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Name of Tax or
Fee

Rate2 Base
Where the
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from Generators

How
Much is

Collected
(FY 2002)

Utah Code
Citation

Radioactive
waste disposal
fee

The sum of:
(a) 15
cents/cubic
foot, or
fraction of a
cubic foot;
and (b)
$1/curie, or
fraction of a
curie.

Radioactive waste received at the facility for
disposal or treatment.

Environmental
Quality
Restricted
Account

Envirocare
RWM

$828,270 19-3-106

Generator site
access permit fee

$1,300 Generators transferring 1,000 cubic feet or more
of radioactive waste per year.

Environmental
Quality
Restricted
Account

Envirocare $212,200 19-3-106.4

$500 Generators transferring less than 1,000 cubic
feet or radioactive waste per year.

Brokers pay $5,000.

Hazardous waste
disposal fee

$28/ton3 Hazardous waste received at the facility or site
for disposal, treatment, or both.

Environmental
Quality
Restricted
Account

Clean Harbors
Thiokol (Alliant Tech)

$1,561,693 19-6-118
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Mixed waste
disposal fee

$28/ton Mixed waste received at the facility or site for
disposal, treatment, or both.

Environmental
Quality
Restricted
Account

Envirocare $187,516 19-6-118

Polychlorinated
biphenyls
(PCBs) disposal
fee

$4.75/ton PCBs that are received at the facility or site for
disposal or treatment.

Environmental
Quality
Restricted
Account

Clean Harbors
Envirocare

$111,022 19-6-118.5

Nonhazardous
solid waste
disposal fee4

$2.50 per ton on all nonmunicipal nonhazardous solid
waste received at a commercial facility or site
for disposal or treatment.

Environmental
Quality
Restricted
Account

ECDC
Payson City
Clean Harbors
Nielson Construction
Stericycle
Waste Control

$1,200,876 19-6-119

50 cents/ton on an owner or operator of any commercial
nonhazardous solid waste disposal facility that
receives municipal waste, on all municipal waste
(including incinerator ash) received at the
facility for disposal.

On and after January 1, 2004:

50 cents/ton on an owner or operator of any commercial
nonhazardous solid waste disposal facility that
receives only construction and demolition
material, on any construction or demolition
material that is received at the facility or site for
disposal;

50 cents/ton on an owner or operator of any facility that is
solely under contract with a local government
within the state to dispose of nonhazardous solid
waste generated within the boundaries of the
local government, on all municipal waste
received at the facility or site for disposal;
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Tax on a
radioactive waste
facility or a
processing or
recycling facility

The sum of:5 Uniform
School Fund6

Since tax returns filed
with the Utah State Tax
Commission are
confidential, names of
firms that pay this tax are
not publically reported. 
However, it is assumed
that: (a) firm(s) that
operate a radioactive
waste facility for profit
that is licensed under
Title 19, Environmental
Code; or (b) are a
uranium mill(s) licensed
under federal law pay
this tax.

FY 2002:
$311,788

FY 2003:
$2,430,592
(YTD)

59-24-
103.5

12 % of gross receipts derived from disposal of
containerized Class A waste;

10 % of gross receipts derived from the disposal of 
processed Class A waste;

5% of gross receipts derived from the disposal of
uncontainerized, unprocessed, Class A waste
from a governmental entity or an agent of a
governmental entity7;

5% of gross receipts derived from the disposal of
uncontainerized, unprocessed Class A waste
received by the facility from an entity other than
a governmental entity or an agent of a
governmental entity;

5% of the gross receipts of a radioactive waste
facility derived from the disposal of mixed
waste received from an entity other than a
governmental entity or an agent of a
governmental entity;

10
cents/cubic
foot

of alternate feed material received at a
radioactive waste facility for disposal or
reprocessing; and

10
cents/cubic
foot

of byproduct material received at a radioactive
waste facility for disposal or reprocessing.
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1. This chart only includes fees and taxes that are established under the Utah Code and that are specifically imposed on the commercial waste industry. 

The Department of Environmental Quality also imposes other fees and charges that are annually approved by the Legislature but are not included in this

chart.  This chart does not include taxes and fees imposed by the state and political subdivisions that are  imposed on all firms doing business in the state. 

This chart also does not include any taxes or fees imposed by a political subdivision on the commercial waste industry.

2. Unless specifically stated otherwise, rates are as of July 1, 2003.

3. Prior to July 1, 2003 a $14/ton fee was imposed on treated hazardous waste.

Hazardous Waste
Facility and
Nonhazardous
Waste Facility
Tax

The sum of:

Uniform
School Fund

Since tax returns filed
with the Utah State Tax
Commission are
confidential, names of
firms that pay this tax are
not publically reported. 
However, it is assumed
that firms that operate a
hazardous waste facility
for profit or a
nonhazardous solid waste
facility that are licensed
under Title 19,
Environmental Code, pay
this tax.

Tax is
imposed
beginning
on July 1,
2003.

59-25-103

3% of the gross receipts of a hazardous waste
facility derived from the treatment or disposal of
hazardous waste; and 

3% of the gross receipts of a hazardous waste
facility or nonhazardous waste facility derived
from the treatment or disposal of nonhazardous
solid waste.8

Prepared by the  Office of Legislative Research and  General Counsel.
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4. Beginning in 2004, the following fees are also imposed on waste facilities owned by a political subdivision:

Fee of: If the facility receives at least (tons of municipal

waste):

But less than (tons of municipal waste):

$800 5,000 10,000

$1,450 10,000 20,000

$3,850 20,000 50,000

$12,250 50,000 100,000

$14,700 100,000 200,000

$33,000 200,000 500,000

$66,000 500,000 or more

5.  “Gross receipts” do not include fees collected under Section 19-3-106 (fees that are deposited into the Environmental Quality Restricted Account”) or

“any other taxes collected for  a state or federal governmental entity.”

6. Prior to May 5, 2003 revenue from this tax was deposited into the General Fund.

7. This tax only applies to waste received pursuant to a contract entered into, substantially modified, or renewed or extended on or after April 20, 2001.

8. For purposes of this tax, “nonhazardous solid waste” does not include hazardous waste, municipal solid waste, or construction or demolition waste.
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