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Legislative Compensation Commission 

November 19, 2019 

To the Utah State Legislature: 

The Legislative Compensation Commission (“the Commission”) has completed its report for the 

2020 General Session of the Utah State Legislature.  

Utah law requires the Commission to “study and formulate recommendations concerning the salary 

levels of Utah state legislators…[basing] the study and recommendations upon maintaining a citizen 

Legislature in Utah, but compensating members fairly for their service in order that all individuals 

have an opportunity to serve.” The law further requires the Commission to submit its 

recommendations to each member of the Legislature “concerning changes, if any, which should be 

made in the salary plan and its administration for state legislators,” by January 2nd of each even-

numbered year.   

As in prior years, the Commission reviewed data from state and national sources, including surveys 

of all 50 states’ legislative compensation levels. 

We acknowledge that the legislature has implemented the Commission’s recommendations made two 

years ago, namely increasing the daily compensation rate from $273 to $285. 

On behalf of the citizens and residents of this great state, we thank you for your service in the Senate 

and House of Representatives. 

Sincerely, 

Governor’s Office of Management and Budget 

State Capitol Complex, Suite 150 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Telephone: (801) 538-1702 
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The Utah Legislative Compensation Commission 

Matthew G. Bell 

        Ronald K. Mortensen 

Diane Christensen 

Kevin Cote 

Jennifer Seelig 

Ted Lewis 

Raelene Blocker 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

Staff: Colby Oliverson, Governor’s Office of Management and Budget 

For a copy of the report, please contact: 

Governor’s Office of Management and Budget 

State Capitol Complex, Suite 150 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Telephone: (801) 538-1702 
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Introduction 

Article VI, Section 9, of the Utah Constitution (see Appendix B) states that the Legislature may not 

increase the salaries of its members on its own initiative, but shall provide by law for the appointment 

by the governor of a citizens’ salary commission to make recommendations concerning the salaries of 

members of the Legislature. 

 

Utah Code Annotated (UCA) 36-2-3 provides that the salaries of members of the Legislature are 

based on recommendations of the Legislative Compensation Commission. UCA 36-2-4 outlines the 

composition of the Commission. UCA 36-2-5 declares the duties of the Commission (For reference, 

each section is included in Appendix B of this report). 

 

Legislative Compensation Commission 

 

Pursuant to UCA 36-2-4, the Utah Legislative Compensation Commission is composed of seven 

members appointed by the Governor to serve four-year terms. Members represent a cross section of 

workforce interests, major geographic areas of the state, and different political parties. Persons 

employed in the legislative, judicial, and executive branches are not eligible for appointment. 

 

Appointed commissioners are listed below: 

 

Name Occupation Residence Political Party Term Expires 

Bell, Matthew G. Former County 

Commissioner 

Ogden Republican 4/1/2021 

Blocker, Raelene President, Weber County 

Medical Alliance 

Mountain 

Green 

Republican 6/1/2023 

Christensen, Diane B. Exchange Coordinator Provo Republican 6/1/2021 

Cote, Kevin C. Labor Union Business 

Manager 

West 

Jordan 

Unaffiliated 9/12/2021 

Lewis, Ted D. Attorney Salt Lake 

City 

Democrat 6/1/2023 

Mortensen, Ronald Information Technology 

Consultant 

Herriman Republican 4/1/2023 

Seelig, Jennifer Senior Policy Advisor, 

Salt Lake Mayor’s Office 

Salt Lake 

City 

Democrat 9/3/2023 

 

 

By law, the Governor’s Office of Management and Budget staffs the commission. 
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Duties of the Legislative Compensation Commission 

 

UCA 36-2-5 outlines the duties of the Commission which are to “study and formulate 

recommendations concerning the salary levels of Utah state legislators…[basing] the study and 

recommendations upon maintaining a citizen Legislature in Utah, but compensating members fairly 

for their service in order that all individuals have an opportunity to serve.” The law further requires 

the Commission to submit its recommendations to each member of the Legislature “concerning 

changes, if any, which should be made in the salary plan and its administration for state legislators,” 

by January 2nd of each even-numbered year.   

Salaries of Members Based on Recommendations 

 

The required statutory language of UCA 36-2-3 is included in Appendix B of this report. Subsection 

1 declares that legislator salaries are to be automatically set January 1 of the odd-numbered year 

following the recommendations included in the report issued by January 2 of the preceding even-

numbered year. It also provides that salaries shall be set either on a daily or annual basis. Subsection 

2 allows the Legislature to reject or decrease the salary recommendation but not to increase it. If it 

does neither, it “[has] by law accepted the Legislative Compensation Commission 

recommendations.” Thus, unless rejected or decreased by the legislature, legislator salaries as 

recommended in this year’s report will be effective January 1, 2021. 

 

Legislator Compensation 

 

Joint Rule (JR) 5-3-101 states: “A legislator shall receive daily compensation…for authorized 

legislative days as defined in Section JR5-1-101.”1 

 

Salary 

 

Utah’s state legislators receive a daily salary of $285 per day for all authorized legislative days2, 

which includes the 45-day general session, plus special session days, veto override session days, 

interim days (designated by the Legislative Management Committee) or any other day that includes a 

meeting of a committee, subcommittee, commission, task force, or other legislative meeting, 

provided that the committee, subcommittee, commission, task force, or other entity is created by 

statute or joint resolution, the legislator’s attendance at the meeting is approved by the Legislative 

Management Committee, and service and payment for service by the legislator is not in violation of 

the Utah Constitution, including Article V and Article VI, Sections 6 and 7. They also receive a daily 

salary of $285 for up to 10 authorized legislative training days.  

 

                                                                 
1 http://le.utah.gov/xcode/TitleJR5/Chapter3/JR5-3-S101.html?v=JR5-3-S101_1800010118000101 
2 http://le.utah.gov/xcode/TitleJR5/Chapter1/JR5-1-S101.html?v=JR5-1-S101_2015031120150311 
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For the 45-day general session, all legislators receive a lump sum payment of $12,825 ($285 x 45 

days).  This payment is made in January before the start of the legislative session. Other approved 

attendance at legislative meetings is paid on an as-earned basis.  

 

Currently, authorized meetings do not include meetings with local constituents, attending local 

government meetings, or preparatory work on policy issues and legislation outside of an official 

meeting day.  

 

The current salary model has been in effect since January 1, 2019. 

 

Leadership Pay 

 

Legislators serving in certain leadership positions receive additional pay annually for the additional 

duties and responsibilities to the Legislature or respective caucuses, as follows: 

 

President of the Senate and Speaker of the House of Representatives   $5,000 each 

 Majority and Minority Party Leaders      $4,000 each 

Majority and Minority Whips, Assistant Whips, Minority Caucus Leaders, 

and both chairpersons of the Executive Appropriations Committee  $3,000 each 

 

Per Diems and Expense Reimbursements 

 

UCA 36-2-5(3) states “the commission may take into account the amounts received by legislators for 

legislative expenses, but may not review the propriety of, or recommend amounts for, legislative 

expenses.” Accordingly, this summary on expenses is for information only.  

 

JR5-2-1013 through JR5-2-103 addresses reimbursement for lodging, meals, and transportation. 

Legislators may claim reimbursements for actual lodging, meal expenses, and transportation costs 

incurred by the legislator in association with the legislator’s official duties for an authorized 

legislative day. 

 

Reimbursements for expenses may not exceed the per diem rates published in administrative rules 

governing the reimbursement of lodging, meal, or transportation expenses for state employees. 

Minimum travel distance requirements (50 miles for lodging and 100 miles for meals) applicable to 

state employees do not apply to legislators. Receipts are required. 

 

Administrative Rule R25-7, Travel-Related Reimbursements for State Employees4, as in effect on 

October 1, 2019, outlines state policy and procedure, and provides (in-state amounts): 

 

                                                                 
3 Retrieved from http://le.utah.gov/xcode/TitleJR5/Chapter2/JR5-2.html?v=JR5-2_1800010118000101 
4 Retrieved from https://rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r025/r025-007.htm 
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• Lodging – $70 per night with exceptions for specified cities (Park City/Midway is 

$110 maximum) 

• Meals – $45 per day ($11 - breakfast, $14 - lunch, $20 - dinner) 

• Transportation – private vehicle reimbursement is $0.58 per mile if a state vehicle is 

not available for use; parking expenses, and public and commercial transportation 

costs are also permitted. 

 

All expenses are subject to procedures established by the Legislative Expenses Oversight Committee 

for each legislative body. 

 

Communication Devices 

 

JR5-5-101 allows for reimbursement of the monthly plan costs for communication devices such as 

cell phones. Currently legislators are given three options:  

 

(1) a mobile phone and plan provided by the Legislature,  

(2) no mobile phone or plan, or  

(3) up to $58 per month expense reimbursement for a personal cell phone and plan. 

 

Benefits 

 

While the commission’s duties, as outlined in UCA 36-2-5, do not explicitly mention benefits, health 

(including dental and vision) insurance, life insurance, and retirement plans have been made available 

to legislators; therefore, it is helpful to list these benefits as they do form a significant part of 

legislators’ compensation. 

 

 

Retirement Benefits 

 

Legislators are eligible for retirement benefits after four years of service. Since 2010, when the 

Legislature limited future liability for pensions by replacing the pension plan with a defined 

contribution plan, legislators’ retirement benefits are based on two tiers: 

 

1. Tier 1, Utah Governors’ and Legislators’ Retirement Act5 

 

Legislators entering office before July 1, 2011 remain eligible for service credit under the pension 

program. Legislators are eligible for these retirement benefits 1) if they have reached age 65 and 

have served four or more years or 2) have reached age 62 and have served ten or more years 

(subject to actuarial reduction). The retirement benefit is equal to $10 per month increased 

semiannually by up to two percent based on the Consumer Price Index for each year of service as 

                                                                 
5 UCA 49-19, for a summary of the plan, see Utah Governors and Legislators Retirement Plan Highlights, effective July 

1, 2015; pamphlet published by Utah Retirement Systems 
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a legislator. The amount as of July 1, 2015 is $29.20 per month. An additional $3.50 per month 

for each year of service is payable to legislators who were members of this plan before March 1, 

2000. 

 

2. Tier 2, New Public Employees’ Tier II Contributory Retirement Act6 

 

Legislators entering office on or after July 1, 2011 may participate only in the Tier II Defined 

Contribution Plan. The state contributes ten percent of legislators’ eligible compensation to a 

401(k) defined contribution plan. The plan vests after four years of eligible service. 

 

Utah Retirement Systems administers both programs. 

  

Health and Dental Benefits 

 

Legislators may participate in the same health, dental, and life insurance plans available to state 

employees, which plans are administered by Public Employees Health Plan (PEHP).  The state 

provides traditional health and dental plans as well as HSA-eligible plans. 

 

Costs for the traditional medical and dental plans are split as follows:  

 

• 90 percent employer share of premium 

• 10 percent employee share of premium 

 

Vision coverage is available at 100 percent premium cost to an employee. For all these plans, a 

legislator’s share is the same as an employee’s share.  

 

Annual costs7 to the state (the 90 percent employer share of premium) for a legislator enrolled in a 

traditional medical plan and a traditional dental plan are as follows: 

Coverage Medical Dental Total 

Single $  6,490 $   308 $  6,798 

Double $13,381 $   572 $13,953 

Family $17,863 $1,042 $18,905 

Also available are Health Savings Account (HSA) plans such as STAR and Utah Basic Plus where 

only the employer contributes. Additionally, preferred versions of all plans are available where the 

employee portion varies and generally costs more. 

                                                                 
6 UCA 49-22, for a summary of the plan, see Utah Retirement Systems Tier 2 Defined Contribution Plan Highlights, 

effective July 1, 2015; pamphlet published by Utah Retirement Systems.  
7 Utah Public Employees Health Program, 2019-2020 Benefits Summary, retrieved from www.pehp.org. 
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In addition, the state pays the full premium for basic life insurance coverage of $25,000 for each 

active legislator who enrolls in the program. As with state employees, the coverage terminates when 

the legislator is no longer employed by the state. 

 

Post Retirement Paid-up Health Coverage Benefits8  

 

The state will pay the percentage of the cost of providing paid-up group health coverage for those 

legislators (and governors) and their surviving spouses, who retire after January 1, 1998, are at least 

62 but not yet 65 years of age, and are active members at the time of retirement or have continued 

coverage with the program until eligible for this benefit. This does not apply to members who began 

service on or after January 1, 2012. 

 

The state will pay the percentage of the cost of providing Medicare supplemental coverage for life for 

those legislators (and governors) and their surviving spouses, who retire after January 1, 1998 and are 

at least 65 years of age. This benefit applies only to those members who began service before July 1, 

2013. 

 

The portion of the premium that the state pays for health insurance or Medicare supplemental 

coverage is determined by the number of years a legislator has served: 

 

• 100 percent for 10 years of service credit 

• 80 percent for 8 years of service credit 

• 60 percent for 6 years of service credit 

• 40 percent for 4 years of service credit 

 

Analysis of Data 

All tables hereinafter referenced are found in Appendix A. 

 

Surveys 

 

The annual salary and expenditure survey from the National Conference of State Legislatures 

(NCSL) gives a description of the salary and per diem expenses or allowances of each of the 50 state 

legislatures. State legislatures generally compensate their members in one of three ways: 

 

(1) an annual salary, 

(2) a daily rate paid for calendar days during the session, or 

(3) a daily rate paid for actual legislative days worked. 

 

NCSL also offers information on leadership pay, retirement, health insurance and other benefits. 

                                                                 
8 Retrieved from http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title49/Chapter20/49-20-S404.html?v=C49-20-S404_1800010118000101 
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The Commission reviewed and considered this information. 

 

Standardization 

 

To compare the annual salary, daily salary, and hourly wages of the 49 other state legislatures to 

Utah’s, it is necessary to convert each state’s salary into an hourly wage. Annual salaries can be 

converted into daily amounts by dividing by the number of session days. Weekly salaries paid for 

legislative days worked can be approximately converted to calendar days by dividing by five. Hourly 

wages paid for legislative work days can be converted by taking the daily rate and dividing by a 

standard eight-hour work day. Furthermore, hourly wages can be converted to hourly wages to 

include urban and rural per diem rates by taking the daily urban and rural per diem rates and dividing 

by a standard eight-hour work day.  

 

For the purposes of this study, urban areas are generally those areas within 50 miles of the Capitol 

and rural areas are those areas more than 50 miles from the Capitol. Some states pay different 

allowances or per diems depending on where a legislator lives. In Utah, the urban and rural rates are 

generally the same. However, for some comparisons, we added the lodging expense in calculating the 

rural rate. 

 

Trends/Overview 

 

Hourly Wages 

 

Utah legislator compensation, when considered as a daily wage, ranks 16th highest in the nation (see 

Table 2), equating to an hourly wage of $35.63. The average hourly wage for all state legislatures is 

$30.63, while the median is $27.65. 

 

Hourly Wages Plus Per Diems 

 

When adding in urban per diems to hourly wages, Utah ranks 25th in the nation (see Table 6; urban 

per diems don’t include lodging expenses). Utah’s hourly wage plus urban per diem (expense 

reimbursement) is $41.25. The average hourly wage for all states including urban per diem rates is 

$45.13, while the median is $39.32 

 

When referencing rural per diems, Utah ranks 16th at $53.75. The average hourly wage for all state 

legislatures plus rural per diem rates is $47.05, while the median is $44.00.  
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Daily and Annual Salary 

 

Using daily salaries to compare Utah ($285) to all other states shows that Utah ranks 16th in the 

nation for legislative pay (see Table 2) and is one of eight states that has a daily salary rate. 

 

Comparing annual salaries, Utah legislators’ $12,825 (when counting the legislative session only) 

puts Utah’s legislator salaries at 40th) in the nation (see Table 2). 

 

Western States Comparison 

 

The comparison of Utah legislators’ hourly wages to that of the ten other western states (see Table 7) 

shows that six states (Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington) pay an annual 

salary, four states (Montana, Nevada, Utah, and Wyoming) pay a daily salary, and one state (New 

Mexico) pays no salary. Utah is ranked 5th of the 11 states when considering hourly wage plus urban 

per diem and 4th when considering hourly wage plus rural per diem (see Table 7).  

 

Traditional and Slightly Less Traditional Citizen Legislatures 

 

Table 8 compares rates for Utah’s traditional citizen legislature with other traditional citizen-

legislature states (Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wyoming) and states 

with slightly less traditional citizen legislatures (Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, 

Nevada, New Mexico, Rhode Island, Vermont, and West Virginia). 

 

In comparing the traditional citizen legislatures’ compensation as an hourly wage, Utah ranks 2nd. Of 

all 17 legislatures grouped as traditional or slightly less traditional citizen legislatures, only one state 

(West Virginia) has a higher hourly wage for legislators. 

 

Recommendations 

 

In accordance with UCA 36-2-5, the Commission met during the autumn of 2019 to “study and 

formulate recommendations concerning the salary levels of Utah state legislators.” Minutes from 

these meetings are available from Commission staff or by searching the Utah Public Notice Website 

(http://www.utah.gov/pmn) for meetings of the Legislative Compensation Commission. 
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Legislative Salaries 

 

The Commission reviewed data (see Appendix A) obtained from the National Conference of State 

Legislatures, Utah Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel, Governor’s Office of 

Management and Budget, and other sources. 

 

The Commission recommends a $7 increase to the daily rate for legislators, bringing the rate to 

$292. This 2.5% increase (rounded to the nearest dollar) corresponds to the 2.5% cost of living 

adjustment that state government employees received at the beginning of FY 2020. 

 

Overview of Legislator Compensation  

 

After the conducting an analysis of legislator compensation, the Commission agreed that it was 

difficult to find and understand the total compensation package for legislators. Consequently, the 

Commission recommends the Legislature consider publishing information (similar to Table 12 of this 

report) regarding the total compensation/reimbursement package for legislators in an easily 

understandable format readily available to the public. 

 

Rural Legislator Compensation 

 

Legislators are eligible to receive the daily compensation rate for only authorized legislative days, 

which include general session days, special session days, veto override session days, interim session 

days, authorized legislative training days, or any other day that includes a meeting of a committee, 

subcommittee, commission, task force, or other legislative meeting, provided that: the committee, 

subcommittee, commission, task force, or other entity is created by statute or joint resolution; the 

legislator’s attendance at the meeting is approved by the Legislative Management Committee; and 

service and payment for service by the legislator is not in violation of the Utah Constitution, 

including Article V and Article VI, Sections 6 and 7.  

 

However, the Commission learned that legislators perform tasks related to constituent services that in 

their capacity as legislators do not fall under the definition of authorized legislative days. Examples 

include working with organizations, attending county commission, city council, and other formal and 

informal meetings to determine the needs and issues of their constituents. This is a particular burden 

on rural legislators who sometimes travel long distances to attend these meetings, meaning that much 

of their legislative work currently goes uncompensated.  

 

Therefore, the Commission recommends the Legislature consider providing a mechanism to 

reimburse rural legislators for expenses related to constituent services. 

 

Leadership Pay 

 

The Commission recommends no changes to leadership pay. 
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Summary of Recommendations 

Based on our review and analysis of the data contained in this report, the Legislative Compensation 

Commission RECOMMENDS:  

 

1. The daily rate for legislators increase from $285 per day to $292 per day. 

2. The Legislature consider publishing information (similar to Table 12 of this report) 

regarding the total compensation/reimbursement package for legislators in an easily 

understandable format readily available to the public. 

3. The Legislature consider providing a mechanism to reimburse rural legislators for 

expenses related to constituent services. 

4. Annual leadership pay remain at $5,000 each for the President of the Senate and 

Speaker of the House, $4,000 each for the Majority and Minority Leaders, and $3,000 

each for the Majority and Minority Whips, Assistant Whips, both Executive 

Appropriations Chairs, and the Minority Caucus Leaders. 
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Appendix B 

UTAH CONSTITUTION 
 

Article VI, Section 9. Compensation of legislators -- Citizens' salary commission.9 

 

The Legislature shall not increase the salaries of its members on its own initiative, but shall 

provide by law for the appointment by the Governor of a citizens' salary commission to make 

recommendations concerning the salaries of members of the Legislature. Upon submission of the 

commission's recommendations, the Legislature shall by law accept, reject or lower the salary 

but may not, in any event, increase the recommendation. The Legislature shall provide by law for 

the expenses of its members. Until salaries and expenses enacted as authorized by this section 

become effective, members of the Legislature shall receive compensation of $25 per diem while 

actually in session, expenses of $15 per diem while actually in session, and mileage as provided 

by law. 

 

UTAH CODE 
 

36-2-3 Salaries of members set by Legislature and State Board of Education based on 

recommendations of Legislative Compensation Commission. 

(1) 

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (2) or (3), the salaries of members of the Legislature shall 

automatically be set beginning January 1 of each odd-numbered year at the amount 

recommended by the Legislative Compensation Commission in the last report issued by the 

commission in the preceding even-numbered year. 

(b) This salary recommendation shall be based on either: 

(i) a daily basis: 

(A) for each calendar day for annual general sessions; and 

(B) for each day a legislator attends veto-override and special sessions and other authorized 

legislative meetings; or 

(ii) an annualized salary. 

(c) In preparing its report, the commission may recommend salary amounts that: 

(i) take into account the amounts received by legislators for legislative expenses; and 

(ii) provide alternative salary amounts based upon the occurrence of various contingencies. 

(2) 

(a) During an even-numbered annual general session or special session in the year immediately 

preceding the effective date of any salary change, the Legislature may reject or decrease the 

salary recommendation, but may not increase the salary recommendation. 

                                                                 
9 Retrieved from http://le.utah.gov/xcode/ArticleVI/Article_VI,_Section_9.html. 
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(b) If the Legislature does not act as provided in Subsection (2)(a), they have by law accepted the 

Legislative Compensation Commission’s recommendations contained in the last report issued by 

the commission in the preceding even-numbered year. 

(3) If the last report issued by the commission in an even-numbered year recommends a salary 

contingent upon certain action being taken by the Legislature, that contingent legislative salary: 

(a) takes effect on the day after the day that the contingent action is taken by the 

Legislature; and 

(b) supersedes any other salary in effect as of January 1. 

(4) 

(a) The salary for a member of the State Board of Education shall be: 

(i) the same as the salary for a member of the Legislature; and 

(ii) except as provided in Subsection (4)(b), set in accordance with this section and 

Subsection 36-2-2(1). 

(b) For purposes of setting the salary for a member of the State Board of Education: 

(i) a calendar day for the annual general session described in Subsection (1)(b)(i)(A) is 

interpreted as a calendar day of: 

(A) a meeting of the State Board of Education; and 

(B) any other meeting authorized by the State Board of Education; and 

(ii) unless the Legislative Compensation Commission issues a revised report on or after 

July 1, 2016, the salary for a member of the State Board of Education through calendar year 

2016 is $273 per day for each calendar day that a member attends a meeting described in 

Subsection (4)(b)(i)(A) or (B). 

36-2-4 Legislative Compensation Commission created -- Governor’s considerations in 

appointments -- Organization and expenses. 

(1) There is created a state Legislative Compensation Commission composed of seven members 

appointed by the governor, not more than four of whom shall be from the same political party. 

(2) 

(a) Except as required by Subsection (2)(b), the members shall be appointed for four-year terms. 

(b) Notwithstanding the requirements of Subsection (2)(a), the governor shall, at the time of 

appointment or reappointment, adjust the length of terms to ensure that the terms of board 

members are staggered so that approximately half of the board is appointed every two years. 

(c) When a vacancy occurs in the membership for any reason, the replacement shall be appointed 

for the unexpired term in the same manner as the vacated member was chosen. 

(3) In appointing members of the commission, the governor shall give consideration to achieving 

representation from the major geographic areas of the state, and representation from a broad 

cross section of occupational, professional, employee, and management interests. 

(4) The commission shall select a chair. Four members of the commission shall constitute a 

quorum. The commission shall not make any final determination without the concurrence of a 

majority of its members appointed and serving on the commission being present. 
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(5) A member may not receive compensation or benefits for the member’s service, but may 

receive per diem and travel expenses in accordance with: 

(a) Section 63A-3-106; 

(b) Section 63A-3-107; and 

(c) rules made by the Division of Finance pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107. 

(6) 

(a) The commission shall be a citizen commission and no member or employee of the legislative, 

judicial, or executive branch is eligible for appointment to the commission. 

(b) The executive director of the Governor’s Office of Management and Budget: 

(i) shall provide staff to the commission; and 

(ii) is responsible for administration, budgeting, procurement, and related management functions 

for the commission. 

36-2-5 Duties of Legislative Compensation Commission. 

(1) The Legislative Compensation Commission shall: 

(a) study and formulate recommendations concerning the salary levels for Utah state legislators; 

(b) base the study and recommendations upon maintaining a citizen Legislature in Utah, but 

compensating members fairly for their service in order that all individuals would have an 

opportunity to serve; 

(c) in developing recommendations, consider the salaries of other similar state legislators and 

other such factors; and 

(d) submit to each member of the Legislature, by January 2nd of each even-numbered year, 

recommendations: 

(i) concerning changes, if any, which should be made in the salary plan and its administration for 

state legislators; and 

(ii) include a recitation of the provisions of Section 36-2-3. 

(2) The Legislative Compensation Commission may issue reports subsequent to January 2 of an 

even-numbered year containing revised salary recommendations, including salary 

recommendations contingent upon certain action being taken by the Legislature. 

(3) As provided in Subsection 36-2-3(1)(c), in formulating its recommendations, the commission 

may take into account the amounts received by legislators for legislative expenses, but may not 

review the propriety of, or recommend amounts for, legislative expenses. 
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Table 1: Legislator Compensation by State, 2019

State Base Salary Session Per Diem Rate
Alabama $48,123 Up to $100/d depending on length of trip.
Alaska $50,400 $322/d.

Arizona $24,000
$35/day for the first 120 days of the regular session and for special sessions and $10/day thereafter. 
Members residing outside Maricopa County receive an additional $25/day for the first 120 days of  the 
regular session and for special sessions and an additional $10/day thereafter. Set by statute.

Arkansas $41,394 Current per diem rate for legislators who live more than 50 miles from the capitol in Little Rock is  $149. 
Members who live within 50 miles of the Capitol are eligible to receive a reduced per diem (meals and 
incidentals, no lodging) of $55. Per diem rates are based on amounts published by the federal General 
Services Administration

California $110,459 $201/d for each day in session
Colorado $40,242 Up to $171 for members who live more than 50 miles from the capitol; $45/d for members who live 50 or 

fewer miles from the capitol. Set by the legislature

Connecticut $28,000 No per diem is paid.

Delaware $46,291 No per diem is paid.

Florida $29,697 $163/d based on the number of days in Tallahassee (V).
Georgia $17,342 $173/d (U). Set by the Legislative Services Committee.
Hawaii $62,604 $225/d throughout session for members who do not reside on the island of Oahu; $10/d for members living 

on Oahu during the mandatory five-day recess only

Idaho $17,879 $139/d for members whose primary residence is over 50 miles from the statehouse; $55/d for members 
whose primary residence is less than 50 miles from the statehouse. (U)

Illinois $65,836 $111/session day.

Indiana $26,490 $181/d (U)
Iowa $25,000 $169/d; $126.75/d for Polk County legislators (U).
Kansas $88.60/d $149/d. Tied to federal rate.
Kentucky $188.22/d $163.90/d
Louisiana $19,800 $161/d (U). Tied to federal rate.
Maine $10,131 $38/d lodging (or mileage and tolls up to $38/d in lieu of housing). $32/d meals. Set by statute.

Maryland $50,330 $47/d meals. $109/d lodging.

Massachusetts $66,257 No per diem is paid.

Michigan $82,485 $10,800/y expense allowance for session and interim (V). Set by the compensation commission.
Minnesota $45,000 $86/d for senators; $66/d for representatives.

Mississippi $23,500 $149/day (U). Tied to federal rate
Missouri $35,915 $119/d.
Montana $92.46 (L) $120.11/d.
Nebraska $12,000

$149/d for members residing 50 miles or more from the capitol; $55/d for members residing within 50 miles.

Nevada $150.71/d for members elected in 2016; 
$159.89/d for members elected in 2018

$149/d.

New Hampshire $100 No per diem is paid.

New Jersey $49,000 No per diem is paid.

New Mexico $0 $161/d (Jan 15 - Feb. 28), $184/d (Mar. 1 - Mar. 16).
New York $110,000 $174/d (including overnight) or $61/d (no overnight).

North Carolina $13,951 $104/d (U). Set by statute.

North Dakota $495/month $177/d.
Ohio $63,007 No per diem is paid.

Oklahoma $35,021 $156/d (U). Tied to federal rate.
Oregon $31,200 $149/d.

Pennsylvania $88,610 $177/d. Tied to federal rate.
Rhode Island $15,959 No per diem is paid.

South Carolina $10,400 $170/d. Tied to federal rate.
South Dakota $11,379 $149/d (L) (U).

Tennessee $24,316

$240/d for members residing greater than 50 miles from capitol; $61/d for members residing 50 miles or less.

Texas $7,200 $221/d (U). Set by ethics commission.

Utah $285/d (C) Up to $100 plus tax/d for members that live more than 100 miles round trip from the capitol.
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Vermont $733.04/w during session $126/d lodging (including overnight) or $66/d (no overnight).

Virginia $17,820 $213/d

Washington $48,731 $120/d.

West Virginia $20,000 $131/d (U). Set by compensation commission.

Wisconsin $52,999 Senate - $115/d Assembly - up to $162/d (including overnight) or up to $81/d (no overnight). Dane County 
members are authorized up to to $81/d. The maximum number of days per year that per diem can be 
claimed is 153 days.

Wyoming $150/d $109/d (V). Set by legislature.

20



Table 2: State Legislator Salaries - All States, 2019

Annual 
Salary

Session 
Days (C) 

2015
Hourly 

Wage (1)

Hourly 
Wage 
Rank Daily Salary

Daily 
Salary 
Rank Annual Salary

Annual 
Salary 
Rank

Alabama $48,123 105 $57.29 7            $458.31 7            $48,123 14           

Alaska $50,400 89 $70.79 3            $566.29 3            $50,400 10           

Arizona $24,000 106 $28.30 24          $226.42 24          $24,000 27           

Arkansas $41,394 59 $87.70 1            $701.59 1            $41,394 17           

California $110,459 242 $57.06 8            $456.44 8            $110,459 1             

Colorado $40,242 119 $42.27 11          $338.17 11          $40,242 18           

Connecticut $28,000 147 $23.81 29          $190.48 29          $28,000 23           

Delaware $46,291 173 $33.45 18          $267.58 18          $46,291 15           

Florida $29,697 59 $62.92 5            $503.34 5            $29,697 22           

Georgia $17,342 77 $28.15 25          $225.22 25          $17,342 36           

Hawaii $62,604 106 $73.83 2            $590.60 2            $62,604 8             

Idaho $17,879 84 $26.61 27          $212.85 27          $17,879 33           

Illinois $65,836 356 $23.12 31          $184.93 31          $65,836 6             

Indiana $26,490 116 $28.55 23          $228.36 23          $26,490 24           

Iowa $25,000 109 $28.67 22          $229.36 22          $25,000 25           

Kansas $88.66 (C) 121 $11.08 42          $88.66 42          $10,728 43           

Kentucky $188.22 (C) 80 $23.53 30          $188.22 30          $15,058 38           

Louisiana $19,800 3  59 $41.95 12          $335.59 12          $19,800 31           

Maine $10,131 168 $7.54 47          $60.30 47          $10,131 46           

Maryland $50,330 89 $70.69 4            $565.51 4            $50,330 11           

Massachusetts $66,257 363 $22.82 32          $182.53 32          $66,257 5             

Michigan $82,485 2  356 $28.96 21          $231.70 21          $82,485 4             

Minnesota $45,000 132 $42.61 9            $340.91 9            $45,000 16           

Mississippi $23,500 89 $33.01 19          $264.04 19          $23,500 28           

Missouri $35,915 128 $35.07 17          $280.59 17          $35,915 19           

Montana $92.46 (L) 114 $11.56 41          $92.46 41          $10,540 44           

Nebraska $12,000 148 $10.14 45          $81.08 45          $12,000 41           

Nevada $150.17 (C) 119 $18.77 35          $150.17 35          $17,870 34           

New Hampshire $100 4  179 $0.07 49          $0.56 49          $100 49           

New Jersey $49,000 356 $17.21 40          $137.64 40          $49,000 12           

New Mexico $0 $0 60 $0.00 50          $0.00 50          $0 50           

New York $110,000 356 $38.62 13          $308.99 13          $110,000 2             

North Carolina $13,951 187 $9.33 46          $74.60 46          $13,951 39           

North Dakota $177.00 (C) 113 $22.13 33          $177.00 33          $20,001 29           

Ohio $63,007 363 $21.70 34          $173.57 34          $63,007 7             

Oklahoma $35,021 116 $37.74 14          $301.91 14          $35,021 20           

Oregon $31,200 159 $24.53 28          $196.23 28          $31,200 21           

Pennsylvania $88,610 364 $30.43 20          $243.43 20          $88,610 3             

Rhode Island $15,959 195 $10.23 44          $81.84 44          $15,959 37           

South Carolina $10,400 121 $10.74 43          $85.95 43          $10,400 45           

South Dakota $11,379 80 $17.78 39          $142.24 39          $11,379 42           

Tennessee $24,316 112 $27.14 26          $217.11 26          $24,316 26           

Daily Salary

21



Texas $7,200 139 $6.47 48          $51.80 48          $7,200 48           

Utah $285.00 (C) 45 $35.63 16          $285.00 16          $12,825 40           

Vermont 5  $146.60 (C) 126 $18.33 38          $146.60 38          $18,472 32           

Virginia $17,820 3  60 $37.13 15          $297.00 15          $17,820 35           

Washington $48,731 104 $58.57 6            $468.57 6            $48,731 13           

West Virginia $20,000 59 $42.37 10          $338.98 10          $20,000 30           

Wisconsin $52,999 358 $18.51 37          $148.04 37          $52,999 9             

Wyoming $150.00 (L) 52 $18.75 36          $150.00 36          $7,800 47           

Hourly 

Wage1 Daily Salary Annual Salary

Quartile 1 $18.37 $146.96 $15,282.95

(L) = Legislative day;  (C) = Calendar Day Median $27.65 $221.16 $24,658.00

(V) = Vouchered; (U) = Unvouchered Average $30.67 $245.38 $33,843.23

Quartile 3 $38.40 $307.22 $48,579.00

Maximum $87.70 $701.59 $110,459.00

1 Calculations based on eight hours per day.

3 Averaged: House and Senate Salaries

4 New Hampshire pays $200 for a two-year term

5 $733.04 per week during legislative session only.

2  Salary plus fixed annual expense allowance
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State 

General 
Session 

Convened 

General 
Session 

Adjourned 
Calendar 

Days

Alabama 5-Mar 18-Jun 105
Alaska 15-Jan 14-Apr 89
Arizona 14-Jan 30-Apr 106
Arkansas 14-Jan 14-Mar 59
California 1-Jan 31-Aug 242
Colorado 4-Jan 3-May 119
Connecticut 9-Jan 5-Jun 147
Delaware 8-Jan 30-Jun 173
Florida 5-Mar 3-May 59
Georgia 14-Jan 1-Apr 77
Hawaii 16-Jan 2-May 106
Idaho 7-Jan 1-Apr 84
Illinois 9-Jan 31-Dec 356
Indiana 3-Jan 29-Apr 116
Iowa 14-Jan 3-May 109
Kansas 14-Jan 15-May 121
Kentucky 8-Jan 29-Mar 80
Louisiana 8-Apr 6-Jun 59
Maine 2-Jan 19-Jun 168
Maryland 9-Jan 8-Apr 89
Massachusetts 2-Jan 31-Dec 363
Michigan 9-Jan 31-Dec 356
Minnesota 8-Jan 20-May 132
Mississippi 8-Jan 7-Apr 89
Missouri 9-Jan 17-May 128
Montana 7-Jan 1-May 114
Nebraska 9-Jan 6-Jun 148
Nevada 4-Feb 3-Jun 119
New Hampshire 2-Jan 30-Jun 179
New Jersey 9-Jan 31-Dec 356
New Mexico 15-Jan 16-Mar 60
New York 9-Jan 31-Dec 356
North Carolina 9-Jan 15-Jul 187
North Dakota 3-Jan 26-Apr 113
Ohio 2-Jan 31-Dec 363
Oklahoma 4-Feb 31-May 116
Oregon 22-Jan 30-Jun 159
Pennsylvania 1-Jan 31-Dec 364
Rhode Island 1-Jan 15-Jul 195
South Carolina 8-Jan 9-May 121
South Dakota 8-Jan 29-Mar 80

Table 3: State Legislative Sessions by State, 2018
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Tennessee 8-Jan 30-Apr 112
Texas 8-Jan 27-May 139
Utah 28-Jan 14-Mar 45
Vermont 9-Jan 15-May 126
Virginia 9-Jan 10-Mar 60
Washington 14-Jan 28-Apr 104
West Virginia 9-Jan 9-Mar 59
Wisconsin 7-Jan 31-Dec 358
Wyoming 8-Jan 1-Mar 52

Source: http://www.ncsl.org/research/about-state-
legislatures/2018-state-legislative-session-calendar.aspx 
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Table 4: State Legislature Composition by State, 2018

State Total Seats Total Senate Total House
Alabama 140 35 105

Alaska 60 20 40

Arizona 90 30 60

Arkansas 135 35 100

California 120 40 80

Colorado 100 35 65

Connecticut 187 36 151

Delaware 62 21 41

Florida 160 40 120

Georgia 236 56 180

Hawaii 76 25 51

Idaho 105 35 70

Illinois 177 59 118

Indiana 150 50 100

Iowa 150 50 100

Kansas 165 40 125

Kentucky 138 38 100

Louisiana 144 39 105

Maine 186 35 151

Maryland 188 47 141

Massachusetts 200 40 160

Michigan 148 38 110

Minnesota 201 67 134

Mississippi 174 52 122

Missouri 197 34 163

Montana 150 50 100

Nebraska1 49 49 0

Nevada 63 21 42

New Hampshire 424 24 400

New Jersey 120 40 80

New Mexico 112 42 70

New York 213 63 150

North Carolina 170 50 120

North Dakota 141 47 94

Ohio 132 33 99

Oklahoma 149 48 101

Oregon 90 30 60

Pennsylvania 253 50 203

Rhode Island 113 38 75

South Carolina 170 46 124

South Dakota 105 35 70
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Tennessee 132 33 99

Texas 181 31 150

Utah 104 29 75

Vermont 180 30 150

Virginia 140 40 100

Washington 147 49 98

West Virginia 134 34 100

Wisconsin 132 33 99

Wyoming 90 30 60
1  Unicameral

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures, 2018 State and Legislative Partisan 
Composition
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Table 5: Legislative Session Per Diem Rates - All States, 2019

State
Urban Per 

Diem
Rural Per 

Diem

Urban Per 
Diem 
Rank

Rural Per 
Diem 
Rank Mileage

Alabama 100.00$   100.00$   33            39            58/mile

Alaska 322.00$   322.00$   1              1              58/mile

Arizona 35.00$     60.00$     42            42            58/mile

Arkansas 55.00$     149.00$   37            22            58/mile

California 201.00$   201.00$   5              6              53/mile

Colorado 45.00$     171.00$   40            12            52/mile

Connecticut -$         -$         44            44            58/mile

Delaware -$         -$         44            44            40/mile

Florida 163.00$   (V) 163.00$   (V) 14            16            44.5/mile

Georgia 173.00$   (U) 173.00$   (U) 10            11            58/mile

Hawaii (a) 225.00$   225.00$   2              3              

Idaho 55.00$     (U) 139.00$   (U) 37            30            58/mile

Illinois 111.00$   111.00$   30            36            39/mile

Indiana 181.00$   (U) 181.00$   (U) 6              7              58/mile

Iowa 169.00$   (U) 169.00$   (U) 12            14            39/mile

Kansas 149.00$   149.00$   19            22            58/mile

Kentucky 163.90$   163.90$   13            15            58/mile

Louisiana 161.00$   (U) 161.00$   (U) 15            18            58/mile

Maine 70.00$     70.00$     34            41            44/mile

Maryland 156.00$   156.00$   17            20            58/mile

Massachusetts (b) -$         -$         44            44            

Michigan 30.42$     (V) 30.42$     (V) 43            43            58/mile

Minnesota 66.00$     86.00$     35            40            58/mile

Mississippi 149.00$   (U) 149.00$   (U) 19            22            58/mile

Missouri 119.00$   119.00$   28            35            37.5/mile

Montana 120.11$   120.11$   26            33            58/mile

Nebraska 55.00$     149.00$   37            22            58/mile

Nevada (c) 149.00$   149.00$   19            22            

New Hampshire (d) -$         -$         44            44            

New Jersey -$         -$         44            44            None

New Mexico 161.00$   161.00$   15            18            58/mile

New York 174.00$   174.00$   9              10            58/mile

North Carolina 104.00$   (U) 104.00$   (U) 32            38            29/mile

North Dakota 177.00$   177.00$   7              8              54/mile

Ohio (e) -$         -$         44            44            52/mile

Oklahoma 156.00$   (U) 156.00$   (U) 17            20            58/mile

Oregon 149.00$   149.00$   19            22            58/mile

Pennsylvania 177.00$   177.00$   7              8              58/mile

Rhode Island -$         -$         44            44            54.5/mile

South Carolina 170.00$   170.00$   11            13            58/mile

South Dakota (f) 149.00$   (L)(U) 149.00$   (L)(U) 19            22             
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Tennessee 61.00$     240.00$   36            2              47/mile

Texas 221.00$   221.00$   3              4              58/mile

Utah 45.00$     145.00$   40            29            54/mile

Vermont 126.00$   126.00$   25            32            58/mile

Virginia 213.00$   213.00$   4              5              58/mile

Washington 120.00$   120.00$   27            34            58/mile

West Virginia 131.00$   (U) 131.00$   (U) 24            31            48.5/mile

Wisconsin 115.00$   162.00$   29            17            51/mile

Wyoming 109.00$   (V) 109.00$   (V) 31            37            58/mile
(L) = Legislative day;  (C) = Calendar Day

(V) = Vouchered; (U) = Unvouchered

Source: http://www.ncsl.org/research/about-state-legislatures/2019-legislator-compensation.aspx

(f) South Dakota. One trip is paid at 5/mile and the remaining are paid at 42/mile.

(a) Hawaii. Members may claim a mileage reimbursement for reasonable and necessary use of a personal automobile 
in the conduct of official legislative business and discharge of duties when meeting certain criteria. (b) 
Massachussetts. Legislators are no lon

(b) Massachussetts. Legislators are no longer reimbursed for mileage. Instead legislators receive an office expense 
stiped of $16,248 for legislators that live 50 miles or less from the state house and $21,664 for members who live 
more than 50 miles - this stipend can be used for travel expenses.
(c) Nevada. Travel allowance is $10,000 for a regular session - can be used for travel to and from the capital or 
elsewhere within the State on legislative business and $1,200 for a special session. Additional travel allowance is 
$5,000 for a regular session.
(d) New Hampshire. Round trip home to and from the statehouse at either a) 38/mile for the first 45 miles and 
19/mile thereafter, or b) reimbursed for round trip mileage at the federal rate; or when on other business, members 
may be reimbursed for actual expenses and mileage will be paid at the federal rate.

(e) Ohio. One roundtrip per wk from home to the statehouse for legislators outside Franklin County only.
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Table 6: State Legislator Salaries and Per Diem Rates - All States, 2019

State

Session 
Days (C) 

2011

Daily 

Salary1

Daily 
Salary 
Rank

Daily Salary + 
Urban Per 

Diem

Hourly Wage 
+ Hourly 

Urban Per 
Diem

Hourly 
Wage + 
Urban 

Area Per 
Diem 
Rank

Total Daily 
Salary + 

Rural Area 
Per Diem

Hourly Wage 
+ Hourly 

Rural Area 
Per Diem

Hourly 
Wage + 
Rural 

Area Per 
Diem 
Rank

(Table 2) (Table 2)

Alabama $48,123 $0.00 100.00$   $0.00 100.00$   $0.00 105 $458.31 7             $558.31 $69.79 8             $558.31 $69.79 8             
Alaska $50,400 $0.00 322.00$   $0.00 322.00$   $0.00 89 $566.29 3             $888.29 $111.04 1             $888.29 $111.04 1             
Arizona $24,000 $0.00 35.00$     $0.00 60.00$     $0.00 106 $226.42 24           $261.42 $32.68 36           $286.42 $35.80 32           
Arkansas $41,394 $0.00 55.00$     $0.00 149.00$   $0.00 59 $701.59 1             $756.59 $94.57 3             $850.59 $106.32 2             
California $110,459 $0.00 201.00$   $0.00 201.00$   $0.00 242 $456.44 8             $657.44 $82.18 6             $657.44 $82.18 6             
Colorado $40,242 $0.00 45.00$     $0.00 171.00$   $0.00 119 $338.17 11           $383.17 $47.90 21           $509.17 $63.65 10           
Connecticut $28,000 $0.00 -$         $0.00 -$         $0.00 147 $190.48 29           $190.48 $23.81 41           $190.48 $23.81 42           
Delaware $46,291 $0.00 -$         $0.00 -$         $0.00 173 $267.58 18           $267.58 $33.45 33           $267.58 $33.45 35           
Florida $29,697 $0.00 163.00$   (V) 163.00$   (V) 59 $503.34 5             $666.34 $83.29 5             $666.34 $83.29 5             
Georgia $17,342 $0.00 173.00$   (U) 173.00$   (U) 77 $225.22 25           $398.22 $49.78 20           $398.22 $49.78 23           
Hawaii $62,604 $0.00 225.00$   $0.00 225.00$   $0.00 106 $590.60 2             $815.60 $101.95 2             $815.60 $101.95 3             
Idaho $17,879 $0.00 55.00$     (U) 139.00$   (U) 84 $212.85 27           $267.85 $33.48 32           $351.85 $43.98 26           
Illinois $65,836 $0.00 111.00$   $0.00 111.00$   $0.00 356 $184.93 31           $295.93 $36.99 27           $295.93 $36.99 30           
Indiana $26,490 $0.00 181.00$   (U) 181.00$   (U) 116 $228.36 23           $409.36 $51.17 16           $409.36 $51.17 20           
Iowa $25,000 $0.00 169.00$   (U) 169.00$   (U) 109 $229.36 22           $398.36 $49.79 19           $398.36 $49.79 22           
Kansas $0 $88.66 (C) 149.00$   $0.00 149.00$   $0.00 121 $88.66 42           $237.66 $29.71 39           $237.66 $29.71 39           
Kentucky $0 $188.22 163.90$   $0.00 163.90$   $0.00 80 $188.22 30           $352.12 $44.02 23           $352.12 $44.02 25           
Louisiana $19,800 $0.00 161.00$   (U) 161.00$   (U) 59 $335.59 12           $496.59 $62.07 10           $496.59 $62.07 11           
Maine $10,131 $0.00 70.00$     $0.00 70.00$     $0.00 168 $60.30 47           $130.30 $16.29 48           $130.30 $16.29 48           
Maryland $50,330 $0.00 156.00$   $0.00 156.00$   $0.00 89 $565.51 4             $721.51 $90.19 4             $721.51 $90.19 4             
Massachusetts $66,257 $0.00 -$         $0.00 -$         $0.00 363 $182.53 32           $182.53 $22.82 42           $182.53 $22.82 43           
Michigan $82,485 $0.00 30.42$     (V) 30.42$     (V) 356 $231.70 21           $262.12 $32.76 35           $262.12 $32.76 36           
Minnesota $45,000 $0.00 66.00$     $0.00 86.00$     $0.00 132 $340.91 9             $406.91 $50.86 17           $426.91 $53.36 17           
Mississippi $23,500 $0.00 149.00$   (U) 149.00$   (U) 89 $264.04 19           $413.04 $51.63 15           $413.04 $51.63 19           
Missouri $35,915 $0.00 119.00$   $0.00 119.00$   $0.00 128 $280.59 17           $399.59 $49.95 18           $399.59 $49.95 21           
Montana $0 $92.46 (L) 120.11$   $0.00 120.11$   $0.00 114 $92.46 41           $212.57 $26.57 40           $212.57 $26.57 41           
Nebraska $12,000 $0.00 55.00$     $0.00 149.00$   $0.00 148 $81.08 45           $136.08 $17.01 47           $230.08 $28.76 40           
Nevada $0 $150.17 (C) 149.00$   $0.00 149.00$   $0.00 119 $150.17 35           $299.17 $37.40 26           $299.17 $37.40 29           
New Hampshire $100 $0.00 -$         $0.00 -$         $0.00 179 $0.56 49           $0.56 $0.07 50           $0.56 $0.07 50           
New Jersey $49,000 $0.00 -$         $0.00 -$         $0.00 356 $137.64 40           $137.64 $17.21 46           $137.64 $17.21 47           
New Mexico $0 $0.00 161.00$   $0.00 161.00$   $0.00 60 $0.00 50           $161.00 $20.13 45           $161.00 $20.13 46           
New York $110,000 $0.00 174.00$   $0.00 174.00$   $0.00 356 $308.99 13           $482.99 $60.37 11           $482.99 $60.37 12           
North Carolina $13,951 $0.00 104.00$   (U) 104.00$   (U) 187 $74.60 46           $178.60 $22.33 43           $178.60 $22.33 44           
North Dakota $0 $177.00 (C) 177.00$   $0.00 177.00$   $0.00 113 $177.00 33           $354.00 $44.25 22           $354.00 $44.25 24           
Ohio $63,007 $0.00 -$         $0.00 -$         $0.00 363 $173.57 34           $173.57 $21.70 44           $173.57 $21.70 45           
Oklahoma $35,021 $0.00 156.00$   (U) 156.00$   (U) 116 $301.91 14           $457.91 $57.24 13           $457.91 $57.24 14           
Oregon $31,200 $0.00 149.00$   $0.00 149.00$   $0.00 159 $196.23 28           $345.23 $43.15 24           $345.23 $43.15 27           
Pennsylvania $88,610 $0.00 177.00$   $0.00 177.00$   $0.00 364 $243.43 20           $420.43 $52.55 14           $420.43 $52.55 18           
Rhode Island $15,959 $0.00 -$         $0.00 -$         $0.00 195 $81.84 44           $81.84 $10.23 49           $81.84 $10.23 49           
South Carolina $10,400 $0.00 170.00$   $0.00 170.00$   $0.00 121 $85.95 43           $255.95 $31.99 38           $255.95 $31.99 38           
South Dakota $11,379 $0.00 149.00$   (L)(U) 149.00$   (L)(U) 80 $142.24 39           $291.24 $36.40 28           $291.24 $36.40 31           
Tennessee $24,316 $0.00 61.00$     $0.00 240.00$   $0.00 112 $217.11 26           $278.11 $34.76 29           $457.11 $57.14 15           
Texas $7,200 $0.00 221.00$   $0.00 221.00$   $0.00 139 $51.80 48           $272.80 $34.10 30           $272.80 $34.10 33           
Utah $0 $285.00 (C) 45.00$     $0.00 145.00$   $0.00 45 $285.00 16           $330.00 $41.25 25           $430.00 $53.75 16           
Vermont $0 $146.60 (C) 126.00$   $0.00 126.00$   $0.00 126 $146.60 38           $272.60 $34.08 31           $272.60 $34.08 34           
Virginia $17,820 $0.00 213.00$   $0.00 213.00$   $0.00 60 $297.00 15           $510.00 $63.75 9             $510.00 $63.75 9             
Washington $48,731 $0.00 120.00$   $0.00 120.00$   $0.00 104 $468.57 6             $588.57 $73.57 7             $588.57 $73.57 7             
West Virginia $20,000 $0.00 131.00$   (U) 131.00$   (U) 59 $338.98 10           $469.98 $58.75 12           $469.98 $58.75 13           
Wisconsin $52,999 $0.00 115.00$   $0.00 162.00$   $0.00 358 $148.04 37           $263.04 $32.88 34           $310.04 $38.76 28           
Wyoming $0 $150.00 (L) 109.00$   (V) 109.00$   (V) 52 $150.00 36           $259.00 $32.38 37           $259.00 $32.38 37           

Quartile 1 $32.09 $32.09

Median $39.32 $44.00

Average $45.13 $47.05

Quartile 3 $56.07 $58.37

Maximum $111.04 $111.04

1 Calculations based on eight hours per day.

Urban Per Diem
Rural Area Per 

DiemAnnual Salary

(Table 2)

Daily Salary

(Table 2) (Table 5)

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures, 2019 Legislator Compensation and Living Expense Allowances During Session, 2017 Legislative Sessions Calendar

(Table 5)
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Table 7: Legislator Compensation - Western States, 2019

State
Annual 
Salary

Daily 
Salary

Hourly 

Wage1

Hourly 
Wage + 
Hourly 

Urban Per 
Diem

Hourly 
Wage + 
Hourly 

Rural Per 
Diem

Hourly 
Wage + 
Hourly 

Urban Per 
Diem 

National 
Rank

Hourly 
Wage + 
Hourly 

Rural Per 
Diem 

National 
Rank

Hourly 
Wage + 
Hourly 

Urban Per 
Diem 

Western 
Rank

Hourly 
Wage + 
Hourly 

Rural Per 
Diem 

Western 
Rank

(Table 2) (Table 2) (Table 2) (Table 6) (Table 6)

Arizona $24,000 $28.30 $32.68 (V) $35.80 (V) 36               8                  8 8

California $110,459 $57.06 $82.18 $82.18 6                  6                  1 1

Colorado $40,242 $42.27 $47.90 (V) $63.65 (V) 21               10               3 3

Idaho $17,879 $26.61 $33.48 (V) $43.98 (V) 32               26               7 5

Montana $92.46 (L) $11.56 $26.57 (U) $26.57 (U) 40               41               10 10

Nevada $150.17 (C) $18.77 $37.40 (U) $37.40 (U) 26               29               6 7

New Mexico $0.00 $20.13 (V) $20.13 (V) 45               46               11 11

Oregon $31,200 $24.53 $43.15 (U) $43.15 (U) 24               27               4 6

Utah $285.00 (C) $35.63 $41.25 (U) $53.75 (U) 25               16               5 4

Washington $48,731 $58.57 $73.57 $73.57 7                  7                  2 2

Wyoming $150.00 (L) $18.75 $32.38 (V) $32.38 (V) 37               37               9 9

(L) = Legislative day;  (C) = Calendar Day

(V) = Vouchered; (U) = Unvouchered

1  Calculations based on eight hours per day.
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Table 8: Legislator Compensation - States with Citizen Legislatures, 2019

State
Annual 
Salary

Daily 
Salary

Hourly 

Wage1

Hourly 
Wage + 
Hourly 

Urban Per 
Diem

Hourly 
Wage + 
Hourly 

Rural Per 
Diem

Hourly Wage 
Citizen 

Legislature 
Rank

Hourly 
Wage + 
Hourly 

Urban Per 
Diem 

National 
Rank

Hourly 
Wage + 
Hourly 

Rural Per 
Diem 

National 
Rank

Hourly Wage + 
Hourly Urban 

Per Diem 
Citizen 

Legislature 
Rank

Hourly Wage + 
Hourly Rural 

Per Diem 
Citizen 

Legislature 
Rank

Traditional Citizen Legislatures
(Table 2) (Table 2) (Table 2) (Table 6) (Table 6)

Montana $92.46 (L) $11.56 $26.57 (U) $26.57 (U) 12 40            41            13 13

New Hampshire $100 $0.07 $0.07 $0.07 16 50            50            17 17

North Dakota $177.00 (C) $22.13 $44.25 (V) $44.25 (V) 7 22            24            5 6

South Dakota $11,379 $17.78 $36.40 (U) $36.40 (U) 11 28            31            8 9

Utah $285.00 (C) $35.63 $41.25 (U) $53.75 (U) 2 25            16            6 2

Wyoming $150.00 (L) $18.75 $32.38 (V) $32.38 (V) 9 37            37            11 11

Slightly Less Traditional Citizen Legislatures

Georgia $17,342 $28.15 $49.78 (U) $49.78 (U) 5 20            23            4 5

Idaho $17,879 $26.61 $33.48 (V) $43.98 (V) 6 32            26            10 7

Indiana $26,490 $28.55 $51.17 (U) $51.17 (U) 4 16            20            3 4

Kansas $88.66 (C) $11.08 $29.71 (U) $29.71 (U) 13 39            39            12 12

Maine $10,131 $7.54 $16.29 $16.29 15 48            48            15 15

Mississippi $23,500 $33.01 $51.63 (U) $51.63 (U) 3 15            19            2 3

Nevada $150.17 (C) $18.77 $37.40 (U) $37.40 (U) 8 26            29            7 8

New Mexico $0.00 $20.13 (V) $20.13 (V) 17 45            46            14 14

Rhode Island $15,959 $10.23 $10.23 $10.23 14 49            49            16 16

Vermont $146.60 (C) $18.33 $34.08 $34.08 10 31            34            9 10

West Virginia $20,000 $42.37 $58.75 (U) $58.75 (U) 1 12            13            1 1

(L) = Legislative day;  (C) = Calendar Day

(V) = Vouchered; (U) = Unvouchered

1  Calculations based on eight hours per day.
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Table 9: Additional Compensation for House/Assembly Leaders by State, 2019

State Presiding Officer Majority Leaders Minority Leaders

Alabama $18,000 a year None None

Alaska $500 a year None None

Arizona (a) (a) (a)

Arkansas $5,883 a year None None

California $16,567 a year  $8,284 a year $16,567 a year

Colorado (b) (b) (b)

Connecticut $10,689 a year $8,835 a year $8,835 a year

Delaware $19,893 a year $12,376 a year $12,376 a year

Florida $11,484 a year None None

Georgia $6,811 a month $200 a month $200 a month

Hawaii $7,500 a year None None

Idaho $5,000 a year 2000 a year $2,000 a year

Illinois $27,477 a year $23,230 a year $27,277 a year

Indiana No Response No Response No Response

Iowa $12,500 a year $12,500 a year $12,500 a year

Kansas $14,039 a year $12,665 a year $12,665 a year

Kentucky $47.35 a day $37.40 a day $37.40 a day

Louisiana $15,200 a year None None

Maine 50% of base salary 25% of base salary 12.5% of base salary

Maryland $15,041 a year None None

Massachusetts $86,656 a year $64,992 a year $64,992 a year

Michigan $24,300 a year None $19,800 a year

Minnesota $18,00 a year $18,00 a year $18,00 a year

Mississippi No Response No Response No Response

Missouri $2,500 a year $1,500 a year $1,500 a year

Montana $5 a day during session None None

Nebraska N/A—Unicameral legislature  

Nevada $2 a day None None

New Hampshire $50 a 2-year term. None None

New Jersey $16,333 a year None None

New Mexico None None None

New York No Response No Response No Response

North Carolina $24,200 a year $3,097 a year $3,097 a year

North Dakota $15 a day during session $15 a day during session $15 a day during session

Ohio $35,207 a year $21,403 a year majority floor 
leader.

$26,605 a year

Oklahoma $16,354 a year $11,276 a year $11,276 a year

Oregon $2,600 a month None None

Pennsylvania No Response No Response No Response

Rhode Island $15,959 a year None None

South Carolina $11,000 a year None None

South Dakota None None None

Tennessee $48,632 a year None None
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Texas No Response No Response No Response

Utah $5,000 a year $4,000 a year $4,000 a year

Vermont $482.50 bi-weekly None None

Virginia $18,681 a year None None

Washington $8,000 a year None $4,000 a year

West Virginia $150 a day during session. $50 a day during session. $50 a day during session

Wisconsin $25 a month None None

Wyoming $3 a day None None

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures, 2019.

Notes:

(a) Arizona. Generally approved for additional interim per diem.

(b) Colorado. All leaders receive $99 a day salary during interim when in attendance at committee or leadership matters.
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Table 10: Additional Compensation for Senate Leaders by State, 2019

State Presiding Officers Majority Leaders Minority Leaders

Alabama Lieutenant gov holds this position. None None

Alaska $500 a year None None
Arizona (a) (a) (a)
Arkansas Lieutenant gov holds this position. None None

California Lieutenant gov holds this position. None None

Colorado (b) (b) (b)
Connecticut Lieutenant gov holds this position. $8,835 a year $8,835 a year
Delaware Lieutenant gov holds this position. $12,376 a year $12,376 a year
Florida $11,484 a year None None
Georgia Lieutenant gov holds this position. $200 a month $200 a month
Hawaii $7,500 a year None None
Idaho $5,000 a year $2,000 $2,000

Illinois $27,477 a year $20,650 a year $27,477 a year
Indiana Lieutenant gov holds this position. $5,500 a year for majority floor leader $6,000 a year minority floor leader

Iowa $12,500 a year 12,500 a year $12,500 a year
Kansas $14,039 a year $12,665 a year  $12,665 a year
Kentucky $47.35 a day $37.40 a day $37.40 a day
Louisiana $15,200 a year None None
Maine 50% of base salary a year 25% of base salary a year 12.5% of base salary a year
Maryland $15,041 a year None None
Massachusetts $86,656 a year $64,992 a year $64,992 a year
Michigan No Response No Response No Response

Minnesota $3,600 a year $18,000 a year $18,000 a year
Mississippi $5,000 a month None None
Missouri Lieutenant gov holds this position. $1,500 a year $1,500 a year
Montana $5 a day during session None None
Nebraska Lieutenant gov holds this position. None None

Nevada Lieutenant gov holds this position. None None

New Hampshire $50 a 2 year term None None
New Jersey $16,333 a year None None
New Mexico Lieutenant gov holds this position. None None
New York No Response No Response No Response

North Carolina Lieutenant gov holds this position. $3,097 a year $3,097 a year

North Dakota Lieutenant gov holds this position. $15 a day during legislative sessions $15 a day during legislative sessions
Ohio $35,207 a year None $26,605 a year

Oklahoma No Response No Response No Response

Oregon $2,600 a month None None
Pennsylvania Lieutenant gov holds this position. $39,745 a year $39,745 a year
Rhode Island $15,959 a year None None
South Carolina Lieutenant gov holds this position None None
South Dakota Lieutenant gov holds this position. None None

Tennessee None None None
Texas No Response No Response No Response

Utah $5,000 a year $4,000 a year $4,000 a year
Vermont Lieutenant gov holds this position. None None

Virginia None None None
Washington Lieutenant gov holds this position $9,259 a year $4,629 a year

West Virginia $150 a day during session. $50 a day during session $50 a day during session

Wisconsin None None None
Wyoming $3 a day None None
Source: 

(a) Arizona. Generally approved for additional interim per diem.

(b) Colorado. All leaders receive $99 a day salary during interim when in attendance at committee or leadership matters.
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Table 11: Utah Legislative Compensation History

Year
Daily 
Rate

President and  
Speaker Pay

Leadershi
p Pay

Leadershi
p Pay

Lodging 
Expense

Meals & 
Incidental 

Expenses1

Majority/Mino
rity Leaders

Others

1980 $25 $0 $0 n/a $15
1981 $25 $0 $0 n/a $15
1982 $25 $0 $0 n/a $25
1983 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1984 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1985 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1986 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1987 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1988 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1989 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1990 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1991 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1992 $65 $1,000 $500 n/a $25
1993 $85 $1,000 $500 n/a $35
1994 $85 $1,000 $500 n/a $35
1995 $85 $1,000 $500 n/a $35
1996 $85 $1,000 $500 n/a $35
1997 $100 $1,000 $500 $68 $35
1998 $100 $1,000 $500 $83 $38
1999 $100 $1,000 $500 $76 $42
2000 $100 $1,000 $500 $75 $42
2001 $120 $2,500 $1,500 $75 $42
2002 $120/$100 $2,500 $1,500 $75 $42
2003 $120 $2,500 $1,500 $75 $38
2004 $120 $2,500 $1,500 $80 $39
2005 $120 $2,500 $1,500 $79 $39
2006 $120 $2,500 $1,500 $79 $39
2007 $130 $3,000 $2,000 $78 $54
2008 $130 $3,000 $2,000 $90 $54
2009 $130 $3,000 $2,000 $116 $54
2010 $117 $3,000 $2,000 $106 $61
2011 $117 $3,000 $2,000 $95 $61
2012 $117 $3,000 $2,000 $95 $61
2013 $273 $3,000 $2,000 $95 $39
2014 $273 $5,000 $4,000 $3,000 $100 $40
2015 $273 $5,000 $4,000 $3,000 $100 $40
2016 $273 $5,000 $4,000 $3,000 $100 $40
2017 $273 $5,000 $4,000 $3,000 $100 $42
2018 $273 $5,000 $4,000 $3,000 $100 $42
2019 $285 $5,000 $4,000 $3,000 $100 $45

1 Tied to Federal Rates
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Table 12: Utah Legislator Compensation

Title Employee_Name Meeting Pay1
Leasership Special Pay2

Lodging Meal Mileage3 Benefits4
Total Compensation

Representative Acton,  Cheryl 17,253 0 1,214 0 0 0 15,528 33,994

Representative Albrecht,  Carl 17,265 0 0 1,459 934 2,969 10,045 32,672

Representative Andersen,  Kyle 15,615 0 2,303 0 0 0 4,913 22,831

Representative Arent,  Patrice 19,461 0 1,006 0 0 0 10,573 31,040

Representative Ballard,  Melissa 14,250 0 590 0 0 0 13,775 28,615

Representative Barlow,  Stewart 15,603 0 886 0 0 0 14,618 31,107

Representative Brammer,  Brady 14,250 0 1,678 0 0 0 13,576 29,504

Representative Briscoe,  Joel 25,005 0 530 0 0 343 8,565 34,443

Representative Brooks,  Walter 15,876 0 0 6,103 319 1,944 15,938 40,181

Representative Chew,  Scott 15,603 0 0 5,620 305 3,228 4,713 29,470

Representative Christofferson,  Kay 18,096 0 2,111 0 0 0 15,667 35,874

Representative Dailey-Provost,  Jennifer 13,395 0 290 0 0 0 9,061 22,745

Representative Daw,  Bradley 17,502 0 2,437 0 0 0 11,759 31,699

Representative Duckworth,  Susan 17,241 0 884 0 0 0 4,754 22,879

Representative Dunnigan,  James 22,299 0 964 0 0 0 8,377 31,641

Representative Eliason,  Steven 19,151 0 1,553 0 0 0 10,724 31,428

Representative Fitzpatrick,  Kim 18,096 0 1,162 0 0 0 1,608 20,866

Representative Ferry,  Joel 13,965 0 0 1,159 252 1,669 12,898 29,943

Representative Gibson,  Francis 17,301 4,000 48 0 41 3,461 10,801 35,652

Representative Hall Jr,  Heber 19,212 0 1,074 0 0 0 10,498 30,784

Representative Handy,  Stephen 16,149 0 1,466 0 0 0 9,640 27,255

Representative Harrison,  Suzanne 14,250 0 1,201 0 0 0 4,143 19,594

Representative Hawkes,  Timothy 15,864 0 638 0 0 0 13,565 30,066

Representative Hawkins,  Jonathan 13,965 0 1,848 0 0 0 4,433 20,246

Representative Hollins,  Sandra 18,879 0 427 0 0 129 5,391 24,826

Representative Hutchings,  Eric 17,799 0 1,391 0 0 0 11,148 30,338

Representative Johnson,  Dan 14,250 0 0 4,336 253 1,008 1,190 21,037

Representative Judkins,  Marsha 16,161 0 1,333 0 0 0 13,103 30,597

Representative King,  Brian 20,019 4,000 633 0 0 0 12,024 36,676

Representative Kwan,  Karen 17,835 3,000 760 0 0 0 5,373 26,968

Representative Last,  Bradley 16,707 3,000 0 6,178 319 626 10,656 37,487

Representative Lisonbee,  Karianne 16,149 0 1,475 0 0 0 4,704 22,329

Representative Lyman,  Phillip 14,250 0 0 5,235 521 3,515 10,183 33,704

Representative Maloy,  Albert 15,876 0 1,825 0 0 0 5,615 23,316

Representative Mckell,  Michael 16,980 0 0 0 305 2,703 15,349 35,337

Representative Miles,  Kelly 18,606 0 1,651 0 0 0 15,941 36,198

Representative Moss,  Carol 21,717 3,000 1,178 0 0 0 8,811 34,706

Representative Moss,  Jefferson 18,357 0 1,835 0 0 0 5,361 25,553

Representative Musselman,  Calvin 14,250 0 1,693 0 0 0 14,361 30,304

Representative Nelson,  Merrill 15,876 0 1,884 0 0 0 1,637 19,397

Representative Owens,  Derrin 15,591 0 0 5,096 306 1,914 10,320 33,227

Representative Peterson,  Val 17,562 3,000 2,378 0 0 0 10,404 33,344

Representative Pitcher,  Stephanie 14,250 0 400 0 0 0 10,864 25,514

Representative Potter,  Val 21,087 0 0 5,381 605 2,341 6,521 35,935

Representative Poulson,  Marie 21,693 0 1,184 0 0 0 8,268 31,145

Representative Pulsipher,  Susan 17,799 0 1,108 0 0 0 8,228 27,135

Representative Quinn,  David 17,301 0 64 780 470 3,534 15,713 37,861

Representative Ray,  Paul 21,348 0 1,660 0 0 303 10,876 34,187

Representative Roberts,  Marc 16,458 0 0 0 291 3,382 15,201 35,332

Representative Robertson,  Adam 15,876 0 1,264 0 0 0 14,028 31,168

Representative Romero,  Angela 19,758 3,000 532 0 0 0 8,582 31,872

Representative Sagers,  Douglas 16,149 0 1,932 0 0 0 8,878 26,959

Representative Schultz,  Michael 19,794 3,000 2,324 0 0 380 15,078 40,576

Representative Seegmiller,  Travis 15,888 0 46 5,563 307 1,624 14,221 37,649

Representative Shipp,  Rex 14,250 0 0 4,610 368 2,722 14,250 36,199

Representative Shurtliff,  Lawanna 14,250 0 1,498 0 0 0 1,866 17,613

Representative Snider,  Casey 15,627 0 0 4,637 311 1,487 13,977 36,039

Representative Snow,  Vanburen 19,188 0 0 5,985 305 2,141 1,602 29,220

Representative Spendlove,  Robert 17,835 0 1,096 0 0 0 11,845 30,776

Representative Stenquist,  Jeffrey 14,250 0 1,204 0 0 0 11,015 26,469

Representative Stoddard,  Andrew 13,680 0 847 0 0 0 3,952 18,478

Representative Stratton,  Keven 17,241 0 2,468 0 0 0 14,100 33,809

Representative Strong,  Mark 14,250 0 1,248 0 0 0 12,963 28,461

Representative Waldrip,  Andrew 14,250 0 2,256 0 0 56 13,570 30,133

Representative Ward,  Raymond 18,333 0 749 0 0 238 15,230 34,549

Representative Watkins,  Christine 16,125 0 0 4,318 14 2,317 1,876 24,650

Representative Weight,  Elizabeth 18,381 0 1,164 0 0 0 1,632 21,177

Representative Wheatley,  Mark 22,239 0 930 0 0 0 8,576 31,745

Representative Wilde,  Richard 16,149 0 -14 0 305 2,464 13,573 32,477

Representative Wilson,  Bradley 16,968 5,000 1,071 0 0 0 10,935 33,974

Representative Winder,  Michael 18,060 0 965 0 0 0 2,536 21,561

Representative Perry,  Lee 16,992 0 0 377 319 2,407 1,419 21,515

Representative Thurston,  Norman 19,746 0 373 0 0 0 12,913 33,032

SENATOR Adams,  J. 19,437 5,000 1,499 0 0 0 8,777 34,713

SENATOR Anderegg,  Jacob 22,560 0 2,496 0 0 0 17,799 42,855

SENATOR Bramble,  Curtis 17,028 0 0 0 0 1,771 10,424 29,223

SENATOR Buxton,  David 18,369 0 1,035 0 0 0 1,620 21,023

SENATOR Christensen,  Allen 18,060 0 2,202 0 0 222 8,341 28,826

SENATOR Cullimore,  Kirk 15,105 0 556 0 0 323 5,144 21,128
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SENATOR Davis,  William 23,367 0 434 0 0 546 5,227 29,574

SENATOR Escamilla,  Luz 20,328 3,000 311 0 0 0 10,974 34,613

SENATOR Fillmore,  Lincoln 20,934 0 1,278 0 0 0 16,561 38,773

SENATOR Grover,  Keith 16,161 0 1,312 2,160 0 0 11,490 31,123

SENATOR Harper,  Wayne 18,345 0 859 0 0 0 8,253 27,456

SENATOR Hemmert,  Daniel 15,579 3,000 1,933 0 0 0 15,341 35,853

SENATOR Henderson,  Deidre 16,422 0 0 0 0 1,197 16,109 33,728

SENATOR Hillyard,  Lyle 23,142 0 0 931 41 3,390 8,378 35,882

SENATOR Hinkins,  David 17,253 0 0 6,133 0 3,138 7,566 34,091

SENATOR Ipson,  Don 19,995 0 181 5,140 0 5,372 9,862 40,551

SENATOR Iwamoto,  Jani 20,601 3,000 791 0 0 0 12,662 37,053

SENATOR Kitchen,  Derek 13,965 3,000 109 0 0 0 12,048 29,122

SENATOR Mayne,  Karen 25,623 4,000 1,347 0 0 0 5,826 36,796

SENATOR McCay,  Daniel 16,731 0 1,295 0 0 0 4,854 22,880

SENATOR Millner,  F 17,823 3,000 1,444 930 0 0 9,459 32,656

SENATOR Okerlund,  Ralph 15,591 0 52 1,846 0 2,946 8,286 28,721

SENATOR Riebe,  Kathleen 13,122 0 693 0 0 0 1,167 14,983

SENATOR Sandall,  Scott 16,173 0 0 114 39 1,387 14,661 32,374

SENATOR Stevenson,  Jerry 17,229 3,000 1,270 0 0 0 8,153 29,652

SENATOR Thatcher,  Daniel 22,536 0 1,230 0 0 0 8,622 32,388

SENATOR Vickers,  Evan 17,823 4,000 0 2,126 0 5,616 8,460 38,025

SENATOR Weiler,  Todd 20,862 0 494 0 0 0 16,844 38,200

SENATOR Winterton,  Ronald 1,425 0 0 0 0 1,866 731 4,022

Totals 1,770,335 3,073,367

Average5
17,514 30,390

Median5
17,241 31,123

Max5
25,623 42,855

Low5
13,122 14,983

*All data represents FY2019 compensation
1Meeting Pay is the daily rate compensation, be it for session days, interim days, or days legislators attend other committees they are assigned to.
2Special Pay includes reimbursement items for mileage (if under 50 miles away), meal deduction and/or reimbursement.
3Mileage is reimbursement for miles traveled for legislators who live farther than 50 miles away from the capitol
4Benefits include funds paid for Workers Comp Ins, Unemployment Ins,  Social Security Tax, Medicare Tax, Telephone Reimbursements, Retirement Contributions, Professional Devlopment 
Pay, Long Term Disability, Life Insurance, Leave pool, 401(k) Match, Dental Insurance, Health Insurance, Health Savings Contributions, and Incentive Awards

5Value does not include data for Senator Winterton

Source: transparent.utah.gov
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