
Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table* 

Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021 

State Government $0 $0 $0 

Local Government $0 $0 $0 

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0 

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0 

Other Person $0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal Costs: $0 $0 $0 

    

Fiscal Benefits    

State Government $0 $0 $0 

Local Government $0 $0 $0 

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0 

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0 

Other Persons $0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0 

    

Net Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0 

 

*This table only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 

are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in this table.  

Inestimable impacts for State Government, Local Government, Small 

Businesses and Other Persons are described in the narrative.  Inestimable 

impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described in Appendix 2. 

 

Appendix 2: Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses 

There are no non-small businesses in the industry in question in Utah.  This 

rule only addresses the manner in which administrative alcohol and drug 

proceedings will be conducted by the Driver License Division. 

 

This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impacts on non-small 

businesses revenues or expenditures, because this rule only addresses the 

manner in which administrative alcohol and drug proceedings will be 

conducted by the Driver License Division. 

 

The head of department of Public Safety, Commissioner Keith D Squires, has 

reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 

 

 

R708.  Public Safety, Driver License. 

R708-14.  Adjudicative Proceedings For Driver License Actions Involving Alcohol and Drugs. 

R708-14-1.  Purpose. 

 The purpose of this rule is to establish procedures to be used by the Utah Driver License Division for 

[alcohol/drug]alcohol and drug adjudicative proceedings. 

 

R708-14-2.  Authority. 

 This rule is authorized by Section 53-3-104 and Subsection 63G-4-203(1). 

 

R708-14-3.  Definitions. 



 [(1)  "Adjudicative proceeding" means any meeting, conference, session or hearing, in person or 

otherwise, between a person and a presiding officer or designee of the division, that is intended to resolve a 

dispute.](1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 63G-4-103. 

 (2)  In addition; 

 (a)  "[D]division" means the Driver License Division of the Utah Department of Public Safety[.]; 

 [(3)](b)  "[D]division record" means the entire division file, including written reports received or 

generated by the division. It also includes, but is not limited to, minutes, written comments, presiding officer's 

written statements and summaries, testimony, evidence, findings of fact, conclusions of law, 

recommendations, and orders[.]; 

 [(4)](c)  "[H]hearing" means an [alcohol/drug]alcohol or drug adjudicative proceeding where 

evidence is considered to determine an issue of fact; [and to adjudicate a legal right or privilege.] 

 [(5)](d)  "hearing officer"["Presiding officer"] means a division employee with authority to conduct 

[alcohol/drug adjudicative proceedings]a hearing[.]; and 

 [(6)](e)  "[R]recording" means documenting, by electronic or other means, the testimony or 

information presented at an [alcohol/drug]alcohol or drug adjudicative proceeding. 

 

R708-14-4.  Designations. 

 (1)  In compliance with Section 63G-4-202, all division [alcohol/drug]alcohol and drug adjudicative 

proceedings are designated as informal proceedings, unless converted to formal proceedings by a presiding 

officer or division supervisor. 

 (2)  An informal proceeding may be converted to a formal proceeding only if approved by a division 

supervisor and only if the conversion will promote efficiency, public safety, and not unreasonably increase 

cost. 

 (3)  The driver may represent [him/herself]himself or be represented by a State Licensed attorney in 

the adjudicative proceeding. 

 

R708-14-5.  Authority for Conducting Adjudicative Proceedings. 

 [Alcohol/drug]Alcohol and drug adjudicative proceedings will be conducted in accordance with 

Sections 41-6a-521, 53-3-223, 53-3-231, 53-3-418, 63G-4-203, and this rule. 

 

R708-14-6.  Commencement of Adjudicative Proceedings. 

 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 63G-4-201, [alcohol/drug]alcohol and drug adjudicative 

proceedings may be commenced by: 

 (a)  a notice of division action, if the proceedings are commenced by the division; or 

 (b)  a request for division action, if the proceedings are commenced by a person other than the 

division. 

 (2)  A notice of division action and request for division action shall include the information set forth 

in Subsections 63G-4-201(2)(a) and (3)(a) respectively.  In addition, a request for division action shall include 

the petitioner's full name, date of birth, and the date of arrest or occurrence which prompted the request for 

division action.[  A request for division action that is not made timely, in accordance with Subsections 

53-3-223(6)(a), 53-3-231(7)(a)(ii), and 53-3-418(9)(b), will not be granted except for good cause as 

determined by the division.] 

 

R708-14-7.  [Alcohol/Drug]Alcohol and Drug Adjudicative Proceedings. 

 The [alcohol/drug]alcohol and drug adjudicative proceedings deal with the following types of 

hearings: 

 (a)  driving under the influence of [alcohol/drugs]alcohol or drugs (per-se), Section 53-3-223; 

 (b)  implied consent (refusal), Section 41-6a-520; 

 (c)  measurable metabolite in body, Section 41-6a-517; 

 (d)  consumption by a minor (not a drop), Section 53-3-231; and 

 (e)  CDL (.04), Section 53-3-418. 



 

R708-14-8.  Hearing Procedures. 

 (1)  [Time and place.  Alcohol/drug]Alcohol and drug adjudicative proceedings will be held in the 

county of arrest or a county which is adjacent to the county in which the offense occurred, at a time and place 

designated by the division, or agreed upon by the parties. 

 (2)  [Notice.  ]Notice shall be given as provided in Subsection 53-3-216(4) unless otherwise agreed 

upon by the parties.  Notice shall be given on a form approved by the division and is deemed to be signed by 

the presiding officer.  The notice need only inform the parties as to the date, time, place, and basic purpose of 

the proceeding.  The parties are deemed to have knowledge of the law. 

 (3)  [Default.  ]If the driver fails to respond timely to a division request or notice, a default may be 

entered in accordance with Section 63G-4-209. 

 (4)  [Evidence.  ]The parties and witnesses may testify under oath, present evidence, and comment 

on pertinent issues.  The hearing[presiding] officer may exclude irrelevant, repetitious, immaterial, or 

privileged information or evidence.  The [presiding]hearing officer may consider hearsay evidence and 

receive documentary evidence, including copies or excerpts. 

 (5)  [Information.  ]The driver shall have access to information in the division file to the extent 

permitted by law. 

 (6)  [Subpoenas.  ]Discovery is prohibited, but the division may issue subpoenas or other orders to 

compel production of necessary evidence.  Subpoenas may be issued by the division at the request of the 

driver if the costs of the subpoenas are paid by the driver and will not delay the proceeding. 

 (7)  [Administrative notice.  ]The [presiding]hearing officer has discretion to take administrative 

notice of records, procedures, rules, policies, technical scientific facts within the [presiding]hearing officer's 

specialized knowledge or experience, or of any other facts that could be judicially noticed. 

 (8)  [Presiding officer.  ]The [presiding]hearing officer may: 

 (a)  administer oaths; 

 (b)  issue subpoenas; 

 (c)  conduct prehearing conferences by telephone or in person to clarify issues, dispose of procedural 

questions, and expedite the hearing; 

 (d)  [tape]audio record or take notes of the hearing at his[/her] discretion; and 

 (e)  take appropriate measures to preserve the integrity of the hearing[; and]. 

[ (f)  conduct hearings in accordance with division policy III-A-3, III-A-4, and III-A-5.] 

 (9)  The hearing officer shall make a recommendation to the presiding officer regarding action to be 

taken following the hearing. 

 

R708-14-9.  Findings, Conclusions, Recommendations and Orders. 

 (1)  Statements reflecting findings of fact, conclusions of law, and recommendation may be 

written on forms that utilize a system of check boxes and fill in blanks. 

 (2)  Within a reasonable period of time after the close of the hearing, the completed 

recommendation form will be transmitted to the presiding officer for the preparation of an order that 

complies with Subsection 63G-4-203(1)(i). 

 

R708-14-10.  Reconsideration. 

 In accordance with Section 63G-4-302 a driver may file a request for reconsideration of the order 

within 20 days after receiving it.  If the division does not issue an amended order within 20 days after 

receiving the request for reconsideration, the request for reconsideration shall be considered denied, and the 

driver may seek judicial review in accordance with Section 63G-4-402. 

 

KEY:  adjudicative proceedings 

Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [May 26, 2015]2018 

Notice of Continuation:  January 8, 2017 
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