

MINUTES

HOUSE POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS STANDING COMMITTEE

Tuesday, February 19, 2019 | 8:00 a.m. | 450 State Capitol

Members Present:

Rep. Stephen G. Handy, Chair

Rep. Merrill F. Nelson, Vice Chair

Rep. Cheryl K. Acton Rep. Kim F. Coleman

Rep. James A. Dunnigan

Rep. Val K. Potter

Rep. Marie H. Poulson

Rep. Susan Pulsipher

Rep. Elizabeth Weight Rep. Logan Wilde

Members Absent:

Rep. Lawanna Shurtliff

Staff Present:

Ms. Megan L. Bolin, Administrative and

Finance Manager

Ms. Mary Stringham, Session Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Handy called the meeting to order at 8:09 a.m.

MOTION: Rep. Potter moved to approve the minutes.

SUBSTITUTE Rep. Coleman moved to not adopt the minutes. The substitute motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - **MOTION:** 3.

Yeas-8 Nays-0 Absent-3

Rep. C. Acton
Rep. K. Coleman
Rep. S. Handy

Rep. V. Potter

Rep. M. Poulson

Dep. C. Dulaigha

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. E. Weight

Rep. L. Wilde

1. H.B. 247 County Recorder Fees Amendments (Wilde, L.)

Rep. Wilde presented H.B. 247 with the assistance of Jerry Houghton, Tooele County Recorder, and provided a handout.

Chair Handy noted that H.B. 257 would not be heard.

Cort Ashton, Legislative Chairman, Utah Land Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

Elizabeth Klc, Operations and Planning Coordinator for Utah Association of Counties (UAC), spoke in favor of the bill.

Frank Ivory, President of Cottonwood Title, spoke to the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Potter moved to amend H.B. 247 with Amendment #1.

Amendment 1 H.B. 247

Page 3, Lines 67 through 68:

67 (f) for recording a federal tax lien, [\$10] \$45, and for the discharge of the lien, [\$10]

68 <u>\$45</u>.



(4) A county recorder may not charge more than one recording fee for each instrument, regardless of whether the instrument bears multiple descriptive titles or includes one or more attachments as part of the instrument.

(5) By January 1, 2022, each county shall accept and provide for electronic recording of instruments.

2. Page 4, Lines 94 through 97:

94 $\{-\frac{1}{2}\}\{-\frac{4}{2}\}$ The county may determine and collect a fee for all services not enumerated in

95 this section.

96 $\{+\}(7)\{-\}\{-(5)\}$ A county recorder may not be required to collect a fee for services that are

97 unrelated to the county recorder's office.

Rep. Potter's motion to amend H.B. 247 with Amendment #1passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 2.

Yeas-9 Nays-0 Absent-2

Rep. C. Acton Rep. M. Nelson Rep. K. Coleman Rep. L. Shurtliff

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. V. Potter Rep. M. Poulson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. E. Weight

Rep. L. Wilde

MOTION: Rep. Potter moved to pass H.B. 247 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 1 - 2.

Yeas-8 Nays-1 Absent-2

Rep. C. Acton Rep. K. Coleman Rep. M. Nelson Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. L. Shurtliff

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. V. Potter

Rep. M. Poulson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. E. Weight

Rep. L. Wilde

2. H.B. 235 Municipal Tax Amendments (Knotwell, J.)

Rep. John Knotwell presented H.B. 235 with the assistance of John Dougall, Utah State Auditor.

Rep. Nelson assumed the chair.

MOTION: Rep. Dunnigan moved to replace H.B. 235 with 1st Substitute H.B. 235. The motion passed with a

Absent-3

vote of 8 - 0 - 3.

Rep. C. Acton Rep. S. Handy
Rep. K. Coleman Rep. L. Shurtliff
Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. L. Wilde

Navs-0

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. V. Potter

Yeas-8

Rep. M. Poulson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. E. Weight

MOTION: Rep. Dunnigan moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 235 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote

of 8 - 0 - 3.



Yeas-8Nays-0Absent-3Rep. C. ActonRep. S. HandyRep. K. ColemanRep. L. ShurtliffRep. J. DunniganRep. L. WildeRep. M. Nelson

Rep. V. Potter Rep. M. Poulson Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. E. Weight

Chair Nelson called for a five minute recess.

Chair Nelson reconvened the meeting and announced that H.B. 305 and S.B. 124 would not be heard.

MOTION: Rep. Potter moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 2.

Yeas-9Nays-0Absent-2Rep. C. ActonRep. S. HandyRep. K. ColemanRep. L. Shurtliff

Rep. M. Coleman Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. M. Nelson Rep. V. Potter

Rep. M. Poulson Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. E. Weight Rep. L. Wilde

Chair Nelson adjourned the meeting at 9:00 a.m.