

Friday, February 21, 2020 2:00 p.m. 450 State Capitol

Members Present:

Rep. Stephen G. Handy, Chair Rep. Merrill F. Nelson, Vice Chair

Rep. Cheryl K. Acton Rep. Kim F. Coleman Rep. James A. Dunnigan

Rep. Val K. Potter Rep. Marie H. Poulson

Rep. Susan Pulsipher

Rep. Lawanna Shurtliff

Rep. Elizabeth Weight

Rep. Logan Wilde

Staff Present:

Samantha D. Brucker, Policy Analyst An Bradshaw, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Handy called the meeting to order at 2:03 p.m.

MOTION: Rep. Potter moved to approve the minutes of February 19, 2020. The motion passed with a vote of

7 - 0 - 4.

Absent-4 Yeas-7 Nays-0

Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. C. Acton Rep. S. Handy Rep. K. Coleman Rep. V. Potter Rep. M. Nelson Rep. M. Poulson Rep. L. Shurtliff

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. E. Weight

Rep. L. Wilde

1. H.B. 322 Utahraptor State Park (Eliason, S.)

Rep. Steve Eliason presented the bill with the assistance of Jeff Rasmussen, Director, State Parks and Recreation, and Jim Kirkland, State Paleontologist, Utah Geological Survey.

Rep. Potter assumed the chair.

MOTION: Rep. Acton moved to replace H.B. 322 with 1st Substitute H.B. 322. The motion passed with a vote

of 10 - 0 - 1.

Yeas-10 Nays-0 Absent-1 Rep. C. Acton Rep. S. Handy

Rep. K. Coleman

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. V. Potter

Rep. M. Poulson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. L. Shurtliff

Rep. E. Weight

Rep. L. Wilde

MOTION: Rep. Acton moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 322 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of

10 - 0 - 1.

Yeas-10 Rep. C. Acton Absent-1 Rep. S. Handy

Rep. K. Coleman

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. V. Potter

Rep. M. Poulson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. L. Shurtliff Rep. E. Weight

Rep. L. Wilde

2 . H.C.R. 18 Concurrent Resolution Commemorating the 400th Anniversary of the Historic Voyage of the Mayflower and the Signing of the Mayflower Compact (*Poulson*, *M.*)

Rep. Poulson presented the resolution with the assistance of Tanya Bird, Communications Director, Mayflower Society, and Linda Gulbrandsen, Family Search.

MOTION: Rep. Shurtliff moved to pass H.C.R. 18 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 1.

<u>Yeas-10</u> <u>Nays-0</u> <u>Absent-1</u> Rep. C. Acton

Rep. K. Coleman

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. V. Potter

Rep. M. Poulson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. L. Shurtliff

Rep. E. Weight

Rep. L. Wilde

3. H.B. 310 Extraterritorial Airport Amendments (Coleman, K.)

Rep. Coleman presented the bill.

Rep. Handy resumed the chair.

MOTION: Rep. Coleman moved to hold H.B. 310.

SUBSTITUTE Rep. Dunnigan moved to hold H.B. 310. The substitute motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 0.

MOTION:

Yeas-11 Nays-0 Absent-0

Rep. C. Acton

Rep. K. Coleman

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. V. Potter

Rep. M. Poulson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. L. Shurtliff

Rep. E. Weight

Rep. L. Wilde

4 . 1st Sub. S.B. 64 Special District Communications Amendments (Fillmore, L.)



Senator Lincoln Fillmore presented the bill.

Ryan Lusty, Manager, Magna Mosquito Abatement, spoke for the bill.

LeGrand Bitter, Executive Director, Utah Association of Special Districts, spoke for the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Nelson moved to pass 1st Substitute S.B. 64 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of

10 - 0 - 1.

Yeas-10

Nays-0

Absent-1

Rep. K. Coleman

Rep. C. Acton

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. V. Potter

Rep. M. Poulson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. L. Shurtliff

Rep. E. Weight

Rep. L. Wilde

MOTION:

Rep. Acton moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 1.

Yeas-10

Nays-0

Absent-1

Rep. K. Coleman

Rep. C. Acton

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. V. Potter

Rep. M. Poulson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. L. Shurtliff

Rep. E. Weight

Rep. L. Wilde

Chair Handy adjourned the meeting at 3:08 p.m.