# ( Approved ) MINUTES OF THE

#### HOUSE REVENUE AND TAXATION STANDING COMMITTEE

Thursday, February 15, 2018 • 2:00 p.m. • 445 State Capitol

Members Present: Rep. Tim Quinn

Rep. Steve Eliason, Chair Rep. Robert M. Spendlove

Rep. Douglas V. Sagers, Vice Chair Rep. Daniel McCay

Rep. Joel K. Briscoe

Rep. Gage Froerer Members Absent:
Rep. Brian M. Greene Rep. Brad R. Wilson

Rep. Ken Ivory

Rep. Brian S. King Staff Present:

Rep. Karianne Lisonbee Mr. Leif G. Elder, Policy Analyst

Rep. Jefferson Moss Ms. An Bradshaw, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Eliason called the meeting to order at 2:14 p.m.

**MOTION:** Rep. McCay moved to approve the minutes of the February 13, 2018 meeting. The motion passed

with a vote of 7 - 0 - 6.

Yeas-7Nays-0Absent-6Rep. S. EliasonRep. J. BriscoeRep. K. IvoryRep. G. FroererRep. B. KingRep. B. GreeneRep. K. LisonbeeRep. J. MossRep. D. McCayRep. T. QuinnRep. D. SagersRep. B. Wilson

Rep. R. Spendlove

### 1. H.B. 367 Transient Room Tax Amendments (Noel, M.)

Rep. Noel presented the bill to the committee. Ms. Andrea Valenti Arthur, attorney, Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel, was available to answer questions.

Rep. Sagers assumed the chair.

Ms. Kaitlin Eskelson, Executve Director, Utah Tourism Industry Association, spoke in opposition to the bill and provided a handout, "The Utah Tourism Industry Association Opposes HB 367."

Mr. Ron Winterton, Commissioner, Duchesne County, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Leland Pollock, Commissioner, Garfield County, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Jordan Garn, Executive Director, Utah Hotel and Lodging Association, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Mr. Dennis Blackburn, Commissioner, Wayne County, spoke in favor of the bill.

Ms. Michele Weaver, Rural Community Assistance Program, spoke in favor of the bill.

House Revenue and Taxation Standing Committee February 15, 2018

Page 2

Ms. Kaitlyn Eskelson clarified that she was not speaking on behalf of Garfield County but for private sector lodging properties.

**MOTION:** Rep. Ivory moved to replace H.B. 367 with 1st Substitute H.B. 367. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-10Nays-0Absent-3Rep. J. BriscoeRep. B. KingRep. S. EliasonRep. D. McCayRep. G. FroererRep. B. Wilson

Rep. B. Greene Rep. K. Ivory Rep. K. Lisonbee Rep. J. Moss

Rep. T. Quinn Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. R. Spendlove

**MOTION:** Rep. Ivory moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 367 out favorably.

Rep. Ivory's motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-10Nays-0Absent-3Rep. J. BriscoeRep. B. KingRep. S. EliasonRep. D. McCayRep. G. FroererRep. B. Wilson

Rep. B. Greene Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. K. Lisonbee

Rep. J. Moss

Rep. T. Quinn

Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. R. Spendlove

### 2. S.B. 77 Tax Administration Amendments (Bramble, C.)

Sen. Bramble presented the bill to the committee.

**MOTION:** Rep. Moss moved to pass S.B. 77 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 3.

House Revenue and Taxation Standing Committee February 15, 2018 Page 3

Yeas-10Nays-0Absent-3Rep. J. BriscoeRep. B. KingRep. S. EliasonRep. D. McCayRep. G. FroererRep. B. WilsonRep. B. Greene

Rep. B. Greene Rep. K. Ivory Rep. K. Lisonbee Rep. J. Moss Rep. T. Quinn Rep. D. Sagers Rep. R. Spendlove

# 3. H.B. 357 Evaluating Tax Revenue Foregone from Federally Controlled Lands (Ivory, K.)

Rep. Ivory presented the bill with the assistance of: Mr. Matt Anderson, Director of the Coalition for Self-Government in the West, Sutherland Institute; Mr. Leland Pollock, Commissioner, Garfield County; and Mr. Thomas Young, fiscal analyst, Office of the Fiscal Analyst.

Mr. Mark Whitney, Commissioner, Beaver County, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Darin Bushman, Commissioner, Piute County, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Dennis Blackburn, Commissioner, Wayne County, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Victor Iverson, Commissioner, Washington County, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Sterling Brown, Utah Farm Bureau, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Kory Holdaway, citizen and former legislator, spoke in favor of the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. Lisonbee moved to pass H.B. 357 out favorably.

Rep. Lisonbee's motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 5.

Yeas-8Nays-0Absent-5Rep. J. BriscoeRep. B. KingRep. S. EliasonRep. D. McCayRep. G. FroererRep. J. MossRep. B. GreeneRep. T. Quinn

House Revenue and Taxation Standing Committee

February 15, 2018

Page 4

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. B. Wilson

Rep. K. Lisonbee

Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. R. Spendlove

# 4. S.B. 72 Business Income Tax Modifications (Harper, W.)

Sen. Harper presented the bill to the committee.

**MOTION:** Rep. Lisonbee moved to pass S.B. 72 out favorably.

Rep. Lisonbee's motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-10 Nays-0 Absent-3

Rep. J. Briscoe
Rep. B. King
Rep. S. Eliason
Rep. D. McCay

Rep. G. Froerer Rep. B. Wilson

Rep. B. Greene

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. K. Lisonbee

Rep. J. Moss

Rep. T. Quinn

Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. R. Spendlove

# 5. H.B. 277 Nonrefundable Retirement Tax Credits (Westwood, J.)

Rep. Westwood presented the bill to the committee.

Mr. Danny Harris, AARP, spoke in favor of the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. Eliason moved to replace H.B. 277 with 1st Substitute H.B. 277. The motion passed with a

vote of 10 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-10 Nays-0 Absent-3

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. B. King

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. D. McCay

Rep. G. Froerer

Rep. B. Wilson

Rep. B. Greene

Rep. K. Ivory

House Revenue and Taxation Standing Committee February 15, 2018

Page 5

Rep. K. Lisonbee

Rep. J. Moss

Rep. T. Quinn

Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. R. Spendlove

**MOTION:** 

Rep. Eliason moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 277 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-10Nays-0Absent-3Rep. J. BriscoeRep. B. KingRep. S. EliasonRep. D. McCayRep. G. FroererRep. B. Wilson

Rep. B. Greene

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. K. Lisonbee

Rep. J. Moss

Rep. T. Quinn

Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. R. Spendlove

**MOTION:** Rep. Spendlove moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-10Nays-0Absent-3Rep. J. BriscoeRep. B. KingRep. S. EliasonRep. D. McCayRep. G. FroererRep. B. Wilson

Rep. B. Greene Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. K. Lisonbee

Rep. J. Moss

Rep. T. Quinn

Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. R. Spendlove

Chair Sagers adjourned the meeting at 3:47 p.m.