

Members Present: Sen. Daniel McCay, Chair Sen. David P. Hinkins Sen. Derek L. Kitchen Sen. Karen Mayne Sen. Ann Millner Sen. Ralph Okerlund Members Absent: Sen. Jerry W. Stevenson

**Staff Present:** Ms. Julie Humberstone, Policy Analyst Ms. Karen Allred, Committee Secretary

Absent-2

Sen. D. Hinkins

Sen. J. Stevenson

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair McCay called the meeting to order at 8:35 AM.

**MOTION:** Sen. Millner moved to approve the minutes of March 1, 2019. The motion passed with a vote of 4 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-4Nays-0Absent-3Sen. D. KitchenSen. D. HinkinsSen. K. MayneSen. R. OkerlundSen. D. McCaySen. J. StevensonSen. A. MillnerSen. Sen. J. Stevenson

# 1. 1st Sub. H.B. 345 Tourism Marketing Performance Account Amendments (Gibson, F.)

Rep. Francis D. Gibson presented the bill.

**MOTION:** Sen. Millner moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 345 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 5 - 0 - 2.

 Yeas-5
 Nays-0
 Absent-2

 Sen. D. Kitchen
 Sen. D. Hinkins

 Sen. K. Mayne
 Sen. J. Stevenson

 Sen. D. McCay
 Sen. J. Stevenson

 Sen. R. Okerlund
 Sen. Millner

 MOTION:
 Sen. Millner moved to place 1st Substitute H.B. 345 on the Consent Calendar.

Navs-0

**MOTION:** Sen. Millner moved to place 1st Substitute H.B. 345 on the Consent Calendar. The motion passed with a vote of 5 - 0 - 2.

Yeas-5 Sen. D. Kitchen Sen. K. Mayne Sen. D. McCay Sen. A. Millner Sen. R. Okerlund

# 2. S.B. 172 Economic Development Amendments (Millner, A.)

MOTION: Sen. Millner moved to replace S.B. 172 with 1st Substitute S.B. 172. The motion passed with a vote of 5 - 0 - 2.

### SENATE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND WORKFORCE SERVICES STANDING COMMITTEE

Yeas-5 Sen. D. Kitchen Sen. K. Mayne Sen. D. McCay Sen. A. Millner Sen. R. Okerlund <u>Nays-0</u>

<u>Absent-2</u> Sen. D. Hinkins Sen. J. Stevenson

Sen. Millner presented the bill.

Ms. Abby Osborne, Vice President of Public Policy and Government Relations, Salt Lake Chamber, spoke in favor of the bill.

Ms. Tami Pyfer, Education Advisor, Governor's Office, spoke in favor of the bill.

Ms. Kristina Walter, Chief Commercial Officer, TYR Energy, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Scott Barney, Economic Development Coordinator, Millard County, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Stan Lockhart spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Jimmy Seear, President, Juniper Fuels, spoke in favor of the bill.

**MOTION:** Sen. Okerlund moved to pass 1st Substitute S.B. 172 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 5 - 0 - 2.

Yeas-5 Sen. D. Kitchen Sen. K. Mayne Sen. D. McCay Sen. A. Millner Sen. R. Okerlund Nays-0

<u>Absent-2</u> Sen. D. Hinkins Sen. J. Stevenson

### 3. S.B. 222 Children's Outdoor Recreation Program (Fillmore, L.)

Chair McCay announced that S.B. 222 will not be heard today.

### 4. 1st Sub. H.B. 296 Rural Online Working Hubs Amendments (Albrecht, C.)

Rep. Carl R. Albrecht presented the bill. A handout was distributed.

Rural Online Working Hubs Amendments

Ms. Abby Osborne, Vice President of Public Policy and Government Relations, Salt Lake Chamber, spoke in favor of the bill.

Ms. Ginger Chinn, Managing Director of Business Services, Governor's Office of Economic Development, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Zach Schofield, Policy Research Analyst, Sutherland Institute, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Bryan Rodgers, Intergovernmental Relations Coordinator, Utah Association of Counties, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Scott Barney, Economic Development Coordinator, Millard County, spoke in favor of the bill.

### SENATE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND WORKFORCE SERVICES STANDING COMMITTEE

MOTION:

Sen. Mayne moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 296 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 5 - 1 - 1.

Yeas-5 Sen. D. Hinkins Sen. D. Kitchen Sen. K. Mayne Sen. A. Millner Sen. R. Okerlund

# 5. S.B. 224 Heber Valley Historic Railroad Amendments (Hinkins, D.)

Sen. Hinkins presented the bill with the assistance of Mr. Mark Nelson, Executive Director, Heber Valley Railroad.

**MOTION:** Sen. Hinkins moved to pass S.B. 224 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 5 - 0 - 2.

**MOTION:** Sen. Okerlund moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 5 - 0 - 2.

Nays-0

Yeas-5 Sen. D. Hinkins Sen. D. Kitchen Sen. K. Mayne Sen. D. McCay Sen. R. Okerlund

Chair McCay adjourned the at 9:40 AM.

<u>Absent-1</u> Sen. J. Stevenson

Absent-2

Sen. A. Millner

Sen. J. Stevenson