10-04-18 DRAFT 2019FL-0611/002

1	INTERGENERATIONAL POVERTY WORK AND
2	SELF-SUFFICIENCY TAX CREDIT
3	2019 GENERAL SESSION
4	STATE OF UTAH
5	
6	LONG TITLE
7	General Description:
8	This bill enacts a state earned income tax credit.
9	Highlighted Provisions:
10	This bill:
11	<ul><li>defines terms;</li></ul>
12	• enacts a refundable state earned income tax credit for certain individuals who are
13	experiencing intergenerational poverty;
14	<ul> <li>requires the Department of Workforce Services to notify individuals who are</li> </ul>
15	experiencing intergenerational poverty of the state earned income tax credit and to
16	provide certain information about those individuals to the State Tax Commission;
17	<ul><li>provides for apportionment of the tax credit;</li></ul>
18	<ul> <li>addresses the time period for the State Tax Commission to issue a refund of the</li> </ul>
19	state earned income tax credit;
20	<ul> <li>addresses the State Tax Commission's use of the report provided by the Department</li> </ul>
21	of Workforce Services; and
22	<ul> <li>requires transfers from the General Fund to reimburse the Education Fund for the</li> </ul>
23	amount of the tax credit claimed.
24	Money Appropriated in this Bill:
25	None
26	Other Special Clauses:
27	This bill provides a special effective date.
28	<b>Utah Code Sections Affected:</b>
29	AMENDS:
30	<b>59-10-529.1</b> , as enacted by Laws of Utah 2015, Chapter 369
31	ENACTS:

2019FL-0611/002 10-04-18 DRAFT

	<b>35A-9-214</b> , Utah Code Annotated 1953
	<b>59-10-1102.1</b> , Utah Code Annotated 1953
	<b>59-10-1112</b> , Utah Code Annotated 1953
Ве	e it enacted by the Legislature of the state of Utah:
	Section 1. Section <b>35A-9-214</b> is enacted to read:
	35A-9-214. Tax credit notification Intergenerational poverty report to tax
co	mmission.
	(1) As used in this section, "commission" means the State Tax Commission.
	(2) (a) On or before January 31, the department shall provide notice of the tax credit
<u>av</u>	ailable under Section 59-10-1112 to an individual who the department identifies as
ex	periencing intergenerational poverty due to:
	(i) the individual's receipt of public assistance during the previous calendar year;
	(ii) the individual's receipt of public assistance for not less than 12 months since the
n	dividual reached age 18; and
	(iii) the individual's or the individual's family's receipt of public assistance for not less
h	an 12 months during the individual's childhood.
	(b) The notice described in Subsection (2)(a) shall explain the eligibility requirements
ın	d the method for claiming a tax credit under Section 59-10-1112.
	(3) (a) On or before March 1, the department shall provide the commission with an
el	ectronic report stating, for each individual to whom the department sent the notice described
in	Subsection (2):
	(i) the name of the individual; and
	(ii) the social security number of the individual.
	(b) The department and the commission shall provide for the security and
<u>cc</u>	nfidentiality of the information contained in the electronic report.
	Section 2. Section <b>59-10-529.1</b> is amended to read:
	59-10-529.1. Time period for commission to issue a refund.
	(1) Except as provided in Subsection (2), the commission may not issue a refund
be	fore March 1.
	(2) The commission may issue a refund before March 1 if, before March 1, the

10-04-18 DRAFT 2019FL-0611/002

63	commission determines that:
64	(a) (i) an employer has filed the one or more forms in accordance with Subsection
65	59-10-406(8) the employer is required to file with respect to an individual; and
66	(ii) for a refund of a tax credit described in Section 59-10-1112, the Department of
67	Workforce Services has submitted the electronic report required by Section 35A-9-214; and
68	(b) the individual has filed a return in accordance with this chapter.
69	Section 3. Section <b>59-10-1102.1</b> is enacted to read:
70	59-10-1102.1. Apportionment of tax credit.
71	A nonresident individual or a part-year resident individual who claims the tax credit
72	described in Section 59-10-1112 may only claim an apportioned amount of the tax credit equal
73	to the product of:
74	(1) the state income tax percentage for a nonresident individual or the state income tax
75	percentage for a part-year resident individual; and
76	(2) the amount of the tax credit that the nonresident individual or the part-year resident
77	individual would have been allowed to claim but for the apportionment requirement of this
78	section.
79	Section 4. Section <b>59-10-1112</b> is enacted to read:
80	59-10-1112. Refundable state earned income tax credit Definition Tax credit
81	calculation Transfers from General Fund.
82	(1) As used in this section:
83	(a) "Department" means the Department of Workforce Services created in Section
84	<u>35A-1-103.</u>
85	(b) "Federal earned income tax credit" means the federal earned income tax credit
86	described in Section 32, Internal Revenue Code.
87	(c) "Intergenerational poverty" means the same as that term is defined in Section
88	35A-9-102.
89	(d) "Qualifying claimant" means a resident or nonresident individual who:
90	(i) is identified by the department as experiencing intergenerational poverty; and
91	(ii) claimed the federal earned income tax credit for the previous taxable year.
92	(2) Except as provided in Section 59-10-1102.1, a qualifying claimant may claim a
93	refundable earned income tax credit equal to 10% of the amount of the federal earned income

2019FL-0611/002 10-04-18 DRAFT

94	tax credit that the qualifying claimant was entitled to claim on a federal income tax return in
95	the previous taxable year.
96	(3) (a) The commission shall use the electronic report described in Section 35A-9-214
97	to verify that a qualifying claimant is identified as experiencing intergenerational poverty.
98	(b) The commission may not use the electronic report described in Section 35A-9-214
99	for any other purpose.
100	(4) (a) The Division of Finance shall transfer at least annually from the General Fund
101	into the Education Fund an amount equal to the amount of tax credit claimed under this
102	section.
103	(b) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the
104	commission may make rules for making the transfer described in Subsection (4)(a).
105	Section 5. Effective date.
106	This bill takes effect for a taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2020.