

Career Service Public Employee Performance Accountability

Manager's Formal Performance Management Tools

- Annual performance plans and evaluations for employees
- For positive performance feedback
 - Incentive Awards
 - At management discretion to reward top performance; based on budget
 - Individual cash awards limited to \$4000 per pay period, \$8000 per fiscal year; based on budget
 - Administrative leave may be granted up to a maximum of 40 hours per year
 - Administrative Salary Increases (ASI)
 - Can be used to reward top performance; at management discretion; based on budget
 - Increase in current actual wage
- For performance improvement feedback
 - Performance Improvement Plans (PIP)
 - Done in consultation with DHRM
 - Varies in length based on circumstances; manager can do 45-day extension
 - May be grieved up to executive director/commissioner of agency
 - Written Warning
 - Formal Discipline



Career Service Employee Formal Discipline

- Discipline:
 - Must be done in consultation with DHRM
 - May be done progressively or jump to appropriate level based on facts of situation
 - Employee must be given process required by law before discipline is imposed
 - Employee receives Intent to Discipline notice
 - Employee given 5 days to reply
 - Agency head or designee may hold hearing to review discipline intent and employee's reply
 - Agency head (for demotion/dismissal) or designee provides final decision & may issue notice imposing discipline
 - All discipline actions may be grieved to Executive Director/Commissioner of agency
 - Suspension, Demotion, and Dismissal actions may be grieved to Career Service Review Office (CSRO);
 agency/employee can appeal CSRO decision to Utah Court of Appeals
- Formal disciplinary actions:
 - Written reprimand
 - Suspension
 - Up to 30 days per incident
 - Demotion
 - Results in reduction in employee's current wage as determined by executive director/commissioner
 - Dismissal



Career Service Review Office Timeline

| Action | Party | Typical Timeframe |
|--|---|---|
| Discipline Imposed (Suspension/Demotion/Dismissal) | Management | |
| Appeal Due | Former Employee (Grievant) | Within 30 working days per 67-19a, (10 days if appealing suspension) |
| Jurisdictional Decision | CSRO Administrator | Variable, usually less than one week |
| Pre-hearing activities | Agency Management, Grievant, CSRO Administrator or Hearing Officer | Variable, usually ~90 days |
| Hearing | All Parties | Must occur within 150 days of appeal absent extraordinary circumstances |
| Final decision from hearing officer | CSRO Hearing Officer | Variable, but usually around 30 days |



Appendix

- DHRM Rules
 - Incentive Awards DHRM Rule 477-6-7
 - Written Warnings and PIPs DHRM Rule 477-10
 - o <u>Demotions and Dismissals DHRM Rule 477-11-2</u>
- Utah State Code
 - Demotions and Dismissals Utah Code § 67-19-18(5)
 - o Grievance Procedures Utah Code § 67-19a





Utah Department of HUMAN RESOURCE Management