Utah Department of Public Safety--Licenses

Division: BCI

License Type and Fee: Bail Bond Recovery

- Bail Enforcement Agent
 - o Initial application is \$277 (\$27 for fingerprint based background check)
 - o Renewal is \$150
- Bail Recovery Agent
 - o Initial application is \$177 (\$27 for fingerprint based background check)
 - o Renewal is \$150
- Bail Recovery Apprentice
 - o Initial application is \$177 (\$27 for fingerprint based background check)
 - o Renewal is \$150

License Requirements:

- Application and Fee (application fee to the General Fund, fingerprint based background check fee is retained by BCI)
 - o ID
 - o Photograph
 - Fingerprint Card (initial application)
- Proof of Training Hours
 - O Initial Application
 - 16 hours Bail Enforcement training (trainers approved by the Board)
 - O Renewal Application
 - 8 hours continuing education training any available training
- Proof of Experience Hours
 - o Bail Enforcement Agent 2,000 hours
 - o Bail Recovery Agent 1,000 hours
 - O Bail Recovery Apprentice O hours, but must work under direct supervision to accumulate hours
- Proof of Surety Bond
- Proof of Firearm Training (if carrying)
- Proof of Worker's Compensation Insurance (if an agency)

License Numbers:

- 80 licensees as of June 30, 2018
- 25 average applications per year
- Renewal time period 2 years

History and Notes:

- 1990s license was reassigned to BCI from Regulatory Licensing (discontinued)
- No training done by BCI staff
- Board makes all licensing decisions for initial applications. Renewals are processed and approved by BCI.
- Complaints may be filed with BCI



Utah Department of Public Safety--Licenses

Division: BCI

License Type and Fee: Private Investigator

- Private Investigator Agency/Agent
 - o Initial application is \$242 (\$27 for fingerprint based background check)
 - o Renewal is \$115
- Private Investigator Registrant
 - o Initial application is \$142 (\$27 for fingerprint based background check)
 - o Renewal is \$65
- Private Investigator Apprentice
 - o Initial application is \$142 (\$27 for fingerprint based background check)
 - o Renewal is \$65

License Requirements:

- Application and Fee (application fee to the General Fund, fingerprint based background check fee is retained by BCI)
 - o ID (must be a Utah resident)
 - o Photograph
 - o Fingerprint Card (initial application)
- Proof of Experience Hours
 - O Private Investigator Agency/Agent 5,000 hours (1,000 within the past 10 years, credit for degrees and/or peace officer status)
 - O Private Investigator Registrant 2,000 hours (1,000 within the past 10 years, credit for degrees and/or peace officer status)
 - O Private Investigator Apprentice O hours, but must work under direct supervision to accumulate hours
- Proof of Surety Bond \$10,000
- Proof of Liability Insurance \$500,000 (if an agency)
- Proof of Worker's Compensation Insurance (if an agency)

License Numbers:

- 471 licensees as of June 30, 2018
- 110 average applications per year
- Renewal time period 2 years

History and Notes:

- 1990s license was reassigned to BCI from Regulatory Licensing (discontinued)
- No training done by BCI staff
- Board makes all licensing decisions for initial applications for agency/agents and registrants. Apprentices and renewals are approved by BCI.
- Complaints may be filed with BCI
- 2018 General Session of the Utah State Legislature allows for those 18 years old or older to apply for an apprentice license

