

Members Present: Rep. John Knotwell, Chair Rep. Phil Lyman, Vice Chair Rep. Patrice M. Arent Rep. Walt Brooks Rep. Jennifer Dailey-Provost Rep. Brad M. Daw Rep. Jon Hawkins Rep. Val L. Peterson Rep. Travis M. Seegmiller Rep. Jeffrey D. Stenquist

Members Absent: Rep. Marc K. Roberts

**Staff Present:** Mr. Brian J. Bean, Policy Analyst Ms. Wendy Hill, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Knotwell called the meeting to order at 4:10 p.m.

**MOTION:** Rep. Lyman moved to approve the minutes of the February 1, 2019 meeting. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 4.

Yeas-7 Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks Rep. J. Dailey-Provost Rep. B. Daw Rep. J. Knotwell Rep. P. Lyman Rep. J. Stenguist Nays-0

Absent-4 Rep. J. Hawkins Rep. V. Peterson Rep. M. Roberts Rep. T. Seegmiller

# 1. H.B. 116 Victims of Communism Memorial Day (Christofferson, K.)

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson explained the bill.

George Chapman, resident, spoke in favor of the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. Daw moved to pass H.B. 116 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 2.

<u>Yeas-9</u>	<u>Nays-0</u>	Absent-2
Rep. P. Arent	-	Rep. V. Peterson
Rep. W. Brooks		Rep. M. Roberts
Rep. J. Dailey-Provost		
Rep. B. Daw		
Rep. J. Hawkins		
Rep. J. Knotwell		
Rep. P. Lyman		

# 2. H.B. 131 Political Committees Amendments (Daw, B.)

Rep. Brad M. Daw explained the bill.

Rep. T. Seegmiller Rep. J. Stenquist

Jonathan Bejarano, resident, spoke in favor to the bill.

Nays-0

MOTION:

Rep. Dailey-Provost moved to pass H.B. 131 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 1.

Absent-1

Rep. M. Roberts

Yeas-10 Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks Rep. J. Dailey-Provost Rep. B. Daw Rep. J. Hawkins Rep. J. Knotwell Rep. P. Lyman Rep. V. Peterson Rep. T. Seegmiller Rep. J. Stenquist

# 3. H.B. 163 Offenses Against the Administration of Government Amendments (Hall, C.)

Rep. Craig Hall presented the bill with the assistance of Dave Carlson, Utah Attorney General's Office, and John Dougall, Utah State Auditor.

George Chapman, resident, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Peterson moved to replace H.B. 163 with 1st Substitute H.B. 163. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 2.

Yeas-9Nays-0Absent-2Rep. P. ArentRep. B. DawRep. W. BrooksRep. M. RobertsRep. J. Dailey-ProvostRep. M. RobertsRep. J. HawkinsRep. J. KnotwellRep. P. LymanRep. V. PetersonRep. T. SeegmillerRep. J. Stenquist

MOTION: F

N: Rep. Lyman moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 163 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 2.

Yeas-9 Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks Rep. J. Dailey-Provost Rep. J. Hawkins Rep. J. Knotwell Rep. P. Lyman Rep. V. Peterson Rep. T. Seegmiller Rep. J. Stenquist Nays-0

<u>Absent-2</u> Rep. B. Daw Rep. M. Roberts

# 4. H.B. 148 Vehicle Idling Revisions (Arent, P.)

Rep. Arent presented the bill with the assistance of Ashley Miller, Policy Director, Breathe Utah and Vice Chair, Utah Air Quality Policy Advisory Board.

Jeff Silvestrini, Mayor, Milcreek, spoke in favor of the bill.

# A HOUSE GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS STANDING COMMITTEE

Zach Robinson, Council Member, Sandy City, spoke in favor of the bill.

Cameron Diehl, Executive Director, Utah League of Cities and Towns, spoke in favor of the bill.

Tammie Bostick, Executive Director, Utah Clean Cities, spoke in favor of the bill.

Melva Sine, President and Chief Executive Officer, Utah Restaurant Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

Howard M. Headlee, President, Utah Bankers Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

Nays-0

George Chapman, resident, spoke in opposition to the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. Stenquist moved to replace H.B. 148 with 2nd Substitute H.B. 148. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 1.

Yeas-10 Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks Rep. J. Dailey-Provost Rep. B. Daw Rep. J. Hawkins Rep. J. Hawkins Rep. P. Lyman Rep. V. Peterson Rep. T. Seegmiller Rep. J. Stenquist

**MOTION:** Rep. Dailey-Provost moved to pass 2nd Substitute H.B. 148 out favorably. The motion failed with a vote of 5 - 5 - 1.

<u>Yeas-5</u>
Rep. P. Arent
Rep. J. Dailey-Provost
Rep. J. Hawkins
Rep. T. Seegmiller
Rep. J. Stenquist

Rep. J. StenquistRep. V. PetersonMOTION:Rep. Daw moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 1.

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. J. Knotwell Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. B. Daw

Yeas-10 Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks Rep. J. Dailey-Provost Rep. B. Daw Rep. J. Hawkins Rep. J. Knotwell Rep. P. Lyman Rep. V. Peterson Rep. T. Seegmiller Rep. J. Stenquist Nays-0

Nays-5

<u>Absent-1</u> Rep. M. Roberts

Absent-1

Absent-1

Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. M. Roberts

Chair Knotwell adjourned the meeting at 6:00 p.m.