whether the applicant is required to register as a sex offender in
271	accordance with Title 77, Chapter 41, Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry.
272	(9) The division shall require proof of every applicant's name, birthdate, and birthplace
273	by at least one of the following means:
274	(a) current license certificate;
275	(b) birth certificate;
276	(c) Selective Service registration; or
277	(d) other proof, including church records, family Bible notations, school records, or
278	other evidence considered acceptable by the division.
279	(10) (a) Except as provided in Subsection (10)(c), if an applicant receives a license in

280 higher class than what the applicant originally was issued:

281

285

286

287

288

289

290

291

292

293

294

295

296

297

298

299

300

301

302

303

304

305

306

307

- (i) the license application shall be treated as an original application; and
- 282 (ii) license and endorsement fees shall be assessed under Section 53-3-105.
- 283 (b) An applicant that receives a downgraded license in a lower license class during an existing license cycle that has not expired:
 - (i) may be issued a duplicate license with a lower license classification for the remainder of the existing license cycle; and
 - (ii) shall be assessed a duplicate license fee under Subsection 53-3-105(22) if a duplicate license is issued under Subsection (10)(b)(i).
 - (c) An applicant who has received a downgraded license in a lower license class under Subsection (10)(b):
 - (i) may, when eligible, receive a duplicate license in the highest class previously issued during a license cycle that has not expired for the remainder of the existing license cycle; and
 - (ii) shall be assessed a duplicate license fee under Subsection 53-3-105(22) if a duplicate license is issued under Subsection (10)(c)(i).
 - (11) (a) When an application is received from a person previously licensed in another state to drive a motor vehicle, the division shall request a copy of the driver's record from the other state.
 - (b) When received, the driver's record becomes part of the driver's record in this state with the same effect as though entered originally on the driver's record in this state.
 - (12) An application for reinstatement of a license after the suspension, cancellation, disqualification, denial, or revocation of a previous license shall be accompanied by the additional fee or fees specified in Section 53-3-105.
 - (13) A person who has an appointment with the division for testing and fails to keep the appointment or to cancel at least 48 hours in advance of the appointment shall pay the fee under Section 53-3-105.
 - (14) A person who applies for an original license or renewal of a license agrees that the person's license is subject to any suspension or revocation authorized under this title or Title 41, Motor Vehicles.
- 309 (15) (a) The indication of intent under Subsection (8)(a)(vi) shall be authenticated by 310 the licensee in accordance with division rule.

311	(b) (i) Notwithstanding Title 63G, Chapter 2, Government Records Access and
312	Management Act, the division may, upon request, release to an organ procurement
313	organization, as defined in Section 26-28-102, the names and addresses of all persons who
314	under Subsection (8)(a)(vi) indicate that they intend to make an anatomical gift.
315	(ii) An organ procurement organization may use released information only to:
316	(A) obtain additional information for an anatomical gift registry; and
317	(B) inform licensees of anatomical gift options, procedures, and benefits.
318	(16) Notwithstanding Title 63G, Chapter 2, Government Records Access and
319	Management Act, the division may release to the Department of Veterans' and Military Affairs
320	the names and addresses of all persons who indicate their status as a veteran under Subsection
321	(8)(a)(viii).
322	(17) The division and its employees are not liable, as a result of false or inaccurate
323	information provided under Subsection (8)(a)(vi) or (viii), for direct or indirect:
324	(a) loss;
325	(b) detriment; or
326	(c) injury.
327	(18) A person who knowingly fails to provide the information required under
328	Subsection (8)(a)(vii) is guilty of a class A misdemeanor.
329	(19) (a) Until December 1, 2014, a person born on or after December 1, 1964, may
330	hold both an unexpired Utah license certificate and an unexpired Utah identification card.
331	(b) On or after December 1, 2014, a person born on or after December 1, 1964:
332	(i) may not hold both an unexpired Utah license certificate and an unexpired
333	identification card; and
334	(ii) if the person has both an unexpired Utah license certificate and an unexpired Utah
335	identification card in the person's possession, shall be required to surrender either the unexpired
336	Utah license certificate or the unexpired Utah identification card.
337	(c) If a person has not surrendered either the Utah license certificate or the Utah
338	identification card as required under this Subsection (19), the division shall cancel the Utah
339	identification card on December 1, 2014.
340	(20) (a) Until December 1, 2017, a person born prior to December 1, 1964, may hold
341	both an unexpired Utah license certificate and an unexpired Utah identification card.

342	(b) On or after December 1, 2017, a person born prior to December 1, 1964:
343	(i) may not hold both an unexpired Utah license certificate and an unexpired
344	identification card; and
345	(ii) if the person has both an unexpired Utah license certificate and an unexpired Utah
346	identification card in the person's possession, shall be required to surrender either the unexpired
347	Utah license certificate or the unexpired Utah identification card.
348	(c) If a person has not surrendered either the Utah license certificate or the Utah
349	identification card as required under this Subsection (20), the division shall cancel the Utah
350	identification card on December 1, 2017.
351	(21) (a) A person who applies for an original motorcycle endorsement to a regular
352	license certificate is exempt from the requirement to pass the knowledge and skills test to be
353	eligible for the motorcycle endorsement if the person:
354	(i) is a resident of the state of Utah;
355	(ii) (A) is ordered to active duty and stationed outside of Utah in any of the armed
356	forces of the United States; or
357	(B) is an immediate family member or dependent of a person described in Subsection
358	(21)(a)(ii)(A) and is residing outside of Utah;
359	(iii) has a digitized driver license photo on file with the division;
360	(iv) provides proof to the division of the successful completion of a certified
361	Motorcycle Safety Foundation rider training course; and
362	(v) provides the necessary information and documentary evidence required under
363	Subsection (8).
364	(b) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the
365	division shall make rules:
366	(i) establishing the procedures for a person to obtain a motorcycle endorsement under
367	this Subsection (21); and
368	(ii) identifying the applicable restrictions for a motorcycle endorsement issued under
369	this Subsection (21).
370	Section 3. Section 53-5-706 is amended to read:
371	53-5-706. Permit Fingerprints transmitted to bureau Report from bureau.
372	(1) (a) Except as provided in Subsection (2), the fingerprints of each applicant shall be

taken on a form prescribed by the bureau.

374

375

376

377

378

379

380

381

382

383

384

385

386

387

389

390

391

392

393

394

395

396

397

398

(b) Upon receipt of the fingerprints, the fees prescribed in Section 53-10-108, and the fee prescribed in Section 53-5-707 or 53-5-707.5, the bureau shall conduct a search of its files for criminal history information pertaining to the applicant, and shall request the Federal Bureau of Investigation to conduct a similar search through its files.

- (c) If the fingerprints are insufficient for the Federal Bureau of Investigation to conduct a search of its files for criminal history information, the application or concealed firearm permit may be denied, suspended, or revoked until sufficient fingerprints are submitted by the applicant.
- (2) (a) If the permit applicant has previously applied to the bureau for a permit to carry concealed firearms, the bureau shall note the previous identification numbers and other data which would provide positive identification in the files of the bureau on the copy of any subsequent permit submitted to the bureau in accordance with this section.
- (b) No additional application form, fingerprints, or fee are required under this Subsection (2).
- Section 4. Section **53-5-707** is amended to read:

53-5-707. Concealed firearm permit -- Fees -- Concealed Weapons Account.

- (1) (a) An applicant for a concealed firearm permit shall pay a fee of \$24.75 at the time of filing an application.
- (b) A nonresident applicant shall pay an additional \$10 for the additional cost of processing a nonresident application.
- (c) The bureau shall waive the initial fee for an applicant who is a law enforcement officer under Section 53-13-103.
- (d) Concealed firearm permit renewal fees for active duty service members and the spouse of an active duty service member shall be waived.
 - (2) The renewal fee for the permit is [\$15] \$24.75.
- 399 (3) The replacement fee for the permit is \$10.
- 400 (4) (a) The late fee for the renewal permit is \$7.50.
- 401 (b) As used in this section, "late fee" means the fee charged by the bureau for a renewal submitted on a permit that has been expired for more than 30 days but less than one year.
- 403 (5) (a) There is created a restricted account within the General Fund known as the

	2018FL-0529/004 09-01-17 DRAF
404	"Concealed Weapons Account."
405	(b) The account shall be funded from fees collected under this section and Section
406	53-5-707.5.
407	(c) Funds in the account shall be used to cover costs relating to the issuance of
408	concealed firearm permits under this part and may not be used for any other purpose.
409	(6) (a) The bureau may collect any fees charged by an outside agency for additional
410	services required by statute as a prerequisite for issuance of a permit.
411	(b) The bureau may modify the fee under Subsection (1)(a) by adjusting that fee so that
412	the total of the fee under Subsection (1)(a) and the fee under Subsection (6)(a) is the nearest
413	even dollar amount to that total.
414	(c) The bureau shall promptly forward any fees collected under Subsection (6)(a) to the
415	appropriate agency.
416	(7) In addition to the fees described in Subsections 53-5-701(a) and (b), an applicant
417	described in Subsection 53-5-706(1) shall pay fees under Section 53-10-108.
418	$[\frac{7}{8}]$ (8) The bureau shall make an annual report in writing to the Legislature's Law
419	Enforcement and Criminal Justice Interim Committee on the amount and use of the fees
420	collected under this section and Section 53-5-707.5.
421	Section 5. Section 53-5-707.5 is amended to read:
422	53-5-707.5. Provisional concealed firearm permit Fees Disposition of fees.
423	(1) (a) An applicant for a provisional concealed firearm permit, as described in Section
424	53-5-704.5, shall pay a fee of \$24.75 at the time of filing an application.
425	(b) A nonresident applicant shall pay an additional \$10 for the additional cost of
426	processing a nonresident application.
427	(2) The replacement fee for the permit is \$10.
428	(3) Fees collected under this section shall be remitted to the Concealed Weapons
429	Account, as described in Subsection 53-5-707(5).

(4) (a) The bureau may collect any fees charged by an outside agency for additional services required by statute as a prerequisite for issuance of a permit.

430

431

432

433

434

(b) The bureau may modify the fee under Subsection (1)(a) by adjusting that fee so that the total of the fee under Subsection (1)(a) and the fee under Subsection (4)(a) is the nearest even dollar amount to that total.

435	(c) The bureau shall promptly forward any fees collected under Subsection (4)(a) to the
436	appropriate agency.
437	(5) In addition to the fees described in Subsections 53-5-707.5(1)(a) and (b), an
438	applicant described in Subsection 53-5-706(1) shall pay fees under Section 53-10-108.
439	Section 6. Section 53-9-111 is amended to read:
440	53-9-111. License and registration fees Deposit in General Fund.
441	(1) Fees for licensure and renewal are as follows:
442	(a) for an original agency license application and license, \$215, plus an additional fee
443	for the costs of fingerprint processing and background investigation;
444	(b) for the renewal of an agency license, \$115;
445	(c) for an original registrant or apprentice license application and license, \$115, plus an
446	additional fee for the costs of fingerprint processing and background investigation;
447	(d) for the renewal of a registrant or apprentice license, \$65;
448	(e) for filing an agency renewal application more than 30 days after the expiration date
449	of the license, a delinquency fee of \$65;
450	(f) for filing a registrant or apprentice renewal application more than 30 days after the
451	expiration date of the registration, a delinquency fee of \$45;
452	(g) for the reinstatement of any license, \$65;
453	(h) for a duplicate identification card, \$25; and
454	(i) for the fingerprint processing fee, <u>in addition to the non-criminal justice applicant</u>
455	fingerprint card fee under Section 53-10-108, an amount that does not exceed the cost to the
456	bureau charged by the Federal Bureau of Investigation for fingerprint processing for the
457	purpose of obtaining federal criminal history record information.
458	(2) (a) The bureau may renew a license granted under this chapter:
459	(i) to a resident of the state;
460	(ii) upon receipt of a renewal application on forms as prescribed by the bureau; and
461	(iii) upon receipt of the fees prescribed in Subsection (1).
462	(b) (i) The renewal of a license requires the filing of all certificates of insurance or
463	proof of surety bond as required by this chapter.
464	(ii) Renewal of a license may not be granted more than 180 days after expiration.
465	(c) A licensee may not engage in activity subject to this chapter during the period

466 between the date of expiration of the license and the renewal of the license. 467 (3) (a) The bureau shall renew a suspended license if: 468 (i) the period of suspension has been completed; 469 (ii) the bureau has received a renewal application from the applicant on forms 470 prescribed by the bureau; and 471 (iii) the applicant has: 472 (A) filed all certificates of insurance or proof of surety bond as required by this 473 chapter; and 474 (B) paid the fees required by this section for renewal, including a delinquency fee if the 475 application is not received by the bureau within 30 days of the termination of the suspension. 476 (b) Renewal of the license does not entitle the licensee, while the license remains 477 suspended and until it is reinstated, to engage in activity regulated by this chapter, or in other 478 activity or conduct in violation of the order or judgment by which the license was suspended. 479 (4) The bureau may not reinstate a revoked license or accept an application for a 480 license from a person whose license has been revoked for at least one year from the date of 481 revocation. 482 (5) All fees, except the fingerprint processing fee, collected by the bureau under this 483 section shall be deposited in the General Fund. 484 Section 7. Section **53-10-108** is amended to read: 485 53-10-108. Restrictions on access, use, and contents of division records -- Limited 486 use of records for employment purposes -- Challenging accuracy of records -- Usage fees 487 -- Missing children records -- Penalty for misuse of records. 488 (1) As used in this section: 489 (a) "FBI Rap Back System" means the rap back system maintained by the Federal 490 Bureau of Investigation. 491 (b) "Rap back system" means a system that enables authorized entities to receive 492 ongoing status notifications of any criminal history reported on individuals whose fingerprints 493 are registered in the system.

(c) "WIN Database" means the Western Identification Network Database that consists of eight western states sharing one electronic fingerprint database.

494

495

496

(2) Dissemination of information from a criminal history record, including information

497 obtained from a fingerprint background check or name check, or warrant of arrest information 498 from division files is limited to: 499 (a) criminal justice agencies for purposes of administration of criminal justice and for 500 employment screening by criminal justice agencies; 501 (b) noncriminal justice agencies or individuals for any purpose authorized by statute, 502 executive order, court rule, court order, or local ordinance; 503 (c) agencies or individuals for the purpose of obtaining required clearances connected 504 with foreign travel or obtaining citizenship; 505 (d) (i) agencies or individuals pursuant to a specific agreement with a criminal justice 506 agency to provide services required for the administration of criminal justice; and 507 (ii) the agreement shall specifically authorize access to data, limit the use of the data to 508 purposes for which given, and ensure the security and confidentiality of the data; 509 (e) agencies or individuals for the purpose of a preplacement adoptive study, in 510 accordance with the requirements of Sections 78B-6-128 and 78B-6-130; 511 (f) (i) agencies and individuals as the commissioner authorizes for the express purpose 512 of research, evaluative, or statistical activities pursuant to an agreement with a criminal justice 513 agency; and 514 (ii) private security agencies through guidelines established by the commissioner for 515 employment background checks for their own employees and prospective employees; 516 (g) a qualifying entity for employment background checks for their own employees and 517 persons who have applied for employment with the qualifying entity; and 518 (h) other agencies and individuals as the commissioner authorizes and finds necessary 519 for protection of life and property and for offender identification, apprehension, and 520 prosecution pursuant to an agreement. 521 (3) An agreement under Subsection (2)(f) or (2)(h) shall specifically authorize access 522 to data, limit the use of data to research, evaluative, or statistical purposes, preserve the 523 anonymity of individuals to whom the information relates, and ensure the confidentiality and 524 security of the data. 525 (4) (a) Before requesting information under Subsection (2)(g), a qualifying entity must

obtain a signed waiver from the person whose information is requested.

(b) The waiver must notify the signee:

526

028	(1) that a criminal history background check will be conducted;
529	(ii) who will see the information; and
530	(iii) how the information will be used.
531	(c) Information received by a qualifying entity under Subsection (2)(g) may only be:
532	(i) available to persons involved in the hiring or background investigation of the
533	employee; and
534	(ii) used for the purpose of assisting in making an employment or promotion decision.
535	(d) A person who disseminates or uses information obtained from the division under
536	Subsection (2)(g) for purposes other than those specified under Subsection (4)(c), in addition to
537	any penalties provided under this section, is subject to civil liability.
538	(e) A qualifying entity that obtains information under Subsection (2)(g) shall provide
539	the employee or employment applicant an opportunity to:
540	(i) review the information received as provided under Subsection (9); and
541	(ii) respond to any information received.
542	(f) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the
543	division may make rules to implement this Subsection (4).
544	(g) The division or its employees are not liable for defamation, invasion of privacy,
545	negligence, or any other claim in connection with the contents of information disseminated
546	under Subsection (2)(g).
547	(5) (a) Any criminal history record information obtained from division files may be
548	used only for the purposes for which it was provided and may not be further disseminated,
549	except under Subsection (5)(b), (c), or (d).
550	(b) A criminal history provided to an agency pursuant to Subsection (2)(e) may be
551	provided by the agency to the person who is the subject of the history, another licensed
552	child-placing agency, or the attorney for the adoptive parents for the purpose of facilitating an
553	adoption.
554	(c) A criminal history of a defendant provided to a criminal justice agency under
555	Subsection (2)(a) may also be provided by the prosecutor to a defendant's defense counsel,
556	upon request during the discovery process, for the purpose of establishing a defense in a
557	criminal case.
558	(d) A public transit district, as described in Title 17B, Chapter 2a, Part 8, Public

Transit District Act, that is under contract with a state agency to provide services may, for the purposes of complying with Subsection 62A-5-103.5(5), provide a criminal history record to the state agency or the agency's designee.

- (6) The division may not disseminate criminal history record information to qualifying entities under Subsection (2)(g) regarding employment background checks if the information is related to charges:
 - (a) that have been declined for prosecution;
- (b) that have been dismissed; or

559

560

561

562

563

564

565

566

567

568

569

570

571

572

573

574

575

576

577

578

579

580

581

582

- (c) regarding which a person has been acquitted.
- (7) (a) This section does not preclude the use of the division's central computing facilities for the storage and retrieval of criminal history record information.
- (b) This information shall be stored so it cannot be modified, destroyed, or accessed by unauthorized agencies or individuals.
- (8) Direct access through remote computer terminals to criminal history record information in the division's files is limited to those agencies authorized by the commissioner under procedures designed to prevent unauthorized access to this information.
- (9) (a) The commissioner shall establish procedures to allow an individual right of access to review and receive a copy of the individual's criminal history report.
- (b) A processing fee for the right of access service, including obtaining a copy of the individual's criminal history report under Subsection (9)(a) is [\$15] \$20. This fee remains in effect until changed by the commissioner through the process under Section 63J-1-504.
- (c) (i) The commissioner shall establish procedures for an individual to challenge the completeness and accuracy of criminal history record information contained in the division's computerized criminal history files regarding that individual.
- 583 (ii) These procedures shall include provisions for amending any information found to be inaccurate or incomplete.
 - (10) The private security agencies as provided in Subsection (2)(f)(ii):
- 586 (a) shall be charged for access; and
- 587 (b) shall be registered with the division according to rules made by the division under 588 Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.
- 589 (11) Before providing information requested under this section, the division shall give

590 priority to criminal justice agencies needs.

591

592

593

594

595

596

597

598

599

600

601

602

603

604

605

608

611

612

613

614

615

(12) (a) It is a class B misdemeanor for a person to knowingly or intentionally access, use, disclose, or disseminate a record created, maintained, or to which access is granted by the division or any information contained in a record created, maintained, or to which access is granted by the division for a purpose prohibited or not permitted by statute, rule, regulation, or policy of a governmental entity.

- (b) A person who discovers or becomes aware of any unauthorized use of records created or maintained, or to which access is granted by the division shall inform the commissioner and the director of the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification of the unauthorized use.
- (13) (a) Subject to Subsection (13)(b), a qualifying entity or an entity described in Subsection (2)(b) may request that the division register fingerprints taken for the purpose of conducting current and future criminal background checks under this section with:
 - (i) the WIN Database rap back system, or any successor system;
- (ii) the FBI Rap Back System; or
 - (iii) a system maintained by the division.
- 606 (b) A qualifying entity or an entity described in Subsection (2)(b) may only make a 607 request under Subsection (13)(a) if the entity:
 - (i) has the authority through state or federal statute or federal executive order;
- 609 (ii) obtains a signed waiver from the individual whose fingerprints are being registered; 610 and
 - (iii) establishes a privacy risk mitigation strategy to ensure that the entity only receives notifications for individuals with whom the entity maintains an authorizing relationship.
 - (14) The division is authorized to submit fingerprints to the FBI Rap Back System to be retained in the FBI Rap Back System for the purpose of being searched by future submissions to the FBI Rap Back System, including latent fingerprint searches.
- 616 (15) (a) [(i)] The <u>fee for a non-criminal justice</u> applicant:
- (i) fingerprint card [fee under Subsection (2)] is \$20[-]; and
- (ii) [The] name check [fee under Subsection (2)] is [\$15] \$20.
- [(iii)] (b) The fee to register fingerprints under Subsection (13)(a)(i) is \$5.
- 620 [(iv)] (c) The fees described in this Subsection (15)(a) remain in effect until changed

621	by the division through the process under Section 63J-1-504.
622	[(b)] (d) Funds generated under this Subsection (15) shall be deposited into the General
623	Fund as a dedicated credit by the department to cover the costs incurred in providing the
624	information.
625	[(e)] (e) The division may collect fees charged by an outside agency for services
626	required under this section.
627	Section 8. Section 53-11-115 is amended to read:
628	53-11-115. License fees Deposit in General Fund.
629	(1) Fees for licensure, registration, and renewal are:
630	(a) for an original bail enforcement agent license application and license, \$250, which
631	shall include the costs of fingerprint processing and background investigation;
632	(b) for the renewal of a bail enforcement agent or bail bond recovery agency license,
633	\$150;
634	(c) for an original bail recovery agent license application and license, \$150, which shall
635	include the costs of fingerprint processing and background investigation;
636	(d) for the renewal of each bail recovery agent license, \$100;
637	(e) for an original bail recovery apprentice license application and license, \$150, which
638	shall include the costs of fingerprint processing and background investigation;
639	(f) for the renewal of each bail recovery apprentice license, \$100;
640	(g) for filing a renewal application under Subsection (1)(b) more than 30 days after the
641	expiration date of the license, a delinquency fee of \$50;
642	(h) for filing a renewal application under Subsection (1)(d) more than 30 days after the
643	expiration date of the registration, a delinquency fee of \$30;
644	(i) for filing a renewal application under Subsection (1)(f) more than 30 days after the
645	expiration date of the apprentice license, a delinquency fee of \$30;
646	(j) for the reinstatement of a bail enforcement agent or bail bond recovery agency
647	license, \$50;
648	(k) for a duplicate identification card, \$10; [and]
649	(l) for reinstatement of an identification card, \$10[:]; and
650	(m) for the fingerprint processing fee, in addition to the non-criminal justice applicant
651	fingerprint card fee under Section 53-10-108, an amount that does not exceed the cost to the

652 bureau charged by the Federal Bureau of Investigation for fingerprint processing for the 653 purpose of obtaining federal criminal history record information. 654 (2) (a) The bureau may renew a license granted under this chapter upon receipt of an 655 application on forms as prescribed by the board and upon receipt of the fees prescribed in 656 Subsection (1), if the licensee's application meets all the requirements for renewal. 657 (b) If the bureau determines the license renewal application does not meet all the 658 requirements for renewal, the bureau shall submit the renewal application to the board for 659 review and action. (c) A license may not be renewed more than 90 days after its expiration. 660 661 (d) A licensee may not engage in any activity subject to this chapter during any period 662 between the date of expiration of the license and the renewal of the license. 663 (3) (a) The board may reinstate a suspended license upon completion of the term of 664 suspension. 665 (b) Renewal of the license does not entitle the licensee, while the license remains 666 suspended and until it is reinstated, to engage in any activity regulated by this chapter, or in any 667 other activity or conduct in violation of the order or judgment by which the license was 668 suspended. 669 (4) The board may not reinstate a revoked license or accept an application for a license 670 from a person whose license has been revoked for at least one year after the date of revocation. 671 (5) All fees collected by the department under this section shall be deposited in the 672 General Fund. 673 Section 9. Section **76-10-526** is amended to read: 674 76-10-526. Criminal background check prior to purchase of a firearm -- Fee --675 Exemption for concealed firearm permit holders and law enforcement officers. 676 (1) For purposes of this section, "valid permit to carry a concealed firearm" does not 677 include a temporary permit issued under Section 53-5-705.

(2) (a) To establish personal identification and residence in this state for purposes of this part, a dealer shall require an individual receiving a firearm to present one photo identification on a form issued by a governmental agency of the state.

678

679

680

681

682

(b) A dealer may not accept a driving privilege card issued under Section 53-3-207 as proof of identification for the purpose of establishing personal identification and residence in

- this state as required under this Subsection (2).
- 684 (3) (a) A criminal history background check is required for the sale of a firearm by a licensed firearm dealer in the state.
- (b) Subsection (3)(a) does not apply to the sale of a firearm to a Federal Firearms Licensee.
- 688 (4) (a) An individual purchasing a firearm from a dealer shall consent in writing to a 689 criminal background check, on a form provided by the bureau.
 - (b) The form shall contain the following information:
- (i) the dealer identification number;

690

695

696

697

698

699

700

701

702

703

704

705

- (ii) the name and address of the individual receiving the firearm;
- 693 (iii) the date of birth, height, weight, eye color, and hair color of the individual 694 receiving the firearm; and
 - (iv) the social security number or any other identification number of the individual receiving the firearm.
 - (5) (a) The dealer shall send the information required by Subsection (4) to the bureau immediately upon its receipt by the dealer.
 - (b) A dealer may not sell or transfer a firearm to an individual until the dealer has provided the bureau with the information in Subsection (4) and has received approval from the bureau under Subsection (7).
 - (6) The dealer shall make a request for criminal history background information by telephone or other electronic means to the bureau and shall receive approval or denial of the inquiry by telephone or other electronic means.
 - (7) When the dealer calls for or requests a criminal history background check, the bureau shall:
- (a) review the criminal history files, including juvenile court records, to determine if the individual is prohibited from purchasing, possessing, or transferring a firearm by state or federal law;
- 710 (b) inform the dealer that:
- 711 (i) the records indicate the individual is prohibited; or
- 712 (ii) the individual is approved for purchasing, possessing, or transferring a firearm;
- 713 (c) provide the dealer with a unique transaction number for that inquiry; and

(d) provide a response to the requesting dealer during the call for a criminal background check, or by return call, or other electronic means, without delay, except in case of electronic failure or other circumstances beyond the control of the bureau, the bureau shall advise the dealer of the reason for the delay and give the dealer an estimate of the length of the delay.

- (8) (a) The bureau may not maintain any records of the criminal history background check longer than 20 days from the date of the dealer's request, if the bureau determines that the individual receiving the firearm is not prohibited from purchasing, possessing, or transferring the firearm under state or federal law.
- (b) However, the bureau shall maintain a log of requests containing the dealer's federal firearms number, the transaction number, and the transaction date for a period of 12 months.
- (9) If the criminal history background check discloses information indicating that the individual attempting to purchase the firearm is prohibited from purchasing, possessing, or transferring a firearm, the bureau shall inform the law enforcement agency in the jurisdiction where the individual resides.
- (10) If an individual is denied the right to purchase a firearm under this section, the individual may review the individual's criminal history information and may challenge or amend the information as provided in Section 53-10-108.
- (11) The bureau shall make rules in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, to ensure the identity, confidentiality, and security of all records provided by the bureau under this part are in conformance with the requirements of the Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act, Pub. L. No. 103-159, 107 Stat. 1536 (1993).
- (12) (a) (i) A dealer shall collect a criminal history background check fee of [\$7.50] \$10 for the sale of a firearm under this section.
- 738 (ii) This fee remains in effect until changed by the bureau through the process under 739 Section 63J-1-504.
- (b) (i) The dealer shall forward at one time all fees collected for criminal history background checks performed during the month to the bureau by the last day of the month following the sale of a firearm.
 - (ii) The bureau shall deposit the fees in the General Fund as dedicated credits to cover the cost of administering and conducting the criminal history background check program.

745 (13) An individual with a concealed firearm permit issued under Title 53, Chapter 5, 746 Part 7, Concealed Firearm Act, is exempt from the background check and corresponding fee 747 required in this section for the purchase of a firearm if: 748 (a) the individual presents the individual's concealed firearm permit to the dealer prior 749 to purchase of the firearm; and (b) the dealer verifies with the bureau that the individual's concealed firearm permit is 750 751 valid. 752 (14) A law enforcement officer, as defined in Section 53-13-103, is exempt from the 753 background check fee required in this section for the purchase of a personal firearm to be 754 carried while off-duty if the law enforcement officer verifies current employment by providing 755 a letter of good standing from the officer's commanding officer and current law enforcement 756 photo identification. This section may only be used by a law enforcement officer to purchase a 757 personal firearm once in a 24-month period. 758 (15) (a) A dealer may participate in the redeemable coupon program described in this 759 Subsection (15) and Subsection 53-10-202(18). 760 (b) A participating dealer shall: 761 (i) accept the redeemable coupon only from the individual whose name is on the 762 coupon and apply it only toward the purchase of a gun safe; 763 (ii) collect the receipts from the purchase of gun safes using the redeemable coupon 764 and send them to the Bureau of Criminal Identification for redemption; and 765 (iii) make the firearm safety brochure described in Subsection 53-10-202(18) available

766

to customers free of charge.