Overview of Historical Offenses

Utah Sex & Kidnap Offender Registry

OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH AND GENERAL COUNSEL

Judiciary Interim Committee August 21, 2019

Jacqueline Carlton
Associate General Counsel



1) What historical offenses may require registration?

2) What historical offenses may require lifetime registration?

3) Do these historical offenses qualify for removal?



- Statutes are not retroactive, unless expressly stated to be retroactive. See Utah Code § 68-3-3; State v. Clark, 251 P.3d 829, 833 (Utah 2011).
 - "Generally, retroactive application of statutes 'is not favored in the law." Warne v. Warne, 275 P.3d 238, 245 (Utah 2012) (citation omitted).
 - "Elementary considerations of fairness dictate that individuals should have an opportunity to know what the law is and conform their conduct accordingly." Landgraf v. USI Film Products, 511 U.S. 244, 266 (1994).
- Even though the Legislature amends a statute, the statute does not apply to past conduct, events, or circumstances, unless the Legislature expressly says so in the statute.



- What does retroactivity mean for the Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry?
 - An offender is subject to the law in place at the time the offender is required to be registered by the department or agency. See Utah Code § 77-41-104.
 - Therefore, subsequent amendments to registerable offenses do not apply to already registered offenders.

Legislative Amendments

- 1983
- HB 209
- 1984
 - HB 48
- 1987
 - SB 14
- 1989
 - HB 201
- 1991
 - HB 246
- 1992
 - HB 400
- 1994
 - SB 8
- 1995
 - HB 230
- 1996
 - HB 15
- 1997
 - HB 348

- 1998
- HB 362
- 2000
- SB 270
- 2001
 - HB 22
 - HB 181
 - HB 237
 - HB 1002
- 2002
 - HB 245
- 2006
 - HB 56
 - HB 158
 - HB 410
- 2007
 - HB 5
- 2008
 - HB 34
 - HB 63
 - HB 492

- 2009
 - HB 29
 - HB 41
 - HB 136
 - HB 247
- 2010
 - HB 21
 - HB 125
 - HB 209
 - HB 276
 - HB 365
- 2011
 - SB 106
 - SB 159
- 2012
 - HB 13
 - HB 17
 - HB 18
 - HB 234
 - HB 282

- 2014
- SB 177
- 2015
 - HB 215
- 2016
 - HB 16
- 2017
 - HB 222
- 2019
 - HB 75
 - HB 298



Highlighted Changes

1983	1987	1996	2000	2001	2008	2012
Creation of a registry for sex offenders	5-year registration requirement for all sex offenders	From 5-year to 10-year registration requirement	Registry became available on the internet	Creation of a two-tier system with the addition of lifetime	Addition of kidnap offenses	Addition of a petition process for removal
registration requirements	orienders	for all sex offenders	miernet	registration for certain offenses		



What historical offenses might require registration?



Creation of a Registry

1983

- 10 Offenses
 - Any person convicted, either <u>before or after the act</u>, in Utah, of any sexual offense listed in Part 4, Chapter 5, Title 76:
 - Unlawful sexual intercourse
 - Rape of a child
 - Rape
 - Object rape
 - Forcible sodomy
 - Sodomy
 - Sodomy on a child
 - Forcible sexual abuse
 - Sexual abuse of a child
 - Aggravated sexual assault
- Any attempt of these offenses



Current Law

(Utah Code § 77-41-102(9) and (17))

27 Offenses

- Any individual other than the natural parent of the victim who has been convict in this state of:
 - Child kidnapping
 - Aggravated kidnapping
 - Kidnapping, Subsection 76-5-301(1)(c) or (d)
 - Aggravated human trafficking
- Attempting, soliciting, or conspiring to commit any felony listed
- An individual who is convicted in this state of:
 - Enticing a minor (Class A Misdemeanor or Felony)
 - Sexual exploitation of a vulnerable adult
 - Unlawful sexual activity with a minor (Felony)
 - Sexual abuse of a minor (Unless under 21 and first offense)
 - Unlawful sexual conduct with a 16 or 17 year old
 - Rape
 - Rape of a child

- Object rape
- Object rape of a child
- Forcible sodomy
- Sodomy on a child
- Forcible sexual abuse
- Sexual abuse of a child
- Aggravated sexual abuse of a child
- Aggravated sexual assault
- Custodial sexual relations with a victim younger than 18 years old
- Sexual exploitation of a minor
- Incest
- Lewdness (4 convictions)
- Sexual battery (4 convictions)
- Any combination of 4 convictions of lewdness or sexual battery
- Sexual extortion
- Aggravated sexual extortion
- Aggravated exploitation of prostitution
- Any attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to commit any felony offense listed



What historical offenses might require registration?

- Effective: April 29, 1996 to April 30, 2001
 - Any person who entered into a plea in abeyance for an offense requiring registration
- Effective : April 30, 2001 to May 6, 2002
 - A class B and C misdemeanor violations of enticing a minor
 - Including attempt, solicitation, or conspiring to commit
- Effective: May 7, 1997 to May 5, 2008
 - Child kidnapping if the offender is the natural parent of the victim
 - Including attempt, soliciting, or conspiring to commit
- Effective: May 5, 2008 to May 12, 2009
 - Unlawful detention

- Effective: May 5, 2008 to May 11, 2010
 - Kidnapping, Subsection 76-5-301(1)(a) or
 (b)
 - Including attempt, soliciting, or conspiring to commit
- Effective: April 30, 2001 to May 10, 2016
 - A class A misdemeanor violation of sexual abuse of a minor if a first offense and the offender is younger than 21
- Effective: April 30, 2001 to May 14, 2019
 - Unlawful sexual activity with a minor if the offender is younger than 21 years old at the time of the sexual activity
 - Including attempt, soliciting, or conspiracy to commit



What historical offenses might require lifetime registration?



Lifetime Offenses

2001

- 5 Offenses
 - Rape of a child
 - Object rape of a child
 - Forcible sodomy
 - Sodomy on a child
 - Aggravated sexual assault
- Two separate convictions of an offense requiring 10-year registration



Utah Code §§ 77-41-105(3)(c),77-41-106

15 Offenses

- A conviction for any of the following offenses:
 - Aggravated kidnapping, except if the offender is a natural parent of the victim;
 - Sexual abuse of a child;
 - A felony violation of enticing a minor over the internet;
 - A felony violation of forcible sodomy;
 - Sexual exploitation of a minor;
 - Aggravated sexual extortion;
 - Aggravated exploitation of prostitution if the conviction was on or after May 10, 2011;
- A conviction for any of the following offenses, including attempting, soliciting, or conspiring to commit a felony offense:
 - Child kidnapping, except if the offender is a natural parent of the victim;
 - Rape;
 - Rape of a child;
 - Object rape;
 - Object rape of a child;
 - Sodomy on a child;
 - Aggravated sexual abuse of a child; or
 - Aggravated sexual assault;
- At the time of conviction:
 - The offender has two separate convictions of an offense requiring 10-year registration
 - The offender was previously required to register as a sex offender for an offense committed as a juvenile



What historical offenses might require lifetime registration?

- Effective: July 1, 2006 to May 5, 2008
 - Child kidnapping if the offender is the natural parent of the victim
 - Incest
- Effective: March 19, 2007 to May 5, 2008
 - A class A misdemeanor violation of enticing a minor



Do these historical offenses qualify for removal?

Historical Offenses Specifically Addressed

Five-Year Petition

- A class A misdemeanor violation of enticing a minor
 - Effective: March 19, 2007 to May 5, 2008
- Kidnapping
 - Subsection 76-5-301(1)(a) or (b), kidnapping
 - Effective: May 5, 2008 to May 11, 2010
- Unlawful detention, if it is the only conviction that requires registration
 - Effective: May 5, 2008 to May 12, 2009
- Unlawful sexual activity with a minor if, at the time of the offense, the offender is not more than 10 years older than the victim
 - Unlawful sexual activity with a minor if the offender younger than 21 years old at the time of the sexual activity
 - Effective: April 30, 2001 to May 14, 2019
- Sexual abuse of a minor if, at the time of the offense, the offender is not more than 10 years older than the victim
 - A class A misdemeanor of sexual abuse of a minor if a first offense and the offender is younger than 21
 - Effective: April 30, 2001 to May 10, 2016

Historical Offenses Not Addressed

- Class B and C misdemeanor violations of enticing a minor
 - Including any attempt, solicitation, or conspiring to commit either of these offenses
 - Effective: April 30, 2001 to May 6, 2002
- Child kidnapping if the offender is the natural parent of the victim
 - Including any attempt, soliciting, or conspiring to commit this offense
 - Lifetime registration only for committing the offense
 - Effective: July 1, 2006 to May 5, 2008
- Incest (Lifetime Registration)
 - Effective: July 1, 2006 to May 5, 2008
- Attempt, soliciting, or conspiring to commit Subsection 76-5-301(1)(a) or (b), kidnapping
 - Effective: May 5, 2008 to May 11, 2010



- 1) There might be offenders on the registry for offenses that have since been removed by the Legislature as an offense.
- 2) There might be offenders required to register for life for offenses that have since been removed as lifetime registration by the Legislature.
- 3) There is a petition process that allows an offender to seek removal from the registry, but it only addresses certain offenses.

Questions to Consider

- Should an individual be eligible for removal from the registry for a historical offense?
- Should an individual with a historical lifetime requirement be eligible for removal from the registry?
- If so, how should removal be addressed?
 - Petition process?
 - Complete removal?



OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH AND GENERAL COUNSEL