Wednesday, June 14, 2023 | 1:15 PM | 210 Senate Building

1.    Committee Business

         Call to order

         Approval of the minutes of the May 17, 2023, meeting


2.    Road Rage

The committee will discuss recent road rage incidents in Utah, the prevalence of such incidents, and how the offense is criminalized in Utah and other states.

         Committee staff

         Col. Mike Rapich, Utah Highway Patrol


3.    Transportation Utility Fees

The committee will discuss the recent Utah Supreme Court Case, Larson v. Pleasant Grove City, and the transportation applications of transportation utility fees.

         Rep. Karen Peterson and Cameron Diehl, Executive Director, League of Cities and Towns

         Utah Taxpayers Association


4.    Utility Relocation

The committee will discuss cost-sharing of utility relocation as necessitated by transit projects.

         Committee staff

         Lisa Wilson, Deputy Director, and Leif Elder, Director of Policy and Legislative Affairs, UDOT

         Thom Carter, Director of Government Affairs, PacifiCorp

         Rikki Hrenko-Browning, President, Utah Petroleum Association


5.    Sunset review: Motor vehicle business regulation advisory board

Absent further action by the Legislature, Utah Code Ann. 41-3-106, which creates an advisory board related to motor vehicle business regulation, will be repealed July 1, 2024. The committee will conduct a sunset review of the statute and determine if it should be reauthorized for up to 10 years, with or without amendments, or allowed to expire.

         Committee staff

         Allan Shinney, Director - Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division, Tax Commission

         Chris Mantas, current member, motor vehicle business regulation advisory board


6.    Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA) Update

The Utah Department of Transportation will give an update on IIJA-funded projects in Utah, including presenting on a federal Corridor Identification and Development Program grant opportunity involving a passenger train from Boise to Las Vegas.

         Ben Huot, Deputy Director, and Leif Elder, Director of Policy and Legislative Affairs, UDOT

         Jay Fox, Executive Director, Utah Transit Authority

         Miranda Jones Cox, Wasatch Front Regional Council


7.    Other Items/Adjourn