MINUTES OF THE

HOUSE PUBLIC UTILITIES, ENERGY, AND TECHNOLOGY STANDING COMMITTEE

Wednesday, February 14, 2018 • 9:00 a.m. • 450 State Capitol

Members Present: Rep. A. Cory Maloy Rep. Stephen G. Handy, Chair Rep. Keven J. Stratton

Rep. Merrill F. Nelson, Vice Chair

Rep. Carl R. Albrecht **Members Absent:** Rep. Patrice M. Arent Rep. Lynn N. Hemingway

Rep. Walt Brooks

Rep. Scott H. Chew **Staff Present:**

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson Ms. Julie Humberstone, Policy Analyst Rep. Keith Grover Ms. An Bradshaw, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Nelson called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m.

MOTION: Rep. Handy moved to approve the minutes of the February 12, 2018, meeting. The motion passed

with a vote of 6 - 0 - 5.

Yeas-6 Nays-0 Absent-5 Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. S. Chew

Rep. P. Arent Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. K. Grover Rep. W. Brooks Rep. S. Handy Rep. L. Hemingway Rep. A. Maloy Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Nelson

1. H.B. 256 Electric Service District (Gibson, F.)

Rep. Francis D. Gibson presented the bill to committee.

Ms. Wendy Pray, Mayor, Woodland Hills, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Raymond Loveless, Vice Chair, South Utah Valley Electric Service District, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. William Wright, Mayor, Payson, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Mr. Steve Leifson, Mayor, Spanish Fork, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Mr. LeGrand Bitter, Executive Director, Utah Association of Special Districts, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Nelson Abbott, Elk Ridge City Council and Mayor Pro Tem, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Cameron Diehl, Executive Director, Utah League of Cities and Towns, spoke in opposition to the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Albrecht moved to pass H.B. 256 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 1.

Absent-1

Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. L. Hemingway

Nays-0

Rep. P. Arent

Yeas-10

House Public Utilities, Energy, and Technology Standing Committee February 14, 2018 Page 2

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. S. Chew

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. K. Grover

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. A. Maloy

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. K. Stratton

MOTION: Rep. Handy moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 1.

Yeas-10 Nays-0 Absent-1

Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. L. Hemingway

Rep. P. Arent

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. S. Chew

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. K. Grover

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. A. Maloy

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. K. Stratton

Chair Nelson adjourned the meeting at 10:03 a.m.