i

ﬁ@ UTAH

. | =
% Ihe Unifying Visioe for Counry Govemment

Recording Fee Standardization Increase

In order to maintain best standards and eliminate confusion for title companies, lenders, and other
related partners, it is important to establish a standardized fee and predictability that will be followed
statewide. We request the Utah State Legislature to establish a standardized recording fee of $45 per
document with a few exceptions.

® Since 1993, a space of 26 years, there has not been an increase in the recording fee for which
the responsibilities and volume of recording and indexing have grown exponentially.

® Nationwide, there has been an increasing encouragement for states to standardize their
recording fee because of the Truth in Lending Act and actions taken by the CFPB to make
lending transactions transparent to help consumers understand closing costs.

® The Property Records Industry Association (PRIA) has asked states and recorders for
nationwide predictable fees to reduce the number of document rejections, prevent delays in
closings, and reduce training time for recorders and lenders.

e Standard fees allow lenders and title companies to improve the accuracy of recording fee
estimates that will help avoid infractions and penalties.

® Because of current practices, most of the county recorder offices are being subsidized by
county general funds and are not generating revenue that is going to other county functions.

e |tisimportant to recognize that this will eliminate added confusion and variable use of the
RESPA designation and other issues that have caused confusion and issues within the title
industry.

The need for a recording fee increase has been long delayed, and based upon our
calculations, the fee would need to be raised substantially to address the standardization
issue, especially for those counties that have some very large documents that have been
contributing to their collected fees.

Below is a graphical description of recording fee needs for offices that have been previously
subsidized with general county funds. Another important point is that this is a user-based
fee, which at 545 still does not cover the cost of the recording and indexing process. This
fee increase can help alleviate the tax-payer burden.

In the 2019 Legislative Session, we request the Utah State Legislature to
establish a standardized recording fee of $45 per document with 10 or less
descriptions with an additional $2 per legal description after 10, and for
recording a plat at $50 for each sheet and $2 for each lot or unit designation.
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Scenario Based on Current Statewide Average.

Over last 68 years.

Avg number of years between increases:
Avg % of increase each time fees were raised:

Avg % increase per year:

Number of years since last increase:

Present value percentage (PVP) of increase (Years x Inc per year):

Statewide Avg fee per document (SWA):
What fee per first page should currently be (PVP*SWF):

Scenario Based on Growth Factor.

Over last 42 years -
Depicts fee should be ~$40.00
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