January 27, 1993
ILR 93-B

Representative David M Jones
House of Representatives

318 State Capitol

Salt Lake City UT 84114

Subject: Licensing Of In-Home Day Care Facilities
Dear Representative Jones:

As you requested, our office has conducted a review of in-home day care facilities licensed
by the Office of Licensing within the Department of Human Services. Overall, our review
concluded: (a) the state's licensing requirements appear to be sufficient; (b) the level of
enforcement and method used to enforce license standards is a policy issue to be addressed by the
Legislature; (c) the state should provide parents with information about substantiated violations
by providers; and (d) coordination between the Office of Licensing and local law enforcement
agencies appears to be adequate.

In-home day care, also referred to as family day care, consists of child care given in a
residential home by a care-giver who is not a relative. Child advocacy groups estimate that
nearly 70 percent of all children receiving full-time child care in the U.S. are cared for by in-
home providers with approximately 1.5 million in-home providers caring for more than five
million children. However, experts estimate that as many as 80 percent of in-home providers are
not licensed. Utah requires in-home providers caring for more than three non-related children to
be licensed. There are approximately 2,200 licensed in-home providers within the state caring
for approximately 12,000 children. Officials at the Office of Licensing estimate that only about
30 percent of the in-home providers in Utah who should be licensed are licensed. Officials
indicated that it is extremely difficult to detect unlicensed providers and that little is done by way
of enforcement in this area. Because state licensing requirements do not apply to unlicensed
providers, our review was limited to licensed providers.

Controversy has recently surrounded in-home day care within the state because of the deaths
of two children at a licensed in-home facility during 1991. The focus of this controversy has
centered on the adequacy of the state's licensing program. In order to determine the adequacy of
the state's licensing program, we studied and compared Utah's licensing program to the licensing
programs of nine surrounding states. Specifically, we have addressed the following questions
outlined in the audit request: Are the state's licensing requirements sufficient? Does the Office
of Licensing adequately enforce license standards? Are parents provided with sufficient
information regarding complaints and substantiated license violations by providers? And, does
adequate communication exist between the Office of Licensing and local law enforcement
agencies?
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Utah's Licensing Requirements Appear To Be Sufficient

Our review concluded that Utah's licensing requirements are similar to those in other states
and appear to be sufficient. We contacted nine surrounding states regarding their requirements
for licensing in-home day care providers. While there are no uniform standards for licensing of
in-home day care, most states, including Utah, have developed standards to address: care-giver
to child ratios; supervision and discipline of children; food and nutrition; space and safety
specifications for the home and yard; first aid; provider training; administering medication;
physical examinations and vaccinations; fire safety; and sanitation.

Most regulated states refuse licensing to providers with a history of child abuse, neglect, or a
criminal record. In Utah, all providers are screened through Child Protective Services' child
abuse register and the Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI). If substantiated cases of child
abuse, neglect or criminal convictions are found on any person living in the provider's home, the
case is reviewed by a management committee. Cases of abuse, neglect, or criminal conviction
normally result in the denial or revocation of a license.

States also inspect regulated in-home providers for safety and building code compliance, such
as: adequate play space, fire extinguishes, smoke detectors; sanitary conditions; electrical outlet
covers; and hazardous chemical storage. Utah conducts similar inspections during the initial
licensing of every provider and again during the provider's annual license renewal.

In addition, most states we surveyed require providers to attend training classes and seminars.
Training includes sessions on business practices, first aid and CPR, child abuse identification,
hygiene and nutrition, discipline, and child development. Utah requires providers to attend six
hours of training per year (this requirement is being increased to 12 hours per year).

Figure I shows the licensing requirements in surrounding states compared to Utah's
requirements. Critical requirements such as screening for child abuse, criminal records, provider
training, and home inspections are shown for comparison.
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Figure I
Licensing Programs in Other States
Provider Screening
License Abuse Home
State Standards Register BCI Training Inspection
ATizona Yes Yes Yes 9 Hours Yes
California Yes Yes Yes 0 Hours Yes
Colorado Yes Yes Yes 6 Hours Yes
Idaho* Yes Yes Yes 4 Hours Yes
Montana Yes No No 0 Hours No
Nevada Yes Yes Yes 3 Hours Yes
New Mexico Yes Yes Yes 6 Hours Yes
Texas Yes Yes Yes 20 Hours Yes
Wyoming Yes No No 8 Hours Yes
Utah Yes Yes Yes 6 Hours Yes
[ The state of Idaho does not require licensing. Licensing requirements are established by
cities. License standards for this study were obtained from the city of Boise. Some cities do
not have any licensing requirements.

Most files we reviewed contained documentation showing that critical standards were met at
the time of licensing. However, some files did not contain adequate documentation. We
reviewed 53 provider files maintained by the Office of Licensing to determine whether license
standards were met at the time of licensing. We focused on critical standards such as: the
inspection of provider homes by state licensing staff, screening of providers and individuals
living in the home through the child abuse register and the Bureau of Criminal Investigation, and
certification that providers have been informed of and agree to follow state licensing standards.
Three files did not have documentation showing that BCI had been checked. We recommend
that all files contain documentation verifying that license standards have been met.

The goal of licensing is to encourage a minimum level of health, safety, welfare, and
education for children. Licensing provides the foundation upon which all other efforts are built.
Licensing, however, does not guarantee the quality of day care. Quality is an individualized and
nebulous commodity difficult to measure and varying from provider to provider. For example,
licensing cannot guarantee children will receive proper attention, a nurturing environment, or
love and affection. The primary benefit of licensing is that it helps assure children's rights to an
acceptable minimum level of care. Licensing standards set forth the public definition of
acceptability that providers must meet in order to legally operate. Some child advocacy groups
favoring licensing suggest that stricter licensing standards and increased regulation could push
more in-home providers underground.

Effective January, 1993, the Office of Licensing within the Department of Human Services is
responsible for administering the state's licensing program for in-home day care. This program
was formerly administered by the Office of Family Support. Licensing staff from the Office of
Family Support have been transferred to the Office of Licensing. According to department
officials, the transfer of the licensing program to the Office of Licensing should result in better
training for licensing staff and a more efficient program overall.

The Office of Child Care within the Department of Community and Economic Development
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is responsible for developing public awareness programs on child care within the state. The
office receives federal funds to develop child care referral programs, provider training programs,
and parent information programs. The office has recently established three child care resource
and referral centers: The Child Care Connection in Salt Lake; Your Community Connection in
Ogden; and the Department of Child Education and Family Studies at Utah Valley Community
College in Orem. In 1993, the office has scheduled numerous training programs for providers,
made plans to distribute 17,850 information pamphlets on child care at statewide functions, and
has contracted with a local marketing agency to place 180,000 information packets on child care
in targeted areas.

Overall, there seems to be adequate coordination between the Office of Licensing and the
Office of Child Care. The Office of Licensing is responsible for the state's licensing and
enforcement program while the Office of Child Care is responsible for dispensing information to
the public and developing training programs for providers. Reports furnished by the Office of
Licensing are used by the resource and referral centers established by the Office of Child Care to
provide parents with information about in-home day care providers in their area. The Office of
Child Care notifies the Office of Licensing about upcoming training courses. Later in this report,
we discuss a new policy being implemented by the Office of Licensing authorizing the release of
information about substantiated complaints and violations by providers to parents. We
encourage both offices to work together to inform parents about this program.

A well-administered regulatory program offers important benefits to providers as well as
children. It brings providers into contact with other providers as well as sources of business
assistance and training, establishes referral networks, and educates parents about standards.
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The benefits to providers, while important, are secondary to the central purpose of protecting
children. As public awareness and understanding grow, more providers will be able to improve
the quality of care they offer.

In our opinion, the state's licensing requirements for in-home day care establish standards
similar to those set by other states. Utah's licensing requirements are extensive and establish a
minimum level of reasonable quality care. Child abuse and criminal background investigations
are conducted on all providers and individuals living in the home. Homes are inspected on an
annual basis for proper space and safety requirements. Providers are required to attend training
on essential topics related to child development. Overall, the state's licensing program appears to
be appropriately administered and designed to help ensure the health and safety of children.

Method Used To Enforce Standards Is A Matter Of Policy

The method used to enforce license standards is a policy issue that should be addressed by
the Legislature. Our review of the enforcement programs in other states found that some states
do more than Utah to enforce license standards, while other states do about the same. States with
more stringent enforcement programs conduct regularly scheduled unannounced inspections to
ensure that providers are in compliance with license standards. The practice of conducting
regularly scheduled unannounced inspections is referred to as "monitoring." Currently, Utah
does not monitor in-home providers through unannounced inspections. Unannounced
inspections are only used to follow-up on complaints filed against providers. Figure II shows
that six of the nine states we surveyed conduct unannounced monitoring inspections while three
other states do not conduct unannounced monitoring inspections.

According to officials at the Office of Licensing, it would be ideal if the state could conduct
monitoring inspections of licensed providers; however, funds are not currently available to hire
monitoring staff. Licensors we spoke to agreed that monitoring would be beneficial but under
their current caseload it is impossible. Licensors in the Salt Lake region currently handle 150 to
200 providers with 50 to 80 new applications pending. In order for the state to conduct regular
unannounced monitoring inspections, additional funds would have to be appropriated to hire
monitoring staff.
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Figure 11
Unannounced Monitoring
Frequency of
State Inspections Per Year
—________Colorado T per provider every other year
Arizona 2 per provider per year
Nevada 2 per provider per year
California 10%  random sample per year
Montana 20%  random sample per year
Texas 30%  random sample per year
Idaho 0 per year
New Mexico 0 per year
Wyoming 0 per year
Utah 0 per year

In addition to conducting announced inspections for license renewal purposes, Figure 11
shows that the following states conduct unannounced monitoring inspections: Colorado,
Arizona, Nevada, California, Montana, and Texas. Colorado conducts one unannounced
monitoring inspection every other year. Nevada and Arizona conduct two unannounced
monitoring inspections per year. California, Montana, and Texas select a random sample of
licensed providers for unannounced monitoring inspections each year. California selects a 10
percent sample, Montana selects a 20 percent sample, and Texas selects a 30 percent sample. It
should be noted that Montana licenses providers through a self-certification program. Self-
certified providers are then monitored through a 20 percent random sample. Idaho, New Mexico,
Wyoming, and Utah do not conduct unannounced monitoring inspections.

In Utah, most licensed in-home day care providers are not in full compliance with license
standards. In order to determine whether in-home providers were in compliance with state
license standards, we conducted 23 unannounced inspections of licensed homes. Using state
Form 764, Family Day Care Monitoring Check List, we documented whether providers were in
compliance with licensing standards. Overall, we found that licensed in-home day care providers
are not in full compliance with state licensing standards. Ninety-one percent of the providers we
inspected had at least one area of noncompliance. Areas of noncompliance included: smoke
detectors not working, a pile of boards in an area accessible to children, missing vaccination
certificates and other state required records, a teenager watching a day care child, and so on. We
did not find any evidence of child neglect or abuse; however, witnessing such an event on any
kind of visit is considered unlikely.

In January 1992, the Texas Department of Human Services issued the findings of a federally
funded research project assessing the impact of licensed in-home (family) day care operations.
The report found that 95 percent of the licensed family day care homes inspected had at least one
area of noncompliance. The report concluded that monitoring inspections decrease the average
level of noncompliance across the state. Following this report, Texas began conducting
unannounced monitoring inspections on 30 percent of its licensed providers per year.

In Utah, the job of regular monitoring is left largely to parents. Utah's enforcement program
consists primarily of responding to complaints. Parents are expected to be the primary monitors
and to file complaints. The former director of the Department of Human Services stated that
parents can do a better and more economical job than government inspectors. He believes state
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inspectors cannot watch over what happens day after day in thousands of private homes.
Representatives from licensing divisions in states not performing monitoring inspections cited
funding problems and a belief that parents do a better monitoring job as the primary reasons for
not performing monitoring inspections. They indicated that follow-up inspections in response to
complaints from parents is the primary mechanism used for enforcement.

Some licensers, however, express doubt that working parents have either the time or the
willingness to properly monitor providers and are uncertain whether parents understand licensing
standards well enough to know when a provider is out of compliance. Literature from child
advocacy groups seems to support both state and parental involvement. They feel state
involvement should come from clear, well defined, and vigorously enforced standards while
parental involvement should come from day-to-day observation and interaction with providers.
They noted that parents are probably best qualified to detect changes in their child's behavior
signaling something may be amiss at a provider's home.

As stated earlier in this report, controversy has surrounded in-home day care within the state
because of the deaths of two infants at an in-home facility. Because criminal court proceedings
are currently in progress, we were unable to fully investigate circumstances and events associated
with this case. However, we were able to review the Office of Licensing's file on this provider
and interview the licensing staff involved with the case. In addition, we talked to parents with
children in the provider's home at the time the deaths occurred. From our review, we were able
to document that several complaints of noncompliance had been filed against the provider. All
complaints appear to have been investigated by licensing staff. The staff member mainly
involved with the case stated that she can document that she inspected the provider's home 21
times in about a three-year period. She also stated that several of the inspections were
unannounced. However, she was not able to substantiate any of the complaints filed against the
provider. The file also shows that there were complaints of child abuse and neglect filed against
the provider. These complaints were investigated by Child Protective Services and a local law
enforcement agency. Neither Child Protective Services nor the law enforcement agency were
able to substantiate charges of child abuse or neglect. After news of this case was aired by the
media, parents who formerly had children with this provider came forward with charges of
suspicious behavior by the provider and unexplained injuries to their children. These charges
have not yet been investigated.

In reference to the above case, neither license standards, unannounced monitoring
inspections, complaint follow-ups, police investigations, or parental involvement prevented the
tragedies that occurred. The events surrounding this case seem to make clear that no amount of
government regulation can guarantee the health and safety of children at in-home facilities.
However, the goal of licensing is not to guarantee health and safety. The goal of licensing is to
promote a minimum level of care from providers in compliance with state standards.

Enforcement programs are designed to ensure that the minimum level of care established by
license standards is maintained. Our tests found that most of the state's in-home providers are
not in full compliance with license standards. In our opinion, unannounced monitoring
inspections would probably increase the level of compliance with state license standards. The
study conducted by Texas affirmed that unannounced monitoring increases the level of
compliance with license standards. The National Association for the Education of Young
Children (NAEYC) estimates that one full-time inspector could conduct annual unannounced
monitoring inspections and follow-up visits on 500 providers per year. If this estimate is
accurate, one full-time inspector could conduct monitoring inspections and follow-up visits on
approximately 20 percent of Utah's licensed in-home providers per year. The degree to which the
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state enforces licensing standards is a matter of policy. If it is deemed important that in-home
providers maintain full compliance with license standards, a more stringent enforcement program
needs to be implemented. Whether or not the state conducts unannounced monitoring
inspections is also a policy issue that should be established by Legislative directive.

Information On Substantiated Violations
Should Be Released To The Public

Our review of other states found that all of the states we surveyed release information on
substantiated complaints and violations to parents. Some states even release information on
unsubstantiated complaints. Currently, Utah does not release information about substantiated
complaints and violations against providers. In our opinion, this information should be made
available to parents. According to the director of the Office of Licensing, a new policy is being
implemented that will authorize the release of this information to parents. The director stated
that, in accordance with the Government Records Access and Management Act (GRAMA),
anyone wanting to review a provider's file is welcome to come to the Office of Licensing, sign a
release form and review the file. Files contain documentation on substantiated complaints and
violations. Information on unsubstantiated complaints will not be released. The director also
indicated that licensing staff will receive training on proper procedures for reporting this
information to the public. We discussed this policy with a representative from the Attorney
General's Office who stated that the policy appears to be legally sound and in conformity with
state and federal law.

During the course of our audit, Representative Jones requested that we also determine
whether there is adequate reporting of substantiated complaints and violations filed against
licensed commercial child care centers. Commercial centers care for large groups of children and
operate in a business like setting. Commercial centers are also licensed through the Office of
Licensing. According to the director of the Office of Licensing, the same policy described above
for releasing information on in-home facilities applies to commercial centers.

In a related area, we have concern that another policy used by the Office of Licensing could
result in parents not receiving full information about some providers. Under current policy,
when a provider's license is denied or revoked, the provider's file is closed. After one year,
however, the provider can apply for a new license. If the management committee determines that
the reason for the denial or revocation has been corrected, a new license can be granted and a
new file is opened on the provider. A potential problem exists, however, because parents are not
allowed access to information contained in the closed file. A case involving child abuse will
help to illustrate the problem. A few years ago, a licensed provider had a relative living in the
home. One day the relative burned a day care infant with a cigarette lighter because the infant
would not stop crying. Parents of the infant noticed burn marks on the baby's body and reported
the case to the police. During the police investigation, the relative admitted to burning the infant.
Accordingly the provider's license was revoked. However, about a year later, the provider was
granted a new license because the relative was no longer living in the home. Today, parents
calling for information about this provider would not be informed that the above incident
occurred under the provider's supervision.

In our opinion, parents should have the right to information contained in closed files.
Therefore, we recommend that the Office of Licensing review its policy of closing denied or
revoked files and that information contained in denied or revoked files be included in new files



Representative David M Jones
January 27, 1993
Page 9

when a provider is granted a new license.

In our opinion, parents should have access to information on all substantiated complaints and
violations against providers. We recommend that the Office of Licensing follow through with its
plans to implement a policy authorizing the release of this information in accordance with
GRAMA regulations.

Parents we interviewed expressed concern that they did not know where to go or who to talk
to for information about substantiated complaints and violations against providers. As a result,
we recommend that the Office of Licensing coordinate with the Office of Child Care in
developing a program designed to make parents aware that information about substantiated
complaints and violations can be obtained from the Office of Licensing.

Communication With Local Law Enforcement
Agencies Appears Adequate

Overall, we have concluded that there appears to be adequate communication and
coordination between the Office of Licensing and local law enforcement agencies. During the
course of our audit, we reviewed case files involving local law enforcement agencies. We
reviewed police reports contained in the files and interviewed licensing staff involved with the
cases. Cases we reviewed contained police reports and other documentation showing
communication between the law enforcement agency involved and the Office of Licensing. Most
of the licensing staff members we interviewed stated there is a high degree of cooperation and
interaction with local law enforcement agencies. In Salt Lake, for example, one specific officer
is assigned to handle most of the child abuse cases. Whenever a case of abuse is reported against
a licensed in-home day care provider, the officer notifies the Office of Licensing of the
investigation. Licensors stated that there have only been a few instances where police have failed
to notify them of an investigation. Overall, most licensors reported that communication with
local law enforcement agencies is good.

When a case of child abuse is reported to licensing staff members, under current policy,
licensors are required to immediately notify police. Once a police investigation begins, the
licensor notifies the provider of the police investigation and asks the provider for a complete list
of all parents with children in the home. The licensor then calls parents to notify them that there
is an ongoing police investigation. At this point, licensing staff are not allowed to give parents
information or details about the nature of the investigation. Licensors are only allowed to tell
parents that an investigation is in progress and nothing more because the allegation has not been
substantiated. Licensing staff cooperate with police by providing requested information to the
investigating officer but are not directly involved in the police investigation. Police follow-up
through verbal communication with licensors and official investigation reports.

Recommendations:

1. We recommend that the Legislature review the degree to which license standards are
enforced. If it is deemed important that in-home providers maintain full compliance with
license standards, we recommend that the Legislature consider funding for a more
stringent enforcement program that may include unannounced monitoring inspections.

2. We recommend that the Office of Licensing review its policy of closing denied or
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revoked files and that information contained in denied or revoked files be included in new
files when a provider is granted a new license.

3. We recommend that the Office of Licensing follow through with its plans to implement a
policy authorizing the release of information on substantiated complaints and violations
in accordance with GRAMA regulations.

4. We recommend that the Office of Licensing coordinate with the Office of Child Care in
developing a program designed to make parents aware that information about
substantiated complaints and violations can be obtained from the Office of Licensing.

This concludes our review of the licensing of in-home day care facilities by the Office of
Licensing within the Department of Human Services. We hope this letter has provided the
information you need on this issue. If you have any questions or need additional information,
please contact us.

Sincerely,

Wayne L. Welsh
Auditor General
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