
School Fees



Utah State 
Constitution

Article X, Section 2

“Public elementary and 
secondary schools shall be 
free, except the Legislature 

may authorize the imposition 
of fees in the secondary 

schools.”



Educating the 
next generation 

is a moral 
imperative

This *is* the long view

This *is* about the family


Better Citizens

Better Workforce


Less Poverty

Less Crime




School Fees Audit
“widespread and varied 

violations of state law by the 
Utah State Board of 

Education (USBE), school 
districts, high schools, and 

charter schools.”


Curricular classes fee 
collection is $125/student for 
330,000 secondary students.


$41M in fees paid by students



School Fees  

TimpView 
High School



A Model Student in Provo



‘Long Title’
• Defines Fees


• No Fees for ‘curricular activities’, i.e. regular school hours


• Prohibits General fee, lockers, registration, textbooks


• No change to,


• Extra-curricular : Band trips, football, clubs, player packets


• Driver’s education, AP tests, music instruments.


• Co-curricular portion of drama, band/orchestra, ballroom team, 
debate



Budget and Measures
Cost Per Student Total Budget Performance 

Measures

Text Books $42.42 $13.9M
School Board Report 

on Fees for Text 
Books

Curricular Class 
Materials $32.77 $10.8M

School Board Report 
on fees for Curricular 

Class Materials

Mandatory 
Registration Fees $49.81 $16.4M School Board Report 

on Registration Fees

Total $125.00 $41M School Board Report 
on School Fees



Questions?


