

Members Present: Rep. John Knotwell, Chair Rep. Phil Lyman, Vice Chair Rep. Patrice M. Arent Rep. Walt Brooks Rep. Jennifer Dailey-Provost Rep. Brad M. Daw Rep. Jon Hawkins Rep. Val L. Peterson Rep. Marc K. Roberts Rep. Travis M. Seegmiller Rep. Jeffrey D. Stenguist

Staff Present:

Mr. Brian J. Bean, Policy Analyst Ms. Wendy Hill, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Knotwell called the meeting to order at 2:06 p.m.

MOTION: Rep. Stenquist moved to approve the minutes of the February 19, 2019 meeting. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 4.

Yeas-7 Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks Rep. J. Dailey-Provost Rep. B. Daw Rep. J. Hawkins Rep. J. Knotwell Rep. J. Stenguist <u>Nays-0</u>

Absent-4 Rep. P. Lyman Rep. V. Peterson Rep. M. Roberts Rep. T. Seegmiller

1. H.B. 297 Long Term Planning Subcommittee (Moss, J.)

Rep. Jefferson Moss explained the bill.

John Cannon, Director, Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel, spoke to the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Dailey-Provost moved to pass H.B. 297 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-8	Nays-0	<u>Absent-3</u>
Rep. P. Arent		Rep. P. Lyman
Rep. W. Brooks		Rep. V. Peterson
Rep. J. Dailey-Provost		Rep. T. Seegmiller
Rep. B. Daw		
Rep. J. Hawkins		
Rep. J. Knotwell		
Rep. M. Roberts		
Rep. J. Stenquist		

2. H.B. 238 Marriage License Fees Amendments (Romero, A.)

Rep. Angela Romero explained the bill with the assistance of Jenn Oxborrow, Executive Director, Utah Domestic Violence Coalition.

A handout "Utah Domestic Violence Coalition" was distributed to the committee.

Utah Domestic Violence Coalition

Connor Boyack, President, Libertas Institute, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Erin Jemison, Director of Public Policy, YWCA, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Arent moved to amend H.B. 238 with Amendment #1. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 1.

Amendment 1 H.B. 238

1. Page 2, Lines 37 through 38:

37 (ii) transmit \$10 from each marriage license fee to the { Division of Finance } state treasurer for deposit

38 in the Children's Legal Defense Account.

- 2. Page 2, Lines 46 through 48:
- 46 [(B)] (ii) [to the extent actually paid,] transmit [\$10] \$35 from each marriage license
- 47 fee to the { Division of Finance } state treasurer for distribution to the Division of Child and Family Services for
- 48 the operation of shelters for victims of domestic violence.

Yeas-10Nays-0Absent-1Rep. P. ArentRep. P. LymanRep. W. BrooksRep. J. Dailey-ProvostRep. J. Dailey-ProvostRep. J. Dailey-ProvostRep. J. HawkinsRep. J. HawkinsRep. J. KnotwellRep. V. PetersonRep. M. RobertsRep. T. SeegmillerRep. J. StenquistRep. J. Stenquist

MOTION: Rep. Arent moved to pass H.B. 238 as amended out favorably. The motion failed with a vote of 2 - 8 - 1.

<u>Yeas-2</u> Rep. P. Arent Rep. J. Dailey-Provost Nays-8 Rep. W. Brooks Rep. B. Daw Rep. J. Hawkins Rep. J. Knotwell Rep. V. Peterson Rep. M. Roberts Rep. T. Seegmiller Rep. J. Stenguist

<u>Absent-1</u> Rep. P. Lyman

3. H.B. 259 Straight Ticket Voting Prohibition Amendments (Arent, P.)

Rep. Patrice M. Arent explained the bill with Rep. Craig Hall.

Vickie Samuelson, Co-President, League of Women Voters of Utah, spoke in favor of the bill.

Joseph G. Buchman, Chair, Libertarian Party of Utah, spoke in favor of the bill.

Karina Andelin Brown, citizen, spoke in favor of the bill.

Richard Davis, Chair, United Utah Party, spoke in favor of the bill.

A HOUSE GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS STANDING COMMITTEE

Mark Winston Baer, citizen, spoke in favor of the bill.

Ricky Hatch, Utah Clerk/Auditor Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Dailey-Provost moved to pass H.B. 259 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 6 - 5 - 0.

Yeas-6 Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks Rep. J. Dailey-Provost Rep. J. Hawkins Rep. M. Roberts Rep. J. Stenquist <u>Nays-5</u> Rep. B. Daw Rep. J. Knotwell Rep. P. Lyman Rep. V. Peterson Rep. T. Seegmiller Absent-0

Absent-0

MOTION: Rep. Lyman moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 0.

Nays-0

Yeas-11 Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks Rep. J. Dailey-Provost Rep. B. Daw Rep. J. Hawkins Rep. J. Knotwell Rep. P. Lyman Rep. V. Peterson Rep. M. Roberts Rep. T. Seegmiller Rep. J. Stenquist

Chair Knotwell adjourned the meeting at 3:19 p.m.