

MINUTES

HOUSE PUBLIC UTILITIES, ENERGY, AND TECHNOLOGY STANDING COMMITTEE

Thursday, February 14, 2019 3:40 p.m. 450 State Capitol

Members Present:

Rep. Carl R. Albrecht, Chair

Rep. Walt Brooks, Vice Chair Rep. Patrice M. Arent

Rep. Scott H. Chew

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson

Rep. Joel Ferry

Rep. Stephen G. Handy

Rep. Angela Romero

Rep. Elizabeth Weight

Members Absent:

Rep. Jeffrey D. Stenguist

Rep. Keven J. Stratton

Staff Present:

Ms. Mary Stringham, Session Secretary

Ms. Sarah J. Balland, Policy Analyst

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Brooks called the meeting to order at 3:48 p.m.

MOTION: Rep. Arent moved to approve the minutes. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 4.

Yeas-7 Nays-0 Absent-4

Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. S. Chew

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. A. Romero

Rep. E. Weight

Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. J. Stenguist Rep. K. Stratton

1 . S.B. 130 Telecom Merger Review Amendments (Buxton, D. G.)

Sen. David G. Buxton presented S.B. 130 with the assistance of Ms. Jennifer Somers, Director of State Legislative Affairs at CenturyLink.

Mr. Thad LeVar, Chair of the Public Service Commission of Utah, spoke to the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Albrecht moved to pass S.B. 130 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-8 Nays-0 Absent-3

Rep. C. Albrecht

Rep. P. Arent Rep. J. Stenguist Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. S. Chew

Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. A. Romero

Rep. E. Weight

Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. K. Stratton

2 . H.J.R. 19 Joint Resolution Directing a Study of Blockchain Technology (McKell, M.)

Rep. Michael McKell presented H.J.R. 19 and provided a handout.

MOTION: Rep. Albrecht moved to pass H.J.R. 19 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 3.



HOUSE PUBLIC UTILITIES, ENERGY, AND TECHNOLOGY STANDING COMMITTEE

February 14, 2019

<u>Yeas-8</u> <u>Nays-0</u>

Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. P. Arent

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. S. Chew

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. E. Weight

Absent-3

Rep. A. Romero Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. K. Stratton

Absent-3 Rep. A. Romero

Rep. J. Stenquist

Rep. K. Stratton

MOTION: Rep. Christofferson moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 3.

Nays-0

Yeas-8 Rep. C. Albrecht

Rep. C. Albrech Rep. P. Arent

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. S. Chew

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. E. Weight

Chair Brooks adjourned the meeting at 4:14 p.m.

Page 2 of 2