Friday, February 21, 2020 | 2:00 p.m. | 30 House Building

Members Present:

Rep. Marc K. Roberts, Chair Rep. Phil Lyman, Vice Chair

Rep. Patrice M. Arent

Rep. Walt Brooks

Rep. Jennifer Dailey-Provost

Rep. Brad M. Daw

Rep. Jon Hawkins

Rep. Val L. Peterson

Rep. Candice B. Pierucci

Rep. Travis M. Seegmiller

Rep. Jeffrey D. Stenguist

Staff Present:

Allyson R. Hicks, Policy Analyst Steve Benard, Committee Secretary

Rep. B. Daw

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Rep. Lyman assumed the chair.

Chair Lyman called the meeting to order at 2:04 pm.

MOTION: Rep. Stenguist moved to approve the minutes Feb 19, 2020. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0

- 4.

Yeas-7 Nays-0 Absent-4

Rep. P. Arent Rep. B. Daw

Rep. W. Brooks Rep. J. Hawkins

Rep. J. Dailey-Provost Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. P. Lyman Rep. T. Seegmiller

Rep. V. Peterson

Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. J. Stenguist

1. H.B. 270 Interstate Compact for Economic Development (Roberts, M.)

Rep. Roberts explained the bill.

Connor Boyack, Libertas Institute, spoke in favor of the bill.

Ben Hart, Deputy Director, Governor's Office of Economic Development, spoke to the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Dailey-Provost moved to pass H.B. 270 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 -

Yeas-10 Absent-1 Nays-0

Rep. P. Arent

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. J. Dailey-Provost

Rep. J. Hawkins

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. V. Peterson

Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. T. Seegmiller

Rep. J. Stenguist



2. H.B. 283 Outdoor Recreation Strategic Planning Amendments (Stenguist, J.)

Rep. Stenquist explained the bill.

Tara McKee, Office of Outdoor Recreation, spoke in favor of the bill.

Cameron Diehl, Utah League of Cities and Towns, spoke in favor of the bill.

Des Barker, Utah Tourism Industry Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Peterson moved to amend H.B. 283 with Amendment #3.

Amendment 3

H.B. 283

- 1. Page 1, Line 1:
- 1 OUTDOOR { RECREATION STRATEGIC PLANNING } ADVENTURE COMMISSION
- 2. Page 1, Lines 9 through 11:
- 9 General Description:
- 10 This bill addresses <u>the Outdoor Adventure Commission conducting</u> strategic planning related to the state's outdoor recreation
- 11 opportunities.
- Page 2, Lines 49 through 50:
- 49 (1) There is created the Outdoor Adventure Commission consisting of the following {15} 17
- 50 members:
- 4. Page 2, Line 58 through Page 3, Line 65:
- 58 { (f) the executive director of the Governor's Office of Management and Budget, or the
- -59 <u>executive director's designee;</u>}
- (f) the director of the School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration, or the director's designee;
- 60 (g) the executive director of the Department of Transportation, or the executive
- 61 director's designee;
- 62 (h) { a representative } two representatives of the Utah League of Cities and Towns appointed by the Utah
- 63 <u>League of Cities and Towns</u>, one of which is a representative from an urban area and one of which is a representative from a rural area;
- 64 (i) {a representative} two representatives of the Utah Association of Counties appointed by the Utah
- 65 <u>Association of Counties</u>, one of which is a representative from an urban area and one of which is a representative from a rural area;
- 5. Page 3. Lines 66 through 69:
- 66 (j) a representative of the {-outdoor recreation industry} private sector appointed by the president of the
- 67 Senate;
- 68 (k) a representative of the {-outdoor recreation industry-} private sector appointed by the speaker of the
- 69 House of Representatives;
- 6. Page 4, Line 114:
- 114 (vii) the interface with federal and private lands; and
- 7. Page 5, Line 151:
- (j) engage in any other data collection or analysis requested by the commission; { or } and

The motionpassed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 1.

Nays-0

Yeas-10

Rep. P. Arent

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. J. Dailey-Provost

Rep. J. Hawkins

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. V. Peterson

Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. T. Seegmiller

Rep. J. Stenquist

MOTION:

Rep. Hawkins moved to pass H.B. 283 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 4 - 0.

Yeas-7

Rep. P. Arent

Nays-4

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. P. Lyman Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. J. Dailey-Provost

Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. B. Daw

Rep. T. Seegmiller

Rep. J. Hawkins

Rep. V. Peterson

Rep. J. Stenguist

3 . S.B. 62 Reauthorization of Administrative Rules (Anderegg, J.)

Nays-0

Rep. Roberts explained the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Dailey-Provost moved to pass S.B. 62 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 2.

Yeas-9

Absent-2

Absent-1

Absent-0

Rep. B. Daw

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. P. Arent Rep. T. Seegmiller

Rep. J. Dailey-Provost

Rep. B. Daw

Rep. J. Hawkins

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. V. Peterson

Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. J. Stenguist

4 . S.B. 17 Heber Valley Historic Railroad Authority Sunset Date Extension (Harper, W.)

Sen. Wayne A. Harper explained the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Brooks moved to pass S.B. 17 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 1.

Yeas-10

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. J. Dailey-Provost

Rep. B. Daw

Rep. J. Hawkins

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. V. Peterson

Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. T. Seegmiller

Rep. J. Stenquist

MOTION:

Rep. Dailey-Provost moved to place S.B. 17 on the Consent Calendar. The motion failed with a vote

of 9 - 1 - 1.

Yeas-9

Nays-1

Nays-0

Absent-1

Absent-1

Rep. P. Arent

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. T. Seegmiller

Rep. P. Arent

Rep. J. Dailey-Provost

Rep. B. Daw

Rep. J. Hawkins

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. V. Peterson

Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. J. Stenguist

5 . S.B. 59 Daylight Saving Time Amendments (Harper, W.)

Sen. Wayne A. Harper explained the bill.

Michelle McOmber, Chief Executive Officer, Utah Medical Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

George Chapman spoke against the bill.

Todd Houguard, Utah Parent Teacher Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

Ryan Peterson, Utah Golf Alliance, spoke in favor of the bill.

Stan Lockhart spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Daw moved to pass S.B. 59 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 1.

Yeas-10 Rep. W. Brooks Nays-0

Absent-1 Rep. P. Arent

Rep. J. Dailey-Provost

Rep. B. Daw

Rep. J. Hawkins

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. V. Peterson

Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. T. Seegmiller

Rep. J. Stenguist

MOTION:

Rep. Stenguist moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 1.

HOUSE GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS STANDING COMMITTEE



Yeas-10

Nays-0

Absent-1 Rep. P. Arent

Rep. W. Brooks
Rep. J. Dailey-Provost
Rep. B. Daw
Rep. J. Hawkins

Rep. P. Lyman Rep. V. Peterson Rep. C. Pierucci Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. T. Seegmiller

Rep. J. Stenquist

Chair Lyman adjourned the meeting at 3:49 pm.