

Members Present: Rep. Stephen G. Handy, Chair Rep. Merrill F. Nelson, Vice Chair Rep. James A. Dunnigan Rep. Val K. Potter Rep. Lawanna Shurtliff Rep. Elizabeth Weight Rep. Logan Wilde Members Absent:

Rep. Cheryl K. Acton Rep. Kim F. Coleman Rep. Marie H. Poulson Rep. Susan Pulsipher

Staff Present:

Samantha D. Brucker, Policy Analyst An Bradshaw, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Handy called the meeting to order at 2:10 p.m.

MOTION: Rep. Nelson moved to approve the minutes of the January 28, 2020 meeting. The motion passed with a vote of 6 - 0 - 5.

Yeas-6 Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. S. Handy Rep. M. Nelson Rep. V. Potter Rep. L. Shurtliff Rep. L. Wilde <u>Nays-0</u>

Absent-5 Rep. C. Acton Rep. K. Coleman Rep. M. Poulson Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. E. Weight

1. H.B. 122 Council-manager Form of Government Amendments (Sagers, D.)

Rep. Sagers presented the bill to the committee.

MOTION: Rep. Nelson moved to amend H.B. 122 with Amendment #1. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 4.

Amendment 1 H.B. 122

1. Page 2, Lines 54 through 56:

54 (ii) Nothing in this section shall be construed, however, as prohibiting the council

55 {-while in open session } from fully and freely discussing with or suggesting to the manager

56 anything pertaining to county affairs or the interests of the county.

Yeas-7 Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. S. Handy Rep. M. Nelson Rep. V. Potter Rep. L. Shurtliff Rep. E. Weight Rep. L. Wilde Nays-0

Absent-4 Rep. C. Acton Rep. K. Coleman Rep. M. Poulson Rep. S. Pulsipher

MOTION:

Rep. Nelson moved to pass H.B. 122 out favorably as amended. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 4.

A HOUSE POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS STANDING COMMITTEE

Yeas-7 Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. S. Handy Rep. M. Nelson Rep. V. Potter Rep. L. Shurtliff Rep. E. Weight Rep. L. Wilde <u>Absent-4</u> Rep. C. Acton Rep. K. Coleman Rep. M. Poulson Rep. S. Pulsipher

MOTION: Rep. Potter moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 4.

Yeas-7 Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. S. Handy Rep. M. Nelson Rep. V. Potter Rep. L. Shurtliff Rep. E. Weight Rep. L. Wilde

<u>Nays-0</u>

Nays-0

Absent-4 Rep. C. Acton Rep. K. Coleman Rep. M. Poulson Rep. S. Pulsipher

Chair Handy adjourned the meeting at 2:19 p.m.