Thursday, February 6, 2020 2:00 p.m. 30 House Building

Members Present:

Rep. Marc K. Roberts, Chair

Rep. Phil Lyman, Vice Chair

Rep. Patrice M. Arent

Rep. Walt Brooks

Rep. Jennifer Dailey-Provost

Rep. Brad M. Daw

Rep. Jon Hawkins

Rep. Val L. Peterson

Rep. Candice B. Pierucci

Rep. Travis M. Seegmiller

Rep. Jeffrey D. Stenquist

Staff Present:

Allyson R. Hicks, Policy Analyst

Steve Benard, Committee Secretary

Rep. T. Seegmiller

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Roberts called the meeting to order at 2:04 pm.

MOTION: Rep. Hawkins moved to approve the minutes for Feb 4, 2020. The motion passed with a vote of 8 -

0 - 3.

Yeas-8 Nays-0 Absent-3

Rep. P. Arent Rep. J. Dailey-Provost Rep. W. Brooks Rep. V. Peterson

Rep. B. Daw

Rep. J. Hawkins

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. J. Stenquist

1 . S.B. 15 Government Operations Sunset Reauthorizations (Thatcher, D.)

Sen. Daniel W. Thatcher explained the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Hawkins moved to pass S.B. 15 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 4.

Yeas-7 Nays-0 Absent-4

Rep. P. Arent Rep. J. Dailey-Provost

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. V. Peterson

Rep. B. Daw Rep. V. Peterson Rep. J. Hawkins Rep. T. Seegmiller

Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. J. Stenquist

2 . H.B. 70 Repeal of Single-Mark Straight Ticket Voting (Arent, P.)

Rep. Arent explained the bill with the assistance of Rep. Craig Hall.

Vickie Samuelson, League of Women Voters, spoke in favor of the bill.

Ricky Hatch, Legislative Committee Chair, Utah Association of Counties Clerk Committee, spoke in favor of the bill.



Terry Shoemaker, Utah School Boards Association and Utah School Superintendents' Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Dailey-Provost moved to pass H.B. 70 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 2 - 2.

Absent-2

Yeas-7 Rep. P. Arent Rep. B. Daw

Rep. P. Arent Rep. B. Daw Rep. P. Lyman Rep. W. Brooks Rep. T. Seegmiller Rep. V. Peterson

Rep. J. Dailey-Provost

Rep. J. Hawkins Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. J. Stenquist

3 . H.B. 128 License Plate Reading Technology Amendments (*Brooks, W.*)

Rep. Walt Brooks explained the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Stenguist moved to replace H.B. 128 with 1st Substitute H.B. 128. The motion passed with a

vote of 10 - 0 - 1.

Yeas-10 Nays-0 Absent-1 Rep. P. Arent Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. J. Dailey-Provost

Rep. B. Daw

Rep. J. Hawkins

Rep. V. Peterson

Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. T. Seegmiller

Rep. J. Stenguist

MOTION: Rep. Seegmiller moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 128 out favorably. The motion passed with a

vote of 10 - 0 - 1.

Yeas-10 Rep. P. Arent Absent-1 Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. P. Arent Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. J. Dailey-Provost

Rep. B. Daw

Rep. J. Hawkins

Rep. V. Peterson

Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. M. Roberts

Don T Coordina

Rep. T. Seegmiller

Rep. J. Stenquist

4 . H.B. 186 Lobbyist Amendments (Sagers, D.)

Rep. Douglas V. Sagers explained the bill.

John T. Nielsen, Capitol Hill Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

Rikki Hrenko-Browning, President, Utah Petroleum Association, spoke to the bill.

Justin Lee, Director of Elections, Office of the Lieutenant Governor, spoke to the bill.



Victoria Ashby, Director of Government Relations, Utah League of Cities and Towns, spoke to the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Daw moved to hold H.B. 186. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 0.

Yeas-11

Nays-0

Absent-0

Rep. P. Arent

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. J. Dailey-Provost

Rep. B. Daw

Rep. J. Hawkins

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. V. Peterson

Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. T. Seegmiller

Rep. J. Stenquist

MOTION:

Rep. Brooks moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 0.

Yeas-11

Nays-0

Absent-0

Rep. P. Arent

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. J. Dailey-Provost

Rep. B. Daw

Rep. J. Hawkins

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. V. Peterson

Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. T. Seegmiller

Rep. J. Stenquist

Chair Roberts adjourned the meeting at 3:14 pm.