

MINUTES

HOUSE NATURAL RESOURCES, AGRICULTURE, AND ENVIRONMENT STANDING COMMITTEE

LEGISLATURE

Wednesday, February 19, 2020 | 8:00 a.m. | 445 State Capitol

Members Present:

Rep. Keven J. Stratton, Chair Rep. Logan Wilde, Vice Chair

Rep. Carl R. Albrecht Rep. Joel K. Briscoe Rep. Scott H. Chew Rep. Joel Ferry

Rep. Timothy D. Hawkes

Rep. Phil Lyman

Rep. Michael K. McKell

Rep. Derrin R. Owens Rep. Douglas V. Sagers Rep. Christine F. Watkins

Members Absent:

Rep. Susan Duckworth

Staff Present:

Nathan W. Brady, Policy Analyst Linda Service, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Stratton called the meeting to order at 8:07 a.m.

MOTION: Rep. Owens moved to approve the minutes of the February 14, 2020 meeting. The motion passed

with a vote of 10 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-10 Nays-0 Absent-3

Rep. C. Albrecht
Rep. J. Briscoe
Rep. S. Chew
Rep. T. Hawkes
Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. J. Ferry Rep. M. McKell

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. C. Watkins

Rep. L. Wilde

1. H.B. 248 Agriculture Revisions (Wilde, L.)

Rep. McKell assumed the chair.

Rep. Wilde explained the bill assisted by Robert Hougaard, Director, Plant Industry, Utah Department of Agriculture and Food (UDAF), and R. J. Spencer, Director of Conservation, UDAF.

Garrick Hall, Utah Farm Bureau, spoke in favor of the bill.

Kristy Davis, Executive Director, Utah Association of Conservation Districts, spoke to the bill.

Kelly Pehrson, Acting Commissioner, UDAF, spoke in favor of the bill.

Symbria Patterson, Executive Director, Red Acre Center, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Owens moved to replace H.B. 248 with 1st Substitute H.B. 248.

SUBSTITUTE Chair Wilde moved to amend 1st Substitute H.B. 248 by deleting the words "at least one more

MOTION: than" on line 1005.

February 19, 2020

Chair Wilde withdrew the motion.

MOTION: Rep. Owens' motion to replace H. B. 248 with 1st Substitute H. B. 248 passed. The motion passed

with a vote of 10 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-10 Nays-0 Absent-3

Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. S. Duckworth Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. T. Hawkes Rep. S. Chew Rep. K. Stratton Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. P. Lyman Rep. M. McKell Rep. D. Owens

Rep. D. Sagers Rep. C. Watkins Rep. L. Wilde

MOTION: Rep. Wilde moved to amend 1st Substitute H.B. 248 with Amendment #1. The motion passed with

a vote of 9 - 1 - 3.

Amendment 1 1st Sub. H.B. 248

Page 33, Lines 1003 through 1006:

(1) nominate for [each] a conservation district [election] a slate of candidates for 1003

[election] appointment to the board of supervisors of the conservation district equal or greater in number 1004

1005 to { at least one more than } the number of board of supervisors members to be [elected]

1006 appointed: and

Yeas-9 Absent-3 Navs-1

Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. M. McKell Rep. S. Duckworth Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. T. Hawkes Rep. S. Chew Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. J. Ferry Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. C. Watkins

Rep. L. Wilde

Rep. Ferry moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 248 out favorably as amended. The motion passed MOTION:

with a vote of 10 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-10 Nays-0 Absent-3

Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. S. Duckworth Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. T. Hawkes

Rep. S. Chew Rep. K. Stratton Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. P. Lyman Rep. M. McKell

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. C. Watkins

Rep. L. Wilde

Rep. Wilde assumed the chair.

2 . H.B. 266 Water Conservancy District Amendments (Handy, S.)

February 19, 2020

Rep. Handy explained the bill assisted by LeGrand Bitter, Executive Director, Utah Association of Special Districts.

MOTION: Rep. Owens moved to pass H.B. 266 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 4.

Yeas-9Nays-0Absent-4Rep. C. AlbrechtRep. S. ChewRep. J. BriscoeRep. S. DuckworthRep. J. FerryRep. T. HawkesRep. P. LymanRep. K. Stratton

Rep. J. Ferry
Rep. P. Lyman
Rep. M. McKell
Rep. D. Owens

MOTION: Rep. Albrecht moved to place H.B. 266 on the Consent Calendar. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 4.

Yeas-9Nays-0Absent-4Rep. C. AlbrechtRep. S. ChewRep. J. BriscoeRep. S. DuckworthRep. J. FerryRep. T. Hawkes

Rep. J. Briscoe
Rep. J. Ferry
Rep. J. Ferry
Rep. T. Hawkes
Rep. M. McKell
Rep. D. Owens
Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. C. Watkins Rep. L. Wilde

Rep. D. Sagers Rep. C. Watkins Rep. L. Wilde

3 . H.B. 296 Limitations on Landowner Liability Amendments (Snider, C.)

Rep. Snider explained the bill assisted by Jack Ray, President, Utah Waterfowl Association.

Doug Foxley, Ducks Unlimited, spoke in favor of the bill.

Troy Justensen, Sports, Fish, and Wildlife, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Ferry moved to pass H.B. 296 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 2.

Yeas-11 Nays-0 Absent-2
Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. S. Chew Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. T. Hawkes Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. M. McKell

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. D. Sagers Rep. C. Watkins

Rep. L. Wilde

4 . H.B. 168 Public Water Supplier Relocation Amendments (Hawkes, T.)

Rep. Hawkes explained the bill assisted by Dale Pierson, Executive Director, Rural Water Association of Utah, and Steve Styler, Rural Water Association of Utah.

Kris Peterson, Project Development Director, Utah Department of Transportation, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Owens moved to replace H.B. 168 with 1st Substitute H.B. 168. The motion passed with a

vote of 9 - 0 - 4.

Yeas-9 Nays-0 Absent-4

Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. S. Duckworth Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. M. McKell Rep. S. Chew Rep. K. Stratton Rep. J. Ferry Rep. C. Watkins

Rep. T. Hawkes Rep. P. Lyman Rep. D. Owens Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. L. Wilde

MOTION: Rep. Owens moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 168 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of

10 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-10 Absent-3

Nays-0 Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. S. Duckworth Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. K. Stratton Rep. S. Chew Rep. C. Watkins

Rep. J. Ferry Rep. T. Hawkes Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. M. McKell Rep. D. Owens

Rep. D. Sagers Rep. L. Wilde

MOTION: Rep. Albrecht moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 4.

Yeas-9 Nays-0 Absent-4 Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. S. Duckworth

Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. M. McKell Rep. S. Chew Rep. K. Stratton Rep. J. Ferry Rep. C. Watkins Rep. T. Hawkes

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. L. Wilde

Chair Wilde adjourned the meeting at 9:05 a.m.