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Fee	Adjustments	
 

  The Utah Education Appropriations Subcommittee of the legislature has requested that 

educator‐licensing fees be reduced beginning FY 2014 in order to deplete the professional 

practices fund accumulation that has occurred over the past few years.  The recommended 

adjustments will allow the fund accumulation to supplement the ongoing budget for immediate 

needs while diminishing the fund balance appropriately.   

State code 53A‐6‐401 and Board rule R277‐500‐3 require a background check for all 

educators.  As of February 22, 2013, it is estimated that 14,500 of licensed educators hold an 

active educator license and have not been fingerprinted for inclusion in the BCI educator 

database.  Based on current renewal cycles, at the end of FY 2014, this number will be reduced 

to approximately 500.  At that time it is recommended that the Utah State Board of Education 

amend Board rule R277‐500‐3 to discontinue the practice of requiring background checks for 

license renewal.  If this practice is discontinued for FY 2015 USOE will work with BCI to 

specifically target and require background checks from the individuals not yet included in the 

database.  This change will further reduce the cost to renew an active educator license starting 

in FY 2015.  In total, this reduction will lower the current total cost of renewal for an active 

educator from $149 to $99 and then, as of FY 2015, to $50.   

It is also proposed that approximately $300,000 of the fund accumulation be used as 

one‐time expenditures over the period of three to four years for the purpose of improving 

Educator Ethics testing and professional development.  In addition, we request $500,000 be 

spent over five years to supplement and replace aging fingerprint scanning equipment used at 

districts and charter schools for the fingerprinting of educators, classified employees, and 

volunteers.  Funding competitive grants from a $100,000 fund each year over a five year period 

would help stagger the future replacement costs of this equipment.  The use of the funds in 

these areas would require legislative action as it would be beyond the current licensing budget 

allocation. 

In conclusion, if all of the above proposals are adopted this will result in the fund 

accumulation being approximately $300,000 in 5 years as detailed below.  At that point the 

fund will be insufficient to supplement the ongoing budget.  It is recommended that a report of 

progress towards fund depletion is given annually to the legislature until the licensing and 

professional practices revenue sources are more closely aligned with expenditures.   
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Fee Title 

FY 2013 
Current 
Rate 

FY 2014 
Recom. 
Rate 

Perc. 
Change 

FY 2014 
Est. # of 
Units 

FY 2014 
Est. Total 
Revenue 

Revenue 
Change 

Professional Licensure 
    

LEVEL I  $60   $45   ‐25% 2,635   $118,575  ($39,525)

Utah University Recommended (3 Yrs)  $60   $45   ‐25% 2,689   $121,005  ($40,335)

Student License  $30   $25   ‐17% 2,258   $56,450  ($11,290)

Out of State Application  $90   $80   ‐11% 696   $55,680  ($6,960)

Out of State Evaluation ‐ Included in Fee  $0   $0   0% 0   $0  $0 

District/Charter License  $50   $45   ‐10% 18   $810  ($90)

District/Charter License Evaluation ‐ Included  $0   $0   0% 0   $0  $0 

One‐year Extension  $30   $25   ‐17% 171   $4,275  ($855)

Career and Technology Education  $50   $45   ‐10% 120   $5,400  ($600)

CTE Evaluation Fee ‐ Included in Fee Above  $0   $0   0% 0   $0  $0 

Level Upgrade (Prior to Renewal)  $50   $25   ‐50% 1,809   $45,225  ($45,225)

Renewals    

Active Educator  $50   $25   ‐50% 4,241   $106,025  ($106,025)

Inactive Educator  $80   $40   ‐50% 962   $38,480  ($38,480)

Returning Educator Application  $65   $35   ‐46% 63   $2,205  ($1,890)

Returning Educator Renewal  $30   $15   ‐50% 53   $795  ($795)

Endorsements     

Institutionally or District Approved  $35   $30   ‐14% 509   $15,270  ($2,545)

Individual Application  $45   $40   ‐11% 1,004   $40,160  ($5,020)

Duplicates/Replacements  $20   $10   ‐50% 577   $5,770  ($5,770)

Underqualified Educators  $155   $0   ‐100% 0  $0  $0 

State Approved Endorsement Programs  $45   $40   ‐11% 248   $9,920  ($1,240)

Subsequent Year Supervision Fee  $0   $0   0% 0   $0  $0 

Letter of Authorization Request  $35   $25   ‐29% 1,466   $36,650  ($14,660)

ARL Application  $100   $100   0% 492   $49,200  $0 

ARL Program Development and Tracking  $400   $400   0% 99   $39,600  $0 

ARL License Recommendation  $55   $40   ‐27% 197   $7,880  ($2,955)

Fingerprint Fee  $50   $0   ‐100% 0  $0  $0 

FBI and BCI Background Check Fee  $49   $24   ‐51% 13,226   $317,424  ($330,650)

Utah Professional Practices Advisory Council  $25   $25   0% 21,417   $535,425  $0 

Budget Total      $1,612,224      (654,910)
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Summary 
Est. Fund Accumulation (end of FY 2013)  $3,100,000 

Fund Depletion Over 5 Years  ($1,875,000) 

  FY 2014 Deficiency    ($375,000) 

    FY 2014 Est. Revenue      $1,610,000 

    FY 2014 Budget      $1,985,000 

Educator Ethics Revisions and PD (Over 3 Years)  ($400,000) 

Fingerprint Equipment Grant (Over 5 years)  ($500,000) 

Est. Fund Total After 5 Years  $325,000 

  


