Thursday, March 7, 2019 8:00 a.m. 215 Senate Building

Members Present:

Sen. Curtis S. Bramble, Chair Sen. Jacob L. Anderegg

Sen. Kirk A. Cullimore

Sen. Gene Davis

Sen. Daniel Hemmert

Sen. Don L. Ipson Sen. Karen Mayne

Sen. Karen Mayne Sen. Daniel McCav

Staff Present:

Mr. Adam J. Sweet, Policy Analyst

Ms. Karen C. Allred, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Bramble called the meeting to order at 8:06 a.m.

MOTION: Sen. Anderegg moved to approve the minutes of the March 5, 2019, meeting. The motion passed

with a vote of 4 - 0 - 4.

Yeas-4 Navs-0 Absent-4

Sen. J. Anderegg
Sen. C. Bramble
Sen. K. Cullimore
Sen. D. Ipson
Sen. D. McCav

1 . H.B. 152 Voluntary Commitment of a Firearm Amendments (Maloy, A.C.)

Rep. A. Cory Maloy presented the bill.

Mr. Tom Ross, Police Chief, Bountiful City Police Department, and President, Utah Chiefs of Police Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Anderegg moved to pass H.B. 152 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 6 - 0 - 2.

Yeas-6 Nays-0 Absent-2

Sen. J. Anderegg Sen. D. Hemmert

Sen. C. Bramble Sen. K. Mayne

Sen. K. Cullimore

Sen. G. Davis

Sen. D. Ipson

Sen. D. McCay

2 . 1st Sub. H.B. 274 Retail Tobacco Business Amendments (Dailey-Provost, J.)

Chair Bramble announced that we would not hear this bill today.

3 . S.B. 239 Natural Gas Market Fair Access Act (Anderegg, J.)

Sen. Anderegg presented the bill with the assistance of Mr. Bruce Rigby, Summit Energy, and Mr. Dan Dotson, Energy Manager, Granite School District.

Natural Gas Invoices



Sen. Cullimore assumed the chair.

Sen. Bramble resumed the chair.

Mr. J T Martin, President, Integrated Energy Companies, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Kelly Mendenhall, Director of Regulatory Pricing, Dominion Energy Utah, and Ms. Tina Faust, Director, Gas Supply and Commercial Support, Dominion Energy Utah, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Mr. Jordan Rolfe, Executive Management, Olson's Greenhouse Gardens, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Curtis Chisholm, CEO, Integrated Energy Companies, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Davis moved to pass S.B. 239 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 5 - 1 - 2.

Yeas-5 Nays-1 Absent-2

Sen. J. Anderegg Sen. D. Ipson Sen. D. Hemmert Sen. C. Bramble Sen. D. McCay

Sen. K. Cullimore Sen. G. Davis Sen. K. Mayne

MOTION: Sen. Davis moved to have this issue studied during the interim. The motion passed with a vote of 5

-0-3.

Yeas-5 Nays-0 Absent-3

Sen. J. Anderegg Sen. D. Hemmert Sen. C. Bramble Sen. K. Cullimore Sen. D. McCay

Sen. G. Davis Sen. D. Ipson

4. 2nd Sub. H.B. 324 Tobacco Age Amendments (Eliason, S.)

Rep. Steve Eliason presented the bill with the assistance of Marc Watterson, Director of Government Relations, American Heart Association.

Tobacco 21 (a)

Tobacco 21 (b)

Mr. Dave Davis, President, Utah Retail Merchants Association, spoke to the bill.

Mr. Mark Johnson, Mayor, Lehi City, spoke in favor of the bill.

Ms. Michelle McOmber, CEO, Utah Medical Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Bow Maxim, Utah Vapor Business Association, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Dr. Joseph K. Miner, Executive Director, Department of Health, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Riley Farr, Member, Utah Vapor Business Association, and business owner, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Mr. Alan Dayton, Intermountain Health Care, spoke in favor of the bill.



Mr. Marc Watterson, Director of Government Relations, American Heart Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mr. Braden Bradford, Director, Southeast Utah Health Department, and representing the Association of Local Health Departments, spoke in favor of the bill.

Ms. DeAnn Kettenring, Health Commissioner, Utah PTA, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION:

Sen. Anderegg moved to pass 2nd Substitute H.B. 324 out favorably. The motion passed with a

vote of 6 - 0 - 2.

Yeas-6

Nays-0

Absent-2

Sen. K. Cullimore

Sen. K. Cullimore

Sen. D. Ipson

Sen. D. Ipson

Sen. J. Anderegg

Sen. C. Bramble

Sen. G. Davis

Sen. D. Hemmert

Sen. K. Mayne

Sen. D. McCay

MOTION:

Sen. McCay moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 6 - 0 - 2.

Yeas-6

Nays-0

Absent-2

Sen. J. Anderegg

Sen. C. Bramble

Sen. G. Davis

Sen. D. Hemmert

Sen. K. Mayne

Sen. D. McCay

Chair Bramble adjourned the meeting at 9:55 a.m.