

# **MINUTES**

## HOUSE NATURAL RESOURCES, AGRICULTURE, AND **ENVIRONMENT STANDING COMMITTEE**

Tuesday, March 5, 2019 8:00 a.m. 445 State Capitol

**Members Present:** 

Rep. Keven J. Stratton, Chair Rep. Logan Wilde, Vice Chair

Rep. Carl R. Albrecht

Rep. Joel K. Briscoe

Rep. Scott H. Chew

Rep. Susan Duckworth

Rep. Joel Ferry

Rep. Timothy D. Hawkes

Rep. Phil Lyman

Rep. Michael K. McKell

Rep. Derrin R. Owens

Rep. Douglas V. Sagers

Rep. Christine F. Watkins

Staff Present:

Mr. J Brian Allred, Policy Analyst

Ms. Linda Service, Session Secretary

Rep. M. McKell

Rep. L. Wilde

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Stratton called the meeting to order at 8:06 a.m.

There were no minutes to approve.

### 1 . H.B. 256 Regulation of Shell Egg Producers (Roberts, M.)

Rep. Roberts introduced the bill.

Mr. Scott Ericson, Deputy Commissioner, Utah Department of Agriculture and Food (UDAF), spoke for the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Sagers moved to replace H.B. 256 with 1st Substitute H.B. 256. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-10 Nays-0 Absent-3 Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. S. Chew

Rep. S. Duckworth

Rep. T. Hawkes

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. C. Watkins

MOTION: Rep. Owens moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 256 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of

11 - 0 - 2.

March 5, 2019

Absent-2 Yeas-11 Nays-0 Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. J. Ferry Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. L. Wilde

Rep. S. Chew Rep. S. Duckworth Rep. T. Hawkes Rep. P. Lyman Rep. M. McKell

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. D. Sagers Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. C. Watkins

#### 2 . H.B. 377 Capitol Hill Water Usage Amendments (Briscoe, J.)

Rep. Briscoe introduced the bill.

Mr. Todd Adams, Deputy Director, Division of Water Resources, spoke for the bill.

Mr. Steve Erickson, Utah Audubon Council, spoke for the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Hawkes moved to hold H.B. 377 and recommended it for interim study.

SUBSTITUTE Rep. Duckworth moved to pass H.B. 377 out favorably. The substitute motion failed with a vote of 4 -7-2.

MOTION:

Yeas-4 Nays-7 Absent-2 Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. J. Ferry Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. S. Chew Rep. T. Hawkes Rep. M. McKell

Rep. S. Duckworth Rep. P. Lyman Rep. L. Wilde Rep. D. Owens Rep. D. Sagers Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. Hawkes' motion to hold H.B. 377 passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 2.

Yeas-11 Nays-0 Absent-2

Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. S. Chew Rep. M. McKell

Rep. C. Watkins

Rep. S. Duckworth Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. T. Hawkes

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. C. Watkins

Rep. L. Wilde

#### 3 . H.C.R. 19 Concurrent Resolution Concerning Utah's Farmland Assessment Act of 1969 (Ferry, J.)

Rep. Ferry introduced the resolution assisted by Mr. Sterling Brown, Utah Farm Bureau.

Ms. LuAnn Adams, Commissioner, UDAF, spoke for the resolution.

**MOTION:** Rep. Watkins moved to pass H.C.R. 19 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 2.

Yeas-11 Nays-0 Absent-2

Rep. J. Briscoe
Rep. S. Chew
Rep. M. McKell

Rep. S. Duckworth

Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. T. Hawkes

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Ówens

Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. C. Watkins

Rep. L. Wilde

#### 4 . S.B. 114 Hunting Amendments (Hinkins, D.)

Sen. Hinkins introduced the bill.

Commissioner Adams spoke to the bill.

Mr. Brown spoke for the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. Wilde moved to pass S.B. 114 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 12 - 0 - 1.

Yeas-12 Nays-0 Absent-1

Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. C. Albrecht

Rep. S. Chew

Rep. S. Duckworth

Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. T. Hawkes

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. M. McKell

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. C. Watkins

Rep. L. Wilde

**MOTION:** Rep. McKell moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 2.

Yeas-11 Nays-0 Absent-2

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. S. Chew

Rep. S. Duckworth

Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. T. Hawkes

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. C. Watkins

Rep. L. Wilde

Chair Stratton adjourned the meeting at 9:15 a.m.

Rep. C. Albrecht

Rep. M. McKell