Utah Code

Effective 5/8/2018
20A-2-104 Voter registration form -- Registered voter lists -- Fees for copies.
(1) An individual applying for voter registration, or an individual preregistering

to vote, shall complete a voter registration form in substantially the following

O e
UTAH ELECTION REGISTRATION FORM

Are you a citizen of the United States of America? Yes No

If you checked "no" to the above question, do not complete this form.

Will you be 18 years of age on or before election day? Yes No

If you checked "no" to the above question, are you 16 or 17 years of age and preregistering to

vote? Yes No

If you checked "no" to both of the prior two questions, do not complete this form.
Name of Voter

First Middle Last
Utah Driver License or Utah Identification Card Number
Date of Birth
Street Address of Principal Place of Residence

City County State Zip Code
Telephone Number (optional)
Last four digits of Social Security Number
Last former address at which | was registered to vote (if
known)

City County State Zip Code
Political Party
(a listing of each registered political party, as defined in Section 20A-8-101 and maintained
by the lieutenant governor under Section 67-1a-2, with each party's name preceded by a
checkbox)
OUnaffiliated (no political party preference) [Other (Please specify)

You may request that your voter registration record be classified as a private record by
indicating here: __ Yes, | would like to request that my voter registration record be classified
as a private record.

| do swear (or affirm), subject to penalty of law for false statements, that the information
contained in this form is true, and that | am a citizen of the United States and a resident of
the state of Utah, residing at the above address. Unless | have indicated above that | am
preregistering to vote in a later election, | will be at least 18 years of age and will have resided
in Utah for 30 days immediately before the next election. | am not a convicted felon currently
incarcerated for commission of a felony.

Signed and sworn

Voter's Signhature
(month/dayl/year).

The portion of your voter registration form that lists your driver license or identification
card number, social security number, email address, and the day of your month of birth is a
private record. The portion of your voter registration form that lists your month and year of
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birth is a private record, the use of which is restricted to government officials, government
employees, political parties, or certain other persons.
CITIZENSHIP AFFIDAVIT

Name:
Name at birth, if different:
Place of birth:
Date of birth:
Date and place of naturalization (if applicable):

| hereby swear and affirm, under penalties for voting fraud set forth below, that | am
a citizen and that to the best of my knowledge and belief the information above is true and
correct.

Signature of Applicant
In accordance with Section 20A-2-401, the penalty for willfully causing, procuring, or
allowing yourself to be registered or preregistered to vote if you know you are not entitled to
register or preregister to vote is up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.
NOTICE: IN ORDER TO BE ALLOWED TO VOTE, YOU MUST PRESENT VALID VOTER
IDENTIFICATION TO THE POLL WORKER BEFORE VOTING, WHICH MUST BE A VALID
FORM OF PHOTO IDENTIFICATION THAT SHOWS YOUR NAME AND PHOTOGRAPH; OR
TWO DIFFERENT FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION THAT SHOW YOUR NAME AND CURRENT
ADDRESS.
FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY
Type of I.D.
Voting Precinct
Voting I.D. Number

2)

(a) Except as provided under Subsection (2)(b), the county clerk shall retain a copy of each voter
registration form in a permanent countywide alphabetical file, which may be electronic or
some other recognized system.

(b) The county clerk may transfer a superseded voter registration form to the Division of Archives
and Records Service created under Section 63A-12-101.

3)

(a) Each county clerk shall retain lists of currently registered voters.

(b) The lieutenant governor shall maintain a list of registered voters in electronic form.

(c) If there are any discrepancies between the two lists, the county clerk’s list is the official list.

(d) The lieutenant governor and the county clerks may charge the fees established under the
authority of Subsection 63G-2-203(10) to individuals who wish to obtain a copy of the list of
registered voters.

(4)

(a) As used in this Subsection (4), "qualified person" means:

(i) a government official or government employee acting in the government official's or
government employee's capacity as a government official or a government employee;

(ii) a health care provider, as defined in Section 26-33a-102, or an agent, employee, or
independent contractor of a health care provider;

(iif) an insurance company, as defined in Section 67-4a-102, or an agent, employee, or
independent contractor of an insurance company;
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(iv) a financial institution, as defined in Section 7-1-103, or an agent, employee, or independent
contractor of a financial institution;

(v) a political party, or an agent, employee, or independent contractor of a political party; or

(vi) a person, or an agent, employee, or independent contractor of the person, who:

(A) provides the month or year of birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the list of
registered voters only to a person who is a qualified person;

(B) verifies that a person, described in Subsection (4)(a)(vi)(A), to whom a month or year of
birth that is obtained from the list of registered voters is provided, is a qualified person;

(C) ensures, using industry standard security measures, that the month or year of birth of a
registered voter that is obtained from the list of registered voters may not be accessed by
a person other than a qualified person;

(D) verifies that each qualified person, other than a qualified person described in Subsection
(4)(a)(i) or (v), to whom the person provides the month or year of birth of a registered voter
that is obtained from the list of registered voters, will only use the month or year of birth
to verify the accuracy of personal information submitted by an individual or to confirm the
identity of a person in order to prevent fraud, waste, or abuse;

(E) verifies that each qualified person described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), to whom the person
provides the month or year of birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the list of
registered voters, will only use the month or year of birth in the qualified person's capacity
as a government official or government employee; and

(F) verifies that each qualified person described in Subsection (4)(a)(v), to whom the person
provides the month or year of birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the list of
registered voters, will only use the month or year of birth for a political purpose.

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection 63G-2-302(1)(j)(iv), and except as provided in Subsection
63G-2-302(1)(k), the lieutenant governor or a county clerk shall, when providing the list of
registered voters to a qualified person under this section, include, with the list, the months and
years of birth of the registered voters, if:

() the lieutenant governor or a county clerk verifies the identity of the person and that the
person is a qualified person; and
(ii) the qualified person signs a document that includes the following:

(A) the name, address, and telephone number of the person requesting the list of registered
voters;

(B) an indication of the type of qualified person that the person requesting the list claims to
be;

(C) a statement regarding the purpose for which the person desires to obtain the months and
years of birth;

(D) a list of the purposes for which the qualified person may use the month or year of birth of
a registered voter that is obtained from the list of registered voters;

(E) a statement that the month or year of birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the
list of registered voters may not be provided or used for a purpose other than a purpose
described under Subsection (4)(b)(ii)(D);

(F) a statement that if the person obtains the month or year of birth of a registered voter from
the list of registered voters under false pretenses, or provides or uses the month or year of
birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the list of registered voters in a manner that
is prohibited by law, is guilty of a class A misdemeanor and is subject to a civil fine;

(G) an assertion from the person that the person will not provide or use the month or year of
birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the list of registered voters in a manner that
is prohibited by law; and
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(H) notice that if the person makes a false statement in the document, the person is
punishable by law under Section 76-8-504.

(c) The lieutenant governor or a county clerk may not disclose the month or year of birth of a
registered voter to a person that the lieutenant governor or county clerk reasonably believes:

() is not a qualified person or a person described in Subsection (4)(j); or

(i) will provide or use the month or year of birth in a manner prohibited by law.

(d) The lieutenant governor or a county clerk may not disclose the voter registration form
of a person, or information included in the person's voter registration form, whose voter
registration form is classified as private under Subsection (4)(f) to a person other than a
government official or government employee acting in the government official's or government
employee's capacity as a government official or government employee.

(e) A person is guilty of a class A misdemeanor if the person:

(i) obtains the month or year of birth of a registered voter from the list of registered voters under
false pretenses; or

(i) uses or provides the month or year of birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the list
of registered voters, in a manner that is not permitted by law.

(f) The lieutenant governor or a county clerk shall classify the voter registration record of a voter
as a private record if the voter:

(i) submits a written application, created by the lieutenant governor, requesting that the voter's
voter registration record be classified as private; or

(ii) requests on the voter's voter registration form that the voter's voter registration record be
classified as a private record.

(g) In addition to any criminal penalty that may be imposed under this section, the lieutenant
governor may impose a civil fine against a person who obtains the month or year of birth of a
registered voter from the list of registered voters under false pretenses, or provides or uses a
month or year of birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the list of registered voters in
a manner that is not permitted by law, in an amount equal to the greater of:

() the product of 30 and the square root of the total number of months or years of birth
obtained, provided, or used unlawfully, rounded to the nearest whole dollar; or

(i) $200.

(h) A qualified person may not obtain, provide, or use the month or year of birth of a registered
voter, if the month or year of birth is obtained from the list of registered voters or from a voter
registration record, unless the person:

(i) is a government official or government employee who obtains, provides, or uses the
month or year of birth in the government official's or government employee's capacity as a
government official or government employee;

(i) is a qualified person described in Subsection (4)(a)(ii), (iii), or (iv) and obtains or uses the
month or year of birth only to verify the accuracy of personal information submitted by an
individual or to confirm the identity of a person in order to prevent fraud, waste, or abuse;

(iii) is a qualified person described in Subsection (4)(a)(v) and obtains, provides, or uses the
month or year of birth for a political purpose; or

(iv) is a qualified person described in Subsection (4)(a)(vi) and obtains, provides, or uses the
month or year of birth to provide the month or year of birth to another qualified person to
verify the accuracy of personal information submitted by an individual or to confirm the
identity of a person in order to prevent fraud, waste, or abuse.

(i) A person who is not a qualified person may not obtain, provide, or use the month or year of
birth of a registered voter, if the month or year of birth is obtained from the list of registered
voters or from a voter registration record, unless the person:
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() is a candidate for public office and uses the month or year of birth only for a political purpose;
or

(ii) obtains the month or year of birth from a political party or a candidate for public office
and uses the month or year of birth only for the purpose of assisting the political party or
candidate for public office to fulfill a political purpose.

(j) The lieutenant governor or a county clerk may provide a month or year of birth to a member of
the media, in relation to an individual designated by the member of the media, in order for the
member of the media to verify the identity of the individual.

(5) When political parties not listed on the voter registration form qualify as registered political
parties under Title 20A, Chapter 8, Political Party Formation and Procedures, the lieutenant
governor shall inform the county clerks about the name of the new political party and direct the
county clerks to ensure that the voter registration form is modified to include that political party.

(6) Upon receipt of a voter registration form from an applicant, the county clerk or the clerk's
designee shall:

(a) review each voter registration form for completeness and accuracy; and

(b) if the county clerk believes, based upon a review of the form, that an individual may be
seeking to register or preregister to vote who is not legally entitled to register or preregister to
vote, refer the form to the county attorney for investigation and possible prosecution.

Amended by Chapter 206, 2018 General Session
Amended by Chapter 270, 2018 General Session
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