S UTAH STATE LEGISLATURE 2019 GENERAL SESSION

UTAH STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION - FEES

PUBLIC EDUCATION
STAFF: BEN LEISHMAN
SUMMARY

Utah Code Annotated, Section 63]-1-504 states, “Each fee agency shall submit its fee schedule or special
assessment amount to the Legislature for its approval on an annual basis. The Legislature may approve,
increase or decrease and approve, or reject any fee submitted to it by a fee agency.” This issue brief details
the fees approved for FY 2019 and the fees proposed by the Utah State Board of Education and the Utah
Schools for the Deaf and the Blind for FY 2020 along with a brief analysis of the proposed changes.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION FEES
FY 2019 FY 2020
Appropriated Proposed
State Administrative Office
Board and Administration

Unauthorized Parking Fee 30.00

Indirect Cost Pool

Restricted Funds

USBE percentage of personal service costs Up to 18% Up to 10.9%
Unrestricted Funds
USBE percentage of personal service costs Up to 24% Up to 24.6%

Teaching and Learning

50.00 per
Conference or Professional Development Registration 50.00 day
Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind
Educational Services
Instruction
Teacher’s Aide 12.53 12.53
Student Education Services Aide 29.79 29.79
Educator 61.32 61.32
After-School Program 30.00 30.00
Pre-School Monthly Tuition 75.00 75.00
Out-of-State Tuition 50,600.00 50,600.00
Support Services
Study Abroad Fee 500.00
Instruction
Educational Interpreter 45.69 46.83
Support Services
Educator 61.32 62.85
Conference Attendance
Educator - Conference Attendance Fee 100.00 100.00
Parent - Conference Attendance Fee 25.00 25.00
Adult Lunch Tickets 2.00 2.25
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Copy & Fax Machine
Copy Machine

Color 1.00 1.00
Black/White 0.10 0.10
Athletic (per sport) 100.00 100.00
Room Rental
Dormitory 19.00 50.00
Conference 94.00 100.00
Multipurpose 188.00 200.00

ANALYSIS

In general, the fees proposed by both the Utah State Board of Education (USBE) and the Utah Schools for
the Deaf and the Blind (USDB) for FY 2020 are consistent with FY 2019. There are however some notable
exceptions as detailed below:

USBE:
e The Board of Education would like to implement a $30.00 unauthorized parking fee for the parking
lot at their office in Salt Lake City. The Board has installed a secure parking system with access
cards and parking arms at the entrances to their lot. This authorization would allow the Board to

charge violators who park in the lot during business hours.
USDB:

e Both the Support Services Educational Interpreter and the Support Services Educator hourly fees
reflect increased labor costs expended by USDB.

e The Adult Lunch Ticket fee would be increased by $.25 to offset USDB's cost of processing a credit
card for employees that buy lunch tickets.

e The room rental fee increases reflect the true costs of utilities, cleaning and maintenance of school
facilities.

e The Study Abroad fee is a newly proposed fee. USDB reports that their experience is that if students
don’t pay a commitment fee they tend to cancel and not go on the trip (after costs have been
incurred for both the airline and hotel reservations). The fee is collected when a student commits to
a trip and is returned to the student prior to trip departure to be used for incidental trip expenses.

RECOMMENDATIONS

The Analyst does not recommend any other changes to the fees as presented in HB 0008 and recommends
the Legislature adopt the proposed Public Education fees for FY 2019.
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