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DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
The $9,000 Drink

BAGELS AND BRIEFINGS 
FOR LEGISLATORS
FEBRUARY 8, 2011

DUI LAWS
BASIC VIOLATIONS

BAC of .08 or greater

Person is incapable of safely operating a vehicle due to 
alcohol and/or drugs 

Any measurable amount of a controlled substance or 
metabolite of a controlled substance

Not-a-drop (under 21)

2
Source: Utah Code §§ 41-6a-502, 41-6a-517, 53-3-231



DUI LAWS
NOT-A-DROP

In connection with a violation of 32A-12-209
• Purchase
• Possession
• Consumption
• Measurable amount of alcohol in body

Driver license suspension/denial
• Administrative driver license suspension/denial only in 

connection with 32A-12-209 violation
• Other suspension/denial may apply if there is a DUI violation

3
Source: Utah Code §§ 32A-12-209, 53-3-232

DUI LAWS
OTHER VIOLATIONS

High BAC (.16)

Interlock restricted

Refusal to commit to a chemical test

Alcohol restricted

Drinking alcoholic beverage and open containers in motor vehicle

Separate offense for each victim

Impaired driving plea

Automobile homicide

4
Source: Utah Code §§ 41-6a-502.5, 41-6a-503, 41-6a-505, 41-6a-518.2, 41-6a-520, 41-6a-530, 76-5-207



CONSEQUENCES OF DUI
SENTENCING

Jail, compensatory service, or electronic home 
confinement (misdemeanor)

Prison or jail and electronic home confinement 
if ordered (felony)

Screening, assessment, educational series, 
treatment

Probation

Alcohol and ignition interlock restrictions

Driver license suspension

5Source: Utah Code §§ 41-6a-506 , 41-6a-506, 41-6a-507, 41-6a-518, 41-6a-509

CONSEQUENCES OF DUI
DRIVER LICENSE SUSPENSION

Two types of driver license suspensions:
1. Administrative driver license suspension

 License is taken
 Given 29 day temporary license
 May request hearing
 Burden of proof is whether or not the officer had reasonable 

grounds to believe that the person violated DUI law

2. Driver license suspension for a DUI conviction
 Time served for administrative suspension counts

6
Source: Utah Code §§ 41-6a-509 , 53-3-223



CONSEQUENCES OF DUI
COSTS

Cost 1st Offense 2nd Offense Felony DUI
Fine and surcharge $1,300 $1,500 $3,000

License reinstatement $65 - $235 $65 - $235 $65 - $235

Administrative impound fee $330 $330 $330

Towing and storage fees $145 per hour + $25 - $30/day storage

Treatment program ? ? ?

Ignition interlock system ? ? ?

Motor Vehicle Insurance ? ? ?

Attorney fees ? ? ?

Other ? ? ?

Driver License Division estimates total cost of 
DUI to be $9,035

7Source: Utah Code §§ 41-6a-518, 41-6a-527, 41-6a-1406, 53-3-105, 53-3-231; Administrative Office of the Courts

DUI ENFORCEMENT
BASICS

To violate DUI laws a person must be:

• Operating a motor vehicle; or
• In actual physical control of a motor vehicle

Implied consent

Arrest without warrant if there is probable cause

8
Source: Utah Code §§ 41-6a-520, 41-6a-502



DUI ENFORCEMENT
ACTUAL PHYSICAL CONTROL OF A MOTOR VEHICLE

If a motorist occupied the driver’s position behind 
the steering wheel, with possession of the ignition 
key and with the apparent ability to start and move 
the vehicle . . . There has been adequate showing of 
“actual physical control.”

May not be construed to exclude those whose 
vehicles are presently immobile because of 
mechanical trouble.

9
Source: Garcia v. Schwendiman, 645 P.2d 651 (1982); Lopez v. Schwendiman, 720 P.2d 778

DUI ENFORCEMENT
ELECTRONIC SEARCH WARRANTS

Officer emails on-call judge

 Judge determines if there is probable cause

Warrant is issued

Blood may be drawn (by force if necessary)

Law Enforcement Officer On-call Judge

Requests Warrant

Issues Warrant

10
Source: Utah Rules of Criminal Procedure, R40, Search Warrants



DUI ENFORCEMENT
ELECTRONIC SEARCH WARRANTS

Started about two years ago in Salt Lake County

Spread to larger counties

Training has been done statewide 

Used by many jurisdictions but not all

• Lack of in-car computers
• Attitude and motivation
• No pattern of usage (i.e., rural/urban)

11
Source: Administrative Office of the Courts

DUI ENFORCEMENT
COUNTIES AND MUNICIPALITIES FUNDS

Categories of Fund Use

DUI Law Enforcement 

General Alcohol-Related 
Law Enforcement 

Prosecution/Court Costs

Treatment

Education/Prevention 

Confinement of Offenders

Year
BeerTax 

Distribution to 
Local Entities

2006 $3,741,888

2007 $4,350,000

2008 $4,984,800

2009 $5,425,600

2010 $5,622,600

12
Source: Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice. Annual DUI Report to the Utah Legislature (2006 – 2010); 
Utah Code § 32A-1-115



DUI ENFORCEMENT
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY GRANTS

Funding Sources Categories of Fund Use

$85 of administrative fee 
for license reinstatement 
for certain DUI-related 
offenses

$97 of administrative 
impound fee

Other

 

Equipment (i.e., drug/ 
alcohol testing equipment)

Training/overtime of peace 
officers

Managing DUI-related 
abandoned vehicles

13
Source: Utah Code § 53-1-117 and § 53-3-106

INTERLOCK RESTRICTED DRIVER (IRD)

Ignition interlock system 
required to drive

Ordered or required by:
 Court
 Board of Pardons and 

Parole
 Statute

Offender pays cost
Electronic database

Offenses that 
Trigger IRD

Length
(years)

1st DUI offense 1.5

2nd DUI offense 3

Violate restriction 3

Refuse BAC test 3

Under 21 DUI 3

Felony DUI 6

Auto Homicide 10

14
Source: Utah Code § 41-6a-518.2



IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE

15
Source: Ignition Interlock Demo from MADD. Retrieved February 3, 2011, 
fromhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qpl270Qre4M

ALCOHOL RESTRICTED DRIVER (ARD)

No measurable or detectable amount of alcohol 
in body when operating a motor vehicle

Offenses that Trigger ARD Length
1st DUI or impaired driving offense 2 years

1st DUI offense and bodily injury, passenger under 16 
or passenger under 18 if driver 21 or older

5 years

2nd DUI or impaired driving offense within 10 years 10 years

Felony DUI Life

Violate alcohol or interlock restriction 3 years

Refuse BAC test 5 years

Under 21 DUI Until 21

16
Source: Utah Code § 41-6a-529



DUI STATISTICS
DUI ARRESTS BY TYPE
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Source: Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice. Annual DUI Report to the Utah Legislature (2006 – 2010).

DUI STATISTICS
DUI ARRESTS BY AGENCY TYPE
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Source: Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice. Annual DUI Report to the Utah Legislature (2006 – 2010).



DUI STATISTICS
PERCENT OF DUI ARRESTS BY AGE
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Source: Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice. Annual DUI Report to the Utah Legislature (2006 – 2010).

DUI STATISTICS
DUI ARRESTS BY BAC*
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Source: Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice. Annual DUI Report to the Utah Legislature (2006 – 2010).



DUI STATISTICS
REPEAT DUI OFFENDERS
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Source: Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice. Annual DUI Report to the Utah Legislature (2006 – 2010).

* DUI-related crashes and fatalities include only those incidents that involved alcohol 
and where the driver had a BAC of >.08.  Only fatality data was available for 2009.

DUI STATISTICS
DUI-RELATED CRASHES, INJURED PERSONS, AND 
FATALITIES IN UTAH - 2006 - 2009
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Source: Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice. Annual DUI Report to the Utah Legislature (2006 – 2010).
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UTAH DUI SENTENCING MATRIX 

(Current as of October 2010) 
 

MISDEMEANOR DUI  
Court-Ordered 
Sentencing 

 

 FIRST OFFENSE SECOND OFFENSE 
WITHIN 10 YEARS 

 

FELONY DUI 

 

 
CLASSIFICATION 
(§41-6a-503) 

 
CLASS B MISDEMEANOR  
 

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR: 
 

$ if bodily injury1 
$ if passenger is under 16 
$ if passenger is under 18  
    and driver is 21 or older 
 

 
CLASS B MISDEMEANOR  
 

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR: 
 

$ if bodily injury1 
$ if passenger under 16 
$ if passenger is under 18  
    and driver is 21 or older 
 

 

THIRD DEGREE FELONY 
$ if third or subsequent offense 

within 10 years 
$ if serious bodily injury1 
$ if any prior felony DUI conviction 

or automobile homicide1 
conviction 

 
Jail: 
(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
48 consecutive hours OR 
48 hours compensatory 
service OR electronic home 
confinement2

 

 
SHALL order: 
240 consecutive hours OR 
240 hours compensatory 
service OR electronic home 
confinement2 

 
SHALL order: 
   0-5 year prison term OR 
   1,500 hours jail (62.5 days) 
MAY order: 
   Electronic home confinement2 

Fine: 
(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
   $700 minimum plus             
   surcharge 

 
SHALL order: 
   $800 minimum plus             
   surcharge 

 
SHALL order: 
   $1,500 minimum plus                   
   surcharge, unless 0-5 prison        
   term is imposed 

 
Screening, 
Assessment, 
Educational 
Series, 
Treatment 
(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment (if found 

appropriate by screening) 
$ Educational series, unless 

treatment is ordered 
MAY order: 
$ Treatment 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment (if found 

appropriate by screening) 
$ Educational series, unless 

treatment is ordered 
MAY order: 
$ Treatment 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment 
$ Intensive treatment or inpatient 

treatment and aftercare for not 
less than 240 hours, unless 0-5 
prison term is imposed 

Probation:3 
(§41-6a-507) 

MAY order supervised 
probation 

SHALL order supervised 
probation 

 

SHALL order supervised probation 
if 0-5 prison term is not imposed 

 

Ignition 
Interlock4 
(§41-6a-518) 
(§41-6a-530) 

 
MAY order: 
$ Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
$ Interlock if under 21 
$ Interlock for an ARD5 

violation OR describe on 
the record why such order 
not appropriate 

 
MAY order: 
$ Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
$ Interlock if under 21 
$ Interlock for an ARD5 
    violation OR describe on 
    the record why such order 
    not appropriate 

 
MAY order: 
$ Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
$ Interlock if under 21 
$ Interlock for an ARD5 
    violation OR describe on   
    the record why such order 
    not appropriate 

 
High BAC: 
(.16 or higher) 
 
 

(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Supervised probation3 
$ Treatment and interlock4 

and/or electronic home 
confinement2 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Supervised probation3 
$ Treatment and interlock4 

and/or electronic home 
confinement2 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Supervised probation3 if 0-5 

prison term is not imposed 
$ Treatment and interlock4 and/or 

electronic home confinement2 
OR describe on the record why 
such order(s) not appropriate 

 

Driver License 
Suspension 
(§41-6a-509) 

 

Court MAY order additional 
90 days, 180 days, 1 year or  
2 years 

 

Court MAY order additional 
90 days, 180 days, 1 year or 
2 years 

 

Court MAY order additional 90 
days, 180 days, 1 year or 2 years 

                                                           
1A person is guilty of a separate offense for each victim suffering bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death, whether or not the injuries arise from the 
 same episode of driving.  
2See §41-6a-506 for electronic home confinement provisions. 
3Supervised probation is also required for all violations of §41-6a-517 (driving with any measurable controlled substance in the body). 
4Adoption of the ignition interlock restricted driver (IRD) provision (§41-6a-518.2) does not change the obligation of judges to impose interlock as a  
 condition of probation. 
5Alcohol restricted driver 



 
 
 
 
 

The following statutory provisions also apply to DUI offenders, although they do not require a 
court order.  Failure to comply carries additional criminal sanctions. 
 

MISDEMEANOR DUI Statutory 
Provisions FIRST OFFENSE SECOND OFFENSE 

WITHIN 10 YEARS 
FELONY DUI 

 

 

If 21 or older: 
   Suspend for 120 days 
If under 21: 
   Suspend until 21 or for 120 
   days, whichever is longer    
   OR 
   If not issued a license, deny 
   application for license or      
  learner’s permit until 21 or    
  for 120 days, whichever is    
  longer 

 

 

If 21 or older: 
   Revoke for 2 years 
If under 21: 
   Revoke until 21 or for 2       
   years, whichever is longer   
   OR 
   If not issued a license, deny 
   application for license or      
  learner’s permit until 21 or    
  for 2 years, whichever is       
  longer 

 

If 21 or older: 
   Revoke for 2 years 
If under 21: 
   Revoke until 21 or for 2 years,     
   whichever is longer 
 
 

 
 

 

 

REFUSAL OF CHEMICAL TEST 
 

1st Offense 
If 21 or older:  Revoke for 18 months 
If under 21:  Revoke until 21 or for 18 months, whichever is longer 
 

2nd and Subsequent Offenses 
If 21 or older:  Revoke for 36 months 
If under 21:  Revoke until 21 or for 36 months, whichever is longer 

 

 

 

Driver License 
Suspension 
(§41-6a-509) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

(§41-6a-521) 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

(§41-6a-517) 
  

DRIVING WITH CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE IN BODY 
 

1st Offense 
If 21 or older:  Suspend for 120 days 
If under 21:  Suspend until 21 or for 120 days 
 

2nd and Subsequent Offenses 
If 21 or older:  Revoke for 2 years 
If under 21:  Revoke until 21 or for 2 years 

 

 

 

Ignition interlock required for 
18 months  
 

 

Ignition interlock required for 
3 years  

 

Ignition interlock required for          
6 years 

 

Interlock 
Restricted Driver 
(§41-6a-518.2) 
 

An “interlock restricted 
driver” may not operate a 
motor vehicle without an 
ignition interlock system 
as ordered by a court or 
the Board of Pardons 
and Parole, or due to a 
statutory provision.  
 

 
 
 

$ Ignition interlock required for 3 years for operating a vehicle without an ignition interlock system    
if an interlock restricted driver  

 

$ Ignition interlock required for 3 years for refusal to submit to a chemical test 
 

$ Ignition interlock required for 3 years if under the age of 21at time of DUI 
 

$ Ignition interlock required for 10 years if convicted of automobile homicide 

 

Alcohol restricted driver for    
2 years 
 

If bodily injury, passenger 
under 16, or passenger under 
18 if driver 21 or older, alcohol 
restricted driver for 5 years 

 

 

Alcohol restricted driver for 
10 years 
 
 

 

Alcohol restricted driver for life 
 

Alcohol 
Restricted Driver 
(§41-6a-529) 
 

An “alcohol restricted 
driver” may not operate 
or be in actual physical 
control of a vehicle with 
any measurable or 
detectable amount of 
alcohol in the person’s 
body. 

 

Convictions for the following violations will also result in a person being an alcohol restricted driver 
for the time periods indicated: 
 

$ 2 years for impaired driving (§41-6a-502.5)  
 

$ 3 years for driving with measurable/detectable alcohol in body if an alcohol restricted driver OR  
for driving without an ignition interlock system if an interlock restricted driver (§41-6a-518.2) 

 

$ 5 years for refusal of a chemical test (§41-6a-520) 
 

$ 10 years for impaired driving OR refusal of a chemical test within 10 years of a prior offense 
 

$ Until 21 for a person who is under 21 years of age at the time of the violation 
 



Comparison of Driver License Suspension Periods for DUI Offenses

Administrative Driver License Suspension for a DUI

DUI Type

Immediately Prior to
2009 Changes

Current Statute Current Provisions of S.B. 28 (effective July 1, 2011)

All ages Under 21 21 and over Under 19 19 or 20 21 and over

First Offense 90 days Longer of until 21 or
120 days 

120 days 2 years or 1 year for
not-a-drop

6 months 120 days

Second Offense /
Felony DUI

1 year Longer of until 21 or
2 years

2 years Longer of until 21
or 2 years

Longer of until 21
or 2 years

2 years

Notes
• Driver license is taken at time of arrest and a temporary license is issued for 29 days from the date of arrest
• Offender may request a hearing
• If it is determined that there were reasonable grounds to believe that the person violated DUI laws, the person fails to appear, or a hearing is not

requested, a driver license suspension is imposed
• The Driver License division cannot impose a suspension if the arresting officer does not appear at the hearing
• Reinstatement of the person's license or the right to obtain a license is contingent upon completion of any recommended substance abuse program

Driver License Suspension for a DUI Conviction

DUI Type

Immediately Prior to
2009 Changes

Current Statute Current Provisions of S.B. 28 (effective July 1, 2011)

All ages Under 21 21 and over Under 19 19 or 20 21 and over

First Offense 90 days Longer of until 21 or
120 days 

120 days Until 21 but court
may reduce to as
little as 2 years*

Longer of until 21 or 1
year but court may reduce
to as little as 6 months*

120 days

Second Offense /
Felony DUI

1 year Longer of until 21 or
2 years

2 years Until 21 Longer of until 21 or 2
years

2 years

Notes
• Statutorily required when a person is convicted of a DUI
• The legal burden of proof required by the prosecution in a DUI case is "beyond a reasonable doubt" which is a higher burden of proof than is required

for an administrative driver license suspension
• Time served for an administrative suspension is subtracted from a suspension for a DUI conviction if the suspensions are based on the same offense



Administrative Driver License Suspension for a Refusal of a Chemical Test

DUI Type

Immediately Prior to
2009 Changes

Current Statute
Current Provisions of S.B. 28 (effective July

1, 2011)

All ages Under 21 21 and over Under 21 21 and over

First Offense 1.5 years Longer of until 21 or 1.5
years

1.5 years Longer of Until 21 or
2 years

2 years

Second / Subsequent
Offense

2 years Longer of until 21 or 3
years

3 years Longer of Until 21 or
3 years

3 years

Notes
• Driver license is taken at time of arrest and a temporary license is issued for 29 days from the date of arrest
• Upon request and within 29 days of the arrest, the Driver License Division must grant a hearing to determine whether or not the peace officer had

reasonable grounds to believe that the person violated DUI laws
• If it is determined that there were reasonable grounds to believe that the person violated DUI laws, the person fails to appear, or a hearing is not

requested, a driver license suspension is imposed
• The Driver License division cannot impose a suspension if the arresting officer does not appear at the hearing

* The following is a list of requirements provided for in S.B. 28 that must be met in order for a court to reduce the driver license suspension period of
a first time DUI conviction (from until 21 to as little as 2 years for a person under 19 and from the longer of until 21 or 1 year to 6 months for a
person 19 or 20 years of age):

• completion of a screening;
• completion of an assessment, if it is found appropriate by the screening;
• completion of substance abuse treatment if it is found appropriate by the assessment;
• completion of an educational series if substance abuse treatment is not required by an assessment or court;
• no violation of any motor vehicle law in which the person was involved as the operator of the vehicle during the suspension period;
• compliance with terms of probation or all orders of the court if not ordered to probation; and
• if 18 years of age or older, a sworn statement provided to the court that the person has not ingested a controlled substances not

prescribed by a practitioner for use by the person or unlawfully consumed alcohol during the suspension period;
• if under 18 years of age, a sworn statement from the parent or legal guardian provided to the court certifying that to the parent or legal

guardian's knowledge the person has not ingested a controlled substances not prescribed by a practitioner for use by the person or
unlawfully consumed alcohol during the suspension period
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Executive 
Summary  

 
Executive Summary                                                     
DUI in Utah FY 2010 

DUI-Related Fatalities Decreased in CY 2009 
◘ DUI-related fatalities in Utah decreased from 34 in CY 2008 to 31 in CY 2009. 

◘ In CY 2009, Utah had the lowest rate of DUI-related fatalities in the nation at 
16.4 percent.  The national average was 32.1 percent. 

Law Enforcement:  Arrests 
◘ There were 15,285 DUI arrests in FY 2010, 398 fewer than in the previous year.  

The majority of the arrests, 82 percent, were for violation of the .08 blood/breath 
alcohol concentration (BAC) per se statute. 

◘ Half of all DUI arrests were made by municipal law enforcement agencies. 

◘  Seventy-five percent of DUI drivers were male. 

◘ Nine percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 21.  DUI drivers 
ages 25 through 36 accounted for nearly 39 percent of all arrests. 

◘ The majority of DUI arrests occurred along the Wasatch Front with Weber, 
Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 73 percent of the total 
arrests. 

◘ The average BAC was .14, with the highest at .40, five times the legal limit! 

1 



E I G H T H  A N N U A L  D U I  R E P O R T  T O  T H E  U T A H  L E G I S L A T U R E  

◘ Approximately 67 percent of arrests were for a first DUI offense, nearly 22 
percent were for a second offense, seven percent were for a third offense, and 
four percent were for a fourth or subsequent offense. 

Courts:  Adjudications and Sanctions 
◘ Of the total of 13,501 DUI cases handled by Utah’s courts in FY 2010, Justice 

Courts handled the majority with 11,405 (85%), and District Courts handled 
2,096 (15%). 

◘ Seventy-seven percent of District Court DUI cases and 56 percent of Justice 
Court DUI cases resolved in FY 2010 resulted in a guilty plea or verdict. 

◘ Justice Court judges ordered offenders to participate in an educational series in 
2,155 cases, ordered offenders into substance abuse treatment in 1,585 cases, 
and ordered ignition interlock devices in 915 cases. 

◘ District Court judges ordered offenders to participate in an educational series in 
419 cases, ordered offenders into substance abuse treatment in 648 cases, and 
ordered ignition interlock devices in 293 cases. 

◘ The average jail sentence for a DUI offense was 154 days and the average fine 
for a DUI conviction was $1,490. 

Driver License Control 
◘ The Driver License Division conducted 5,256 hearings in FY 2010 to determine 

if there was sufficient information to warrant the suspension or revocation of the 
individual’s driver license. 

◘ In 2,885 cases, either the arresting officer or the DUI offender used the 
telephonic option to call in for the driver license hearing. 
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Introduction 

1 
Introduction 

ulio Cesar Calderon, 24, wanted to show off his uncle’s restored 1976 Chevy 
Caprice.  On June 25, 2010, he was drinking at a party at his mother-in-law’s 
home in the Rose Park area of Salt Lake County, and even though he smelled 

of alcohol and had difficulty walking and speaking, he convinced two friends, who had 
also been drinking, to ride in the car with him.  With Antonio Amador Solares and 
Fabian Montelongo in the car, Calderon rounded a curve on 300 North and 1460 West 
in excess of 50 miles per hour.  The car hit a curb and crashed through a tree in a 
parking strip, breaking the tree in half.  The car then vaulted into the air and crashed 
into another tree on the parking strip, finally coming to a stop.  Passenger Solares, 17, 
died on impact; Montelongo, 19, suffered serious injuries and was taken to the hospital.  

 J

Following the crash, Montelongo called 
a friend at the party the three men had 
just left.  Calderon’s wife, brother-in-
law, and mother-in-law arrived at the 
accident scene before police or 
medical personnel.  Calderon’s mother-
in-law then drove Calderon back to her 
home where he washed his bloody 
clothing and took a shower.  
Calderon’s wife and brother-in-law 
remained at the scene and told police 
that Antonio Solares, who had died in 
the crash, was the driver. 

Calderon later admitted to police that he was the driver in the fatal crash.  He said his 
relatives knew he was the driver, but told police Solares was driving “because he 
[Calderon] had a family and he could not go to jail.”  Calderon has been charged with 
automobile homicide, a second degree felony, and with obstruction of justice, a third 
degree felony.  Calderon’s wife and mother-in-law have also been charged with 
obstructing justice.    

Information for this story was obtained from the probable cause statement provided by the Salt Lake 
County District Attorney’s Office.
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Purpose of the Report 
The Eighth Annual Driving Under the Influence Report to the Utah Legislature was 
prepared in accordance with §41-6a-511 of the Utah Code.  The statute requires the 
Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice to prepare an annual report of DUI 
related data, including the following: 

 Data collected by the state courts to allow sentencing and enhancement 
decisions to be made in accordance with violations involving driving 
under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs; 

 Data collected by the justice courts (same DUI related data elements 
collected by the state courts); and 

 Any measures for which data are available to evaluate the profile and 
impacts of DUI recidivism and to evaluate the DUI related processes of: 

o law enforcement; 

o adjudication; 

o sanctions; 

o drivers’ license control; and 

o alcohol education, assessment, and treatment. 
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2010 DUI and Related Legislation 

The following bills and one appropriation were passed                                                                
by the Utah Legislature in the 2010 General Session:  

S.B. 91 Prosecutor Appeals                               
Senator Daniel R. Liljenquist 

     

Provides that the standard for a de novo review in district court on a 
pretrial order excluding evidence in a justice court for an infraction or 
class C misdemeanor is that the prosecutor certifies that exclusion of 
the evidence prevents continued prosecution. 
 
Provides that the standard for a de novo review in district court on a 
pretrial order excluding evidence in a justice court for a class B 
misdemeanor is that the prosecutor certifies that exclusion of the 
evidence impairs continued prosecution. 
 
Provides that a notice of appeal for a hearing de novo in the district 
court on a pretrial order excluding evidence shall be filed within 30 
days of the justice court order excluding the evidence. 

  
 

H.B. 36 Controlled Substance Database – Reporting 
Convictions for Driving Under the Influence or 
Impaired Driving 

    Representative Bradley M. Daw 
 

Requires a court to report certain information to the Division of 
Occupational and professional Licensing (DOPL) when a person is 
convicted of driving under the influence or of impaired driving, if there 
is evidence that the person’s driving was under the influence of, or 
impaired by, a prescribed controlled substance. 
 
Requires that, when DOPL receives a report described in the 
preceding paragraph, DOPL must notify each practitioner who may 
have written a prescription for the controlled substance of the 
conviction and certain information relating to the conviction. 
 
Requires DOPL to increase the licensing fee for manufacturing, 
producing, distributing, dispensing, administering, or conducting 
research to pay the startup and ongoing costs of DOPL for complying 
with the requirements of the preceding paragraph. 
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H.B. 250  Criminal Penalties Amendments – Leaving the 
Scene of an Accident 

    Representative Christopher N. Herrod 
 

Defines serious bodily injury as “bodily injury which involves a 
substantial risk of death, unconsciousness, extreme physical pain, 
protracted and obvious disfigurement, or protracted loss or 
impairment of the function of a bodily member, organ, or mental 
faculty”. 
  
Increases the penalty from a class A misdemeanor to a third degree 
felony for a person who violates the requirement to stop the vehicle at 
the scene of an accident and remain at the scene of the accident until 
the operator has fulfilled certain requirements if the accident resulted 
in serious bodily injury or death of a person and regardless of whether 
the person has previously been convicted of certain violations.  
 
 

H.J.R. 22 Joint Resolution Recognizing the 75th Anniversary 
of the Utah Highway Patrol 

    Representative Don L. Ipson 
 

Recognizes the 75th anniversary of the Utah Highway Patrol and its 
continued exceptional service to the state of Utah and its motoring 
public. 

     
 

     
Appropriation 

Alcoholic Beverage Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account  

The 2010 Legislature appropriated $5,622,600 to the Alcoholic 
Beverage Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account (§32A-1-
115) for FY 2010-2011.  Funding from this account is distributed on a 
formula basis to Utah’s municipalities and counties to be used for one 
or more of the following purposes:  (1) DUI law enforcement,            
(2) general alcohol-related law enforcement, (3) prosecution/court 
costs for alcohol-related cases, (4) treatment of alcohol problems,   
(5) alcohol-related education/prevention, and (6) confinement of 
alcohol law offenders.     
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2010 USAAV DUI Committee 

The Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council’s DUI Committee members represent 
state and local agencies and organizations dealing with the DUI issue in Utah.  With the 
support and action of the Utah Legislature and other key leaders and policymakers, 
during FY 2010 the Committee continued its work to strengthen Utah’s ability to 
effectively address the DUI problem.  

Anna Kay Waddoups 
Citizen Member and Chair 

Senator Stuart Adams Senator 
Utah State Senate 

David Beach Director, Highway Safety Office 
Utah Department of Public Safety 

Edward Berkovich 
 

Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor 
Utah Prosecution Council 

Bart Blackstock Citizen Member and Former Deputy Director 
Driver License Division, Department of Public Safety 

Paul Boyden, Vice Chair Executive Director 
Statewide Association of Prosecutors 

Neil Cohen Compliance Officer 
Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Patty Fox Post-Trial Services Program Manager 
Salt Lake County Criminal Justice Services 

Colonel Daniel Fuhr Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol 
Utah Department of Public Safety 

Kim Gibb Bureau Chief, Driver License Division 
Utah Department of Public Safety 

Chief Wayne Hansen Farmington Police Department 
Utah Chiefs of Police Association 

Gail Johnson Educational Specialist for Driver Education 
Utah State Office of Education 

Teri Pectol Program Manager, Highway Safety Office 
Utah Department of Public Safety  

Richard Schwermer Assistant State Court Administrator 
Administrative Office of the Courts 

Sheriff Kirk Smith Washington County Sheriff’s Office 
Utah Sheriffs Association 

Holly Watson Substance Abuse Education Program Manager 
Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health 

Mary Lou Emerson                                                     Judy Jackson and Monica Taylor
Director, USAAV Council                               Administrative Assistants, USAAV/CCJJ 
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Law Enforcement 
The Utah Department of Public Safety, through its Driver License Division and Highway 
Safety Office, collects information on all DUI arrests.  In FY 2010, Utah law enforcement 
officers made 15,285 DUI arrests, 398 fewer than in the previous year.   

DUI Arrests 
DUI Arrests by Violation Type 
As illustrated in the following table, the distribution of DUI arrests by type of violation in 
FY 2010 was very similar to previous years.  The majority of the arrests, 82 percent, 
were for violations of the per se law, for driving at or above the legal blood/breath 
alcohol concentration level of .08.  Eleven percent of arrests were for refusal to submit 
to a chemical test.  Under Utah law, any person who operates a motor vehicle is 
considered to have given consent to tests of breath, blood, urine, or oral fluids for the 
purpose of determining whether they are driving in violation of the DUI laws.  Refusal 
may result in revocation of the driver license and prohibition of driving without an 
ignition interlock device.  It is also illegal to drive with any measurable controlled 
substance or metabolite in one’s body, which accounted for one percent of arrests.  
Violations of the Not a Drop statute, by persons under the age of 21 who drove with any 
measurable alcohol concentration in their body, accounted for five percent of the 
arrests.  The fewest arrests were of commercial drivers exceeding the .04 limit, which 
represented only 0.1 percent of the total.         

FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010 DUI Arrests by 
Violation Type Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Per se Alcohol (.08) 12,368 80.9% 12,705 81.0% 12,559 82.2%
Refusal of Chemical Test 1,802 11.8% 1,872 11.9% 1,704 11.1%
Not a Drop (< 21) 902 5.9% 877 5.6% 834 5.5%
Drug or Metabolite 195 1.3% 205 1.3% 174 1.1%
Commercial Driver (.04) 30 0.2% 24 0.2% 14 0.1%
TOTAL 15,297 100.0% 15,683 100.0% 15,285 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

Law 
Enforcement 

2 
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DUI Overtime Enforcement Events 
The arrests made in FY 2010 included those that occurred as a result of specialized 
DUI overtime enforcement events targeted at removing drivers under the influence of 
alcohol and/or other drugs from Utah’s roads.  A portion of the DUI impound fees 
collected was specifically designated to fund the overtime shifts.  During FY 2010,       
91 law enforcement agencies throughout the state participated in overtime events, 
including local police agencies, sheriffs’ offices, the Utah Highway Patrol, Motor Vehicle 
Enforcement, the Utah Attorney General’s Office, and Utah Parks & Recreation.   

The table below shows the measures associated with DUI overtime enforcement 
events in FY 2010.  Of the total 1,053 DUI arrests, 840 were for alcohol, 133 were for 
other drugs, and 80 were for metabolite.    

Statewide DUI Overtime 
Enforcement Events FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010 Percent Change 

FY 09 – FY 10 
5-Hour Shifts Worked 1,956 2,180 2,235 +2.5% 
Vehicles Stopped 14,867 19,233 22,340 +16.2% 
DUI Arrests 1,286 1,232 1,053 -14.5% 
Vehicles Impounded 1,206 1,173 961 -18.1% 
Alcohol-Related Arrests* 747 742 616 -17.0% 
Drug-Related Arrests** 460 440 461 +4.8% 
Warrants Served 429 544 427 -21.5% 
Other Warnings/Citations 15,942 17,199 17,883 +4.0% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*Includes open container and underage/youth alcohol violations (e.g., possession, consumption, attempted purchase,   
Not a Drop) 
**Felony and misdemeanor (e.g., drug possession) 
   

DUI Arrests by Agency Type 
Nearly half of all arrests in FY 2010 were made by municipal law enforcement 
agencies, with the Utah Highway Patrol responsible for 36 percent of arrests, and 
sheriffs’ offices responsible for 14 percent of DUI arrests. 

FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010 DUI Arrests by  
Agency Type Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Sheriffs’ Offices 2,728 17.8% 2,576 16.4% 2,143 14.0%
City Police/Other 8,805 57.6% 8,733 55.7% 7,617 49.8%
Highway Patrol 3,764 24.6% 4,374 27.9% 5,525 36.1%
TOTAL 15,297 100.0% 15,683 100.0% 15,285 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Gender 
The table on the following page shows the proportions of male and female 
arrestees have remained fairly consistent over the past three years, although the 
proportion of females arrested for DUI appears to be increasing.  In FY 2010, nearly 
75 percent of arrestees were male and 25 percent were female.   
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FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010  
DUI Arrests by Gender Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Male 11,965 78.2% 11,972 76.3% 11,402 74.6%
Female 3,272 21.4% 3,653 23.3% 3,815 25.0%
Unspecified 60 0.4% 58 0.4% 68 0.4%
TOTAL 15,297 100.0% 15,683 100.0% 15,285 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Age 
The youngest DUI driver in FY 2010 was 15 years old, and the oldest was over 90 
years old.  About nine percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 21.  
Drivers from 25 to 36 years of age accounted for nearly 39 percent of all arrests.  

FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010  
DUI Arrests by Age Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Unknown 2 < 0.1% 1 < 0.1% 1 < 0.1%
15-20 1,612 10.5% 1,556 9.9% 1,457 9.5%
21-24 2,887 18.9% 2,894 18.5% 2,853 18.7%
25-36 5,882 38.5% 6,087 38.8% 5,922 38.7%
37-48 3,132 20.5% 3,255 20.8% 3,049 19.9%
49-93 1,782 11.6% 1,890 12.1% 2,003 13.1%
TOTAL 15,297 100.0% 15,683 100.0% 15,285 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Month 
As in previous years, DUI arrests remained fairly consistent throughout FY 2010, with 
an average arrest rate of 1,274 per month.  The highest number of arrests occurred in 
March (1,396), with the lowest number of arrests in April (1,171). 

FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010  
DUI Arrests by Month Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
July 1,302 8.5% 1,230 7.8% 1,239 8.1%
August 1,312 8.6% 1,539 9.8% 1,318 8.6%
September 1,353 8.8% 1,469 9.4% 1,380 9.0%
October 1,242 8.1% 1,263 8.1% 1,264 8.3%
November 1,270 8.3% 1,395 8.9% 1,272 8.3%
December 1,307 8.5% 1,207 7.7% 1,178 7.7%
January 1,139 7.4% 1,361 8.7% 1,251 8.2%
February 1,176 7.7% 1,220 7.8% 1,214 7.9%
March 1,370 9.0% 1,286 8.2% 1,396 9.1%
April 1,245 8.1% 1,201 7.7% 1,171 7.7%
May 1,314 8.6% 1,397 8.9% 1,391 9.1%
June 1,267 8.3% 1,115 7.1% 1,211 7.9%
TOTAL 15,297 100.0% 15,683 100.0% 15,285 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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DUI Arrests by County 
Consistent with past years, the majority of DUI arrests during FY 2010 occurred along 
the Wasatch Front with Weber, Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 
nearly 73 percent (11,179) of the total.  Salt Lake County had the highest number of 
arrests with 6,749 (44%), while Rich County had the fewest arrests with six (< 0.1%).  
The table below also compares the percentage of DUI arrests to the percentage of both 
total population and vehicle miles traveled in each county.   

DUI Arrests 
FY 2010 

Population Estimate
July 1, 2009 

Vehicle Miles Traveled 
Calendar Year 2009 County 

Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Beaver 88 0.6% 6,576 0.2% 248,115,514 0.9%
Box Elder 176 1.2% 49,421 1.8% 917,671,498 3.5%
Cache 415 2.7% 114,276 4.1% 861,094,707 3.3%
Carbon 186 1.2% 19,768 0.7% 298,141,117 1.1%
Daggett 7 < 0.1% 988 < 0.1% 30,873,135 0.1%
Davis 1,355 8.9% 307,656 11.0% 2,702,081,954 10.3%
Duchesne 125 0.8% 17,368 0.6% 228,926,743 0.9%
Emery 99 0.6% 10,848 0.4% 326,440,398 1.2%
Garfield 52 0.3% 5,149 0.2% 118,254,762 0.5%
Grand 120 0.8% 9,493 0.3% 341,154,838 1.3%
Iron 314 2.1% 46,825 1.7% 702,216,514 2.7%
Juab 115 0.8% 10,191 0.4% 384,655,938 1.5%
Kane 70 0.5% 6,740 0.2% 142,718,355 0.5%
Millard 80 0.5% 13,702 0.5% 455,391,362 1.7%
Morgan 36 0.2% 9,947 0.4% 134,143,043 0.5%
Piute 7 < 0.1% 1,479 0.1% 30,475,040 0.1%
Rich 6 < 0.1% 2,329 0.1% 48,524,322 0.2%
Salt Lake 6,749 44.2% 1,042,125 37.2% 8,518,653,933 32.5%
San Juan 142 0.9% 15,643 0.6% 288,251,457 1.1%
Sanpete 69 0.5% 27,646 1.0% 217,721,175 0.8%
Sevier 158 1.0% 20,773 0.7% 341,143,192 1.3%
Summit 369 2.4% 40,451 1.4% 710,815,253 2.7%
Tooele 405 2.6% 59,117 2.1% 831,306,456 3.2%
Uintah 310 2.0% 31,291 1.1% 355,502,991 1.4%
Utah 1,842 12.1% 531,442 19.0% 3,652,018,328 13.9%
Wasatch 124 0.8% 23,428 0.8% 304,798,580 1.2%
Washington 625 4.1% 145,466 5.2% 1,362,778,935 5.2%
Wayne 8 0.1% 2,692 0.1% 41,024,805 0.2%
Weber 1,233 8.1% 227,259 8.1% 1,622,214,496 6.2%
TOTAL 15,285 100.0% 2,800,089 100.0% 26,217,108,843 100.0%
Source for DUI Arrest Data:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
Source for Population Data:  Governor’s Office of Planning and Budget, Demographic and Economic Analysis Section 
Source for Vehicle Miles Traveled:  Utah Department of Transportation 
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DUI Arrests by Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC) 
The average BAC remained at .14 during FY 2010, with the highest BAC recorded at 
.40, five times the legal limit! 

FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010 DUI Arrests by BAC 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

BAC Results Not Reported 3,536 23.1% 3,712 23.7% 4,153 27.2%
.01 - .07  982 6.4% 1,064 6.8% 898 5.9%
.08 - .10 1,617 10.6% 1,600 10.2% 1,635 10.7%
.11 - .15 3,072 20.1% 3,100 19.8% 2,923 19.1%
.16 - .20 2,129 13.9% 2,240 14.3% 1,967 12.9%
.21 - .25 935 6.1% 931 5.9% 806 5.3%
.26 - .40  357 2.3% 363 2.3% 317 2.1%

Refused BAC Test 1,815 11.9% 1,875 12.0% 1,698 11.1%
No Test/Unknown 607 4.0% 519 3.3% 597 3.9%

Drug Only 247 1.6% 279 1.8% 291 1.9%
TOTAL 15,297 100.0% 15,683 100.0% 15,285 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
Repeat DUI Offenders by Type of Arrest 
The following table shows repeat offender data by type of DUI-related arrest.  Data 
were calculated by selecting offenders arrested in FY 2010 as a starting point, then 
counting back ten years to determine previous arrests.  Each offender was placed 
in a column determined by the type of the most recent arrest.  About 67 percent of 
arrests were for a first offense, 22 percent were for a second offense, seven 
percent were for a third offense, and four percent were for a fourth or subsequent 
offense.  The total number of arrests reflected in this table is fewer than the total 
arrests for FY 2010 because each offender was counted only once, although the 
offender may have been arrested more than one time during the fiscal year.      
 
FY 2010 

Arrest 
Type 

TOTAL 

Offense 

Per se 
Alcohol 

(.08) 

Refusal 
of 

Chemical 
Test 

Not a 
Drop 
(< 21) 

Drug or 
Metabolite

Commercial 
Driver 
(.04) 

Number Percent 

1st 8,157 923 358 144 11 9,593 67.4%
2nd 2,260 404 392 21 1 3,078 21.6%
3rd 776 172 39 4 1 992 7.0%
4th 291 80 18 1 1 391 2.7%
5th 80 27 2 0 0 109 0.8%
6th 39 12 1 0 0 52 0.4%
7th 9 2 1 0 0 12 0.1%
8th 2 2 0 0 0 4 < 0.1%
9th 1 2 0 0 0 3 < 0.1%

10th- 14th 3 0 0 0 0 3 < 0.1%
TOTAL 11,618 1,624 811 170 14 14,237 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities 
The following table shows the total number of DUI-related vehicle crashes for each 
calendar year from 2000 to 2009, including the number of persons injured and the number 
of persons killed as a result of the crashes.  The number of DUI-related fatalities in Utah 
decreased from 34 in CY 2008 to 31 in CY 2009.  According to the National Highway 
Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), whose figures differ somewhat from Utah’s 
because they utilize imputations in their calculations when the driver’s BAC is unknown, in 
CY 2009 Utah had the lowest rate of DUI-related fatalities in the nation at 16.4 percent.  
The national average was 32.1 percent. 

DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, 2000-2009 
Injuries Fatalities Calendar 

Year 
Total 

DUI-Related 
Crashes* 

Total 
Injured 

Persons 

DUI-Related 
Injured 

Persons 

Percent 
DUI- 

Related 

Total 
Crash 

Fatalities 

DUI-
Related 

Fatalities* 

Percent 
DUI-

Related 
2000 2,162 30,086 1,846 6.1% 373 69 18.5% 
2001 2,122 29,375 1,764 6.0% 291 42 14.4% 
2002 2,088 30,433 1,685 5.5% 328 53 16.2% 
2003 1,952 28,352 1,360 4.8% 309 29   9.4% 
2004 1,948 29,638 1,570 5.3% 296 56 18.9% 
2005 1,977 29,221 1,398 4.8% 282 22   7.8% 
2006 2,488 27,433 1,844 6.7% 287 39 13.6% 
2007 2,718 27,420 1,900 6.9% 299 42 14.0% 
2008 2,330 24,673 1,596 6.5% 276 34 12.3% 
2009 Not Available Not Available 244 31 12.7% 

Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*DUI-related crashes include only those incidents that involved alcohol.  DUI-related fatalities include only drivers with a BAC of 
≥ .08. 

 
The figure below illustrates the DUI-related crash fatality data in the table above for 
Utah, from 2000 to 2009. 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

   

 

             Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
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Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities by Population and Vehicle Miles Traveled 
The following table shows the rates of DUI-related fatalities per 10,000 population and 
per 100 million vehicle miles traveled in Utah, from 2000 to 2009. 

Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities per 10,000 Population and           
100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled in Utah, 2000-2009 

DUI-Related Fatality Rates per 
10,000 Population 

DUI-Related Fatality Rates per 
100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled

Calendar 
Year DUI-

Related 
Fatalities* Population Rate Vehicle Miles 

Traveled Rate 

2000 69 2,246,553 0.31 22,501,719,290 0.31 
2001 42 2,305,652 0.18 23,382,719,060 0.18 
2002 53 2,358,330 0.22 24,422,264,975 0.22 
2003 29 2,413,618 0.12 23,946,840,430 0.12 
2004 56 2,469,230 0.23 24,624,791,795 0.23 
2005 22 2,547,389 0.09 25,129,538,952 0.09 
2006 39 2,615,129 0.15 26,166,885,473 0.15 
2007 42 2,699,554 0.16 26,824,244,333 0.16 
2008 34 2,757,779 0.12 25,883,467,343 0.13 
2009 31 2,800,089 0.11 26,217,108,843 0.12 

Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*DUI-related fatalities include only those incidents that involved alcohol and where the driver had a BAC of ≥ .08. 

 
The figure below illustrates the rate of DUI-related fatalities in Utah from 2000 to 
2009, per 100 million vehicle miles traveled.   

Rate Per 100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled  
of DUI-Related Fatalities in Utah, 2000-2009 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

                         

Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
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Day and Hour of Alcohol-Impaired Driver Crashes 
The Utah Highway Safety Office reports in calendar year 2008 the highest percentage 
of alcohol-impaired driver total crashes (24%) and fatal crashes (28%) occurred on 
Saturday.  Alcohol-impaired driver total crashes peaked in the evening and early 
morning hours, between 5:00 p.m. and 2:59 a.m.  Fatal alcohol-impaired driver crashes 
varied by hour and peaked at 9:00 p.m. and 2:00 a.m. 

Use of State Beer Tax Funds for DUI Law Enforcement 
The state’s beer tax funds are used to support DUI enforcement, as well as other alcohol-
related enforcement, education/prevention and treatment activities.  For FY 2010, the 
Legislature appropriated $5,622,600 to be distributed from the Alcoholic Beverage 
Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account (§32A-1-115) to municipalities and 
counties statewide on a formula basis.1  Funds may be spent in one or more of six 
general categories:  (1) DUI law enforcement, (2) general alcohol-related law 
enforcement, (3) prosecution/court costs for alcohol-related cases, (4) treatment of 
alcohol problems, (5) alcohol-related education/prevention, and (6) confinement of 
alcohol law offenders.  Municipalities and counties receiving more than $1,000 in beer 
tax revenues are required to submit an Annual Report to the Utah Substance Abuse 
and Anti-Violence Coordinating Council by October 1st of each year, outlining how funds 
were utilized, whether the programs or projects funded were effective, and certifying the 
funds were used in accordance with the law.  Municipalities and counties that do not 
submit their reports by the deadline forfeit their alcohol funds for the current fiscal year 
and these funds are then allocated to other entities, in accordance with the statute. 

The following table shows how FY 2010 funds were utilized, as reported in the Alcohol 
Funds Annual Reports received to date. 

 
FY 2010 Alcohol Funds Reports 

How Funds Were Used 
As of October 11, 2010 

Number of 
Municipalities 
and Counties 

(N = 162) 

 
 

Percent2

DUI Law Enforcement 82 50.6%
General Alcohol-Related Law Enforcement 80 49.4%
Prosecution/Court Costs for Alcohol-Related Cases 42 25.9%
Treatment of Alcohol Problems 4 2.5%
Alcohol-Related Education/Prevention 63 38.9%
Confinement of Alcohol Law Offenders 13 8.0%
Source:  Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council, FY 2010 Alcohol Funds Annual Reports 
 
                                                                          

1 In accordance with §32A-1-115 (UCA), the State Tax Commission distributes funds to municipalities and 
counties in December of each year based upon the following formula:  percentage of state population (25%); 
percentage of statewide convictions for all alcohol-related offenses (30%); percentage of all state stores, 
package agencies, liquor licensees, and beer licensees (20%); and for confinement and treatment purposes 
(for alcohol-related offenses) based upon the percentage of the state population (25% to counties only). 

2 Recipients may use alcohol funds for more than one of the six categories outlined in the statute. 
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Adjudications and Sanctions 
DUI offenses are classified either as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the type 
of offense and whether it is a repeat offense.  Misdemeanor cases are handled in 
Justice Courts, which are sponsored by municipalities and counties.  Felony cases and 
cases not referred to the Justice Courts are handled in state District Courts.  Of the 
13,501 DUI cases that went to court during FY 2010, District Courts handled 2,096 (15 
percent) and Justice Courts handled 11,405 (85 percent).  The number of DUI cases 
disposed in the state’s District Courts and the number of DUI cases charged in the 
Justice Courts both decreased from FY 2009 to FY 2010. 

 
DUI Cases in Utah’s Courts 

 
FY 2008 

 
FY 2009 

 
FY 2010 

% Change  
FY 09 – FY 10

District Court Cases Disposed 2,052 2,266 2,096 -7.5% 
Justice Court Charges 11,229 12,002 11,405 -5.0% 
Total DUI Cases 13,281 14,268 13,501 -5.4% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 
Justice Court DUI Data 
Justice Court DUI Charges and Outcomes 
During FY 2010, Utah’s Justice Courts handled 11,405 DUI cases, 597 fewer than in 
FY 2009.  The following table details the DUI cases filed in Justice Courts and their 
outcomes.  This table does not represent the actual DUI conviction rate for the Justice 
Courts, however, as it includes cases filed in FY 2009 that were not resolved until       
FY 2010.  In addition, 2,712 cases were still pending resolution at the close of FY 2010. 

FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010 Justice Court  
DUI Charges and 
Outcomes Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

% Change  
FY 09 – FY 10 

Total DUI Charges Filed 11,229 100.0% 12,002 100.0% 11,405 100.0% -5.0% 
Guilty 6,681 59.5% 7,121 59.3% 6,371 55.9% -10.5% 
Dismissed or Not Guilty 2,587 23.0% 2,384 19.9% 2,322 20.3% -2.6% 
Cases Pending 1,961 17.5% 2,497 20.8% 2,712 23.8% +8.6% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

Adjudications 
& Sanctions 

3 
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Justice Court DUI Sanctions 
The Justice Courts also track other DUI-related case information such as blood/breath 
alcohol content (BAC) reported; screening, assessment and treatment ordered; and 
ignition interlock ordered.  The table below includes data for those Justice Courts 
reporting to the Department of Public Safety’s Bureau of Criminal Identification.  The 
numbers reflect only those dispositions loaded into the Criminal History Repository, and 
do not include those in the suspense file.  The data indicate in 3,382 cases the 
blood/breath alcohol content was known.  The table further shows judges ordered 
offenders to participate in an educational series in 2,155 cases, substance abuse 
treatment in 1,585 cases, and that ignition interlock devices were ordered in 915 cases. 

Justice Court DUI Sanctions FY 
2008 

FY 
2009 

FY 
2010 

Number of Justice Courts Providing Data 88 113 119
Blood/Breath Alcohol Content Known 1,672 2,708 3,382
Substance Abuse Screening and Assessment Ordered 1,104 1,953 2,414
Substance Abuse Treatment Ordered 819 1,291 1,585
Educational Series Ordered 1,058 1,782 2,155
Ignition Interlock Ordered 358 853 915
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 1,244 2,312 3,082
Electronic Monitoring 36 131 121
Enhancement Notification 1,278 2,184 2,400
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Identification 

   
District Court DUI Data 
District Court DUI Case Outcomes 
The table below shows case outcomes by Judicial District for the 2,096 DUI cases 
processed by Utah’s eight District Courts during FY 2010 

FY 2010 District Court DUI Case Outcomes 
Judicial District DUI Case 

Outcomes 1st  2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th  
 
Total Percent

Deceased 0 0 0 3 0 0 0 2 5 0.2%
Declined Prosecution 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 2 0.1%
Dismissed 59 64 80 47 21 23 14 11 319 15.2%
Diversion 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.0%
Guilty 111 344 434 391 121 46 77 87 1,611 76.9%
No Contest 1 2 2 22 1 3 3 1 35 1.7%
Not Guilty 2 0 1 0 1 0 1 0 5 0.2%
Plea in Abeyance 0 3 0 2 2 1 2 5 15 0.7%
Remanded 0 1 34 4 1 1 2 0 43 2.1%
Transferred 1 5 7 43 0 1 1 3 61 2.9%
TOTAL 174 419 558 512 148 76 100 109 2,096 100.0%
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
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About 77 percent of the cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.  The defendant was 
found not guilty in only five cases.  In 15 percent of the cases, the case was either 
dismissed or declined for prosecution.  It should be noted that this table is not a 
depiction of the District Courts’ actual DUI conviction rates, as it only examined cases 
that were disposed of during FY 2010.  Pending cases were not included in the data 
analysis. 

District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data 
The District Courts also track how repeat DUI offenders are handled.  In the table 
below, which includes data for Fiscal Year 2008 through Fiscal Year 2010, the first 
column shows if the offender was charged as a first-time offender or a repeat offender.  
The second column indicates how many of those in the first column actually met that 
criterion.  The last column shows how the offender was sentenced.   

In FY 2010 for example, 27 percent of DUI offenders were charged with a third offense, 
while 22 percent were actually third-time offenders, and 23 percent were sentenced as 
third-time offenders.  Discrepancies between charges and sentencing are not unusual.  
An offender’s sentence is dependent upon the conviction, which may or may not be the 
same as the offense charged due to plea bargains or court procedural issues. 

District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data for Fiscal Years 2008-20103
 

Offense Was 
Charged As 

Offense Was 
Actually 

Offense Was 
Sentenced As Offense 

FY 08 FY 09 FY 10 FY 08 FY 09 FY 10 FY 08 FY 09 FY 10 
1st Offense 48% 53% 53% 46% 53% 50% 50% 54% 56%
2nd Offense 18% 18% 17% 23% 23% 21% 21% 20% 19%
3rd Offense 30% 26% 27% 22% 17% 22% 24% 22% 23%
4th Offense 2% 2% 1% 4% 3% 4% 3% 2% 1%
5th to 10th 
Offense 2% 1% 1% 5% 4% 3% 2% 2% 1%

TOTAL 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
 

District Court DUI Sanctions 
The District Courts track DUI-related case information regarding sanctions ordered as 
well.  The table on the following page includes the FY 2010 data for those cases where 
the values were known.  The table shows judges ordered offenders to participate in an 
educational series in 419 cases, ordered substance abuse treatment in 648 cases, and 
that ignition interlock devices were ordered in 293 cases.  DUI offenders were notified 
100 percent of the time that they may be subject to enhancements. 

 
                                                                          

3 The cases in the table represent only those for which the number of the offense was known; in FY 2008, FY 
2009 and FY 2010, the number was unknown in a large number of cases.  In addition, the following cases were 
not included:  bail forfeiture, deceased, declined, dismissed, not guilty, remanded, and transferred. 
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District Court DUI Sanctions FY 
2008 

FY 
2009 

FY 
2010 

Blood/Breath Alcohol Content Known 603 590 560 
Substance Abuse Screening and Assessment Ordered 646 693 686 
Substance Abuse Treatment Ordered 633 698 648 
Educational Series Ordered 417 459 419 
Ignition Interlock Ordered 353 312 293 
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 711 851 786 
Electronic Monitoring 174 128 122 
Enhancement Notification 100% 100% 100% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 
Other DUI Sanctions 
The Driver License Division tracks other DUI sanctions.  The following table lists the 
average sanctions applied against DUI offenders.  Not all offenders are ordered to 
serve a jail sentence or perform community service hours, however, all convicted DUI 
offenders are assessed a fine and a surcharge.  For a first offense the minimum fine is 
$700, for a second offense within 10 years the minimum fine is $800, and for a third or 
subsequent offense the minimum fine is $1,500. 

Average Jail Sentence, 
Community Service Hours 

and Fines 
FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010 

Average Jail Sentence 146 days 151 days 154 days
Average Fine for DUI Convictions $1,488.50 $1,467.63 $1,490.30
Average Fine for Other Alcohol/ 
Drug Related Convictions $1,213.52 $1,280.12 $1,400.92
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 

 

 20 



E I G H T H  A N N U A L  D U I  R E P O R T  T O  T H E  U T A H  L E G I S L A T U R E  

Driver License 
Control 

4 
Driver License Control 
The Department of Public Safety’s Driver License Division is required to suspend or 
revoke the license of a person who has been convicted or sanctioned for the following: 

• Driving under the influence 
• Driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body 
• Refusal to submit to a chemical test 
• Automobile homicide 
• “No-alcohol” conditional license 
• Alcohol restricted driver (ARD) violation  
• Interlock restricted driver (IRD) conviction 

 

Alcohol Hearing Statistics 
When a driver is arrested for DUI, the license is taken and a 30-day temporary license 
is issued.  Drivers may request a license hearing within 10 days, and the Driver License 
Division must schedule the hearing within the 30-day period of the temporary license. 

As shown in the table below, there were 5,256 alcohol hearings held in FY 2010.  The 
Division is unable to take any action against a driver if the arresting officer does not 
appear at the hearing.  To improve appearance rates, the Division offers a telephonic 
option whereby officers or offenders can phone in for the hearing.  In 2,885 cases, one 
of the parties called in for the hearing.   

FY 2010 Alcohol Hearing Statistics 
 

ACD Code 
Total # of 
Hearings 

No 
Officer 

No Officer 
Telephonic

Other  
No Action 

Total  
No Action 

Total 
Telephonic

Per Se 4,402 761 101 811 1,673 2,412 
Not a Drop 256 39 2 19 60 125 
Refusal 598 83 16 51 150 348 
TOTAL 5,256 883 119 881 1,883 2,885 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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Screening, Assessment, 
Education and Treatment 

Screening and Assessment 
As part of any sentence for a DUI offense, Utah law requires offenders to 
participate in a screening and, if indicated by the screening, an assessment.  A 
screening involves gathering information that is used to determine if an individual 
has a problem with alcohol and/or other drug abuse, and if so, whether an in-depth 
clinical assessment is appropriate.  An assessment is a collection of detailed 
information concerning the individual’s alcohol and/or other drug abuse, emotional 
and physical health, social roles, and other relevant areas of the individual’s life.  
The assessment is used to determine the need for substance abuse treatment.4   
The following table shows the orders for substance abuse screening and 
assessment by the District and Justice Courts in FY 2010, for those cases where 
the values were known.  

Substance Abuse Screening and 
Assessment Ordered by the Courts FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010

District Court 646 693 686 
Justice Court 1,104 1,953 2,414 
Sources:  District Courts – Utah Administrative Office of the Courts; Justice Courts – Utah Department of Public Safety, 
Bureau of Criminal Identification 

 
Education 
For a first DUI offense and for a second offense within 10 years, the sentence must 
include participation in an educational series if the court does not order treatment.  The 
                                                                          

4 Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Screening and Assessment for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse 
Among Adults in the Criminal Justice System, Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIP) Series, #7. 

Assessment, 
Education & 
Treatment 

5 
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purpose of DUI education is to “address any problems or risk factors that appear to be 
related to use of alcohol and other drugs and attempt to help the individual recognize 
the harmful consequences of inappropriate use, with special emphasis placed on the 
dangers of drinking and driving.”5  Utah DUI offenders sentenced to an educational 
series attend the PRIME For Life program developed by the Prevention Research 
Institute (PRI).  “PRIME For Life provides education and strategies for individuals who 
have problems with alcohol or drug use.  PRIME For Life is an interactive experience 
designed to guide individuals toward making low-risk choices and adopting more 
accurate beliefs about personal risk that will support those low-risk choices.”6   The 
following table shows the orders for the educational series by the District and 
Justice Courts in FY 2010, for those cases where values were known. 

Educational Series Ordered  
By the Courts FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010

District Court 417 459 419 
Justice Court 1,058 1,782 2,155 
Sources:  District Courts – Utah Administrative Office of the Courts; Justice Courts – Utah Department of Public Safety, 
Bureau of Criminal Identification 
 

PRI conducts periodic studies of PRIME For Life participants to measure the impact on 
changing beliefs about alcohol and other drug use, understanding the risks associated 
with alcohol/drug use, and desire to change personal drinking and drug use behaviors.  
In previous years this study was published annually, however, because the findings 
have been virtually identical from year to year, PRI now publishes the study less 
frequently.  The most recent study provides data on 902 Utah offenders who 
participated in the PRIME For Life program during 2008 and 2009.  Offenders ranged in 
age from 17 to 70, with an average age of 31.  The findings from this study are 
summarized in the table below and on the following page.7  

2008-2009 Utah PRIME For Life Participant Characteristics and Outcomes 
Gender 
  Male 69%
  Female 31%
Race/Ethnicity 
  White 81%
  Hispanic 10%
  African American 2%
  American Indian 2%
  Other 5%

 

                                                                          

5 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003. 

6 Beadnell, B., Nason, M., Carter-Lunceford, C., & Huynh, H. (2010, April).  PRIME For Life 2010 Evaluation 
Report Executive Summary:  Utah.  Lexington, KY:  Prevention Research Institute. 

7Ibid. 
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2008-2009 Utah PRIME For Life Participant Characteristics and Outcomes 
Type of Offense 
  Impaired Driving  62%
  Drug Possession 14%
  Underage Drinking 10%
  Underage Drinking and Driving 5%
  Other 9%
DSM-IV Indicators of Alcohol Dependence 
  0 Indicators 19%
  1 - 2  Indicators 34%
  3 - 6 Indicators 47%

 

Key Findings:  Behavioral Intentions   30 Days Prior to 
PRIME for Life 

Upcoming 30-
Day Intentions 

Drive After Making High-Risk Choices 
  Did Not Drive/Will Not Drive 
  Drove/Will Drive or Unsure 

 
67% 
33% 

 
96% 
4% 

Maximum Number of Drinks in a Day 
  Abstained/Will Abstain 
  1-3 Drinks 
  More Than 3 Drinks 

 
31% 
17% 
52% 

 
45% 
32% 
23% 

Marijuana and Other Drug Use 
  Abstained/Will Abstain 
  Used/Will Use 

 
76% 
24% 

 
91% 
9% 

 
After attending PRIME For Life, participants, especially those with the largest number of 
DSM-IV indicators of possible alcohol dependence, reported the following: 

• “greater perception of risk associated with high-risk drinking, marijuana use, 
 and other drug use; 

• “greater perception of personal risk for developing alcoholism and drug 
addiction; 

• “greater perception that their substance use risked things they value; 

• “greater recognition of existing substance abuse problems; 

• “greater agreement with attitudes and beliefs that are supportive of making 
 low-risk choices; and 

• “greater motivation to reduce their use”. 

Finally, “at the conclusion of PRIME For Life, over 80% of participants agreed the 
program helped them decide to drink or use drugs less (82%), feel confident about 
being able to drink less or use drugs less (82%), and develop skills to be able to drink 
less or to use drugs less (81%)”. 

 25 
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Treatment 
For a first and second DUI offense, the court may order treatment; for a third or 
subsequent offense within 10 years, the court must order substance abuse treatment.  
“Treatment involves the application of planned procedures to identify and change 
patterns of behavior that are maladaptive, destructive, and/or injurious to health; or to 
restore appropriate levels of physical, psychological and/or social functioning.  DUI 
offenders assessed as meeting the diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder 
should participate in a treatment program in addition to, or in lieu of, the educational 
course.”8   Treatment should address both alcohol and other drug problems.  The level 
of treatment needed (e.g., day treatment, outpatient, intensive outpatient, residential) is 
determined by the assessment on the basis of the severity of the substance abuse 
disorder.  The table below shows the orders for substance abuse treatment by the 
District and Justice Courts in FY 2010, for those cases where the values were 
known. 

Substance Abuse Treatment Ordered    
by the Courts FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010

District Court 633 698 648 
Justice Court 819 1,291 1,585 
Sources:  District Courts – Utah Administrative Office of the Courts; Justice Courts – Utah Department of Public Safety, 
Bureau of Criminal Identification 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                                          

8 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003. 
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Impaired 
Driving Media 
Campaign 
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Utah’s Impaired Driving          
Media Campaign  

“Don’t Get Pinched (Arrested) 
On St. Patrick’s Day” 

The Utah Department of Public Safety Highway 
Safety Office’s statewide media and outreach 
campaign continues to work to change the 
awareness and behavior of the 21-34 year old 
demographic that is likely to drive after drinking 
alcohol. The Utah campaign is funded by the 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 
(NHTSA) and builds upon the national campaign. 
The campaign uses billboards, print ads, radio, 
on-line, college newspapers, and local media to 
reinforce the message that impaired driving is one of  
the most frequently committed and deadliest crimes.   
And, if you get caught in Utah, you will face serious consequences.  

“Drunk Driving 
Isn’t A Game” 
(Super Bowl 

Weekend) 

  Billboards  
 

“DUI Mobile Command Center Rolls Out 
  New Look at Summer DUI Checkpoint” 

 
 
 
 
 

 27 


	DUI
	Utah DUI Sentencing Matrix-p33
	Utah DUI Sentencing Matrix-p34
	Comparison of Driver License Suspension Periods
	2010DUIAnnualReport
	2010 DUI Annual Report.pdf
	DUI-Related Fatalities Decreased in CY 2009
	Law Enforcement:  Arrests
	Courts:  Adjudications and Sanctions
	Driver License Control
	Purpose of the Report
	S.B. 91 Prosecutor Appeals                               Senator Daniel R. Liljenquist
	Appropriation
	DUI Arrests
	DUI Arrests by Violation Type
	DUI Overtime Enforcement Events
	DUI Arrests by Agency Type
	DUI Arrests by Gender
	DUI Arrests by Age
	DUI Arrests by Month
	DUI Arrests by County
	DUI Arrests by Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC)
	DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities
	Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities by Population and Vehicle Miles Traveled
	Justice Court DUI Data
	Justice Court DUI Charges and Outcomes
	Justice Court DUI Sanctions
	District Court DUI Data
	District Court DUI Case Outcomes
	District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data
	District Court DUI Sanctions
	Other DUI Sanctions
	Alcohol Hearing Statistics
	Screening and Assessment
	Education
	Treatment

	Alcohol Funds Table Page.pdf
	Day and Hour of Alcohol-Impaired Driver Crashes
	Use of State Beer Tax Funds for DUI Law Enforcement



	Return to Index: 


