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PURP OSE  

In accordance with UCA 63J-1-504, an agency is to “submit its fee schedule . . . to the Legislature for its approval on an 
annual basis.”  The following fees are proposed by the Department of Human Services (DHS) for the services it provides. 

 

ESTIMATED REV ENUE COLLECTIONS  

These fees will generate an estimated $5,590,300 in FY 2021, which is $286,400 more than collection estimates for 
authorized fees in FY 2020.  The increase is due to:  

1. More background check applications; 
2. More recovery residence license renewals; 
3. Changes to the fees for rental of the theater on the Utah State Developmental Center property; 
4. More individuals paying for child support collections processing; and 
5. More individuals requesting assistance with child support payments by credit card. 

Five child support-related fees account for most of the total estimated collections and the increase from FY 2020 to FY 
2021: these fees account for $4,454,900 (or 80 percent) of total collections and $244,100 (or 88 percent) of the increase.  

Of the $5,192,700 actually collected from fees in FY 2019, $4,645,300 was retained by the department to support 
operations and $547,400 was remitted to the Division of Finance for General Fund purposes. 

 

CH ANG ES FOR FY  2021  

In accordance with action by the Social Services Appropriations Subcommittee as part of the 2019 Interim accountable 
budget process, the department reorganized the fee schedule for the Office of Licensing to improve clarity between initial 
and renewal fees.  This reorganization did not result in any change to fees or anticipated revenue. 

The department requests the following fee changes for FY 2021, all related to rental of the theater on the Utah State 
Developmental Center property: 

• Changes to existing fees: 
o Full Day - From $0.10 per square foot to $625 
o Hourly - From $0.0175 per square foot to $100 
o Half Day - From $0.07 per square foot to $360 

▪ The current fees (per square foot) allowed for partial rental of the theater spaces, but the 
department found that “the practice [was] not needed or practical.”  The department estimates 
that the changes will increase net revenue from these fees by $4,800 in FY 2021. 

•  New fee: 
o Equipment - $250 per use 

▪ The fee is for groups who chose to rent lighting and sound equipment as well as theater space.  
The department estimates that the fee will generate $5,000 in revenue per year, to be used 
toward replacement of the equipment as needed. 

The department held a public fee hearing on August 28, 2019.  No members of the public raised concerns. 
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LEG ISLATIV E ACTION  

After review, the Subcommittee may: 1) approve, 2) increase or decrease and approve, or 3) reject any fee. 

The Legislature will provide final approval to the fee schedule in H.B. 8, “State Agency Fees and Internal Service Fund Rate 

Authorization and Appropriations.” 

 

STATUTORY GUIDANCE FOR SETTING  FEES  

UCA 63J-1-504 states the following for setting fees: 

“(2) Each fee agency shall adopt a schedule of fees assessed for services provided by the fee agency that are: 

(a) reasonable, fair, and reflect the cost of services provided; and 

(b) established according to a cost formula determined by the executive director of the Governor's Office of 

Management and Budget and the director of the Division of Finance in conjunction with the agency seeking to 

establish the fee.” 

“(4) Each fee agency that is proposing a new fee or proposing to change a fee shall: 

(a) present each proposed fee at a public hearing.” 

 

 

PROP OSED FEES  FOR FY  2021 

The table on the next two pages shows the proposed fee rates.  Cells highlighted in orange show changes to fee amounts 
or quantities.  Strikeouts designate fees removed from the schedule since FY 2020. 
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Unit Fee Additional information
Old Fee
FY 20

New Fee
FY 21

Fee 
Change

Old 
Quantity

New 
Quantity

Revenue 
Change

Estimated FY21 
Revenue

Paper 0.25 0.25 0.00 1,000 1,000 0 250
Audio tape 5.00 5.00 0.00 20 20 0 100
Video tape 15.00 15.00 0.00 10 10 0 150
Mailing Actual cost 0.00 0.00 0.00 1 1 0 0

In another format (per hour) 25.00 25.00 0.00 10 10 0 250

If programmer/analyst assistance 
is required (per hour) 50.00 50.00 0.00 10 10 0 500

Initial license Any new Human Services program 900.00 0.00 (900.00) 165 0 (148,500) 0
Online Background Check 
Application Fee 5.00 5.00 0.00 20,000 26,000 30,000 130,000

Initial License Fee ‐ 0‐50 
consumers per program 0.00 900.00 900.00 0 2 1,800 1,800
Initial License Fee ‐ More than 50 
consumers 0.00 900.00 900.00 0 2 1,800 1,800
Renewal Fee ‐ 0‐50 consumers 
per program 300.00 300.00 0.00 8 8 0 2,400
Renewal Fee ‐ More than 50 
consumers 600.00 600.00 0.00 1 1 0 600
Per licensed capacity 9.00 9.00 0.00 250 250 0 2,250
Initial License Fee 0.00 900.00 900.00 0 1 900 900
Renewal Fee 750.00 750.00 0.00 20 20 0 15,000

Child Placing Foster 250.00 250.00 0.00 55 55 0 13,750
Initial License Fee 0.00 900.00 900.00 0 29 26,100 26,100
Renewal Fee 450.00 450.00 0.00 270 270 0 121,500
Initial License Fee 0.00 900.00 900.00 0 1 900 900
Renewal Fee 750.00 750.00 0.00 10 10 0 7,500
Per licensed capacity 9.00 9.00 0.00 900 900 0 8,100

Life Safety Pre‐inspection 600.00 600.00 0.00 50 50 0 30,000
Outdoor Youth Program Basic 1,408.00 1,408.00 0.00 12 12 0 16,896

Initial License Fee 0.00 900.00 900.00 0 72 64,800 64,800
Renewal Fee 300.00 300.00 0.00 460 460 0 138,000
Initial License Fee 1,295.00 1,295.00 0.00 30 30 0 38,850
Renewal Fee 500.00 500.00 0.00 75 80 2,500 40,000
Initial License Fee 0.00 900.00 900.00 0 24 21,600 21,600

Department	of	Human	Services	‐‐	Fees
FY	2021

Government 
Records Access 
Management 

Act 
(all DHS) Compiling and reporting 

EDO Licensing

Recovery Residences

Adult Day Care

Child Placing Adoption

Day Treatment

Intermediate Secure 
Treatment

Outpatient Treatment

Residential Support
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Renewal Fee 300.00 300.00 0.00 250 250 0 75,000
Initial License Fee 0.00 900.00 900.00 0 12 10,800 10,800
Renewal Fee 600.00 600.00 0.00 12 12 0 7,200
Initial License Fee 0.00 900.00 900.00 0 21 18,900 18,900
Renewal Fee 600.00 600.00 0.00 190 190 0 114,000
Per licensed capacity 9.00  9.00  0.00 3,900 3,900 0 35,100
Initial License Fee 0.00 900.00 900.00 0 1 900 900
Renewal Fee 600.00 600.00 0.00 7 7 0 4,200
Per licensed capacity 9.00 9.00 0.00 150 150 0 1,350
Photo Shoots (per 2 hours) 20.00 20.00 0.00 200 200 0 4,000
Groups of up to 50 people (per 
day) 75.00 75.00 0.00 20 20 0 1,500

Groups over 50 people (per day) 150.00 150.00 0.00 20 20 0 3,000
DSAMH Sub 

Abuse Services
Alcoholic Beverage Server

On Premise & Off Premise Sales 
Training 3.50 3.50 0.00 22,830 22,830 0 79,905
Full Day (per square foot) 0.10 625.00 624.90 68,000 12 700 7,500
Theater Technician (per hour) 20.00 20.00 0.00 160 10 (3,000) 200
Hourly (per square foot) 0.02 100.00 99.98 51,400 50 4,101 5,000
Half Day (per square foot) 0.07 360.00 359.93 60,000 20 3,000 7,200
Equipment 0.00 250.00 250.00 0 20 5,000 5,000

DSPD Physical 
Disability 
Services

Graduated

Critical Support Services for 
People with Disabilities who are 
non‐Medicaid matched.  The fee 
ranges between 1% to 3% of 
Gross Family Income. 630.00 630.00 0.00 9 9 0 5,670

Automated Credit Card 
Convenience 2.00 2.00 0.00 19,000 14,500 (9,000) 29,000

Collections Processing
6% of payment being disbursed 
up to a maximum of $12 per 
month 12.00 12.00 0.00 256,608 277,500 250,704 3,330,000

Assisted Credit Card 
Convenience 6.00 6.00 0.00 8,500 8,900 2,400 53,400
Federal Offset 25.00 25.00 0.00 3,900 3,900 0 97,500
Annual Collection Fee 35.00 35.00 0.00 27,000 27,000 0 945,000

DCFS Service 
Delivery

Live Scan Testing 10.00 10.00 0.00 6,500 6,500 0 65,000

Total Estimated Revenue 286,405 5,590,321

*Orange cells designate changes to fees and quantities from FY 2020. Strikeouts designate fees removed from the schedule for FY 2021.

Utah State 
Hospital

ORS Child 
Support

Utah State 
Developmental 
Center (USDC)

USDC Theater Rental

Use of USH Facilities

Social Detoxification

Residential Treatment

Therapeutic School 
Program

Residential Support
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APPENDIX –  DESCRIPTION OF FEES  

GRAMA Records paper, audio tape, video tape, reporting in another format, and records mailing – Department-Wide - 
Fees are for the costs associated with producing, providing, or compiling information requests and the delivery of that 
information. 

Online Background Check Application Fee - Per applicant fee to help with Office of Licensing costs such as credit card 
fees, Utah Interactive fees, and programming costs for online background checks.  

Recovery Residences - Office of Licensing - Fee per facility to provide services related to substance use disorder treatment 
at a recovery residence. 

Adult Day Care (0-50 consumers/program) – Office of Licensing - Fee per facility providing day care services to fewer than 
50 vulnerable adults. 

Adult Day Care (>50 consumers/program) – Office of Licensing - Fee per facility providing day care services to more than 
50 vulnerable adults. 

Adult Day Care per licensed capacity – Office of Licensing - Per person fee multiplied by the facility capacity and added to 
base renewal fee. 

Child Placing Adoption – Office of Licensing - Fee per agency providing adoption placements. 

Child Placing Foster Care – Office of Licensing - Fee per agency providing foster care placements. 

Day Treatment – Office of Licensing - Fee per non-residential facility providing specialized treatment services to clients 
during the day. 

Outpatient Treatment – Office of Licensing - Fee per facility providing individual therapy, group, or family counseling 
services. 

Residential Support – Office of Licensing - Fee per facility providing residential support (i.e., supervised living 
environment, shelter care, sober living, etc.) services. 

Residential Treatment – Office of Licensing - Fee per facility providing 24-hour specialized treatment services to persons 
with emotional, psychological, developmental, or behavioral dysfunctions, impairments, or chemical dependencies. 

Residential Treatment per licensed capacity - Office of Licensing - Per person fee multiplied by the facility capacity and 
added to base (initial or renewal) fee. 

Social Detoxification – Office of Licensing - Fee per facility providing non-medical detoxification services. 

Life Safety Pre-inspection – Office of Licensing - Fee for a life safety inspection per facility providing residential services 
for disabled persons as required by federal law. 

Outdoor Youth Program – Office of Licensing - Fee per program providing youth wilderness therapy services. 

Intermediate Secure Treatment – Office of Licensing - Fee per facility providing residential treatment services in a secure 
setting. 

Intermediate Secure Treatment per licensed capacity – Office of Licensing - Per person fee multiplied by the facility 
capacity and added to base (initial or renewal) fee. 

Therapeutic School Program – Office of Licensing - Fee per facility providing therapeutic mental health services. 

Therapeutic School Program per licensed capacity - Office of Licensing - Per person fee multiplied by the facility capacity 
and added to base (initial or renewal) fee. 

Alcoholic Beverage Server Fee (On Premise and Off Premise Sales) – Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health - 
Fee charged to maintain a database of individuals who have completed on-premise and off-premise alcohol sales training. 

Photo Shoots – Utah State Hospital – Fee per two hours charged for use of the grounds for photo shoots. 
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Use of USH Facilities – Utah State Hospital – Fee charged per day for outside groups (up to 50 individuals) for use of 
portions of the State Hospital grounds in non-patient areas.  

Use of USH Facilities – Utah State Hospital – Fee charged per day for outside groups (over 50 individuals) for use of 
portions of the State Hospital grounds in non-patient areas. 

USDC Theater Full Day – Utah State Developmental Center (USDC) – Fee for a full day rental of the USDC Theater.  

USDC Theater Technician – Utah State Developmental Center (USDC) – Hourly fee for assistance of a theater technician.  

USDC Theater Hourly – Utah State Developmental Center (USDC) – Fee for a one-hour rental of the USDC Theater.  

USDC Theater Half Day – Utah State Developmental Center (USDC) – Fee for a half-day (up to 4 hours) rental of the USDC 
Theater.  

USDC Theater Equipment – Utah State Developmental Center (USDC) – Fee for each use of lighting and sound 
equipment, if a renter of the theater opts to use the equipment as well. 

Graduated Fee - Critical Support Services for People with Disabilities (Non-Medicaid Matched) – Division of Services for 
People with Disabilities – Graduated fee is assessed based on ability to pay and is used to pay part of the cost of support 
services incurred by an individual with severe disabilities who does not participate in one of the division’s federal Medicaid 
waiver programs.     

Recovery Services Collections Processing Fee - Office of Recovery Services – Fee based upon a percentage of the payment 
being disbursed up to a maximum per month. 

Automated Credit Card Convenience Fee – Office of Recovery Services – Fee assessed when ORS accepts a credit/debit 
card payment over an automated system (internet or automated phone system) for child support or other payments 
made by non-custodial/custodial parents or other non-child support payments owed to the State of Utah. 

Assisted Credit Card Convenience Fee – Office of Recovery Services – Fee assessed when ORS accepts a credit/debit card 
payment requiring worker assistance for child support or other payments made by non-custodial/custodial parents or 
other non-child support payments owed the State of Utah. 

Recovery Services Federal Offset - Office of Recovery Services – Fee retained by ORS to cover federal services charges for 
federal offset (i.e. federal tax refund) payments related to owed child support. 

Annual Collection Fee - Office of Recovery Services – Annual fee collected from individuals who request that ORS enforce 
a child support order. These individuals are not enrolled in certain public benefit programs (i.e. TANF) that require ORS 
enforcement; they are voluntarily requesting ORS services. This fee is remitted to the federal government (or retained and 
used to reduce ORS’ draw down of federal funds). The fee is set in statute in UCA 62A-11-303.7. 

Live Scan Testing Fees (DCFS) - Division of Child and Family Services – Fee charged to foster parents, adoptive parents, 
kinship caregivers, proctor parents and contracted provider employees who will have direct access to children.  These 
individuals have an electronic scan of fingerprints sent to the Department of Public Safety Bureau of Criminal Identification 
to be run against Utah criminal records and the FBI criminal database.  This testing fulfills State and federal law 
requirements.  The fee partially offsets the cost for DCFS staff to administer the tests.   
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