

Members Present: Rep. Kay J. Christofferson, Chair Rep. Ken Ivory, Vice Chair Rep. Kyle R. Andersen Rep. Melissa G. Ballard Rep. Suzanne Harrison Rep. Dan N. Johnson Rep. Marsha Judkins Rep. Karen Kwan Rep. Merrill F. Nelson Rep. Adam Robertson Rep. Lawanna Shurtliff Rep. Raymond P. Ward

#### Staff Present:

Mr. Ryan M. Hunter, Policy Analyst Ms. Wendy Hill, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Christofferson called the meeting to order at 2:07 p.m.

**MOTION:** Rep. Ward moved to approve the minutes of the January 31, 2019 meeting. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-9 Rep. K. Andersen Rep. M. Ballard Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Harrison Rep. K. Ivory Rep. D. Johnson Rep. M. Judkins Rep. L. Shurtliff Rep. R. Ward Nays-0

<u>Absent-3</u> Rep. K. Kwan Rep. M. Nelson Rep. A. Robertson

Chair Christofferson asked Vice Chair Ivory to chair the meeting.

# 1. H.B. 175 Transportation of Veterans to Memorials Support Special Group License Plate (Albrecht, C.)

Rep. Carl R. Albrecht explained the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Ward moved to pass H.B. 175 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 12 - 0 - 0.

Yeas-12 Rep. K. Andersen Rep. M. Ballard Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Harrison Rep. K. Ivory Rep. D. Johnson Rep. M. Judkins Rep. K. Kwan Rep. M. Nelson Rep. A. Robertson	<u>Nays-O</u>	<u>Absent-O</u>

Nays-0

MOTION:

Rep. Ward moved to place H.B. 175 on the Consent Calendar. The motion passed with a vote of 12 -0-0.

Absent-0

Yeas-12 Rep. K. Andersen Rep. M. Ballard Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Harrison Rep. K. Ivory Rep. D. Johnson Rep. M. Judkins Rep. K. Kwan Rep. M. Nelson Rep. A. Robertson Rep. L. Shurtliff Rep. R. Ward

### 2. H.B. 184 Civil Air Patrol License Plate (Stoddard, A.)

Rep. Andrew Stoddard explained the bill with the assistance of Col. Michael Fernandez, Colonel, Civil Air Patrol.

A handout "UT Wing" was distributed to the committee.

**MOTION:** Rep. Shurtliff moved to pass H.B. 184 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 12 - 0 - 0.

Yeas-12 Rep. K. Anderse Rep. M. Ballard Rep. K. Christof Rep. S. Harrison Rep. K. Ivory Rep. D. Johnsor Rep. M. Judkins Rep. M. Judkins Rep. K. Kwan Rep. M. Nelson Rep. A. Robertse Rep. L. Shurtliff Rep. R. Ward	ferson		<u>Absent-O</u>
MOTION:	Rep. Robertson moved to place of 12 - 0 - 0.	ce H.B. 184 on the Consent Ca	lendar. The motion passed with a vote
Yeas-12 Rep. K. Anderse Rep. M. Ballard Rep. K. Christof Rep. S. Harrisor Rep. K. Ivory Rep. D. Johnsor Rep. M. Judkins Rep. K. Kwan Rep. M. Nelson	ferson		<u>Absent-O</u>

Rep. A. Robertson Rep. L. Shurtliff Rep. R. Ward

3. H.B. 157 State Highway System Amendments (Christofferson, K.)

Rep. Christofferson presented the bill with the assistance of Linda Hull, Policy and Legislative Services Director, Utah Department of Transportation.

MOTION: Rep. Ward moved to pass H.B. 157 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 1.

Yeas-11 Rep. K. Andersen Rep. M. Ballard Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Harrison Rep. K. Ivory Rep. M. Judkins Rep. M. Judkins Rep. M. Nelson Rep. A. Robertson Rep. L. Shurtliff	<u>Nays-O</u>	<u>Absent-1</u> Rep. D. Johnson
Rep. L. Shurtliff Rep. R. Ward		

MOTION: Rep. Ward moved to place H.B. 157 on the Consent Calendar. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 1.

Yeas-11 Rep. K. Andersen Rep. M. Ballard Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Harrison Rep. K. Ivory Rep. M. Judkins Rep. K. Kwan Rep. M. Nelson Rep. A. Robertson Rep. L. Shurtliff Rep. R. Ward

<u>Nays-0</u>

<u>Absent-1</u> Rep. D. Johnson

# 4. H.B. 109 Hydrogen Fuel Production Amendments (Sagers, D.)

Rep. Douglas V. Sagers presented the bill with the assistance of Mike Johnson, Chief Counsel, Utah Trust Land Administration and Robert Webster, Chief Strategy Officer, Magnum Development.

A handout " HB109S1 - Hydrogen Fuel Production Amendments" was distributed to the committee.

Paul Rogers, Nikola Motor Company, spoke in favor of the bill.

John Andrews, Snell & Wilmer, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Shurtliff moved to replace H.B. 109 with 1st Substitute H.B. 109. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 1.

# house transportation standing committee

Yeas-11 Rep. K. Andersen Rep. M. Ballard Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Harrison Rep. K. Ivory Rep. D. Johnson Rep. M. Judkins Rep. K. Kwan Rep. M. Nelson Rep. A. Robertson Rep. L. Shurtliff Nays-0

Nays-0

MOTION: Rep. Shurtliff moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 109 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 1.

Yeas-11 Rep. K. Andersen Rep. M. Ballard Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Harrison Rep. K. Ivory Rep. D. Johnson Rep. M. Judkins Rep. M. Judkins Rep. K. Kwan Rep. M. Nelson Rep. A. Robertson Rep. L. Shurtliff

Vice Chair Ivory asked Chair Christofferson to chair the meeting.

#### 5. H.B. 151 Traffic Flow Amendments (Ivory, K.)

Rep. Ivory presented the bill with the assistance of Brian Tenny, citizen.

A handout "HB151 Traffic Flow Amendments" was distributed to the committee.

A handout "My name is Rick Walton, a Utah Resident" was distributed to the committee.

Jason Davis, Deputy Director, Utah Department of Transportation, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Major Stephen Winward, Utah Highway Patrol, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Chief Tom Ross, Bountiful City Police and Utah Chiefs of Police Association, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Karson Eilers, Utah League of City and Towns, spoke in opposition to the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Ballard moved to hold H.B. 151.

Rep. Ballard withdrew the motion.

MOTION: Rep. Ballard moved to table H.B. 151.

**SUBSTITUTE** Rep. Robertson moved to hold H.B. 151. The Substitute motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 2. **MOTION:** 

Absent-1 Rep. R. Ward

Absent-1

Rep. R. Ward

<u>Nays-0</u>

Nays-0

Yeas-10 Rep. K. Andersen Rep. M. Ballard Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. K. Ivory Rep. D. Johnson Rep. M. Judkins Rep. K. Kwan Rep. A. Robertson Rep. L. Shurtliff Rep. R. Ward

#### MOTION:

Rep. Ward moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 2.

Yeas-10 Rep. K. Andersen Rep. M. Ballard Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. K. Ivory Rep. D. Johnson Rep. M. Judkins Rep. K. Kwan Rep. A. Robertson Rep. L. Shurtliff Rep. R. Ward

Chair Christofferson adjourned the meeting at 4:05 p.m.

Absent-2 Rep. S. Harrison Rep. M. Nelson

<u>Absent-2</u> Rep. S. Harrison Rep. M. Nelson