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Governor’s Office of Management and Budget
State Capitol Complex, Suite 150

Salt Lake City, UT 84114

Telephone: (801) 538-1702

Legislative Compensation Commission

December 11, 2017

To the Utah State Legislature:

The Legislative Compensation Commission (“the Commission”) has completed its report for the
2018 General Session of the Utah State Legislature.

Utah law requires the Commission to “study and formulate recommendations concerning the salary
levels of Utah state legislators...[basing] the study and recommendations upon maintaining a citizen
Legislature in Utah, but compensating members fairly for their service in order that all individuals
have an opportunity to serve.” The law further requires the Commission to submit its
recommendations to each member of the Legislature “concerning changes, if any, which should be
made in the salary plan and its administration for state legislators,” by January 2nd of each even-
numbered year.

As in prior years, the Commission reviewed data from state and national sources, including surveys
of all 50 states’ legislative compensation levels.

We acknowledge that the legislature has implemented the Commission’s recommendations made two
years ago, namely providing daily rate compensation for up to ten authorized legislative training
days.

This year we recommend that the daily compensation rate increase from $273 to $285, an
amount that roughly corresponds to cost of living increases since the $273 rate was set in 2013.

We also recommend that the Legislature consider expanding the scope of “authorized legislative
days” in order to provide compensation for currently uncompensated work that legislators perform.

On behalf of the citizens and residents of this great state, we thank you for your service in the Senate
and House of Representatives.

Sincerely,



The Utah Legislative Compensation Commission

David L. Rail, Chair
Diane B. Christensen
James R. Gowans
Kevin Cote’
LaWanna Shurtliff
Matthew G. Bell,

Ronald K. Mortensen, Vice Chair

Staff:

Richie Wilcox, Governor’s Office of Management and Budget

For a copy of the report contact:

Governor’s Office of Management and Budget
State Capitol Complex, Suite 150

Salt Lake City, UT 84114

Telephone: (801) 538-1702



Introduction

Article VI, Section 9, of the Utah Constitution (see Appendix B) states that the Legislature may not
increase the salaries of its members on its own initiative, but shall provide by law for the appointment
by the governor of a citizens’ salary commission to make recommendations concerning the salaries of
members of the Legislature.

Utah Code Annotated (UCA) 36-2-3 provides that the salaries of members of the legislature are based
on recommendations of the Legislative Compensation Commission. UCA 36-2-4 outlines the
composition of the Commission. UCA 36-2-5 declares the duties of the Commission. (For reference,
each section is included in Appendix B of this report).

Legislative Compensation Commission

Pursuant to UCA 36-2-4, the Utah Legislative Compensation Commission is composed of seven
members appointed by the governor to serve four-year terms. Members represent a cross section of
workforce interests, major geographic areas of the state, and different political parties. Persons
employed in the legislative, judicial, and executive branches are not eligible for appointment.

Appointed commissioners are listed below:

Name Occupation Residence Political PartyTem.1
Expires

David L. Rail Insurance sales Provo Republican  4/1/2019
Diane B. Christensen  Exchange Coordinator, BYU Library  Provo Republican  4/1/2021
James R. Gowans Rancher and former legislator Tooele Democrat 4/1/2019
Kevin Cote’ Labor union business manager West Jordan  Unaffiliated 4/1/2021
Matthew G. Bell County commissioner Ogden Republican  4/1/2021
Ronald Mortensen Information technology consultant Herriman Republican ~ 4/1/2019
LaWanna Shurtliff Retired teacher and former legislator ~ Ogden Democrat 4/1/2021

By law, the Governor’s Office of Management and Budget staffs the commission.

Duties of the Legislative Compensation Commission

UCA 36-2-5 outlines the duties of the Commission which are to “study and formulate
recommendations concerning the salary levels of Utah state legislators...[basing] the study and



recommendations upon maintaining a citizen Legislature in Utah, but compensating members fairly
for their service in order that all individuals have an opportunity to serve.” The law further requires
the Commission to submit its recommendations to each member of the Legislature “concerning
changes, if any, which should be made in the salary plan and its administration for state legislators,”
by January 2nd of each even-numbered year.

Salaries of Members Based on Recommendations

The required statutory language of UCA 36-2-3 is included in Appendix B of this report. Subsection
1 declares that legislator salaries are to be automatically set January 1 of the odd-numbered year
following the recommendations included in the report issued by January 2 of the preceding even-
numbered year. It also provides that salaries shall be set either on a daily or annual basis. Subsection
2 allows the legislature to reject or decrease the salary recommendation but not to increase it. If it
does neither, it “[has] by law accepted the Legislative Compensation Commission
recommendations.” Thus, unless rejected or decreased by the legislature, legislator salaries as
recommended in this year’s report will be effective January 1, 2019.

Legislator Compensation

Joint Rule (JR) 5-3-101 states: “A legislator shall receive daily compensation...for authorized
legislative days as defined in Section JR5-1-101."

Salary

Utah’s state legislators receive a daily salary of $273 per day for all authorized legislative days?,
which includes the 45-day general session, plus special session days, veto override session days,
interim days (designated by the Legislative Management Committee) or any other day that includes a
meeting of a committee, subcommittee, commission, task force, or other legislative meeting,
provided that the committee, subcommittee, commission, task force, or other entity is created by
statute or joint resolution, the legislator’s attendance at the meeting is approved by the Legislative
Management Committee, and service and payment for service by the legislator is not in violation of
the Utah Constitution, including Article V and Article VI, Sections 6 and 7. They also receive a daily
salary of $273 for up to 10 authorized legislative training days.

For the 45-day general session all legislators receive a lump sum payment of $12,285 ($273 x 45
days). This payment is made in January before the start of the legislative session. Other approved
attendance at legislative meetings is paid on an as-earned basis.

L http://le.utah.gov/xcode/TitleJR5/Chapter3/JR5-3-S101.html?v=JR5-3-S101 1800010118000101
2 http://le.utah.gov/xcode/TitleJR5/Chapterl/JR5-1-S101.htmI?v=JR5-1-S101 2015031120150311




Currently, authorized meetings do not include meetings with local constituents, attending local
government meetings, or preparatory work on policy issues and legislation outside of an official
meeting day. The Commission recommends that the Legislature consider including some of this work
in the definition of authorized legislative day.

The current salary model has been in effect since February 1, 2013.

Leadership Pay

Legislators serving in certain leadership positions receive additional pay annually for the additional
duties and responsibilities to the legislature or respective caucuses, as follows:

President of the Senate and Speaker of the House of Representatives $5,000 each

Majority and Minority Party Leaders $4,000 each
Majority and Minority Whips, Assistant Whips, Minority Caucus Leaders, and
both chairpersons of the Executive Appropriations Committee $3,000 each

Leadership pay was most recently increased effective January 1, 2015.

Per Diems and Expense Reimbursements

UCA 36-2-5(3) states “the commission may take into account the amounts received by legislators for
legislative expenses, but may not review the propriety of, or recommend amounts for, legislative
expenses.” Accordingly, this summary on expenses is for information only.

JR5-2-1013 through JR5-2-103 addresses reimbursement for lodging, meals, and transportation.
Legislators may claim reimbursements for actual lodging, meal expenses, and transportation costs
incurred by the legislator in association with the legislator’s official duties for an authorized
legislative day.

Reimbursements for expenses may not exceed the per diem rates published in administrative rules
governing the reimbursement of lodging, meal, or transportation expenses for state employees.
Minimum travel distance requirements (50 miles for lodging and 100 miles for meals) applicable to
state employees do not apply to legislators. Receipts are required.

Administrative Rule R25-7, Travel-Related Reimbursements for State Employees?, as in effect on
October 1, 2017, outlines state policy and procedure, and provides (in-state amounts):

3 Retrieved from http://le.utah.gov/xcode/TitleJR5/Chapter2/JR5-2.html?v=JR5-2 1800010118000101
4 Retrieved from http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r025/r025-007.htm




. Lodging - $70 per night with exceptions for specified cities (Salt Lake City
metropolitan area is $100 maximum)

. Meals - $42 per day ($10 - breakfast, $14 - lunch, $18 - dinner)

. Transportation — private vehicle reimbursement is $0.53 per mile if a state vehicle is
not available for use; parking expenses, and public and commercial transportation
costs are also permitted.

All expenses are subject to procedures established by the Legislative Expenses Oversight Committee
for each legislative body.

Communication Devices

JR5-5-101 allows for reimbursement the monthly plan costs for communication devices such as cell
phones. Currently legislators are given three options®:

(1) a mobile phone and plan provided by the Legislature,
(2) no mobile phone or plan, or
(3) up to $79 per month expense reimbursement for a personal cell phone and plan.

Benefits

While the commission’s duties, as outlined in UCA 36-2-5, do not explicitly mention benefits, health
(including dental and vision) insurance, life insurance, and retirement plans have been made available
to legislators. It is helpful then to list these benefits for they do form a significant part of legislators’
compensation.

Retirement Benefits

Legislators are eligible for retirement benefits after four years of service. Since 2010, when the
legislature limited future liability for pensions by replacing the pension plan with a defined
contribution plan, legislators’ retirement benefits are based on two tiers:

e Tier 1, Utah Governors’ and Legislators’ Retirement Act®
Legislators entering office before July 1, 2011 remain eligible for service credit under the pension

program. Legislators are eligible for these retirement benefits: 1) if they have reached age 65 and
have served four or more years or 2) have reached age 62 and have served ten or more years

5 Utah Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel. Utah Legislator Compensation and Benefits. July 2015
6 UCA 49-19, for a summary of the plan, see Utah Governors and Legislators Retirement Plan Highlights, effective July
1, 2015; pamphlet published by Utah Retirement Systems




(subject to actuarial reduction). The retirement benefit is equal to $10 per month, increased
semiannually up to two percent based on the Consumer Price Index, for each year of service as a
legislator. The amount as of July 1, 2015 is $29.20 per month. An additional $3.50 per month for
each year of service, is payable to legislators who were members of this plan before March 1,
2000.

e Tier 2, New Public Employees’ Tier Il Contributory Retirement Act’
Legislators entering office on or after July 1, 2011 may participate only in the Tier Il Defined
Contribution Plan. The state contributes ten percent of legislator’s eligible compensation to a
401(k) defined contribution plan. The plan vests after four years of eligible service.
Utah Retirement Systems administers both programs.
Health and Dental Benefits
Legislators may participate in the same health, dental, and life insurance plans available to state
employees, which plans are administered by Public Employees Health Plan (PEHP). The state
provides traditional health and dental plans as well as HSA-eligible plans.

Costs for the traditional medical and dental plans are split as follows:

. 90 percent employer share of premium
. 10 percent employee share of premium

Vision coverage is available at 100 percent premium cost to an employee. For all these plans, a
legislator’s share is the same as an employee’s share.

Annual costs® to the state (the 90 percent employer share of premium) for a legislator enrolled in a
traditional medical plan and a traditional dental plan are as follows:

Coverage Medical Dental  Total

Single $ 5,974 $ 318 $ 6,292
Double $12,318 $ 590  $12,908
Family $16,444 $1,074 $17,518

Also available are Health Savings Account (HSA) plans such as STAR and Utah Basic Plus where
only the employer contributes and preferred versions of all plans where the employee portion varies
and generally costs more.

TUCA 49-22, for a summary of the plan see Utah Retirement Systems Tier 2 Defined Contribution Plan Highlights,
effective July 1, 2015; pamphlet published by Utah Retirement Systems.
8 Utah Public Employees Health Program, 2017-2018 Benefits Summary, retrieved from www.pehp.org.



In addition, the State pays the full premium for basic life insurance coverage of $25,000 for each
active legislator who enrolls in the program. As with state employees, the coverage terminates when
the legislator is no longer employed by the state.

Post Retirement Paid-up Health Coverage Benefits®

The state will pay the percentage of the cost of providing paid-up group health coverage for those
legislators (and governors) and their surviving spouses, who retire after January 1, 1998, are at least
62 but not yet 65 years of age, and are active members at the time of retirement or have continued
coverage with the program until eligible for this benefit. This does not apply to members who began
service on or after January 1, 2012.

The state will pay the percentage of the cost of providing Medicare supplemental coverage for life for
those legislators (and governors) and their surviving spouses, who retire after January 1, 1998 and are
at least 65 years of age. This benefit applies only to those members who began service before July 1,
2013.

The portion of the premium that the state pays for health insurance or Medicare supplemental
coverage is determined by the number of years a legislator has served:

. 100 percent for 10 years of service credit

. 80 percent for 8 years of service credit

. 60 percent for 6 years of service credit

. 40 percent for 4 years of service credit
Analysis of Data

[All tables hereinafter referenced are found in Appendix A.]

Surveys

The annual salary and expenditure survey from the National Conference of State Legislatures
(NCSL) gives a description of the salary and per diem expenses or allowances of each of the 50 state
legislatures. State legislatures generally compensate their members in one of three ways:

1) an annual salary,
2 a daily rate paid for calendar days during the session, or
3 a daily rate paid for actual legislative days worked.

9 Retrieved from http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title49/Chapter20/49-20-S404.htm|?v=C49-20-S404 1800010118000101
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NCSL also offers information on leadership pay, retirement, health insurance and other benefits.
The Commission reviewed and considered this information.

Standardization

In order to compare the annual salary, daily salary, and hourly wages of the 49 other state legislatures
to Utah’s it is necessary to convert each state’s salary into an hourly wage. Annual salaries can be
converted into daily amounts by dividing by the number of session days. Weekly salaries paid for
legislative days worked can be approximately converted to calendar days by dividing by five. Hourly
wages paid for legislative work days can be converted by taking the daily rate and dividing by a
standard eight hour work day. Furthermore, hourly wages can be converted to hourly wages to
include urban and rural per diem rates by taking the daily urban and rural per diem rates and dividing
by a standard eight hour work day.

For the purposes of this study, urban areas are generally those areas within 50 miles of the Capitol
and rural areas are those areas more than 50 miles from the Capitol. Some states pay different
allowances or per diems depending on where a legislator lives. In Utah, where the legislature made
changes to per diems as recommended in the Second Revised Supplemental Report of the Utah
Legislative Compensation Commission Prepared for the 2012 General Session of the Utah State
Legislature, the urban and rural rates are generally the same. However, for some comparisons we
added the lodging expense in calculating the rural rate.

Trends/Overview

Hourly Wages

Utah legislator compensation, when considered as a daily wage ranks 14" highest in the nation (see
Table 2), equating to an hourly wage of $34.13. Hawaii ranks number one at $72.38 an hour and New
Mexico, which does not pay any legislative salary, ranks last. The average hourly wage for all state
legislatures is $28.20, while the median is $24.27.

Hourly Wages plus Per Diems

When adding in urban per diems to hourly wages, Utah ranks 21% in the nation (see Table 6). (Urban
per diems don’t include lodging expenses). Utah’s hourly wage plus urban per diem (expense
reimbursement) is $39.13. Alaska ranks first at $87.63 and New Hampshire ranks last. The average
hourly wage for all states including urban per diem rates is $40.93, while the median is $35.75.

When referencing rural per diems, Utah ranks 14" at $51.63 with Alaska first at $95.41 and New

Hampshire last. The average hourly wage for all state legislatures plus rural per diem rates is $42.87,
while the median is $37.37.

1"



Daily and Annual Salary

Using daily salaries to compare Utah ($273) to all other states shows that Utah ranks 14th in the
nation for legislative pay (see Table 2) and is one of eight states that has a daily salary rate.

Comparing annual salaries, Utah legislators’ $12,285 (when counting the legislative session only)
puts Utah’s legislator salaries at 40th (as it was two years ago) in the nation (see Table 2).

Western States Comparison

The comparison of Utah legislators’ hourly wages to that of the ten other western states (see Table 7)
shows that six states (Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington) pay an annual
salary, four states (Montana, Nevada, Utah, and Wyoming pay a daily salary, and one state (New
Mexico) pays no salary. Utah is ranked 3rd out of the 11 states when considering both hourly wage
plus urban per diem and hourly wage plus rural per diem (see Table 7).

Traditional and Slightly Less Traditional Citizen Legislatures

Table 8 compares rates for Utah’s traditional citizen legislature with other states with traditional
citizen legislatures (Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wyoming) and
states with slightly less traditional citizen legislatures (Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Maine,
Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico, Rhode Island, Vermont, and West Virginia).

In comparing the traditional citizen legislatures’ compensation as an hourly wage, as well as hourly
wage plus per diem, Utah ranks first. Of all 17 legislatures grouped as traditional or slightly less
traditional citizen legislatures, only one state (West Virginia) has a higher hourly wage for legislators
and only three (Indiana, Georgia, and West Virginia) have higher combined rates (hourly wage plus
per diem).

Recommendations

In accordance with UCA 36-2-5, the Commission met during the autumn of 2017 to “study and
formulate recommendations concerning the salary levels of Utah state legislators.” Minutes from
these meetings are available from Commission staff or by searching the Utah Public Notice Website
(http://www.utah.gov/pmn) for meetings of the Legislative Compensation Commission.

12



Legislative Salaries

The Commission reviewed data (see Appendix A) obtained from the National Conference of State
Legislatures, Utah Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel, Governor’s Office of
Management and Budget, and other sources.

We noted that legislative salaries have not increased since 2013. Because the current salary rate goes
through 2018, in 2019 legislators will not have seen a salary increase in six years. State government
employees, however, have seen compensation increases every year during this time period. The
Commission recommends an increase to the daily rate for legislators of $12 a day, from $273
to $285. This is a 4.4% increase, which roughly corresponds to increases in the consumer price
index since 2013. It should be noted that from FY14-FY 18, annual compensation increases have
increased state-employee salaries by 8.8%.

Authorized Legislative Days

Authorized legislative days include general session days, special session days, veto override session
days, interim session days, authorized legislative training days, or any other day that includes a
meeting of a committee, subcommittee, commission, task force, or other legislative meeting,
provided that the committee, subcommittee, commission, task force, or other entity is created by
statute or joint resolution; the legislator’s attendance at the meeting is approved by the Legislative
Management Committee; and service and payment for service by the legislator is not in violation of
the Utah Constitution, including Article V and Article VI, Sections 6 and 7.

However, through discussions with legislators, the Commission has learned that legislators attend
many meetings and perform many tasks in their capacity as legislators that don’t fall under the
definition of authorized legislative days. Examples include working with organizations, other
legislators, and bill drafters on legislation, as well as attending county commission, city council, or
other formal meetings in order to determine the needs and issues of their constituents. This is a
particular burden on rural legislators, who sometimes travel long distances to attend these meetings.
This means that a good deal of legislative work goes uncompensated. The Commission therefore
recommends that the Legislature consider expanding the definition of authorized legislative days so
that legislators are spending less time working on legislative issues without compensation.

Leadership Pay

As noted previously in this report, leadership pay was increased per the Commission’s 2014
recommendation. The Commission recommends no changes to leadership pay.

13



Summary of Recommendations

Based on our review and analysis of the data contained in this report, the Legislative Compensation
Commission RECOMMENDS:

e The daily rate for legislators increase from $273 per day to $285 per day.

e The Legislature consider expanding the definition of authorized legislative days so that
legislators get paid for work that currently goes uncompensated.

e Annual leadership pay remain at $5,000 each for the President of the Senate and
Speaker of the House, $4,000 each for the Majority and Minority Leaders, $3,000 each
for the Majority and Minority Whips, Assistant Whips, both Executive Appropriations
Chairs, and the Minority Caucus Leaders.

14



Appendix A

15



Table 1: Legislator Compensation by State, 2017

State

Alabama

Alaska

Arizona
Arkanszas

California

Colorado

Connecticut

Celaware

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

Idaho
Ilingis

Indiana

lowa
Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maine

Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mizziszippi
Missouri

Montana

Base Salary

Legizlators receive a taxable
compensation equal to the Alabama
median annual household income. This
iz set at 544,765 for 2016.

550,400 vear

524,000 year
535,400 year
5104,118/year

530,000 /year

Salaries range from 528,000 for rank and
file to 538,689 for President and House
Speaker

545,291 /year

529,697 fyear

517,342 year

Zpeaker and President: 568,880 /vear.
Members: 561,280 year

517,017 annually; 521,017 for Speaker
& Pro Tem

567,836 /year

525,435.98/year

525,000 /year

588 66/day [C)

5188.22 /day

516,800/vear plus additional
5E,000/vear [U) expensze allowance
514,271 /year for first regular session;
510,158/vear for second regular
session. In addition, legislators receive
8 constituent service allowance
(52,000 /year for Senators and
51,500/vear for Representatives).
547,769 /yearfor regular members;
SE2,044 for President & Speaker

562,547 .57 fyear
571,685 /year
531,140.80/year
510,000 /vear
535,315/ year
590.64/day (L)

Session Per Diem Rate

Alabama Legislators no longer receive a8 set perdiem rate while in session. Legislators are
reimbursed for in-state travel expenses in accordance with rates and procedures applicable
to state employees.

5213 or 5247 /day [depending on the time of year) tied to the federal rate. Legislators who
rezide in the Capitol area receive 75 percent of the federal rate.
535/day for the first 120 days of the regular session and for special sessions and 510/day
thereafter. Members residing cutside Maricopa County receive an additional 525/day for the
first 120 days of the regular session and for special sessions and an additional $10/day
thereafter. Set by statute.

5153/day V) plus mileage; tied to the federal rate.

5183/dayfor each day in session.

Up to an amount equal to 85 percent of the federal per diem rate for Denver per day for
members who live more than 50 miles away from the Capitol. Set by the legislature; 545/day
for members who live 50 or fewer miles from the Capitol.

Mo perdiem is paid.

Mo perdiem is paid.

5152/day based on the number of days in session. Travel vouchers are filed to substantiate.
5173 /day (U}

5225/day throughout session for members who do not reside on the island of Oahu; 510/day
for members living on Oahu during the mandatory five-day recess only.

5129/day for members establizhing a second residence in Boise; $49/day if no second
residence needed and up to 525/day travel (V).

5111/per=zes=ion day.

5161/day, except for 5175 during the months of Feb-April 2017, (U); tied to the federal rate.
5166/day (U); 5124.50/day for Polk County legislators [U). Set by the legislature to coincide
with the federal rate. 5tate mileage rates apply.

5142 /day.
5141.90/day

5156/day (U); tied to the federal rate.

538/day for lodging, or mileage and tolls in lieu of housing (at a rate of 50.44/mile up to
S538/day) plus 532 /day for meals.

Meals: 545/ day; mileage: 50.575/ mile; lodging: 5103 /day

Mo per diem.

510,800/vear expense allowance for session and interim [V).

S2&/day for senators and S66/day for representatives.

5142 /day.

5113.20/day (U); tied to the federal rate. Verification of per diem is by roll call.
5114.39/day [U).

16



Mizsouri

Montana

Mebraszka

Mevada

New Hampshire

Mew lersey
New Mexico

New York

Morth Carolina

MNorth Dakota
Chio
Oklahoma
COregon

Pennsylvania

Rhode Izland

Sguth Carolina

South Dakota

Tennesszee

Texas

Utah

Vermant

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wyoming

535,9315/year
590.64/day (L)

512,000/year

5150.71/day for legislators elected in
2017 and 514&.238/day for mid-term
members. Maximum of 60 days of
SEssion.

5200/two-yvear term; S250/two-year
term for President and Speaker; 53/day
for Special Session for first 15 days of
session

549 000/year; President of the Senate
and Assembly Speaker earnan
additional 1/3 [565,333)

None

575,500 year

513,351 /vear Member; 517,048 /year
Majority & Minority Leader;
521,73%/year Deputy & Speaker Pro
Tempore; 538,151 /yvear President Pro
Tempore & Speaker

5177 /day during legislative sessions [C)
SeD,534 /year

538,400/ year

524 216/ year

526,478 50 year

515,429.72/year; President and Speaker
receive double.

510,400 /year
SE,000/zession; 5142 /day for interim
committees

522,667 fyear
57,200/ year

5273/day [C)

5707 .38/ week during the legislative
session only

518,000/ year for the Senate;
517,640 /year for the House
547,776/year for rank and file;
556,853 /vear for Speaker and Senate
Maj. Leader; 552,314 /vear for house
and senate minority leaders

520,000/year

550,950 /yvear

5150/day during session

5113.20/day (U); tied to the federal rate. Verification of per diem is by roll call.
5114.39/day [U).

Perdiem is 5142 for those members who reside 50 miles or more from the Capitol For those

inzide the 50 mile radius the rate is 551.

5142/perday.

Mo perdiem is paid.

Mo perdiem is paid.
S5164/day [V); tied to the federal rate.

5175/ull day [including overnight)

5104/day (U} =et by statute. 50.29 per mile set by statute. Monthly expense allowance:
5558/maonth, Member; 5666 /month Majority & Minority Leader; 5836/month Deputy Pro
Tempore & Speaker Pro Tempore; 51,413/meonth President Pro Tempore & Speaker.

Lodging reimbursement up to 51,682 per month (V).
Mo perdiem is paid.

5156/day (U); tied to the federal rate.

5142/day [U); tied to the federal rate

5179/ day.

Mo perdiem is paid.

5185.53/day provided the legislator answers to rell call during the session

5142 /legi=lative day [U); set by the legislature.

5220/day [U) for members whose residence is greater than 50 miles from the seat of
government; 559/day for members whose residence is inside of 50 miles from the seat of
Eovernment.

51%0/day [U}; set by ethics commission.

Upto 5100 plus tax/calendar day [V) for lodging reimbursement, tied to in-state travel
reimbursement lodging rate for Salt Lake City metropelitan area; up to 542/day meal
reimbursement [V}, tied to in-state travel meal reimbursement rates.

5115/day for lodging [overnight stay) or 574/day for meals; mileage.

5196/ /day

5120/day.
5131/day during session [U)

Maxium per diem is 30% of the federal per diem rate for Madison, which is $153. Leaderzhip

may authorize a lesser amount. Senate: 588/day [544/day for Dane County); Assembly:
5138/day or 56%/day if no overnight stay. Maximum claim is 153 days.

5108 /day V), including travel days for those cutside of Cheyenne.

17



Table I: State Legislator Salaries - All States, 2017

Session Hourly Daily Annual

Annual Days () Hourly Wage Daily  Salary  Annual Salary

Salary Daily Salary 015 TWage" Rank Salary Rank Salary Rank

Alabama $44,765 53 $60.17 4| 348134 4 $44,765 15
Alaska $30,400 28 $64.20 3| ss142 3 $50,400 10
Arizona $24,000 122 $24.59 25| $196.72 25 $24,000 26
Arkanzas $39 400 112 $43.97 11| %351.79 11 539,400 16
California $104,118 284 54583 5| s366.61 5| slo4.118 1
Colerade $30,000 119 $31.51 16 | 525210 16 $30,000 20
Connecticut $28,000 154 32273 29| 518182 29 $23,000 22
Delawars $45,291 172 $32.91 15 | $263.32 15 $45,291 14
Florida $29,697 62 $59.87 5| $478.98 5 $29,697 2
Georgia $17,342 80 $27.10 23| 521678 23 $17,342 34
Hawail 361,380 106 $72.38 1| s570.06 1 361,380 7
Idaho $17,017 79 32603 24| 521541 24 $17,017 33
Tllineis 567,836 354 §23.95 26 | $191.63 26 567,836 5
Indiana $25 436 117 $27.18 22| $217.40 22 $25.436 23
Towa $25,000 110 $28.41 19 | $227.27 19 $25,000 24
Fansas $88.66 (C) 162 $11.08 42| 38866 42 514,984 3g
Kentucky $188.22 (C) 87 $23.53 28 | 5188.22 28 $16,375 37
Louisiana $22,800 ° 60 $47.50 8| $380.00 8| s22.800 27
Maine $12,215 ° 209 37.31 47| s5844| 47 $12.215 41
Maryland 347,768 o0 || se6.35 2| 553077 2| 547768 13
Massachusetts  gg) 548 362 321,60 31| 517278 31 362,548 6
Michigan 82,485 2 355 $29.04 18 | 23233 18 $82.485 3
Minnesota 331,141 132 $28.00 20| $224.04 20 331,141 19
Mississippi $10,000 89 $14.04 40| $11236 40 $10,000 44
Missouri $35.015 128 $35.07 13 | %280.59 13 335015 18
Montana $90.64 (L) 81 $11.33 41| ss0s4| 41 $7,342 45
Nebraska $12,000 138 $10.79 43| 38633 43 $12,000 42
Nevada $142.00 (C) 119 $17.75 35| $142.00 33 316,898 36
New Hampehire $100 | * 168 $0.07 49 $0.39 49 $100 49
New Jersey $49,000 355 $17.25 38 | $138.03 38 $49,000 11
Hew Mexico 50 50 60 $0.00 30 $0.00 50 50 30
New York $79,500 361 $27.33 21| s22022 21 $75,500 4
North Carolina | 29 g50 2 170 $15.19 38 | 512132 33 $20,659 29
Horth Dakota $177.00 (C) 114 @l $2213| 30| SI77.00| 30|  $20.178 30
Ohic 360,584 363 $20.86 2| siesso| 32| S04 g
Oklahoma $38.400 109 34404 | 10| s352.29 10 | $38.400 17
Orzgon 524,216 156 $19.40 33| 515523 33 524216 25
Pennsylvania | gg6 479 362 $29.86 17 | 5238.89 17 386,479 2
Fhods Iiland $15.430 181 $1066 | 45| $8525| 45) s15430 38
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South Carelina 519 400 121 $10.74 44| ssses 44 $10,400 43
South Dakota 56,000 76 5287 46 | s73.85 45 56,000 47
Tennesses 322,667 120 52361 27| %188.89 27 322,667 28
Tenas $7.200 139 $6.47 48| S51.80 43 $7.200 45
Utzh $273.00 (C) 43 $34.13 14| $273.00 14 $12.285 40
Vermont I $14147 (©) 134 $17.68 36 | 514147 36 518,857 2
Virginia $17.743 ¢ 45 $49 29 7| 39429 7 $17.743 33
Washington 547.776 104 §57.42 6| s458.38 5 547.776 2
West Virginia 520,000 59 542 37 2| s33no8 12 520,000 31
Wisconsin $50.550 362 $17.58 37| 514075 37 $50,350 3
Wryoming $150.00 (L) 36 518.75 34 | 515000 34 35,400 48

Hourly Daily Annual

Wage Salary Salary

Quartila 1 51734 $138.71 $15,666.29

(L) = Legislative day; (C) = Calendar Day Madizn 82427 5194.17 §24,108.00

(V) = Vouchersd; (U} = Unvoucharad Averags $28.2 $225.62 531;921.55

Quartile 3 $34.84 $278.69 $47,149.50

Maximem  $72.38 $579.06 $104,118.00

! Caleulations based on eight howrs per day.
4 Salavy plus ficed annual expense allowancs

4 Averaged: 514,271 for first year regular session and 310,158 vear for second vear resular session

¥ New Hampshirs pavs 3200 for a two-vear term; South Dabota pavs 512,000 for a two-vear term

¥ EF07.38 per week during lagislative session only.

! Weighted dverage of 518,000 vear Senate and 517, 540 vear House.
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Table 3: State Legislative Sessions by State, 2017

General General
Session Session | Calendar

State Convened | Adjourned Days Comments
Alabama 1-Feb 19-May 03
Alaska 17-Jan 17-May o3 Special Session May 18 - Tuly 13
Arizona 8-Jan 11-May 127
Arkansas 8-Jan 1-Mviay 112
California 3-Dec 13-Sep 284
Colorado 11-Jan 10-May 119
Connecticut 4 Jan T-Tun 154
Delaware 10-Jan 1-Tul 172 Special Session July 2
Florida T-Mar B-May 52 Special Session June 7 - June 14
Georgia 8-Jan J0-Mar 20
Hawaii 18-Jan 4-May 106 Special Session Aug 28-7
Idaho 8-Jan 29-Mar 70
Mlinois 11-Tan 31-Dec 334 Special Session June 21 - July &
Indiana 3-Jan 29-Apr 117
Towa 8-Jan 28-Apr 110
Kansas 8-Jan 26-Tun 160
Eentucky 3-Jan J0-Mar 27
Louisiana 10-Apr 8-Jun 60 Special Session Feb. 13 -Feb. 22, June § - June 16
Maine T-Dec 3-Jud 200
MMarvland 11-Jan 10-Apr o
Massachusetts 4-Jan J1-Dec 362
Michizan 11-Jan J1-Dec 355
MMinnesota 3-Jan 22-May 130 Special Session May 23 - May 23
MMississippd 3-Jan 2-Apr 8o Special Session June 3
Missoun 4Jan 12-May 128 Special Session May 22 - May 26, June 12 - July 26
MMontana 2-Jan 28-Apr 21
Nebraska 4 Jan 23-May 130
Nevada 6-Feb 3-Tun 110
New Hampshire 4-Jan 22-Tun 160
New Jersey 10-Jan 31-Dec 355
New Mexico 17-Jan 15-Mar 60 Special Session May 24 - May 30
New York 4-Jan 31-Dec 361 Special Session June 27 - June 29
North Carolina 11-Jan 30-Jun 170 Special Session Aug. 3, Augz 18 - Aug 25
North Dakota 3-Jan 2T-Apr 114
Ohio 2-Jan 31-Dec 363
Oldahoma 6-Feb 26-May 100
Oregon 1-Feb T-Juad 156
Pennsylvania 3-Jan 31-Dec 362
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-

Bhode Island 3-Jan 3-Jul 181

Soputh Carolina 10-Jan 11-May 121

South Dakota 10-Jan 27-Ddar 76 Special Bession June 12
Tennessee 10-Jan 10-MMay 120

Texas 10-Jan 28-May 130 Special Session July 18 - Aug. 23
Utah 23-Tan &-Mar 45

Vermont 4-Jan 18-May 134

Virgiria 11-Jan 23Feb 45

Washington 8-Jan 23-Apr 104 Special Session April 24 - July 20
West Virginia 8-Feb S-Apr 39 Special Session May 4 - Tune 26
Wisconsin 3-Jan 31-Dec 162 Special Session Aug. 3 - Aug 23
Wryoming 10-Jan 5-Mar 16

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures, 2017 Legislative Sessions Calendar
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Table 4: State Legislature Composition by State, 2017

State Total Seats Total Senate Total House
Alabama 140 35 105
Alaska 60 20 40
Arizona o0 30 60
Askansas 133 35 100
California 120 40 80
Colorado 100 35 63
Connecticut 187 36 151
Delaware 62 21 41
Florida 160 40 120
Georgia 236 36 130
Hawaii 76 25 il
Idaho 103 i3 T0
Minois 177 39 118
Indiana 150 50 100
Iowa 150 50 100
Kansas 163 40 123
Eentucky 138 38 100
Louisiana 144 39 103
Maine 186 35 151
Maryland 188 47 141
Massachusetts 200 40 160
Michigan 148 38 110
Minnesota M 67 134
Mississippi 174 52 122
Missoun 197 34 163
Montana 150 50 100
Nebraska! 42 49 0
Newvada 63 i | 42
New Hampshire 424 24 400
New Jersey 120 40 80
New Mexico 112 42 70
New York 213 63 130
North Carolina 170 50 120
North Dakota 141 47 a4
Ohio 132 33 o0
Oklahoma 149 48 101
Oregon 1] 30 60
Pennsylvania 253 50 203
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Fhode [sland 113 38 73
South Carolina 170 46 124
South Dakota 103 33 T0
Tennessee 132 33 LY
Texas 181 il 130
Utah 104 29 73
Vermont 180 30 130
Virginia 140 40 100
Washington 147 49 08
West Virginia 134 34 100
Wisconsin 132 33 o0
Wyoming a0 30 60

Lnicameral

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures, 2017 State and L egislative Partisan
Composition
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Table 5: Legislative Session Per Diem Rates - All States, 2017

Urhan Per Rural Per

Urban Per Eural Per Diem Diem

State Diem Diem Rank Rank Mileage
Alabama™* s - s - 43 43 |54/mile.
Alazka 5 186.73 5 24000 3 1 [54/mile.
Arizona S 3500 (V) S 60.00 (V) 40 41 |44.5/mile.
Arkansas § 15000 (V) § 15000 (V) 14 16 |54/mile.
California § 176.00 5 176.00 3 5 [33/mile.
Colorado § 4500 (V) 5 9000 (V) 38 38 |49/mile.
Connecticut 5 - 5 - 43 43 [34/mile.
Delaware 5 - 5 - 43 43 |40/mile.
Florida § 15200 (V) § 15200 (V) 13 15 (44 5/mile.
Georgia s 173.00 (U) § 173.00 (U) 3 9 |54/mile.
Hawaii- 5 10,00 5 17500 41 6
Idaho § 4000 (V) 5 12000 (V) 37 20 |54/mile.
Minois 5 11100 5 11100 20 34 [3%/mile
Indiana § 15100 (1) 5 16100 (1) 10 11 (54/mile.
Towa § 12000 (L) 5 16000 (1)) 24 12 (3%/mile.
Eansas § 14000 (1)) 5 140,00 17 19 (54/mile.
Eentucky § 15400 (L) 5 134.00 12 14 (54/mile.
Louisiana 5 15000 (L) 5 15000 () 14 16 [34/mile.
Maine® § 7000 () § 7000 () 33 40 |44/mile.
]'n.-Ia:j,-'landE § 14600 (V) 5§ 14600 (V) 16 18 54/mile.
Massachusetts® 5 1000 (V) 5 10000 (V) 41 37
Michigan s - W 5 - W 43 43 |54/mile.
Minnesota”"” $ 6600 S 8600 3 30 |Tied to federal rate.
Mississippi § 14000 (L)) 5 14000 () 17 19 (54/mile.
Mizzoun 5 11200 (1) 5 11200 () 23 33 [37.5/mile.
MMontana 5 11285 () 5 11285 () 27 32 |54/mile.
Nebraska $ 5100 (V) $ 140.00 (V) 36 19 |54/mile.
Nevada § 14000 (L) 5 14000 (1) 17 19 (54/mile.
New Hampshire® |5 - 5 - 143 43
New Jersey 5 - 5 - 43 43 |MNone
New Mexico § 16300 (V) 5§ 16300 (V) g 10 (54/mile.
New York § 17400 (V) § 17400 (V) 7 8 | 34/mile.
North Carolina § 10400 () § 10400 () 31 36 |29/mile.
North Dakota § 36.06 5 36.06 33 42 |54/mile.
Ohio™” s - s - 43 43 |52/mile.
Oklahoma § 15700 () 5 15700 () 11 13 (54/mile.
Oregon § 14000 (L)) 5 14000 () 17 19 (54/mile.
Pennsylvania § 175.00 5 175.00 6 6 |54/mile.
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Rhode Island § - § - 43 43 |57.5/mile.
South Carolina $ 140.00 $ 140.00 17 20 |54/mile.
South Dakota™ $ 140.00 (U) $ 140.00 (U) 17 20

Tennessee 5 2400 (1) 5 2400 (1) 1 2 [47/mile.
Texas $ 190.00 (U) $ 190.00 (U) 2 3 | 50/mile.
Utah $ 4200 (V) $ 14200 (V) 39 19 |53/mile.
Vermont $ 115.00 $ 115.00 26 31 | 54/mile.
Virginia $ 185.00 (U) $ 185.00 (U) 4 4 |54/mile.
Washington $ 120.00 $ 120.00 24 30 | 54/mile.
West Virginia $ 131.00 (U) $ 131.00 (U) 23 28 [48.5/mile.
Wisconsin' $  88.00 $ 138.00 32 27 |51/mile.
Wyoming $ 10900 (V) $ 10900 (V) 30 35 | 54/mile.

(L) = Legislative day; (C) = Calendar Day
(V) =Vouchered: (U} = Unvouchered

! Alabama. The State Personmel Board met on Oct. 27, 2013, and set the median annual household income amount
at 542 830. This current median annual household amount will begin on January 1, 2016 and will contitue
throuzh December 31, 20146.

*Alabama. Legislators no longer receive a set per diem rate while in session. Legislators are reimbursed for in-
state travel expenses which include mileage and per diem in accordance with rates and procedures applicable to
state emplovees. All out-of-district reimbursable travel must be for official business and in the interests of the
state or in the performance of official duties, as approved by the applicable presiding officer.

“Hawaii. Members may claim a mileage reimbursement for reasonable and necessary use of a personal automobile
in the conduct of official legislative business and discharge of duties when meeting certain criteria.

“Maine. Annual cost of living adjustments apply. In addition, legislators receive a constituent service allowance
{52,000 2 vear for senators and 51,500 2 vear for representatives).

iI‘-.-Ia.t"_i,-'lEl.ﬂd. 5730 annual allowance for in-district travel as taxable income. Members may decline the allowance.
*Massachusetts. $10-5100 a day depending on distance from State House (V). Set by the legislature.

MM, WI: Eepresentatives receive the lesser amount, Senators receive the greater.

2 . = . .

“Minnesota. Senate: a reasonable allowance. House: range of 5100-51,630 a month for mileage reimbursement for
travel in the legislative district duning interim. During session, House members can request up to one round trip
per week if they live more than 30 miles from the capitol.

New Hampshire. Found trip home to the State House at 38 cents/mile for the first 43 miles and 19 cents/mile
thereafter, or members will be reimbursed for actual expenses and mileage will be paid at the federal rate.

YOhio. One roundtrip per week from home to the State House for legislators outside Franldin County only.

"gouth Dakota. 42 cents/mile for one roundtrip from capital to home each weekend. One trip is paid
at 5 cents/mile.
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Table 6: State Legislator Salaries and Per Diem Rates - All States, 2017

Hourly Hourly
Wage + Wage +
HourlyWage  Urban  Total Daily ~Hourly Wage Rural
Session Daily DailySalary+ +Hourly  AreaPer Salary + +Hourly  AreaPer
Rural AreaPer  Days (C) Daily Salary  Urban Per Urban Per Diem Rural Area  Rural Area Diem
State Annual Salary Daily Salary Urban Per Diem Diem 2011 Salary1 Rank Diem Diem Rank Per Diem Per Diem Rank
(Table 2) (Table 2) (Table 5) (Table 5) (Table 2) (Table 2)

Alabama $44,765 $0.00 $ - $000[ 8% - 23 $481.34 4 $481.34 $60.17 11 $481.34 $60.17 1
Alaska $50,400 $0.00 $ 186.75 $ 249.00 98 $514.29 $701.04 $87.63 1 $763.29 $95.41 1
Arizona $24,000 $0.00 $ 3500 (V) $ 6000 (V) 122 $196.72 25 $231.72 $28.97 35 $256.72 $32.09 R
Arkansas $39,400 $0.00 $ 150.00 (V) $ 15000 (V) 112 $351.79 1 $501.79 $62.72 10 $501.79 $62.72 10
California $104,118 $0.00 $ 176.00 $ 176.00 284 $366.61 9 $542.61 $67.83 7 $542.61 $67.83 7
Colorado $30,000 $0.00 $ 4500 (V) $  99.00 (V) 119 $252.10 16 $297.10 $37.14 23 $351.10 $43.89 21
Connecticut $28,000 $0.00 $ - $ - 154 $181.82 29 $181.82 $22.73 43 $181.82 $22.73 44
Delaware $45,291 $0.00 $ - $ - 172 $263.32 15 $263.32 $32.91 28 $263.32 $32.91 30
Florida $29,697 $0.00 $ 152.00 (V) $ 15200 (V) 62 $478.98 5 $630.98 $78.87 3 $630.98 $78.87 4
Ceorgia $17,342 $0.00 $ 173.00 (U) $ 173.00 (U) 80 $216.78 23 $389.78 $48.72 17 $389.78 $48.72 18
Hawaii $61,380 $0.00 $ 1000 $ 17500 106 $579.06 1 $589.06 $73.63 4 $754.06 $94.26 2
Idaho $17,017 $0.00 $  49.00 (V) $ 129.00 (V) 79 $215.41 24 $264.41 $33.05 27 $344.41 $43.05 2
lllinois $67,836 $0.00 $ 11100 $ 111.00 354 $191.63 26 $302.63 $37.83 22 $302.63 $37.83 25
Indiana $25,436 $0.00 $ 16100 (U) $ 16100 (U) 117 $217.40 2 $378.40 $47.30 18 $378.40 $47.30 20
lowa $25,000 $0.00 $ 12000 (U) $ 160.00 (U) 110 $227.27 19 $347.27 $43.41 19 $387.27 $48.41 19
Kansas $0 $88.66 (C) || $ 140.00 (U) $ 14000 (U) 169 $83.66 42 $228.66 $28.58 37 $228.66 $28.58 38
Kentucky $0 $188.22 $ 15400 (U) $ 15400 (U) 87 $188.22 28 $342.22 $42.78 20 $342.22 $42.78 23
Louisiana $22,800 $0.00 $ 150.00 (U) $ 15000 (U) 60 $380.00 8 $530.00 $66.25 8 $530.00 $66.25 8
Maine $12,215 $0.00 $ 7000 $ 7000 209 $58.44 47 $128.44 $16.06 48 $128.44 $16.06 48
Maryland $47,769 $0.00 $ 146.00 (V) $ 146.00 (V) 90 $530.77 2 $676.77 $84.60 2 $676.77 $84.60 3
Massachusetts $62,548 $0.00 $ 1000 (V) $ 10000 (V) 362 $172.78 31 $182.78 $22.85 42 $272.78 $34.10 29
Michigan $82,485 $0.00 $ - V) $ - (V) 355 $232.35 18 $232.35 $29.04 34 $232.35 $29.04 37
Minnesota $31,141 $0.00 $ 6600 $0.00 0 $ 8600 139 $224.04 20 $290.04 $36.25 25 $310.04 $38.75 24
Mississippi $10,000 $0.00 $ 14000 (U) $ 14000 (V) 89 $112.36 40 $252.36 $31.54 31 $252.36 $31.54 34
Missouri $35,915 $0.00 $ 112,00 (U) $ 11200 (V) 128 $280.59 13 $392.59 $49.07 16 $392.59 $49.07 17
Montana $0 $90.64 (L) [ $ 112.85 (V) $ 11285 (U) 81 $90.64 41 $203.49 $25.44 41 $203.49 $25.44 43
Nebraska $12,000 $0.00 $ 5100 (V) $ 14000 (V) 139 $86.33 43 $137.33 $17.17 47 $226.33 $28.29 39
Nevada $0 $142.00 (C) I $ 140.00 (V) $ 14000 (V) 119 $142.00 35 $282.00 $35.25 26 $282.00 $35.25 27
New Hampshire $100 $0.00 $ - $ - 169 $0.59 49 $0.59 $0.07 50 $0.59 $0.07 50
New Jersey $49,000 $0.00 $ - $ - 355 $138.03 38 $138.03 $17.25 46 $138.03 $17.25 47
New Mexico $0 $0.00 $ 163.00 (V) $ 163.00 (V) 60 $0.00 50 $163.00 $20.38 45 $163.00 $20.38 46
New York $79,500 $0.00 $ 174.00 (V) $ 17400 (V) 361 $220.22 21 $394.22 $49.28 14 $394.22 $49.28 15
North Carolina $20,659 $0.00 $ 104.00 (U) $ 10400 (U) 170 $121.52 39 $225.52 $28.19 39 $225.52 $28.19 4
North Dakota $0 $177.00 (C) | $ 5606 $0.00 |l $ 56.06 114 $177.00 30 $233.06 $29.13 33 $233.06 $29.13 36
Ohio $60,584 $0.00 $ - $ - 363 $166.90 32 $166.90 $20.86 44 $166.90 $20.86 45
Oklahoma $38,400 $0.00 $ 157.00 (U) $ 157.00 (U) 109 $352.29 10 $500.29 $63.66 9 $509.29 $63.66 9
Oregon $24,216 $0.00 $ 140.00 (U) $ 14000 (U) 156 $155.23 3 $295.23 $36.90 24 $295.23 $36.90 26
Pennsylvania $86,479 $0.00 $ 17500 $ 175.00 362 $238.89 17 $413.89 $51.74 13 $413.89 $51.74 14
Rhode Island $15,430 $0.00 $ - $ - 181 $85.25 45 $85.25 $10.66 49 $85.25 $10.66 49
South Carolina $10,400 $0.00 $ 140.00 $ 14000 121 $85.95 4 $225.95 $28.24 38 $225.95 $28.24 40
South Dakota $6,000 $0.00 $ 14000 (U) $ 14000 (V) 76 $78.95 46 $218.95 $27.37 40 $218.95 $27.37 42
Tennessee $22,667 $0.00 $ 20400 (U) $ 20400 (V) 120 $188.89 27 $392.89 $49.11 15 $392.89 $49.11 16
Texas $7,200 $0.00 $ 190.00 (U) $ 19000 (V) 139 $51.80 48 $241.80 $30.22 32 $241.80 $30.22 35
Utah $0 $27300 (C) 1| $ 4200 (V) $ 14200 (V) 45 $273.00 14 $315.00 $39.38 21 $415.00 $51.88 13
Vermont $0 $14147 (C) B $ 115.00 $ 115.00 134 $141.47 36 $256.47 $32.06 30 $256.47 $32.06 33
Virginia $17,743 $0.00 $ 185.00 (V) $ 18500 (V) 45 $394.29 7 $579.29 $72.41 6 $579.29 $72.41 6
Washington $47,776 $0.00 $ 120,00 $ 12000 104 $459.38 6 $579.38 $72.42 5 $579.38 $72.42 5
West Virginia $20,000 $0.00 $ 13100 (U) $ 13100 (U) 59 $338.98 12 $469.98 $58.75 12 $469.98 $58.75 12
Wisconsin $50,950 $0.00 $ 8300 $0.00 | $ 13800 ### 362 $140.75 37 $228.75 $28.59 36 $278.75 $34.84 28
Wyoming $0 $150.00 (L) |1 $ 109.00 (V) $ 109.00 (V) 36 $150.00 34 $259.00 $32.33 29 $259.00 $32.38 31

Quartile 1 $28.33 $28.70

Median $35.75 $37.37

Average $40.94 $42.87

Quartile 3 $51.12 $51.84

Maximum $87.63 $95.41

* Calculations based on eight hours per day.

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures, 2017 Legislator Compensation and Living Expense Allowances During Session, 2017 Legislative Sessions Calendar
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Table 7: Legislator Compensation - Western States, 2017

Hourly Hourly Hourly Hourly
Wage + Wage + Wage +  Wage +

Hourly Hourly Hourly Hourly Hourly Hourly
Wage + Wage + Urban Per Rural Per Urban Per Rural Per
Hourly Hourly Diem Diem Diem Diem
Annual Daily Hourly Urban Per Rural Per National =~ National =~ Western = Western
State Salary Salary Wage1 Diem Diem Rank Rank Rank Rank
(Table 2) (Table 2) (Table 2) (Table 6) (Table 6)
Arizona $24,000 $24.59 $28.97 (V) $32.09 (V) 35 11 9 9
California $104,118 $45.83 $67.83 $67.83 7 7 2 2
Colorado $30,000 $31.51 $37.14 (V) $43.89 (V) 23 21 4 4
Idaho $17,017 $26.93 $33.05 (V) $43.05 (V) 27 22 7 5
Montana $90.64 (L) $11.33 $25.44 (U) $25.44 (U) 4 43 10 10
Nevada $142.00 (C) $17.75 $35.25 (U) $35.25 (U) 26 27 6 7
New Mexico $0.00 $20.38 (V) $20.38 (V) 45 46 11 11
Oregon $24,216 $19.40 $36.90 (V) $36.90 (V) 24 26 5 6
Utah $273.00 (C) $34.13 $39.38 (U) $51.63 (U) 21 14 3 3
Washington $47,776 $57.42 $72.42 $72.42 5 5 1 1
Wyoming $150.00 (L) $18.75 $32.38 (V) $32.38 (V) 29 31 8 8

(L) = Legislative day; (C) = Calendar Day
(V) = Vouchered; (U) = Unvouchered

! Calculations based on eight hours per day.
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Table 8: Legislator Compensation - States with Citizen Legislatures, 2017

Hourly Hourly
Wage + Wage+ HourlyWage Hourly Wage
Hourly Hourly Hourly Hourly + Hourly + Hourly
Wage + Wage + Hourly Wage Urban Per Rural Per  Urban Per Rural Per
Hourly Hourly Citizen Diem Diem Diem Citizen Diem Citizen
Annual Daily Hourly Urban Per Rural Per Legislature  National ~ National  Legislature Legislature
State Salary Salary Wage1 Diem Diem Rank Rank Rank Rank Rank
Traditional Citizen Legislatures
(Table 2) (Table 2) (Table 2) (Table 6) (Table 6)
Montana $90.64 (L) $11.33 $25.44 (U) $25.44 (U) 11 41 43 13 13
New Hampshire $100 $0.07 $0.07 $0.07 16 50 50 17 17
North Dakota $177.00 (C) $22.13 $29.13 (V) $29.13 (V) 6 33 36 10 10
South Dakota $6,000 $9.87 $27.37 (V) $27.37 (U) 14 40 42 12 12
Utah $273.00 (C) $34.13 $39.38 (U) $51.63 (V) 2 21 14 2
Wyoming $150.00 (L) $18.75 $32.38 (V) $32.38 (V) 7 29 31 7
Slightly Less Traditional Citizen Legislatures
Georgia $17,342 $27.10 $48.72 (V) $48.72 (U) 4 17 18 2 3
Idaho $17,017 $26.93 $33.05 (V) $43.05 (V) 5 27 22 6 5
Indiana $25,436 $27.18 $47.30 (V) $47.30 (V) 3 18 20 3 4
Kansas $88.66 (C) $11.08 $28.58 (V) $28.58 (U) 12 37 38 11 11
Maine $12,215 $7.31 $16.06 $16.06 15 48 48 15 15
Mississippi $10,000 $14.04 $31.54 (V) $31.54 (V) 10 31 34 9 9
Nevada $142.00 (C) $17.75 $35.25 (V) $35.25 (U) 8 26 27 5 6
New Mexico $0.00 $20.38 (V) $20.38 (V) 17 45 46 14 14
Rhode Island $15,430 $10.66 $10.66 $10.66 13 49 49 16 16
Vermont $141.47 (C) $17.68 $32.06 $32.06 9 30 33 8 8
West Virginia $20,000 $42.37 $58.75 (V) $58.75 (U) 1 12 12 1 1

(L) = Legislative day; (C) = Calendar Day
(V) = Vouchered; (U) = Unvouchered

! calculations based on eight hours per day.

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures, 2017 Legislator Compensation and Living Expense Allowances During Session, 2017 Legislative Sessions Calendar
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Table 9: Additional Compensation for House/Assembly Leaders by State, 2016

State Presiding Officer Majority Leaders Minority Leaders

Alabama 518,000 a year None None

Alaska 5500 a year None None

Arizona (2) (2) (2)

Arkansas 55,600 a vear None None

California 513,016 a year 57,308 a vear 513,016 a year

Colorado (k) (b) (k)

Connecticut 510,689 a yvear 58,835 a year 58,833 a year

Delaware 519803 a vear 512,376 a year 512,376 a vear

Florida 511,484 a year None None

Georgia 56,811 a month 5200 a month 5200 a month

Hawail 57,300 a vear None None

Idaho 54,000 a vear None None

Mlitois 527477 a year 523230 a year 518,067 a year

Indiana 57,000 a yvear 55,300 a year 553,300 a vear

lowa 511,393 a year 511,393 a year 511,393 a year

Kansas 514,039 a vear 512,665 a year 512,663 a yvear

Eentucky 54735 a day 53740 a day 53740 a day

Louisiana 515200 a year None None

MMaine 0% of base salary 25% of base salary 12.5% of base salary

Maryvland 513,766 a yvear None None

MMassachusetts 533,000 a year 522,500 a year 522,500 a year

Mlichizan 527000 a year Position does not exist 522,000 a year

Minnesota 512,435 a year 512435 a year 512,435 a year

Mhlississippi 550,000 a year None None

Mhissoun 520834 a month 5123 a month 5125 a month

Montana 55 a day during session None None

Nebraska N/A—Unicameral legislature

MNevada 52 a day None None

New Hampshire 530 a 2-year term. None None

New Jersey 1/3 above annual base salary | None None

New Mexico None None None

New York 541,500 a year 534,500 a year 534,500 a vear

North Carolina 524200 a year 53,007 a year 53,097 a vear

North Dakota 510 a day during session 515 a day during session, 513 a day during session, plus
plus 5345 amonth during (5345 a month during term of
term of office. office.

Ohio 533,833 a year 520,379 a year majority floor (525,381 a vear
leader.

Oklahoma 517,932 a year 512,364 a year 512,364 a vear

Oregon 523,368 a year None None
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Pennsylvania 547.880 a year 538,306 a year 538,306 a vear

Fhode Island 513,414 a year None None

South Carolina 511,000 a year None None

South Dakota None None None

Tennessee 541,768 a vear None None

Texas None None None

Utah 55,000 2 year 54,000 2 year S4.000 2 year

Vermont 511,296 a vear. 5730.66 a week [None None
during session.

Virgiria 518,681 a year None None

Washington 58,640 a year; increases to MNone 54,320 a year; increases to 54449
58,300 a vear eff. 9/1/2016. a vear eff. 8/1/2019.

West Virginia 5130 a day during session. 530 a day during session. 330 a day during session

Wisconsin 525 a month None None

Wiyoming 53 a day None None

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures, 2016.

Motes:

(2) Arizona. Generally approved for additional interim per diem.

(b) Colorado. All leaders receive 590 a day salary during interim when in attendance at committee or leadership
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Table 10: Additional Compensation for Senate Leaders by State, 2016

State Presiding Officers Majority Leaders Minority Leaders

Alabama Lieutenant gov holds this position. |None None

Alaska 5500 a vear None None

Arizona (a) (a) (a)

Arkansas Lieutenant gov holds this position. |None None

California Lieutenant gov holds this position. |$7,508 a vear majority floor leader (515,061 a year

Colorado (b) (b) (b)

Connecticut  |Lieutenant gov holds this position. {58,835 a year $8.835 a vear

Delaware Lieutenant gov holds this position. |$12.376 a vear £12376 a year

Florida 511,484 a vear None None

Georgia Lieutenant gov holds this position. ($200 a month $200 a month

Hawail $7.500 a vear None None

Idaho Lieutenant gov holds this position. |None None

Tlinois 527477 a year £20,650 a vear $27.477 a year

Indiana Lieutenant gov holds this position. |$5,500 a vear for majority floor $6.000 a vear minority floor leader

Towa $11,593 a year $11,593 a vear $11,593 a year

Kansas $14.039 a vear $12.666 a vear $12.666 a vear

Kentucky $47.35 a day $37.40 a day $37.40 a day

Lowisiana $15200 a vear None None

Maine 50% of base salary a year 25% of base salary a year 12.5% of base salary a year

Maryland $13.766 a year None None

Massachusetts |$35.000 a year $22.500 a vear $22.500 a year

Michigan Lieutenant gov holds this position. |$23 400 a year $19.800 a year

Minnesota None $12.455 a vear $12 455 a year

Mississippi Lieutenant gov holds this position. |None None

Missouri Lieutenant gov holds this position. |None None

Montana 5 a day during session None None

Nebraska Lieutenant gov holds this position. |None None

Nevada Lieutenant gov holds this position. |None None

New 550 a 2 year term None None

New Jersey  |1/3 above annual base salary None None

New Mexico  |Lieutenant gov holds this position. |None MNone

New York Lieutenant gov holds this position. |(c} $34.500 a year

North Carolina |Lieutenant gov holds this position. |$17.048 a vear $17,048 a vear

North Dakota |Lieutenant gov holds this position. [$15 a day during legislative sessions, (515 a day during legislative sessions,
plus $345 a month during term of  |plus $345 2 month during term of
office. office.

Ohio $33.833 a year $20,579 a vear majoritv floor leader |$25.581 a vear

Oldahoma Lieutenant gov holds this position. |$12,364 a year $12.364 a vear

Oregon $23 568 a year None None
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Oregon $23.568 a year None None

Pennsylvania |Lieutenant gov holds this position. |$38,306 a vear £38.306 a vear

Fhode Island |$15.414 a year None None

South Carolina |Lieutenant gov holds this position |None None

South Dakota |Lieutenant gov holds this position. |None None

Tennessee $41.768 a year None None

Texas Lieutenant gov holds this position. [None None

Utah $5,000 a year $4,000 a year $4,000 a year

Wermont Lieutenant gov holds this position. [None None

Virginia None None None

Washington  |Lieutenant gov holds this position |$8.640 a vear increases to $8,899 a (54,320 a vear increases to $4.449 a
West Virginia |$130 a day during session. £50 a day during session £50 a day during session
Wisconsin None None None

Wyommg $3 a day None None

Key:

Lieutenant gov - lientenant gov who i not a member of the Senate.

Motes:

(a) Arizona. Generally approved for additional interim per diem.

(b) Colorade. All leaders receive 590 a day =alary during interim when in attendance at committes or leadership matters.

(c) New York. This position is combined with the position of president pro tem.

Table 11: CPI Increases Since 2013

Year

CPI
2013 232.957
2014 236.736
2015 237.017
2016  240.007
2017 244.076

Cumulative Increase 4.77%
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Table 12: Utah Legislative Compensation History

Year | Daily Rate President Leadership Pay Leadership | Lodging | Meals &
and Speaker Pay Expense | Incidental
Pay 12 Expenses’
Majority/Minority | Others?
Leaders
1980 | $25 ) S0 n/a $15
1981 | $25 S0 S0 n/a $15
1982 | $25 SO SO n/a $25
1983 | $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1984 | $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1985 | $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1986 | $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1987 | $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1988 | $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1989 | $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1990 | $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1991 | $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1992 | $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1993 | $85 $1,000 $500 n/a $35
1994 | $85 $1,000 $500 n/a S35
1995 | $85 $1,000 $500 n/a $35
1996 | $85 $1,000 $500 n/a $35
1997 | $100 $1,000 $500 $68 $35
1998 | $100 $1,000 $500 $83 $38
1999 | $100 $1,000 $500 $76 S42
2000 | $100 $1,000 $500 $75 $42
2001 | $120 $2,500 $1,500 S75 $42
2002 | $120/$100* $2,500 $1,500 $75 $42
2003 | $120 $2,500 $1,500 $75 $38
2004 | $120 $2,500 $1,500 $80 $39
2005 | $120 $2,500 $1,500 S79 $39
2006 | $120 $2,500 $1,500 $79 $39
2007 | $130 $3,000 $2,000 $78 $54
2008 | $130 $3,000 $2,000 $90 $54
2009 | $130 $3,000 $2,000 $116 $54
2010 | $117 $3,000 $2,000 $106 S61
2011 | $117 $3,000 $2,000 $95 $61
2012 | $117 $3,000 $2,000 $95 S61
2013 | $273 $3,000 $2,000 $95 $39
2014 | $273 $5,000 $4,000 $3,000 $100 $40
2015 | $273 $5,000 $4,000 $3,000 $100 $40
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2016 | $273 $5,000 $4,000 $3,000 $100 $40
2017 | $273 $5,000 $4,000 $3,000 $100 $42
2018 | $273 $5,000 $4,000 $3,000 $100 $42

! Tied to Federal Rates

2 Prior to 1997, lodging expenses were paid on a voucher system.
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APPENDIX B

UTAH CONSTITUTION

Article VI, Section 9. Compensation of legislators -- Citizens' salary commission.10

The Legislature shall not increase the salaries of its members on its own initiative, but shall
provide by law for the appointment by the Governor of a citizens' salary commission to make
recommendations concerning the salaries of members of the Legislature. Upon submission
of the commission's recommendations, the Legislature shall by law accept, reject or lower
the salary but may not, in any event, increase the recommendation. The Legislature shall
provide by law for the expenses of its members. Until salaries and expenses enacted as
authorized by this section become effective, members of the Legislature shall receive
compensation of $25 per diem while actually in session, expenses of $15 per diem while
actually in session, and mileage as provided by law.

UTAH CODE

36-2-3 Salaries of members set by Legislature and State Board of Education based on
recommendations of Legislative Compensation Commission.
(1)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (2) or (3), the salaries of members of the Legislature
shall automatically be set beginning January 1 of each odd-numbered year at the amount
recommended by the Legislative Compensation Commission in the last report issued by the
commission in the preceding even-numbered year.
(b) This salary recommendation shall be based on either:
(i) a daily basis:
(A) for each calendar day for annual general sessions; and
(B) for each day a legislator attends veto-override and special sessions and other
authorized legislative meetings; or
(i) an annualized salary.
(c) In preparing its report, the commission may recommend salary amounts that:
(i) take into account the amounts received by legislators for legislative expenses; and
(ii) provide alternative salary amounts based upon the occurrence of various
contingencies.
2)
(a) During an even-numbered annual general session or special session in the year
immediately preceding the effective date of any salary change, the Legislature may reject or
decrease the salary recommendation, but may not increase the salary recommendation.
(b) If the Legislature does not act as provided in Subsection (2)(a), they have by law

10 Retrieved from http://le.utah.gov/xcode/ArticleVI/Article VI, Section 9.html.
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accepted the Legislative Compensation Commission’s recommendations contained in the
last report issued by the commission in the preceding even-numbered year.
(3) If the last report issued by the commission in an even-numbered year recommends a salary
contingent upon certain action being taken by the Legislature, that contingent legislative salary:
(a) takes effect on the day after the day that the contingent action is taken by the
Legislature; and
(b) supersedes any other salary in effect as of January 1.
(4)
(a) The salary for a member of the State Board of Education shall be:
(i) the same as the salary for a member of the Legislature; and
(if) except as provided in Subsection (4)(b), set in accordance with this section and
Subsection 36-2-2(1).
(b) For purposes of setting the salary for a member of the State Board of Education:
(i) a calendar day for the annual general session described in Subsection (1)(b)(i))(A) is
interpreted as a calendar day of:
(A) a meeting of the State Board of Education; and
(B) any other meeting authorized by the State Board of Education; and
(i) unless the Legislative Compensation Commission issues a revised report on or after
July 1, 2016, the salary for a member of the State Board of Education through calendar
year 2016 is $273 per day for each calendar day that a member attends a meeting
described in Subsection (4)(b)(i)(A) or (B).

36-2-4 Legislative Compensation Commission created -- Governor’s considerations in
appointments -- Organization and expenses.
(1) There is created a state Legislative Compensation Commission composed of seven
members appointed by the governor, not more than four of whom shall be from the same
political party.
2)
(a) Except as required by Subsection (2)(b), the members shall be appointed for four-year
terms.
(b) Notwithstanding the requirements of Subsection (2)(a), the governor shall, at the time of
appointment or reappointment, adjust the length of terms to ensure that the terms of board
members are staggered so that approximately half of the board is appointed every two
years.
(c) When a vacancy occurs in the membership for any reason, the replacement shall be
appointed for the unexpired term in the same manner as the vacated member was chosen.
(3) In appointing members of the commission, the governor shall give consideration to
achieving representation from the major geographic areas of the state, and representation
from a broad cross section of occupational, professional, employee, and management
interests.
(4) The commission shall select a chair. Four members of the commission shall constitute a
guorum. The commission shall not make any final determination without the concurrence of a
majority of its members appointed and serving on the commission being present.
(5) A member may not receive compensation or benefits for the member’s service, but may
receive per diem and travel expenses in accordance with:
(a) Section 63A-3-106;
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(b) Section 63A-3-107; and
(c) rules made by the Division of Finance pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107.
(6)
(a) The commission shall be a citizen commission and no member or employee of the
legislative, judicial, or executive branch is eligible for appointment to the commission.
(b) The executive director of the Governor’s Office of Management and Budget:
() shall provide staff to the commission; and
(i) is responsible for administration, budgeting, procurement, and related management
functions for the commission.

36-2-5 Duties of Legislative Compensation Commission.
(1) The Legislative Compensation Commission shall:
(a) study and formulate recommendations concerning the salary levels for Utah state
legislators;
(b) base the study and recommendations upon maintaining a citizen Legislature in Utah, but
compensating members fairly for their service in order that all individuals would have an
opportunity to serve;
(c) in developing recommendations, consider the salaries of other similar state legislators
and other such factors; and
(d) submit to each member of the Legislature, by January 2nd of each even-numbered year,
recommendations:
(i) concerning changes, if any, which should be made in the salary plan and its
administration for state legislators; and
(i) include a recitation of the provisions of Section 36-2-3.
(2) The Legislative Compensation Commission may issue reports subsequent to January 2 of
an even-numbered year containing revised salary recommendations, including salary
recommendations contingent upon certain action being taken by the Legislature.
(3) As provided in Subsection 36-2-3(1)(c), in formulating its recommendations, the
commission may take into account the amounts received by legislators for legislative
expenses, but may not review the propriety of, or recommend amounts for, legislative
expenses.
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For a copy of the report contact:

Governor’s Office of Management and Budget
State Capitol Complex, Suite 150
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Telephone: (801) 538-1702
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