

Wednesday, February 19, 2020 2:00 p.m. 450 State Capitol

**Members Present:** 

Rep. Stephen G. Handy, Chair Rep. Merrill F. Nelson, Vice Chair

Rep. Cheryl K. Acton Rep. Kim F. Coleman Rep. James A. Dunnigan Rep. Val K. Potter

Rep. Marie H. Poulson

Rep. Susan Pulsipher Rep. Lawanna Shurtliff

Rep. Elizabeth Weight

Rep. Logan Wilde

**Staff Present:** 

Samantha D. Brucker, Policy Analyst An Bradshaw, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Nelson called the meeting to order at 2:03 p.m.

MOTION: Rep. Wilde moved to approve the minutes of February 18, 2020. The motion passed with a vote of

9 - 0 - 2.

Yeas-9 Nays-0 Absent-2

Rep. C. Acton Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. K. Coleman Rep. L. Shurtliff

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. V. Potter

Rep. M. Poulson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. E. Weight

Rep. L. Wilde

## 1 . H.B. 261 Eminent Domain Revisions (Lyman, P.)

Rep. Phil Lyman presented 1st Substitute H.B. 261.

George Chapman, resident, spoke for the bill.

Charles Stormont, Director of Right Away, Department of Transportation (UDOT), spoke against the bill.

Wade Garrett, Strategic Relations and Public Policy, Utah Farm Bureau, spoke for the bill.

Gary Crane, Layton City Attorney and representing the League of Cities and Towns, spoke against the bill.

Connor Boyack, President, Libertas Institute, spoke for the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Wilde moved to hold H.B. 261.

SUBSTITUTE Rep. Coleman moved to replace H.B. 261 with 1st Substitute H.B. 261. The substitute motion

passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 0. MOTION:

Yeas-11 Nays-0 Absent-0

Rep. C. Acton Rep. K. Coleman

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. J. Dulliligai

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. M. Nelson Rep. V. Potter

Rep. M. Poulson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. L. Shurtliff

Rep. E. Weight

Rep. L. Wilde

MOTION:

Rep. Coleman moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 261 out favorably.

Rep. Coleman's motion to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 261 out favorably failed with a vote of 3 - 8 - 0.

Yeas-3 Nays-8 Absent-0

Rep. C. Acton
Rep. K. Coleman
Rep. M. Nelson
Rep. M. Nelson
Rep. M. Poulson
Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. L. Shurtliff Rep. E. Weight Rep. L. Wilde

## 2. H.B. 278 Jordan River Amendments (Acton, C.K.)

Rep. Acton presented 1st Substitute H.B. 278 with the assistance of Soren Simonson, Executive Director, Jordan River Commission. A handout was provided.

## HB 278 Handout

Linda Hull, Policy and Legislative Services Director, UDOT, answered questions from the committee.

MOTION: Rep. Dunnigan moved to replace H.B. 278 with 1st Substitute H.B. 278. The motion passed with a

vote of 11 - 0 - 0.

Yeas-11 Nays-0 Absent-0

Rep. C. Acton

Rep. K. Coleman

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. V. Potter

Rep. M. Poulson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. L. Shurtliff

Rep. E. Weight Rep. L. Wilde

MOTION: Rep. Dunnigan moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 278 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote

of 11 - 0 - 0.



<u>Yeas-11</u> <u>Nays-0</u> <u>Absent-0</u>

Rep. C. Acton Rep. K. Coleman Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. S. Handy Rep. M. Nelson Rep. V. Potter Rep. M. Poulson Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. L. Shurtliff Rep. E. Weight Rep. L. Wilde

Rep. E. Weight

## 3. H.B. 333 Limited Purpose Local Government Entity Amendments (Handy, S.)

Rep. Handy presented the bill with the assistance of LeGrand Bitter, Executive Director, Utah Association of Special Districts.

Jill Love, Department of Heritage and Arts, answered questions from the committee.

Ron Mortenson, resident, spoke against the bill.

Crystal Young-Otterstrom, Executive Director, Utah Cultural Alliance, spoke for the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. Poulson moved to pass H.B. 333 out favorably.

**MOTION:** Rep. Dunnigan moved to amend H.B. 333 with Amendment #1.

Rep. Dunnigan's motion to amend H.B. 333 with Amendment #1 failed with a vote of 5 - 6 - 0.

Yeas-5 Nays-6 Absent-0

Rep. C. Acton
Rep. K. Coleman
Rep. J. Dunnigan
Rep. S. Pulsipher
Rep. L. Wilde
Rep. L. Wilde
Rep. E. Weight

Rep. Poulson's motion to pass H.B. 333 out favorably passed with a vote of 6 - 5 - 0.

Yeas-6 Nays-5 Absent-0

Rep. S. Handy
Rep. M. Nelson
Rep. V. Potter
Rep. M. Poulson
Rep. L. Shurtliff
Rep. S. Acton
Rep. K. Coleman
Rep. J. Dunnigan
Rep. S. Pulsipher
Rep. L. Wilde

**MOTION:** Rep. Poulson moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 0.



Yeas-11 Nays-0 Absent-0

Rep. C. Acton

Rep. K. Coleman Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. V. Potter

Rep. M. Poulson

Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. L. Shurtliff

Rep. E. Weight

Rep. L. Wilde

Chair Nelson adjourned the meeting at 3:45 p.m.