

MINUTES

HOUSE PUBLIC UTILITIES, ENERGY, AND TECHNOLOGY STANDING COMMITTEE

Wednesday, February 6, 2019 2:00 p.m. 450 State Capitol

Members Present:

Rep. Carl R. Albrecht, Chair

Rep. Walt Brooks, Vice Chair

Rep. Scott H. Chew

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson

Rep. Joel Ferry

Rep. Stephen G. Handy

Rep. Angela Romero

Rep. Jeffrey D. Stenquist

Rep. Keven J. Stratton Rep. Elizabeth Weight

Members Absent:

Rep. Patrice M. Arent

Staff Present:

Ms. Mary Stringham, Session Secretary

Ms. Sarah J. Balland, Policy Analyst

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Nays-0

Chair Albrecht called the meeting to order at 2:04 p.m.

1 . H.C.R. 12 Concurrent Resolution Celebrating the 100th Birthday of Joe Mcqueen (Hollins, S.)

Rep. Sandra Hollins presented H.C.R. 12.

Rep. Handy moved to pass H.C.R. 12 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 4. MOTION:

Yeas-7

Rep. C. Albrecht

Rep. W. Brooks Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. K. Stratton

Absent-4

Rep. P. Arent Rep. S. Chew

Rep. A. Romero

Rep. E. Weight

2 . H.J.R. 14 Joint Resolution to Harden the Utah and United States Electrical Grids (Perry, L.)

Rep. Lee Perry presented H.J.R. 14.

Mr. John Cox, Director of Government Affairs for Rocky Mountain Power, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Jeff Peterson, Executive Director of the Utah Rural Electric Cooperative Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Christofferson moved to pass H.J.R. 14 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 -

3.

Rep. J. Stenguist Rep. E. Weight

HOUSE PUBLIC UTILITIES, ENERGY, AND TECHNOLOGY STANDING **COMMITTEE**

February 6, 2019

Nays-0 Absent-3 Yeas-8 Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. P. Arent

Rep. W. Brooks Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. S. Chew Rep. K. Stratton Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Handy Rep. A. Romero

MOTION: Rep. Christofferson moved to place H.J.R. 14 on the Consent Calendar. The motion failed with a vote of 6 - 2 - 3.

Yeas-6 Absent-3 Nays-2 Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. A. Romero Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks Rep. E. Weight Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. S. Chew Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Handy

Rep. J. Stenguist

MOTION: Rep. Brooks moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-8 Nays-0 Absent-3 Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. S. Chew Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Handy

Rep. A. Romero Rep. J. Stenquist Rep. E. Weight

Chair Albrecht adjourned the meeting at 2:31 p.m.